We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

79.8% Overall Rating

1216 out of 1767 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2015)

Antonio Ferreira thinks…

"Localização, wifi pega em todos os lugares, o banheiro no quarto compartilhado era limpo, o quarto estava um pouco quente mas tinha ventilador."

Read all Smart Russell Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.12
  • Towel USD 7.77

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
148.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
29.60 USD

Hostel 90.4% 651 reviews
Generator London
38.95 USD

Hostel 90.4% 4196 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
56.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
20.25 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
35.94 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

1216 out of 1767 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 1191 of 1538 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Raphael de Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: It's always full of people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Scrivener

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Its well placed and priced, central London plus a 1 min walk to the Picadilly line, which means you can get the tube to Heathrow without any changes.

Disliked: The beds are a wee bit small, plus the ensuite is a weird cubicle thing which reminded me of a train toilet with a shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staffa

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janemaria Pedersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Janemaria would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Good beds

Disliked: Some of the staff arogant others really friendly Breakfast to scrabby

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Brown

Alone

City break

30 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Smelly rooms which are full of junk. Staff who are a bit homophobic and unfriendly to Europeans who wear shorts.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 August 2014

Liked: cleanliness of showers/toilets and kitchen, location to GReat ormond street hospital, only 2min walk. plenty of freindly and polite staff, possibly more needed as very busy hostel.

Disliked: i lost my £10 despoit becuase i didnt check out before 10am even though i wasnt told about it. bunk beds are three high so things are quite cramped in my nine bed dorm.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Gregory

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: There was a good wifi connection.

Disliked: In addition to the above statement (The property was poorly advertised on the front of the property, considerably dirty on the inside, and incorrect directions were given by staff to the location of my room), there was bad signage within the hostel. For example, signs leading to bathrooms were incorrect.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great location for accesssing the tube and various sights.

Disliked: My room was new so while they had a locker for every bed, mine wasn'e on the system so I couldn't use it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Brustolin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima la posizione, locali sempre puliti, aree comuni molto spaziose, personale disponibile. Sicuro e ben vigilato. Ottimo il rapporto qualià prezzo. Consigliato!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai Jun Sin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Kai Jun would recommend this property

Liked: near to the tube

Disliked: the bed are too smal

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ashwin Alke Pai

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2014 Ashwin Alke would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not clean , breakfast is quite basic

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

WEN-SHYUE HSIIAO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 WEN-SHYUE would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: share room is no place to put luggage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Roberts

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right near Russell Square Tube & many places to eat/drink within walking distance! The beds were very comfortable & loved the privacy curtains/screens at end of the beds. Good clean linen on arrival & great kitchen facilities, also communal area was great with 2 televisions to choose from & plenty of places to sit - either comfy sofas or at a table to use the great FREE WiFi! The whole place was very clean even the toilets, which is not easy with so many guests, & we felt very safe here as security was excellent. Also being able to book tickets to local attractions & save money with QJump at reception was an added unexpected bonus. All in all would highly recommend & can't wait to book our next trip to London now with the knowledge of knowing we have an affordable place to stay in the heart of London. Can't wait to see Smart after its current renovations are finished!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was all we had hoped for to make our trip enjoyable!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

J?drzej Potempa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 J?drzej would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people.

Disliked: That it is not possible to change water temperature while taking a shower, lack of sockets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Eduardo Burgos

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

21 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Unpotable water

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014

Liked: Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room.

Disliked: Please fix the toilets of the basement. It was incovenient to go all the way up to use toilets

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 July 2014

Liked: No good

Disliked: Insecure

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Heinrich

Alone

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I love the curtains on your bed. Helps you sleep even when other guests come in really late at night and turn on the light. Check out is at 10am and as I was leaving the room, the cleaners came already in. So can't say anything negative about the cleanliness of the rooms. Breakfast is included but I didn't go for it so I could stay in bed a little longer. Lockers cost 1.50£ per night and are underneath the bed My 70 L bafpack fitted in their!

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Blair Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 July 2014 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: Great price. Good location. Attractive staff. Decent beds.

Disliked: Toilets were a bit messy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jade Saila Roseingrave

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: The Location and the staffs.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the toilets area as well as the showers room. The noise outside your room, meaning the hall. There should be signs posting up saying 'No running or Talking in the hall'. Also Room mates should not turn on the light after 11:30 PM It wakes up other Room mates and It's disrespectful to do so. Use your phone light to get into bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mireia massague galceran

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

19 June 2014 mireia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good accomodation, very clean and good service and staff

Disliked: mireia left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2014

Liked: Hostel is very easy to find. It´s around 10 min by walk from subway. What i like was locker, which was free of charge and you dont need to use your lock, cause you can open it very simply with your card. For this card you need to pay 10 pounds which are given you back by check ou

Disliked: Rooms look like in hospital. Blue courtains and very small space. t. On reception you can buy some adapters (converter for UK electricity), but they dont borrow them. Breakfast was very simple, just toast, butter, jam and cornflakes. No ham or cheese, no eggs.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nadera Rahmani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: everything from the uncomfortable beds to the toilet and showers being very far from the room and lack of power points.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: It smelled like bleach and felt like a prison. It is a property that clearly has no love for the idea of hostels and only wishes to make as much money as possible while spending as little as possible. Spend more and stay elsewhere!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edina Urban

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 May 2014 Edina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and character.

Disliked: Before I choose I always make sure there is secure locker in the room so all my stuff safe. When I arrived they said have to pay for it (it wasnt say on the website to pay plus), after they said it didnt work. So I had to put in and out all the time from-to the luggage room and the receptionist was kept asking 1 pound about it. So it was pretty annoying.... I also had to sleep with my bags in my bad to keep it safe.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels