HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

69.8% Overall Rating

1172 out of 1704 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.39
  • Towel USD 8.45

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
60.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
40.63 USD

Hostel 81.4% 601 reviews
Generator London
39.78 USD

Hostel 86.9% 4128 reviews
St Athans Hotel
40.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
57.56 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
50.23 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
49.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
22.01 USD

Hostel 78.9% 946 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.3%

Overall Rating

1171 out of 1703 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 1154 of 1475 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Erica barr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012

Liked: only good thing about the this place was the location. It is very central.

Disliked: The wifi never worked. About 50 kids 10-14 years old must have been on weekend trip and because of that it was very noisy. The bathrooms are co-ed and have blood and other bodily fluids on the back of the stall doors and toiletpaper covers. The showers are all the way in the basement and they have one temputure and its SCOLDING HOT. Not to mention the water only runs for 5 seconds before turning it back on. The rooms are very stuffy. Expect to wake up in the middle of the night sweating.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2012

Liked: Good common area, good location, lockers (even though they're 1.50/day extra,) inexpensive, curtains over the beds, showers were OK I guess (locker-room style, push-button every 10 seconds to keep it on.)

Disliked: The "Free wifi" thing is what gets me and it's why I'm giving the property a lower rating. They advertise free wifi but it's only free for an hour, and that's deceptive. I hate that, and they need to be told off by the advertiser's commission. Other than that, the staff was just OK, the laundry was expensive (6 pounds/load,) the lockers cost 1.50/day (what else am I supposed to do with my stuff?) and the room was EXTREMELY hot, to the point where I couldn't fall asleep for a while and woke up in a pool of my own sweat - other travelers said the same thing and the staff was only semi-helpful about the whole thing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andres Nicolas Ruiz

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 May 2012

Liked: Very safe and good location.

Disliked: No free wifi, no free lodge for bags after check-out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its very near and easy access to underground

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location.

Disliked: The beds are not full length. Anyone that is over 5'5" will struggle to stretch out on the beds. The sink in my room was tiny and the water isn't drinkable. The Taps provided what can be described as a dribble of water from both the Hot & Cold tap.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Caroline Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012

Liked: I liked the location of the hostel.

Disliked: Although I was only there for one night...it was the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. The showers are set at one temperature, SCALDING HOT. I burnt my chest and stomach to the point where 2 days later I am still red raw. The showers were absolutely revolting and didn't look like they had been cleaned for weeks. The toilet cubicles have sharp nails sticking out the side walls. People were playing knock and run in the halls all night long...noise curfew...they certainly weren't enforcing it. DON'T EVEN BOTHER STAYING HERE.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

carmen schiweck

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 May 2012

Liked: NICE common rooms

Disliked: showers and toilets were old and not very clean, have to pay extra for security locker !per day!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers were great! I like the pullover curtain in the beds, which blocks out the light. Nice lounge and sofa area. Secure, you are asked for your keycard before you come into the hostel and about 10 o clock they come round the communal areas asking to see keycards. There is always someone on the desk.

Disliked: You have to pay for wifi now!!!! This is a new development to me! The one thing I don't like about this hostel is that you have to pay for all the extras (such as lockers in room, lockers for the showers) apart from breakfast, which I know from a previous stay is not bad, pretty average but they have cereal as well as toast which is good. But I couldn't eat it this time because I had to catch be at the coach station for 7am and breakfast is from 7.30 - 9am. Shame I was hungry.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: NO internet for days!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: Fair prices for London. Fast and friendly response via Email.

Disliked: We stored our bags in the luggage room after checkout and when we came back to pick up our suitcases we were declined a 1-2 hour wait in common areas due to the no visitors after 22:00 roule. Hostile hostel after checkout, at 1am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristophe Chalimon

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2012 Kristophe would recommend this property

Liked: Area, situation, Building, size of the room

Disliked: Crowded

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012

Liked: The location wasn't too bad, wasn't fantastic either tho. The free breakfast included wasn't anything special (toast/tea/cereal) but was still nice to get.

Disliked: This place sends you the message that they are trying to make money off of you, not help you enjoy yourself as a traveler. They packed the rooms very full (21 people in a room most hostels would put 12 or so). Had zero space to move or put things. The facilities aren't quaint or fun, they are simply made as easy to clean as possible. The whole goal of the hostels is to put more people inside so they can make more money. Thank goodness London is impossible not to enjoy or this place would have ruined our time there without a doubt.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good, easy to find from Russell Square tube station The rooms were a nice size Showers were clean and spacious

Disliked: Water in showers were almost scolding hot!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good fellow travellers staying at hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012

Liked: Location, free wifi, price.

Disliked: Showers were gross, room size was too small, staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. They use calculators instead of a proper cash register machine... really? 5% charge for cards is bogus. On top of that they were inefficient and we had to wait twenty minutes in line to check in and check out. My girlfriend left her towel in the room and when we came back for it, it was gone and staff wouldn't even be bothered about it. Wifi was inconsistent and breakfast was inadequate at best.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erica dawson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 erica would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and great location free breakfast was basic but good. Excelent facilitys and realy comfy beds.

Disliked: if your travelling alone this place can be a little sterile. i like hostels that are more communal but hey its the heart of london not woodstock. for a few nights stay id recomrnd it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, it's reasonably cheap and the staff is generally helpful. There were curtains on each individual bed, this meant that one could sleep in the dark despite there being no window curtains.

Disliked: The noise level in the room is high due to the door into the room being very poorly insulated, this makes it very difficult to get a good night's sleep. There are also a lot of building works going on nearby. Earplulgs are therefore strongly recommended for a good night's sleep. The beds have no reading lamps and there are no hooks on the walls to hang belongings. The communal shower room smells of mould, other than that the accomodation is clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Amie Hartas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2012

Liked: Location and cost

Disliked: The showers were traumatizing. They don't stay in longer than 3seconds and are set at almost boiling temperature.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Fire alarm

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

16 April 2012

Liked: Location is very good and close to the tube

Disliked: There was a leaky pipe that dripped dirty water in the middle of the room. The bed curtains had bodily fluids on. Nasty smell in the room. Toilets were digusting

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annaliese Sales

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2012 Annaliese would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, value for money is amazing and services provided were good especially free breakfast.

Disliked: Annaliese left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Limited electrical outlets in dorms for charging phones etc

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: security

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melvin Nicholas

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2012 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: This is my first time being in London. Smart Russell Square is a hostel recommended to me by my friends. So me and my girlfriend decided to spend our nights there. Honestly speaking, we really love this place so so much! Most importantly, it is clean and it is really safe and secured to stay here. Staffs clean the place all the time and security is really tide here, so it's really safe! No outsiders can enter the hostel except for the customers themselves! Overall, it's an awesome place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing to say as everything is up to my expectation!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of school groups on tour, but a nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels