HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

72.9% Overall Rating

1164 out of 1689 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

"The bunks with curtains are a really really good feature to help you sleep in the crowded dorms."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
69.68 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
40.30 USD

Hostel 83.7% 593 reviews
Generator London
25.18 USD

Hostel 85.9% 4100 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
43.65 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.82 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
50.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
18.47 USD

Hostel 81.6% 934 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

1164 out of 1689 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 1141 of 1461 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 45 | 46   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012

Liked: The location was the best part. The door to the hostel is about 3 city blocks from the Russell Square tube station. The fact that breakfast was free was nice too though (toast & cereal).

Disliked: I didn't like the atmosphere, there were a lot of people always in the common rooms and people were rude in my room- being loud, turning on the lights when others were sleeping. The shower room was pretty gross. Basically I tried to spend as little time there as possible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, there was a security guard at night and people were told to be quiet at night. Breakfast was corflakes, milk, coffee, toast, butter and jam; pretty standard stuff. There was a crutain on the beds for privacy.

Disliked: Beds were to small. I'm barely 6ft and the bed was to short. The room was over booked and one night I found a new guest in my bed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012

Liked: The location is very good and facility is functional.

Disliked: The operation should be honest, clear and same as the information in internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice! I liked the atmosphere, nice living room to hang out with other people. Good place to stay.

Disliked: Showers. Could be better!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yvette Benbrook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Yvette would recommend this property

Liked: bed was comfortable, was quiet enough at night, curtain on each bed

Disliked: the showers are in the basement and are ones you have to push every 30 secs to keep the water running...questionable hot water...common area is more like an eating hall, and not comfortable enough or big enough for the amount of guests they have. not enough power plugs per room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really near in a center and have a underground station around the corner.Soooo nice..:!I really like that they have security who say please be quiet in a night. The bed´s are really nice and comfortable for a hostel!!!!!

Disliked: Cheap breakfast, have to pay and make ur bed on your own thats not really cool!And u have to pay to left ur bags somewhere...-.-

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vyacheslav Alexandrov

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 March 2012 Vyacheslav would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: a bit cold water in a shower

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tara Sleggs

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 March 2012 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: The curtains on the bunks giving privacy

Disliked: a long walk to the showers and then they were not very warm...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: please do not book this hostel!!!!!!! I did not wanna recall the memories when I stayed there. It was terrible, totally a nightmare and disaster for me. I don't know how they get such previous ranking on this website!!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012

Liked: Booked a 14 bed room and slept in a 6 bed room! Much nicer! Curtains around beds nice for privacy.

Disliked: Showers in basement. Must walk through 9 doors and 2 flights of stairs, past reception to access them. Showers are tiny, nowhere to put towel to keep dry. Breakfast was white bread, jam, cornflakes and tea. No juice or fruit.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Linda de Bruijn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012

Liked: it was allright in the beginning. But nothing special

Disliked: Almost everything. The staff seems to be very nice and helpfull but in the end they screw you about money. They make stuff up so you have to pay for things they say you broke, but you didn't even touch them. The wifi barely worked. And the rooms were TOO hot. The beds are way to uncomfortable.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The most unprofessional hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff lacked communication skills and were not helpful at all. If your already staying there and you make another reservation they still make you check out the next day and recheck in just to put you in the same room. All the showers are in the basement and the toilets are disgusting. Please save your self the hassle and look else where.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stefanos Gidaris

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 February 2012 Stefanos would recommend this property

Liked: good location, kitchen facilities

Disliked: small rooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Thiago de Oliveira Souza

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012

Liked: The location is the only really good point of this hostel. But even the location can be controversial, because it depends on where you would like to go! So, for covent garden, leicester square, etc. the location is really very good. For oxford street, it is not. I also liked that they had a huge common room, so you can maybe meet other travelers there.

Disliked: TINY beds. Im 1,78m and I could not fit in them! It is horrible to sleep in them. Really, if you are 1,75ish or taller, dont stay there. The rooms were soooo dirty. Not aweful, but really, they never even swipe the floor. You need to pay extra to have a locker! Then what happens is that most people leave their stuff on the floor. One lady in the reception was very friendly, and one guy also, but one blond girl (i guess she is french or whatever), she was so unfriendly, I guess she thinks that she is actually doing customers a favor, and not actually working there. For the price that I paid (9£/night), I know of MANY better places in london. For instance, the green man bestplace inn. Overall I desliked the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsty Coddington

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Finding my room was quite fun and I liked the curtains on the beds.

Disliked: nothing really.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012

Liked: Good Location, Good Price

Disliked: Dirty! Very noisy at night as well from street, people in lobby, and people coming in and out. People can check in any time, so we had people arriving at our room at 5AM. Also have to pay more for lockers and 10 pound deposit. If you don't want sleep, this place is cheap. Mostly international people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Salah Idabderrahim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Salah would recommend this property

Liked: location very central, the price and free-wifi

Disliked: Salah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice russian girls at reception. Big lounge area, good beds in the rooms. In general, pretty modern hostel. Good value for money. Hermann.

Disliked: Hell of a noise in common room and shitty wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You have to pay for everything - nearly nothing is included (not even lockers)

Disliked: no lockers and it was too hot during the night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Everything felt safe and secure, will definitely be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: too much crowded cold shower

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ana Lamza

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 February 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Free wifi didn't worked so we had to pay for it. The showers where extremly hot!! Rooms and beds where too small, and finally breakfast was very dissapointing it contained toast, jam and cereals.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012

Liked: The hostel was placed near the British Museum.We can walk there in 5minuits.

Disliked: First,thw showers.Only in the basement,there is a big shwer room.So we have to pass the dining,the kitchin to get to shower and after shower . I stayed in a domitory for 6persons.But it was so small.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels