We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

87.9% Overall Rating

667 out of 720 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

"The staff were very friendly, and the hostel itself is very beautiful. Everything was clean and as described and there were nice, big open communal areas. The wifi works, and breakfast had a good selection. Really great…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. - Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. Refunds will only be made to the same credit card. For all groups over 8, please contact us on groups@hostelbookers.com in order to make your booking. We regret that we do not take group bookings through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
27.68 USD

Hostel 83.2% 1156 reviews
Acacia Hostel
24.43 USD

Hostel 67.4% 472 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
32.57 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 27 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
39.08 USD

Hotel 81.3% 36 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
105.85 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View
21.15 USD

Hostel 69.9% 1322 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
43.10 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
36.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 192 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

667 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 542 of 652 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jernej Stibilj

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Jernej would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is ultra friendly and super nice.

Disliked: Lack of spoons at breakfast ;)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful Staff, Clean place, good location. Really close to Hyde park and Museums of Natural History and Science.

Disliked: Lockers under the beds are a bit uncomfortable to use.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kim Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and fun. A good place to meet people, while the level of cleanliness was better here than in some of the hotels we stayed at in Europe! Although I didn't eat it, the free breakfast was a pretty good offer - just cereal, ham, biscuits and toast. The staff were friendly and the location was great - close to museums and the tube station, although the walk to the latter was a bit far. Not undo-able, but just a bit far, maybe 10-15mins. However the station is on the Picadilly line route, so once you were there it was really easy to go places. Outside the station there is also a KFC, Burger King, post office/tourist store, Tesco express and some pubs and cafes, which was really great. I generally felt safe both at the hostel and the area surrounding. Everyone is a backpacker too so you all know what it's like to have something nicked, although the hostel does provide cages under the bunks that can be locked as well as lockers in reception for added security. The hostel was also surprisingly soundproof and we didn't generally have any issues with noise.

Disliked: Only thing I disliked was how far the tube station is and the stairs. We were on the 3rd floor, and although this doesn't sound like much, it was a mission sometimes to go up and down them. But it's all manageable, so if you don't mind some extra fitness training, I'm sure you'll enjoy this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, affordable and well located.

Disliked: Internet and computers provided was a bit slow so bringing a laptop is a good idea.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YINYIN LAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 YINYIN would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very cheerful and helpful, and that lights up everything in the hostel.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fiona McKay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, friendly staff and easy place to meet people. Breakfast was good and was pretty quiet so slept really well. Would be really good if there were some couches downstairs as well as the ones near the computers.

Disliked: Compulsary fitness regieme of stair climbing! :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jonathan davis

Alone

Business / conference

09 February 2011 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great staff, lockers

Disliked: Bit of a hike from the underground, but definitely not a deal-breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Loewe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

29 January 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no lift! we had the heaviest backpacks and we had to lug them up 4 flights of stairs after a days worth of travel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BOHYUN KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 BOHYUN would recommend this property

Liked: a staff was really kind and thoughfull

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean hostel goog and safty location near IC

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Lorentzon

Alone

Business / conference

11 January 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly staff and nice atmosphere in the doorm also easy access to buses and Hyde Park if u feel like taking a walk.

Disliked: Just 1 bathroom in the room wish causes queues. Also the bathroom's location causes annoying sounds from the shower. The other bad thing is that the subway isn't very close if u prefer the subway over the bus!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was old and had a nice character about it

Disliked: It was a little bit of a walk from the tube station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANA MARIA ROIG

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2011 ANA MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good price. Femaie dorm nice and light and airy too. Very handy for the Royal Albert Hall which is why I stayed there. Nice and friendly staff too. Really liked it here! Would recommend!

Disliked: It is not a major issue but I think the age restriction is a bit unfair - no over 35s!! I would say maybe those over 45/50 might feel a little old (!) but to stay that those between 35 and 40 are not welcome seems a tad harsh. Once you hit 35, you're certainly not past it and too old to party. In fact, given that those over the age of say 30 might want to visit the Royal Albert Hall for music, Kensington for shopping and nearby museums, the age restriction again seems odd. The hostel did not seem to be a real party hostel at that time, so again I am a bit puzzled by the age restriction! The breakfast was okay but it was rather busy and too few seats.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Atmosphere.

Disliked: More variety needed for breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice area, clean! nice and warm on a cold winter night

Disliked: breakfast was ok, not much choice, only toast or cereal

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ruby Ashby-Orr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Great, beautiful old place nice and close to Hyde park, good kitchen, super friendly staff. Plenty of space in the dorm.

Disliked: Not much, was all pretty good!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the stuff was friendly. Location was great!!!

Disliked: The breakfast was not so good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Hallam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this hostel...great atmosphere, met tons of people, great location...absolutely the best I've stayed in so far!

Disliked: i loved everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the fact that the environment is friendly.

Disliked: no elevator XD

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Lock

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

05 December 2010 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly. A great place to meet and make friends.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Catherine Seely

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

30 November 2010

Liked: Being so far from the city it was quiet at night. It was close to the park, nice for walks.

Disliked: Upon arrival staff wasn't too friendly or helpful. Once we were checked in our room was still dirty. Internet was incredibly slow and the computer restarted often.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone seemed happy, cool staff and really clean

Disliked: not much

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was beautiful, the staff very friendly and they had everything for you to cook.

Disliked: The room was so small that only 2 people were aviable to enter there (carefuly). The room had no closet and nothing to keep our Baggage. The dinning room was dark and some times not very clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lear Sherry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

17 November 2010 Lear would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very comfortable and everything you need is in one place, great location and very helpful staff!

Disliked: Lear left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels