We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

78.1% Overall Rating

1205 out of 1752 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2015)

"Great value for money for such a central location, very clean with welcoming helpful staff, felt comfortable staying there on my own."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.10
  • Towel USD 7.72

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
147.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
24.77 USD

Hostel 86.5% 631 reviews
Generator London
35.60 USD

Hostel 91.9% 4185 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.49 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
50.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
46.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
20.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 967 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
30.96 USD

Hostel 87.4% 477 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

1205 out of 1752 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 1183 of 1523 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Brustolin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima la posizione, locali sempre puliti, aree comuni molto spaziose, personale disponibile. Sicuro e ben vigilato. Ottimo il rapporto qualià prezzo. Consigliato!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai Jun Sin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Kai Jun would recommend this property

Liked: near to the tube

Disliked: the bed are too smal

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ashwin Alke Pai

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2014 Ashwin Alke would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not clean , breakfast is quite basic

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

WEN-SHYUE HSIIAO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 WEN-SHYUE would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: share room is no place to put luggage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Roberts

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right near Russell Square Tube & many places to eat/drink within walking distance! The beds were very comfortable & loved the privacy curtains/screens at end of the beds. Good clean linen on arrival & great kitchen facilities, also communal area was great with 2 televisions to choose from & plenty of places to sit - either comfy sofas or at a table to use the great FREE WiFi! The whole place was very clean even the toilets, which is not easy with so many guests, & we felt very safe here as security was excellent. Also being able to book tickets to local attractions & save money with QJump at reception was an added unexpected bonus. All in all would highly recommend & can't wait to book our next trip to London now with the knowledge of knowing we have an affordable place to stay in the heart of London. Can't wait to see Smart after its current renovations are finished!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was all we had hoped for to make our trip enjoyable!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

J?drzej Potempa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 J?drzej would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people.

Disliked: That it is not possible to change water temperature while taking a shower, lack of sockets

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Eduardo Burgos

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

21 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Unpotable water

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014

Liked: Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room.

Disliked: Please fix the toilets of the basement. It was incovenient to go all the way up to use toilets

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 July 2014

Liked: No good

Disliked: Insecure

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Heinrich

Alone

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I love the curtains on your bed. Helps you sleep even when other guests come in really late at night and turn on the light. Check out is at 10am and as I was leaving the room, the cleaners came already in. So can't say anything negative about the cleanliness of the rooms. Breakfast is included but I didn't go for it so I could stay in bed a little longer. Lockers cost 1.50£ per night and are underneath the bed My 70 L bafpack fitted in their!

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Blair Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 July 2014 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: Great price. Good location. Attractive staff. Decent beds.

Disliked: Toilets were a bit messy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jade Saila Roseingrave

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: The Location and the staffs.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the toilets area as well as the showers room. The noise outside your room, meaning the hall. There should be signs posting up saying 'No running or Talking in the hall'. Also Room mates should not turn on the light after 11:30 PM It wakes up other Room mates and It's disrespectful to do so. Use your phone light to get into bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mireia massague galceran

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

19 June 2014 mireia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good accomodation, very clean and good service and staff

Disliked: mireia left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2014

Liked: Hostel is very easy to find. It´s around 10 min by walk from subway. What i like was locker, which was free of charge and you dont need to use your lock, cause you can open it very simply with your card. For this card you need to pay 10 pounds which are given you back by check ou

Disliked: Rooms look like in hospital. Blue courtains and very small space. t. On reception you can buy some adapters (converter for UK electricity), but they dont borrow them. Breakfast was very simple, just toast, butter, jam and cornflakes. No ham or cheese, no eggs.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nadera Rahmani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: everything from the uncomfortable beds to the toilet and showers being very far from the room and lack of power points.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: It smelled like bleach and felt like a prison. It is a property that clearly has no love for the idea of hostels and only wishes to make as much money as possible while spending as little as possible. Spend more and stay elsewhere!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edina Urban

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 May 2014 Edina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and character.

Disliked: Before I choose I always make sure there is secure locker in the room so all my stuff safe. When I arrived they said have to pay for it (it wasnt say on the website to pay plus), after they said it didnt work. So I had to put in and out all the time from-to the luggage room and the receptionist was kept asking 1 pound about it. So it was pretty annoying.... I also had to sleep with my bags in my bad to keep it safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

14 April 2014

Liked: Nothing - it was horrific!

Disliked: Everything! 3 high bunkbeds - I would like to see the risk assessment for them! Mixed gender toilets - most in which were out of order. Taps didn't work. Dirty old rooms Horrible beds Windows that didn't stay open. Noisy corridors and guests Unfriendly staff Felt unsafe!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunks with curtains are a really really good feature to help you sleep in the crowded dorms.

Disliked: The hostel never sleeps. People come and go at all hours in and out of the dorms. It should be noted that secure lockers in the dorms are not free.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gordon Brown

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 April 2014 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: Have stayed at this hostel 4 times now totally love the location as it's a minute walk from Russell Square tube station and 1 stop away from kings cross, so ideal for getting around London

Disliked: Personally I think the 3 high bunks should be scrapped as for me they are too high and therefore could be a safety issue.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Atmosphere typical one-night backpacker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal Location Friendly staff Security appeared very Good Very Clean & tidy

Disliked: Temperatures in Dorms too high and no apparent way of reducing also no apparent way of opening windows wide enough to get fresh air into the rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient to visit british museum.

Disliked: bed was small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce location, great for value

Disliked: Not much privacy in the shower room.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels