HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

87.9% Overall Rating

667 out of 720 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

"The staff were very friendly, and the hostel itself is very beautiful. Everything was clean and as described and there were nice, big open communal areas. The wifi works, and breakfast had a good selection. Really great…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. - Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. Refunds will only be made to the same credit card. For all groups over 8, please contact us on groups@hostelbookers.com in order to make your booking. We regret that we do not take group bookings through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
30.53 USD

Hostel 86.2% 1146 reviews
Acacia Hostel
25.45 USD

Hostel 68.3% 457 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
33.93 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 27 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
37.32 USD

Hotel 80.7% 34 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
97.54 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View
27.12 USD

Hostel 70.4% 1315 reviews
London Guards Hotel
101.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
58.52 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

667 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 542 of 652 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fruzsina Hideg

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2010 Fruzsina would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you very much!!! We spend 2 nights in Astor Hyde Park it was so cool... :) Nice clean room, big dining room, friend helpful staff.Thanks from Hungary

Disliked: Fruzsina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice lounge in which to relax and meet some other people. The premises are new and cleaned often.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Kastelic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 November 2010 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, nice neighbourhood.

Disliked: Absoluteley no place to put your stuff anywhere in the room except on the floor or the compartment under the bed. Especially annoying if you get the top bunk and you can't even have your cell phone around. And it's the same in the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Giusti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, nice dormitory, confortable beds

Disliked: nothing particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing borough for very little rates ! calm place but very near to the city center and beautiful parks aroundthe house was really impressive and beautiful

Disliked: nothing !

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff named Anna is really nice and helpful and I'm so grateful for her great assistance when I requested. Apart from the welcoming and friendly reception, the whole environment including room and toilet is amazingly tidey and clean!!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about it, really.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010

Liked: Close to lots of museums

Disliked: A little far from the tube station

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money, easy to reach everything by tube or bus, crew very helpful

Disliked: old bread for breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel and its facilities were even better than I imagined. Very clean! Staff at night not so helpfull, but Australian girl in the mornings very nice!

Disliked: Breakfast could be better, especially because they don't offer prepared coffee and because there's never sugar available!! WiFi connection does not get to the 2nd floor, bit of a problem when youre reaaaally tired and would like to check your email in your room! But, overall, it's a nice place to stay in a nice area!!! Don't do the sandeman's night tour!! It's a SCAMMM!! 12 pound for 4 shots?? Definitely not worth it!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Toilets were not very clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel tato

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2010 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the bilding

Disliked: nothing at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basically, the crew here are pretty friendly; provide simple but free breakfast...

Disliked: Not bad, but bad smell in my room may be because of the huminity in these days.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Bakytova

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 October 2010 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location

Disliked: Some assistance from staff during breakfast would be fine. Many newcomers ran along the kitchen looking for hot water, tea, dishes etc. on their first morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel! Free Wifi wouldn't hurt! Soft drink vending machine too.. but overall a nice clean friendly hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Inge Loo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2010 Inge would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the reception staff on arrival first of all. There was a good atmosphere and the free breakfast was great. Overall everything had a clean feel, the toilets and kitchen for example. The room was spacious enough for 6 people and the beds bedbug-free (had some bad expierences in Australia).

Disliked: There wasn't much I didn't like. Maybe climbing the stairs was a bit tiring, but a lift would ruin the characteristics of the building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful 24 hour reception. Decent free breakfast. Good kitchen and lounge. Convenient and good location.

Disliked: Had to pay for the internet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Cheap laundry. Free brekky

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mayrely Alvarez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010

Liked: The only good thing about this hostel is the location

Disliked: The room was small, no phone, the toilet seat completely torn off, they never came to clean, but the worst part was the service. The staff was so rude and unhelpful. They wouldnt even wake us up for our departure flight even when we offered to pay for the service. They left our door wide open one day (I'm not even sure why they came to "clean" if the place looked exactly the same after they left). They had a tremendous attitude and seemed to be annoyed when you came to them with any question or concern. Do not stay here!!!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Work / volunteering

27 September 2010

Liked: I liked the lounge where you can stay if the wheater is not good. Also it is nice that you can use the kitchen nearly all day long. So you can sit and talk with other people. That avoid noise at night. ;-)

Disliked: The rooms were not clean, there was dust and on the top of the wastebin we could see the toothpaste of the people who were in the room before. Further I booked a room for two persons to sleep there with a friend of mine. That would have been no problem but the staff wouldn't gave us a second duvet. Also the girl at the reception was realy unfriendly and told me that this is my mistake. I had to book a twin room. But at hostelbookers.com I didn't found an option like that....

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

26 September 2010

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: Too sensitive fire alarm and really really small room (even for private one) with no lockers or even a chair.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Pius

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel with friendly and helpful staff, especially the blonde girl that works during the afternoon.

Disliked: The showers are all attached as an ensuite, so you generally have to wait longer than if there were shared showers on the floor somewhere. Also, when you are in your bed, you can hear everytime someone turns the water on for a shower or when they flush the toilet. This can be annoying if it is really early in the morning or late at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a well located hostel across from Kensington and Hyde parks. We stayed in a 6 bunk bed dorm with its own bathroom. It was nice and quiet. Big Tv room with free book exchange. Have to pay for internet. Breakfast was nice, had a good kitchen.

Disliked: We were on the 3rd floor which involved many more stairs than a normal 3 level building would involved. Im fit and no sook but it was a bit of a pain! Ask for a room on a lower level if possible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Shepard

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa

25 September 2010 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great location next to the Queen's Gate of Hyde Park with excellent staff and a feeling community. The breakfast was also better than other hostels I've visited. I'd use them again.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels