We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

88.5% Overall Rating

683 out of 737 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2015)

"The building itself is beautiful. It is the cleanest and nicest hostel I have ever stayed in, in London. It has a few very large homely communal areas, and a huge kitchen. A perfect place to have pre drinks and hang out…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
31.90 USD

Hostel 87.7% 1175 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
0.78 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 30 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
37.34 USD

Hotel 82.6% 38 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
84.72 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
29.55 USD

Hostel 72.7% 1331 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
54.07 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
48.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 199 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
23.34 USD

Hostel 68.9% 1853 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

683 out of 737 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 669 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it is a pretty good hostel. When you book for a hostel you already know that it is not going to be 5 star hotel, and you are not going to have king size bed with a big room. You go there to sleep, and during the day you are out in the town. Actually I was surprised when I got there, this hostel was better than I thought,.

Disliked: the kitchen, but it is not that bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, great location, amazingly clean, good breakfast, nice staff... perfect place!

Disliked: The only thing I can think about would be the lack of shelves in the bathroom...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Enrique Diaz

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

21 March 2011 Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Room service

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convienent to Hyde park and Science history museum.

Disliked: nothing too bad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent

Disliked: the kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2011

Liked: Very good location, no cerfue, pleasent staff

Disliked: Bathroom was completely diferent then on pictures. Breakfast was poor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very clean friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Free breakfast.

Disliked: A little noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2011

Liked: Hostel was clean and the staff were friendly. Located in a nice area, about 10 minutes walk from a tube station.

Disliked: Private rooms are bare, mattress is lumpy and they have NO CURTAINS. This is a bit odd as it could be fixed quite cheaply. There is also a lot of noise from the hostel on Saturday night, so not much good if you're leaving early Sunday morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Veeery friendly staff! =)

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011

Liked: I loved the location of the hostel. Just one step away from the Natural History Museum, Victoria and Albert, Science Museum and Hyde Park.

Disliked: I stayed in a private room. The room was not clean enough, it was small and without curtains. So, overall the room was very unconfortable and would only recommend it, if you plan to stay only for a couple of days and spend litle time on the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jernej Stibilj

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Jernej would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is ultra friendly and super nice.

Disliked: Lack of spoons at breakfast ;)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful Staff, Clean place, good location. Really close to Hyde park and Museums of Natural History and Science.

Disliked: Lockers under the beds are a bit uncomfortable to use.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kim Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and fun. A good place to meet people, while the level of cleanliness was better here than in some of the hotels we stayed at in Europe! Although I didn't eat it, the free breakfast was a pretty good offer - just cereal, ham, biscuits and toast. The staff were friendly and the location was great - close to museums and the tube station, although the walk to the latter was a bit far. Not undo-able, but just a bit far, maybe 10-15mins. However the station is on the Picadilly line route, so once you were there it was really easy to go places. Outside the station there is also a KFC, Burger King, post office/tourist store, Tesco express and some pubs and cafes, which was really great. I generally felt safe both at the hostel and the area surrounding. Everyone is a backpacker too so you all know what it's like to have something nicked, although the hostel does provide cages under the bunks that can be locked as well as lockers in reception for added security. The hostel was also surprisingly soundproof and we didn't generally have any issues with noise.

Disliked: Only thing I disliked was how far the tube station is and the stairs. We were on the 3rd floor, and although this doesn't sound like much, it was a mission sometimes to go up and down them. But it's all manageable, so if you don't mind some extra fitness training, I'm sure you'll enjoy this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, affordable and well located.

Disliked: Internet and computers provided was a bit slow so bringing a laptop is a good idea.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YINYIN LAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 YINYIN would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very cheerful and helpful, and that lights up everything in the hostel.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fiona McKay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, friendly staff and easy place to meet people. Breakfast was good and was pretty quiet so slept really well. Would be really good if there were some couches downstairs as well as the ones near the computers.

Disliked: Compulsary fitness regieme of stair climbing! :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jonathan davis

Alone

Business / conference

09 February 2011 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great staff, lockers

Disliked: Bit of a hike from the underground, but definitely not a deal-breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Loewe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

29 January 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no lift! we had the heaviest backpacks and we had to lug them up 4 flights of stairs after a days worth of travel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BOHYUN KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 BOHYUN would recommend this property

Liked: a staff was really kind and thoughfull

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean hostel goog and safty location near IC

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Lorentzon

Alone

Business / conference

11 January 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly staff and nice atmosphere in the doorm also easy access to buses and Hyde Park if u feel like taking a walk.

Disliked: Just 1 bathroom in the room wish causes queues. Also the bathroom's location causes annoying sounds from the shower. The other bad thing is that the subway isn't very close if u prefer the subway over the bus!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was old and had a nice character about it

Disliked: It was a little bit of a walk from the tube station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANA MARIA ROIG

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2011 ANA MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good price. Femaie dorm nice and light and airy too. Very handy for the Royal Albert Hall which is why I stayed there. Nice and friendly staff too. Really liked it here! Would recommend!

Disliked: It is not a major issue but I think the age restriction is a bit unfair - no over 35s!! I would say maybe those over 45/50 might feel a little old (!) but to stay that those between 35 and 40 are not welcome seems a tad harsh. Once you hit 35, you're certainly not past it and too old to party. In fact, given that those over the age of say 30 might want to visit the Royal Albert Hall for music, Kensington for shopping and nearby museums, the age restriction again seems odd. The hostel did not seem to be a real party hostel at that time, so again I am a bit puzzled by the age restriction! The breakfast was okay but it was rather busy and too few seats.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Atmosphere.

Disliked: More variety needed for breakfast.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels