We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

76.6% Overall Rating

1186 out of 1722 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

John Scrivener thinks…

"Its well placed and priced, central London plus a 1 min walk to the Picadilly line, which means you can get the tube to Heathrow without any changes."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
114.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
38.98 USD

Hostel 85.5% 606 reviews
Generator London
26.80 USD

Hostel 88.9% 4139 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
51.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
48.19 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
54.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
30.05 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

1186 out of 1722 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 1168 of 1495 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: Quite modern and pretty secure, with electronic keys for all doors.

Disliked: staff were pretty disinterested and seemed more keen on watching the football, they didnt take the time to see how anyone was, seemed in a rush. room was dirty, my bed hadnt been stripped of the old sheets from the night before, prooving the room hadnt been cleaned, very dirt pillows too, three story bunkbeds, a nuicence to climb in and out off and sore on the feet,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the staff was amazing. We had a situation where we showed up and they were overbooked in the room we were assigned. Rather than splitting us up, the staff relocated us to a much better room. We really appreciated the breakfast and dedication to the environment at this hostel.

Disliked: Not that we particularly disliked this, but be aware that when we stayed at this property it had rented out a large part of the hostel to a school group with young children. The groups were relatively well behaved, but were often loud and made the hostel very crowded. It is just something to keep in mind when booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Edgoose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable. Fantastic value for the price, breakfast is basic but provides everything you need. It feels safe and secure, there are heaps of showers and toilets which are cleaned regularly. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Jackie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: The three level beds in the dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Martin

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2012 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Clean rooms. Clean sheets. Clean toilets. Friendly security person at the door. Helpful supervisor at reception. Great keycard concept.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'emplacement, les douches, la propreté (par rapport à d'autres auberges...).

Disliked: Les colocataires bruyants mais en prenant un dortoir on s'y attendait : c'est le jeu ma pov' Lucette !!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mathieu Jenicot

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2012 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: - situe tout prés d une station de métro, donc facile d accès. - très bonne accueil des hôtesses

Disliked: - devoir aller sur le trottoir d en face pour fumer. - peu de choix au petit déjeuner - devoir payer pour sécuriser nos bagages

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Carlos Sanchez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012

Liked: the common areas were really good, breakfast was included and the location.

Disliked: they were mice on the room of the hostel, and they were walking on the room at night, they even got into a girls bed. I didn't like how the staff treated us and almost every time the breakfast area was full and it was really hard to find a place to eat.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a very good area. It's quite big and well maintained. As I wasn't expecting anything fabulous it was very good. There were no queues for the restrooms and showers, water was hot enough to shower. Breakfast were simple, but it's enough for the morning. I would recommend this place for budget travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The curtains on the bed were great, good security, 24 hr reception, sturdy beds, nice location with underground, shops, national/international rail nearby.

Disliked: The showers are a LONG way down. 10 seconds of very hot water in a very cramped stall with no where to put your stuff.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Fowler

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 June 2012

Liked: The only advantage to this hostel was the location.

Disliked: This place was absolutely awful - the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. At check in the staff were surly and unfriendly and it took absolutely ages. The atmosphere generally was not friendly or fun, with lots of rules and regulations. You were given a sheet and pillowcase to make your own bed - something I have not encountered in other hostels. You cannot rent towels but can purchase for £5. The Wifi did not work while we were there, and the hostel was difficult to get around, with lots of stairs and very heavy doors which slammed shut the second you stopped holding them. The room was unbelievably hot - not one of my group slept all night, it was so poorly ventilated and uncomfortable. The showers were probably the worst thing though. The water started freezing, but within 2 seconds became scaldingly hot - I like really hot showers but this actually burnt me. I could not stand under the water for even a moment. Nor was there anywhere to hang your towel outside the shower without it getting wet. I was very glad we were only at this hostel for one night, it was a hideous experience from start to finish.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2012

Liked: It was cheaper than a hotel.

Disliked: The room I stayed in was disgustingly humid. The showers turn off after 30 seconds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaarel Nummert

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2012 Kaarel would recommend this property

Liked: Many showers, decent breakfast.

Disliked: No free wifi, not well ventilated rooms, short bed.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Chin-Wen Kuan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012

Liked: no comment

Disliked: There's no wifi in this hostel, not mention to FREE wifi.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Erica barr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012

Liked: only good thing about the this place was the location. It is very central.

Disliked: The wifi never worked. About 50 kids 10-14 years old must have been on weekend trip and because of that it was very noisy. The bathrooms are co-ed and have blood and other bodily fluids on the back of the stall doors and toiletpaper covers. The showers are all the way in the basement and they have one temputure and its SCOLDING HOT. Not to mention the water only runs for 5 seconds before turning it back on. The rooms are very stuffy. Expect to wake up in the middle of the night sweating.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2012

Liked: Good common area, good location, lockers (even though they're 1.50/day extra,) inexpensive, curtains over the beds, showers were OK I guess (locker-room style, push-button every 10 seconds to keep it on.)

Disliked: The "Free wifi" thing is what gets me and it's why I'm giving the property a lower rating. They advertise free wifi but it's only free for an hour, and that's deceptive. I hate that, and they need to be told off by the advertiser's commission. Other than that, the staff was just OK, the laundry was expensive (6 pounds/load,) the lockers cost 1.50/day (what else am I supposed to do with my stuff?) and the room was EXTREMELY hot, to the point where I couldn't fall asleep for a while and woke up in a pool of my own sweat - other travelers said the same thing and the staff was only semi-helpful about the whole thing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andres Nicolas Ruiz

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 May 2012

Liked: Very safe and good location.

Disliked: No free wifi, no free lodge for bags after check-out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its very near and easy access to underground

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location.

Disliked: The beds are not full length. Anyone that is over 5'5" will struggle to stretch out on the beds. The sink in my room was tiny and the water isn't drinkable. The Taps provided what can be described as a dribble of water from both the Hot & Cold tap.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Caroline Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012

Liked: I liked the location of the hostel.

Disliked: Although I was only there for one night...it was the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. The showers are set at one temperature, SCALDING HOT. I burnt my chest and stomach to the point where 2 days later I am still red raw. The showers were absolutely revolting and didn't look like they had been cleaned for weeks. The toilet cubicles have sharp nails sticking out the side walls. People were playing knock and run in the halls all night long...noise curfew...they certainly weren't enforcing it. DON'T EVEN BOTHER STAYING HERE.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

carmen schiweck

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 May 2012

Liked: NICE common rooms

Disliked: showers and toilets were old and not very clean, have to pay extra for security locker !per day!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers were great! I like the pullover curtain in the beds, which blocks out the light. Nice lounge and sofa area. Secure, you are asked for your keycard before you come into the hostel and about 10 o clock they come round the communal areas asking to see keycards. There is always someone on the desk.

Disliked: You have to pay for wifi now!!!! This is a new development to me! The one thing I don't like about this hostel is that you have to pay for all the extras (such as lockers in room, lockers for the showers) apart from breakfast, which I know from a previous stay is not bad, pretty average but they have cereal as well as toast which is good. But I couldn't eat it this time because I had to catch be at the coach station for 7am and breakfast is from 7.30 - 9am. Shame I was hungry.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: NO internet for days!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: Fair prices for London. Fast and friendly response via Email.

Disliked: We stored our bags in the luggage room after checkout and when we came back to pick up our suitcases we were declined a 1-2 hour wait in common areas due to the no visitors after 22:00 roule. Hostile hostel after checkout, at 1am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristophe Chalimon

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2012 Kristophe would recommend this property

Liked: Area, situation, Building, size of the room

Disliked: Crowded


See all London hostels
See all London hotels