We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

73.8% Overall Rating

1193 out of 1735 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/02/2015)

"Great location near the British museum and the tube station. Breakfast. Great place to meet other travellers in the common (and the breakfast) room."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.07
  • Towel USD 7.65

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
146.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
24.52 USD

Hostel 87.2% 614 reviews
Generator London
26.06 USD

Hostel 89.9% 4164 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.08 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
46.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 3 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
34.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.1% 27 reviews
Clink261
19.93 USD

Hostel 84.1% 959 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
27.59 USD

Hostel 86.5% 472 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

1193 out of 1735 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 1174 of 1507 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gerald bailey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: great location right by tube station good staff ideal for what i needed cheap digs in central london

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gili gueta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 gili would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD AREA

Disliked: SIZE OF ROOMS

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2012

Liked: leaving

Disliked: Only one hour of free wifi per day is a scam. The showers: There was one block of showers in the basement for the entire hostel, a ten minute walk through a maze of corridors from most rooms, and they were horrible, the water only turns on for about 5 seconds at a time and there is nowhere to put your stuff. Dorms were tiny, security was over the top and it had the atmosphere of a prison. Terrible place

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean Thompson

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: the curtains round the beds

Disliked: lot of steps

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rafal Michalowicz

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too short beds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012

Liked: The showers were okay. Common room was clean and big.

Disliked: Our room was so hot, that we couldnt sleep there. There should be something to dry your hands with in the toilet. The fridge was disorganized and someone ate our food even though it was labeld.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is Located very close to the tube station, was clean, people helpful and friendly and so cheap for being during the olympics period.

Disliked: Lack of privacy maybe, but quite normal for sleeping in a 12-beds room.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 August 2012

Liked: Its close to the tube station

Disliked: They woke both rooms up at 5am to ask for ID to check the people in the room!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2012

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The air in the rooms didn't circulate at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Statt

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, free breakfast

Disliked: You have to buy a towel and there is no medium when trying to get into the room between all lights blindingly on or pitch darkness

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

claudio prado de mello

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 claudio would recommend this property

Liked: The place is wonderful for the localization, The staff is also great and evytime I go to London I stay there .

Disliked: The only thing that I dont like is the shower, but considering all the others details, it is the third time I was a guest and going for the fouth time in few days . I would say that is my home when in London.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Valentina Herrera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Maria Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location very close to the Underground

Disliked: There are not enought plugs in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, safe hostel. Cleaned continuously - the friendly, cheerful cleaners are one of the best things about this hostel.

Disliked: Wifi is free for first hour only. Some dorms are very crowded.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tara O'Connor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012

Liked: good location. breakfast simple but very efficient. had security keeping out non residents. good price & able to get a booking despite the Olympics!

Disliked: Well, you pay for what you get - literally! So if you want to use the underbed lockers or lockers in the shower rooms, you pay extra. If you want to pay with a credit card, you pay 5% extra. You also need to give them a £10 cash deposit on arrival for key & linen in addition to your overnight charge. Good thing there is an ATM at the end of the street. Showers were too hot to stand under with no temp control & no where dry to put your stuff ( OK if you like a really hot shower!) A very busy hostel that probably is never quiet enough to clean it properly!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price. Good location.

Disliked: Crowded, very hot in rooms, poor breakfast and showers.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 July 2012

Liked: It was clean and it was super close to the centre of London.

Disliked: I didn't feel the staff were very helpful, and there was always a line up for the front desk, many times because the staff were chatting among themselves and not helping people. And the fact that they charged extra for all amenities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Turner

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness was good . very organized

Disliked: the amount of doors in the building . causing noise . not good plumbing for water on the top floor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

KIN IAN CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 KIN IAN would recommend this property

Liked: It is actually quite nice if you take the price into account. Its location is extremely good, just a minute walk from the tube station and it is really near the city center. The place is full of people. It can be easy to know some other travellers during the breakfast time.

Disliked: I slept in a 24 beds room and thats quite crowded. You may have no place to put your bags but to give two pounds to let the staff take care for you. The bathroom is not easilly accessible that you need to walk up and down in order to take a shower. The hairblowers in the bathroom are broken and I cannot do it in my room because there are twenty-three people sleeping in the same room. I slept with my hair half-wet that night. It can be a place where you can only sleep but do nothing else.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ahmet Yasar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012

Liked: only securty was ok

Disliked: A mouse was in room, not much clean, bath rooms are far from rooms....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Otrebska

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 July 2012 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: The common area and use of the kitchen. The beds have courtains so it gives more privacy while you resting and makes more nightime atmosphere if you want to have a nap during the day.

Disliked: The showers, well if you go there you'll understand why ;-) I was in the ground floor room and I had to pass 11 door to find showers in the basement. There is a lot of them but just two have a size that you can move around easily. If you size 14 or more it might a bit difficult for you. There are two hairdries in the showers but not of them was working.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, good location, staff very efficient & helpful

Disliked: Mass showers down in the basement. Some toilets without handbasins. Groups can be noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: Location, price and friendly staff

Disliked: to hot in the rooms, the showers are not so clean, the dryers in female showers didn't work, the wi-fi worked not as I thought

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: staff were good and friendly

Disliked: It was a pretty bellow-average-hostel 5 years ago, when I fisrt lodged in there and it has had virtually no maintanace since then... there were talks of mice but I must say I did not see any but the rooms are extremely hot, stinky, over-crowded. I don't think I will take my students there next year unless I see significant changes. the members of staff are good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were clean.

Disliked: In some showers, water was boiling hot impossible to stay under ! The curtains on beds were durty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la situation géographie

Disliked: le bruit, la chaleur dans les chambres,


See all London hostels
See all London hotels