We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

78.7% Overall Rating

1229 out of 1782 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

"It is a very gender fluid and trans friendly: mix dorms, common toilets with individual showers and WC."

Read all Smart Russell Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.12
  • Towel USD 7.79

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]. We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
149.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
28.11 USD

Hostel 82.5% 669 reviews
Generator London
19.99 USD

Hostel 89.1% 4204 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.86 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
46.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
41.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
20.30 USD

Hostel 84.5% 973 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
23.07 USD

Hostel 87.0% 479 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

1229 out of 1782 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
76.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 1202 of 1554 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 48 | 49   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eric Tuel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2015

Liked: Na

Disliked: The entry doors always stuck trying to get in, I paid for a room with a private bath and shower but when I arrived I was told that I had to move out of that room but wasn't compensated for ot

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Laurenz Langer

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff at night shift were hostile and unfriendly: a) they chase customers away calling outside the main door to make them stay in the rain rather b) in the basement rooms it is impossible to sleep in the top beds as it gets to hot in them due to the low ceiling and insufficient circulation. all three nights customers complained about this but the staff did not put the heating down - you will not be able to sleep here in summer at all (this refers to the 18-bed dorm) c) The rooms are so crowded with beds that the luggage blocks all the walkways. At night you fall and stumble over luggage bags as you try to leave or enter the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2015

Liked: The location is fantastic ! In very center of the city and from the underground station only takes you 3 minutes !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else, not clean, freezing cold because heater is broken, slow wifi, strange staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the British museum and the tube station. Breakfast. Great place to meet other travellers in the common (and the breakfast) room.

Disliked: Your bed is probably too small for you if you're taller than 178 cm, it was very uncomfortable to sleep here. There are bathrooms only in the basement. The room was cold. I stayed in the 18-persons dorm, there was too much noise all the time, bring earplugs.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Denise Ferreira

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015

Liked: The location is excellent, and the staff very friendly.

Disliked: The rooms are very small and the beds for dwarfs only. low and very short. Most my students were over 1.8m so they were very uncomfortable, Thanks God it was only for one night. Breakfast should be included as its worse than what homeless people get in their accommodation.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Lukasik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location and had private bunks with curtains. They also had a small breakfast, which was small, but a nice free addition.

Disliked: The beds are closed in, so if you are more than 6 feet, you will have trouble in the larger dorms. The common room was also a bit small for the number of the people that were in the hostel. Lights went off in the showers multiple times, wasn't sure if they were on timers because it kept happening

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2014

Liked: Very well located, with breakfast and reasonable price. Bunker beds with curtains. ATM there. Staff very attencious, that booked me a cab.

Disliked: Bunker beds with curtains but no spotlights. Showers just in the basement, which means you have to cross the main common room in your pajamas. The water is in a good temperature but the lights turn off when no one is moving, which is annoying. Breakfast equals only toast and butter/jam. milk or tea, but no coffe. I don't expect much, but I've seen better, for the same price. I stayed for one week and did not see housekeeping not a single time. Tourist infos were displayed on the wall, but I only notice them at my 4th day. The staff did not tell me anything. Ok, I checked in at 2 am, but still no one told me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, but the Russell Sq. Metro was not working in the mid mornings. Not a good choice if you luggage

Disliked: Luggage room was unlocked when arrived to retrieve mine. One employee on the phone would not acknowledge that I was waiting for over 25 min just to ask for my bags. No body at the door to check that I had a key card at mid day. And some other guest used the en-suite toilet room as a trash dump. Not easy to take a shower or use the toilet. No pillowcase means I would not sleep on the pillow.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 September 2014

Liked: They do serve a nice breakfast and there is a lot of space in the common areas which makes it easy to work or cook

Disliked: I was charged extra fees for placing my luggage in a safe room and for being offered a seif. The internet was not working and I was charged 1 pound per day for internet. The showers are activated only by pressing a button and keeping it pressed so it is basically impossible for anyone to take a decent shower. Too little toilets for so many people. Staff was not necessarily rude but they didn't do their best to help me with my problems.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Raphael de Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: It's always full of people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Scrivener

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Its well placed and priced, central London plus a 1 min walk to the Picadilly line, which means you can get the tube to Heathrow without any changes.

Disliked: The beds are a wee bit small, plus the ensuite is a weird cubicle thing which reminded me of a train toilet with a shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staffa

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janemaria Pedersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Janemaria would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Good beds

Disliked: Some of the staff arogant others really friendly Breakfast to scrabby

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Brown

Alone

City break

30 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Smelly rooms which are full of junk. Staff who are a bit homophobic and unfriendly to Europeans who wear shorts.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 August 2014

Liked: cleanliness of showers/toilets and kitchen, location to GReat ormond street hospital, only 2min walk. plenty of freindly and polite staff, possibly more needed as very busy hostel.

Disliked: i lost my £10 despoit becuase i didnt check out before 10am even though i wasnt told about it. bunk beds are three high so things are quite cramped in my nine bed dorm.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Gregory

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: There was a good wifi connection.

Disliked: In addition to the above statement (The property was poorly advertised on the front of the property, considerably dirty on the inside, and incorrect directions were given by staff to the location of my room), there was bad signage within the hostel. For example, signs leading to bathrooms were incorrect.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great location for accesssing the tube and various sights.

Disliked: My room was new so while they had a locker for every bed, mine wasn'e on the system so I couldn't use it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Brustolin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima la posizione, locali sempre puliti, aree comuni molto spaziose, personale disponibile. Sicuro e ben vigilato. Ottimo il rapporto qualià prezzo. Consigliato!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai Jun Sin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Kai Jun would recommend this property

Liked: near to the tube

Disliked: the bed are too smal

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ashwin Alke Pai

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2014 Ashwin Alke would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not clean , breakfast is quite basic

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

WEN-SHYUE HSIIAO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 WEN-SHYUE would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: share room is no place to put luggage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Roberts

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right near Russell Square Tube & many places to eat/drink within walking distance! The beds were very comfortable & loved the privacy curtains/screens at end of the beds. Good clean linen on arrival & great kitchen facilities, also communal area was great with 2 televisions to choose from & plenty of places to sit - either comfy sofas or at a table to use the great FREE WiFi! The whole place was very clean even the toilets, which is not easy with so many guests, & we felt very safe here as security was excellent. Also being able to book tickets to local attractions & save money with QJump at reception was an added unexpected bonus. All in all would highly recommend & can't wait to book our next trip to London now with the knowledge of knowing we have an affordable place to stay in the heart of London. Can't wait to see Smart after its current renovations are finished!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was all we had hoped for to make our trip enjoyable!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

J?drzej Potempa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 J?drzej would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people.

Disliked: That it is not possible to change water temperature while taking a shower, lack of sockets


See all London hostels
See all London hotels