HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

69.8% Overall Rating

1172 out of 1704 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.39
  • Towel USD 8.45

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
60.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
40.63 USD

Hostel 81.4% 601 reviews
Generator London
39.78 USD

Hostel 86.9% 4128 reviews
St Athans Hotel
40.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
57.56 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
50.23 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
49.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
22.01 USD

Hostel 78.9% 946 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.3%

Overall Rating

1171 out of 1703 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 1155 of 1476 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Otrebska

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 July 2012 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: The common area and use of the kitchen. The beds have courtains so it gives more privacy while you resting and makes more nightime atmosphere if you want to have a nap during the day.

Disliked: The showers, well if you go there you'll understand why ;-) I was in the ground floor room and I had to pass 11 door to find showers in the basement. There is a lot of them but just two have a size that you can move around easily. If you size 14 or more it might a bit difficult for you. There are two hairdries in the showers but not of them was working.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, good location, staff very efficient & helpful

Disliked: Mass showers down in the basement. Some toilets without handbasins. Groups can be noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: Location, price and friendly staff

Disliked: to hot in the rooms, the showers are not so clean, the dryers in female showers didn't work, the wi-fi worked not as I thought

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: staff were good and friendly

Disliked: It was a pretty bellow-average-hostel 5 years ago, when I fisrt lodged in there and it has had virtually no maintanace since then... there were talks of mice but I must say I did not see any but the rooms are extremely hot, stinky, over-crowded. I don't think I will take my students there next year unless I see significant changes. the members of staff are good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were clean.

Disliked: In some showers, water was boiling hot impossible to stay under ! The curtains on beds were durty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la situation géographie

Disliked: le bruit, la chaleur dans les chambres,

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012

Liked: cleanliness, location, kitchen

Disliked: tiny beds stacked 3 stories high on top of each other, very ambivalent staff, felt like a warehouse

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matilde Huerta Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2012 Matilde would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicacion

Disliked: Que si haces un pago con tarjeta de credito o debito te cobran 5% mas, el internet te locobran carisimo, las regaderas estan lejos de algunas habitaciones, el personal es de lo mas hostil y grosero, las regaderas tenian cabellos por todos lados y el tener que dejar un deposito de 10 libras.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kathryn Palmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and beds have curtains, which is a major plus. Breakfast is limited but at least you get it.

Disliked: Last time I stayed there Internet was free, now you have to pay on an unsecured site after an hr. Showers are a mission to get to, plenty of people getting lost in the basement!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 June 2012

Liked: posizione

Disliked: camere da letto al piano -1

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Staying... Staff were rude and unhelpful. Showers were located in the basement (we were on the 3rd floor). There was no ventilation. Breakfast was stale bread and not enough places to sit down. On the whole it was awful and we were glad to leave.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Makenna Morck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: Smart Russel Square was surprisingly clean and safe for the price. However, it completely lacks in character--this place is really only good if you're looking for a really cheap place to stay for a brief night. For a stay of two nights or more, I'd only do this if you're really really strapped for cash, as it's really worth it just to be somewhere a little nicer.

Disliked: This place is just really bottom of the line. The showers are like a huge locker room, and the beds are stacked three high with barely enough space to walk between them. We stayed in the basement, which felt just like staying in the hull of a really old ship (cramped, old, and all white). Also, this cheap of a hostel attracts a really seedy crowd, so the people here were really weird, and there were lots of older people. Basically,you'll get the bare minimum here, which is exactly as much as you paid for.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: Quite modern and pretty secure, with electronic keys for all doors.

Disliked: staff were pretty disinterested and seemed more keen on watching the football, they didnt take the time to see how anyone was, seemed in a rush. room was dirty, my bed hadnt been stripped of the old sheets from the night before, prooving the room hadnt been cleaned, very dirt pillows too, three story bunkbeds, a nuicence to climb in and out off and sore on the feet,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the staff was amazing. We had a situation where we showed up and they were overbooked in the room we were assigned. Rather than splitting us up, the staff relocated us to a much better room. We really appreciated the breakfast and dedication to the environment at this hostel.

Disliked: Not that we particularly disliked this, but be aware that when we stayed at this property it had rented out a large part of the hostel to a school group with young children. The groups were relatively well behaved, but were often loud and made the hostel very crowded. It is just something to keep in mind when booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Edgoose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable. Fantastic value for the price, breakfast is basic but provides everything you need. It feels safe and secure, there are heaps of showers and toilets which are cleaned regularly. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Jackie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: The three level beds in the dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Martin

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2012 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Clean rooms. Clean sheets. Clean toilets. Friendly security person at the door. Helpful supervisor at reception. Great keycard concept.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'emplacement, les douches, la propreté (par rapport à d'autres auberges...).

Disliked: Les colocataires bruyants mais en prenant un dortoir on s'y attendait : c'est le jeu ma pov' Lucette !!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mathieu Jenicot

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2012 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: - situe tout prés d une station de métro, donc facile d accès. - très bonne accueil des hôtesses

Disliked: - devoir aller sur le trottoir d en face pour fumer. - peu de choix au petit déjeuner - devoir payer pour sécuriser nos bagages

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Carlos Sanchez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012

Liked: the common areas were really good, breakfast was included and the location.

Disliked: they were mice on the room of the hostel, and they were walking on the room at night, they even got into a girls bed. I didn't like how the staff treated us and almost every time the breakfast area was full and it was really hard to find a place to eat.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a very good area. It's quite big and well maintained. As I wasn't expecting anything fabulous it was very good. There were no queues for the restrooms and showers, water was hot enough to shower. Breakfast were simple, but it's enough for the morning. I would recommend this place for budget travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The curtains on the bed were great, good security, 24 hr reception, sturdy beds, nice location with underground, shops, national/international rail nearby.

Disliked: The showers are a LONG way down. 10 seconds of very hot water in a very cramped stall with no where to put your stuff.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Fowler

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 June 2012

Liked: The only advantage to this hostel was the location.

Disliked: This place was absolutely awful - the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. At check in the staff were surly and unfriendly and it took absolutely ages. The atmosphere generally was not friendly or fun, with lots of rules and regulations. You were given a sheet and pillowcase to make your own bed - something I have not encountered in other hostels. You cannot rent towels but can purchase for £5. The Wifi did not work while we were there, and the hostel was difficult to get around, with lots of stairs and very heavy doors which slammed shut the second you stopped holding them. The room was unbelievably hot - not one of my group slept all night, it was so poorly ventilated and uncomfortable. The showers were probably the worst thing though. The water started freezing, but within 2 seconds became scaldingly hot - I like really hot showers but this actually burnt me. I could not stand under the water for even a moment. Nor was there anywhere to hang your towel outside the shower without it getting wet. I was very glad we were only at this hostel for one night, it was a hideous experience from start to finish.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2012

Liked: It was cheaper than a hotel.

Disliked: The room I stayed in was disgustingly humid. The showers turn off after 30 seconds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaarel Nummert

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2012 Kaarel would recommend this property

Liked: Many showers, decent breakfast.

Disliked: No free wifi, not well ventilated rooms, short bed.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels