We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

88.5% Overall Rating

683 out of 737 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2015)

"The building itself is beautiful. It is the cleanest and nicest hostel I have ever stayed in, in London. It has a few very large homely communal areas, and a huge kitchen. A perfect place to have pre drinks and hang out…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
31.99 USD

Hostel 87.7% 1175 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
0.78 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 30 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
37.45 USD

Hotel 82.6% 38 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
68.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
29.63 USD

Hostel 72.7% 1331 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
50.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
48.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 199 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
23.41 USD

Hostel 68.9% 1853 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

683 out of 737 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 669 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel! Free Wifi wouldn't hurt! Soft drink vending machine too.. but overall a nice clean friendly hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Inge Loo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2010 Inge would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the reception staff on arrival first of all. There was a good atmosphere and the free breakfast was great. Overall everything had a clean feel, the toilets and kitchen for example. The room was spacious enough for 6 people and the beds bedbug-free (had some bad expierences in Australia).

Disliked: There wasn't much I didn't like. Maybe climbing the stairs was a bit tiring, but a lift would ruin the characteristics of the building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful 24 hour reception. Decent free breakfast. Good kitchen and lounge. Convenient and good location.

Disliked: Had to pay for the internet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Cheap laundry. Free brekky

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mayrely Alvarez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010

Liked: The only good thing about this hostel is the location

Disliked: The room was small, no phone, the toilet seat completely torn off, they never came to clean, but the worst part was the service. The staff was so rude and unhelpful. They wouldnt even wake us up for our departure flight even when we offered to pay for the service. They left our door wide open one day (I'm not even sure why they came to "clean" if the place looked exactly the same after they left). They had a tremendous attitude and seemed to be annoyed when you came to them with any question or concern. Do not stay here!!!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Work / volunteering

27 September 2010

Liked: I liked the lounge where you can stay if the wheater is not good. Also it is nice that you can use the kitchen nearly all day long. So you can sit and talk with other people. That avoid noise at night. ;-)

Disliked: The rooms were not clean, there was dust and on the top of the wastebin we could see the toothpaste of the people who were in the room before. Further I booked a room for two persons to sleep there with a friend of mine. That would have been no problem but the staff wouldn't gave us a second duvet. Also the girl at the reception was realy unfriendly and told me that this is my mistake. I had to book a twin room. But at hostelbookers.com I didn't found an option like that....

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

26 September 2010

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: Too sensitive fire alarm and really really small room (even for private one) with no lockers or even a chair.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Pius

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel with friendly and helpful staff, especially the blonde girl that works during the afternoon.

Disliked: The showers are all attached as an ensuite, so you generally have to wait longer than if there were shared showers on the floor somewhere. Also, when you are in your bed, you can hear everytime someone turns the water on for a shower or when they flush the toilet. This can be annoying if it is really early in the morning or late at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a well located hostel across from Kensington and Hyde parks. We stayed in a 6 bunk bed dorm with its own bathroom. It was nice and quiet. Big Tv room with free book exchange. Have to pay for internet. Breakfast was nice, had a good kitchen.

Disliked: We were on the 3rd floor which involved many more stairs than a normal 3 level building would involved. Im fit and no sook but it was a bit of a pain! Ask for a room on a lower level if possible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Shepard

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa

25 September 2010 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great location next to the Queen's Gate of Hyde Park with excellent staff and a feeling community. The breakfast was also better than other hostels I've visited. I'd use them again.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

KUO-YUAN TSENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010 KUO-YUAN would recommend this property

Liked: I like their yummy breakfast~!!!

Disliked: live in the 4th floor without an elevator... Only with the old noisy stairs.... It's really annoying...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the small room, which we had. And the free breakfast was really good, also music.

Disliked: I dindt like that the wi-fi was just in rooms on the groundfloor. we had a room on the 4th floor and was really uncomfortable to went down and back just for the wi-fi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan-Peter Horstmann

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

20 September 2010 Jan-Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable

Disliked: No free internet :(((

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Claudia Silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good quality for price.

Disliked: It's a bit far away from the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location, good staff, lounge room,breakfastkitchen available the most part of the day: it's possible to buy food and store it in the kitchen and cook there

Disliked: the cleaners

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Manager rude and unhelpful, made guests feel unwanted and unwelcome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, great location, staff, atmosphere!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building

Disliked: Wish there was a more complete breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals

13 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!!!

Disliked: Internet WiFi was not reaching upper floors.Not enough electrical socket adapters.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Petr

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 September 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, clean rooms, free luggage room ... definitely place for you to stay!

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Barbara Petek

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

11 September 2010 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: almost averything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIELLE QUELCH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2010 DANIELLE would recommend this property

Liked: The place is awesome great way to start our 6 month trip. Most of the staff where very helpful and easy to talk to. The rooms are a great size and the lockers under the beds are good too. Breakfast was great and had a great kitchen for us to use. Wifi was also excellent as never had an issue. Really easy access to bus and metro lines, lovely parks closes by. Would def stay here again no doubt.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean and tidy - staff are very helpful!

Disliked: The stairs - there is no elevator! :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brian Malasics

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The neighborhood is really nice, right next to Hyde Park. Bit of a hike to the tube but not bad. Large lounge. Great staff. Very laid-back atmosphere.

Disliked: Stairs, lots and lots of stairs. Water collects on bathroom floor after shower.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels