HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

71.0% Overall Rating

1178 out of 1714 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"cleanliness of showers/toilets and kitchen, location to GReat ormond street hospital, only 2min walk. plenty of freindly and polite staff, possibly more needed as very busy hostel."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 8.29

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
158.61 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
39.86 USD

Hostel 85.5% 606 reviews
Generator London
27.40 USD

Hostel 89.6% 4137 reviews
St Athans Hotel
39.86 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
45.26 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.28 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
49.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
21.59 USD

Hostel 79.5% 950 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

1178 out of 1714 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
64.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 1163 of 1486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Valentina Herrera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Maria Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location very close to the Underground

Disliked: There are not enought plugs in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, safe hostel. Cleaned continuously - the friendly, cheerful cleaners are one of the best things about this hostel.

Disliked: Wifi is free for first hour only. Some dorms are very crowded.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tara O'Connor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012

Liked: good location. breakfast simple but very efficient. had security keeping out non residents. good price & able to get a booking despite the Olympics!

Disliked: Well, you pay for what you get - literally! So if you want to use the underbed lockers or lockers in the shower rooms, you pay extra. If you want to pay with a credit card, you pay 5% extra. You also need to give them a £10 cash deposit on arrival for key & linen in addition to your overnight charge. Good thing there is an ATM at the end of the street. Showers were too hot to stand under with no temp control & no where dry to put your stuff ( OK if you like a really hot shower!) A very busy hostel that probably is never quiet enough to clean it properly!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price. Good location.

Disliked: Crowded, very hot in rooms, poor breakfast and showers.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 July 2012

Liked: It was clean and it was super close to the centre of London.

Disliked: I didn't feel the staff were very helpful, and there was always a line up for the front desk, many times because the staff were chatting among themselves and not helping people. And the fact that they charged extra for all amenities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Turner

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness was good . very organized

Disliked: the amount of doors in the building . causing noise . not good plumbing for water on the top floor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

KIN IAN CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 KIN IAN would recommend this property

Liked: It is actually quite nice if you take the price into account. Its location is extremely good, just a minute walk from the tube station and it is really near the city center. The place is full of people. It can be easy to know some other travellers during the breakfast time.

Disliked: I slept in a 24 beds room and thats quite crowded. You may have no place to put your bags but to give two pounds to let the staff take care for you. The bathroom is not easilly accessible that you need to walk up and down in order to take a shower. The hairblowers in the bathroom are broken and I cannot do it in my room because there are twenty-three people sleeping in the same room. I slept with my hair half-wet that night. It can be a place where you can only sleep but do nothing else.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ahmet Yasar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012

Liked: only securty was ok

Disliked: A mouse was in room, not much clean, bath rooms are far from rooms....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Otrebska

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 July 2012 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: The common area and use of the kitchen. The beds have courtains so it gives more privacy while you resting and makes more nightime atmosphere if you want to have a nap during the day.

Disliked: The showers, well if you go there you'll understand why ;-) I was in the ground floor room and I had to pass 11 door to find showers in the basement. There is a lot of them but just two have a size that you can move around easily. If you size 14 or more it might a bit difficult for you. There are two hairdries in the showers but not of them was working.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, good location, staff very efficient & helpful

Disliked: Mass showers down in the basement. Some toilets without handbasins. Groups can be noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: Location, price and friendly staff

Disliked: to hot in the rooms, the showers are not so clean, the dryers in female showers didn't work, the wi-fi worked not as I thought

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: staff were good and friendly

Disliked: It was a pretty bellow-average-hostel 5 years ago, when I fisrt lodged in there and it has had virtually no maintanace since then... there were talks of mice but I must say I did not see any but the rooms are extremely hot, stinky, over-crowded. I don't think I will take my students there next year unless I see significant changes. the members of staff are good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were clean.

Disliked: In some showers, water was boiling hot impossible to stay under ! The curtains on beds were durty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la situation géographie

Disliked: le bruit, la chaleur dans les chambres,

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012

Liked: cleanliness, location, kitchen

Disliked: tiny beds stacked 3 stories high on top of each other, very ambivalent staff, felt like a warehouse

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matilde Huerta Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2012 Matilde would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicacion

Disliked: Que si haces un pago con tarjeta de credito o debito te cobran 5% mas, el internet te locobran carisimo, las regaderas estan lejos de algunas habitaciones, el personal es de lo mas hostil y grosero, las regaderas tenian cabellos por todos lados y el tener que dejar un deposito de 10 libras.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kathryn Palmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and beds have curtains, which is a major plus. Breakfast is limited but at least you get it.

Disliked: Last time I stayed there Internet was free, now you have to pay on an unsecured site after an hr. Showers are a mission to get to, plenty of people getting lost in the basement!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 June 2012

Liked: posizione

Disliked: camere da letto al piano -1

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Staying... Staff were rude and unhelpful. Showers were located in the basement (we were on the 3rd floor). There was no ventilation. Breakfast was stale bread and not enough places to sit down. On the whole it was awful and we were glad to leave.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Makenna Morck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: Smart Russel Square was surprisingly clean and safe for the price. However, it completely lacks in character--this place is really only good if you're looking for a really cheap place to stay for a brief night. For a stay of two nights or more, I'd only do this if you're really really strapped for cash, as it's really worth it just to be somewhere a little nicer.

Disliked: This place is just really bottom of the line. The showers are like a huge locker room, and the beds are stacked three high with barely enough space to walk between them. We stayed in the basement, which felt just like staying in the hull of a really old ship (cramped, old, and all white). Also, this cheap of a hostel attracts a really seedy crowd, so the people here were really weird, and there were lots of older people. Basically,you'll get the bare minimum here, which is exactly as much as you paid for.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: Quite modern and pretty secure, with electronic keys for all doors.

Disliked: staff were pretty disinterested and seemed more keen on watching the football, they didnt take the time to see how anyone was, seemed in a rush. room was dirty, my bed hadnt been stripped of the old sheets from the night before, prooving the room hadnt been cleaned, very dirt pillows too, three story bunkbeds, a nuicence to climb in and out off and sore on the feet,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the staff was amazing. We had a situation where we showed up and they were overbooked in the room we were assigned. Rather than splitting us up, the staff relocated us to a much better room. We really appreciated the breakfast and dedication to the environment at this hostel.

Disliked: Not that we particularly disliked this, but be aware that when we stayed at this property it had rented out a large part of the hostel to a school group with young children. The groups were relatively well behaved, but were often loud and made the hostel very crowded. It is just something to keep in mind when booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Edgoose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable. Fantastic value for the price, breakfast is basic but provides everything you need. It feels safe and secure, there are heaps of showers and toilets which are cleaned regularly. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Jackie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: The three level beds in the dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Martin

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2012 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Clean rooms. Clean sheets. Clean toilets. Friendly security person at the door. Helpful supervisor at reception. Great keycard concept.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels