HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

69.3% Overall Rating

1177 out of 1713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

Andrea Brustolin thinks…

"Ottima la posizione, locali sempre puliti, aree comuni molto spaziose, personale disponibile. Sicuro e ben vigilato. Ottimo il rapporto qualià prezzo. Consigliato!"

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.31
  • Towel USD 8.27

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
68.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
39.76 USD

Hostel 82.5% 605 reviews
Generator London
28.99 USD

Hostel 89.4% 4135 reviews
St Athans Hotel
39.76 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
47.22 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.16 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
49.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
21.54 USD

Hostel 79.5% 950 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

1177 out of 1713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
62.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 1161 of 1484 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Fire alarm

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

16 April 2012

Liked: Location is very good and close to the tube

Disliked: There was a leaky pipe that dripped dirty water in the middle of the room. The bed curtains had bodily fluids on. Nasty smell in the room. Toilets were digusting

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annaliese Sales

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2012 Annaliese would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, value for money is amazing and services provided were good especially free breakfast.

Disliked: Annaliese left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Limited electrical outlets in dorms for charging phones etc

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: security

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melvin Nicholas

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2012 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: This is my first time being in London. Smart Russell Square is a hostel recommended to me by my friends. So me and my girlfriend decided to spend our nights there. Honestly speaking, we really love this place so so much! Most importantly, it is clean and it is really safe and secured to stay here. Staffs clean the place all the time and security is really tide here, so it's really safe! No outsiders can enter the hostel except for the customers themselves! Overall, it's an awesome place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing to say as everything is up to my expectation!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of school groups on tour, but a nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very good location, central to a lot of different places to go and to see in London. It was just around the corner from the underground Picadilly line that has a straight connection to Heathrow International which was very convenient as new travelers in London. The free wifi was very useful. Having individual curtains on each bed helped keep the light out while trying to sleep.

Disliked: Due to the mass amount of people coming and going to the hostel, it made for extremely loud nights with doors slamming and people yelling. The showers in the basement were a big let down. You had to keep pushing the button about every 15 seconds to get water, sometimes it was scolding hot or freezing cold, there really wasn't a happy medium. There also mold growing on the walls and ceiling. The bathrooms were unisex and made for very unprivate personal time. You had to pay extra to use the security storage locker in the room which made a lot of noise if someone got into it at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfier than most places as they're not the typical spring bunks. Cleaners are always working so it's a really clean and hygienic place. Great kitchen space and lots of fridges.

Disliked: Nothing is done to encourage people getting to know ech other. There are always tour groups in (mostly teenagers) that are loud and take up the space. If staying longer tan first booked you need to check out and in again and you are NEVER in the same room!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vedran Bileta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Vedran would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location...

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

IVAN CULJAK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 IVAN would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: showers are terrible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was really pleased with our room. The beds are nice we had light, Plugs and Ipod stations on each bed.

Disliked: some dirty toilets.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Tengler

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 March 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Anything was great. The Stuff was friendly and the location perfect. The Tube is near to the Hostel and the rooms been fine. I was pleased about little lights, Plugs and also Ipod Station on each bed !! The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The only thing is that some of the Toilets were dirty.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012

Liked: Price & Good location (Just round the corner from Russell Square tube station) & near the British Museum, food supermarket etc. Basic breakfast but you can probably get better going to Tesco's across the road.

Disliked: The staff were really unfriendly, rude & not helpful at all, the room was extremely hot & sweaty, there was no consideration for other people staying in the room - I had some really noisy Polish guys who kept shouting/talking & peeking in to my bed, I don't mind noise but it was 4am in the morning & after a whole day's of travel u just want to sleep, the showers were really cold, & I wouldn't recommend this youth hostel at all!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: The majority of staff was nice, but there were also some exceptions.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012

Liked: Location - perfectly located for visiting friends at UCL. Incredibly cheap room rates. Key card locking system with card access to residential areas of the hostel.

Disliked: Hostel was dirty throughout and poorly cleaned. The showers were a long (and dirty) walk from most of the rooms, and you had to hold the water button to keep the shower on. Staff were not the most friendly or focused, and repeatedly seemed zoned out when I asked a question, checked in, etc. The crowd also seemed much older than at other hostels, which was a bit uncomfortable at times.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central, tube station round the corner, a walk away from Oxford Street etc

Disliked: The luggage room isn't free once you've checked-in, so everyone has their bags in the bedroom = huge mess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not enough bathrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Prashant Mandalia

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2012 Prashant would recommend this property

Liked: Curtains on beds for privacy.

Disliked: Prashant left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012

Liked: The location was the best part. The door to the hostel is about 3 city blocks from the Russell Square tube station. The fact that breakfast was free was nice too though (toast & cereal).

Disliked: I didn't like the atmosphere, there were a lot of people always in the common rooms and people were rude in my room- being loud, turning on the lights when others were sleeping. The shower room was pretty gross. Basically I tried to spend as little time there as possible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, there was a security guard at night and people were told to be quiet at night. Breakfast was corflakes, milk, coffee, toast, butter and jam; pretty standard stuff. There was a crutain on the beds for privacy.

Disliked: Beds were to small. I'm barely 6ft and the bed was to short. The room was over booked and one night I found a new guest in my bed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012

Liked: The location is very good and facility is functional.

Disliked: The operation should be honest, clear and same as the information in internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice! I liked the atmosphere, nice living room to hang out with other people. Good place to stay.

Disliked: Showers. Could be better!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels