We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

87.9% Overall Rating

667 out of 720 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

"The staff were very friendly, and the hostel itself is very beautiful. Everything was clean and as described and there were nice, big open communal areas. The wifi works, and breakfast had a good selection. Really great…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. - Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. Refunds will only be made to the same credit card. For all groups over 8, please contact us on groups@hostelbookers.com in order to make your booking. We regret that we do not take group bookings through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
22.72 USD

Hostel 82.4% 1158 reviews
Acacia Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel 69.8% 476 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 67.7% 28 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
39.48 USD

Hotel 81.3% 36 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
79.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View
17.84 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1324 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
33.67 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
38.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 192 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

667 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 542 of 652 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean place, young people, nice breakfast and great value for money!

Disliked: There was nothing in particular that i didn't like.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacob Dührr

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice rooms. Good to have your own bath and toilet:-)

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rafael Gioielli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is special. The neighborhood is calm, silent, you can find good restaurants, pubs. You just need some minutes walking to reach the hyde park, the royal albert hall and museuns.

Disliked: The stairs...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mattia Monaci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 Mattia would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, loved all the activities they bring up, a huge help deciding what to do during your stay and beyond

Disliked: please never give me 4th and 5th floor rooms :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mattia monaci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 mattia would recommend this property

Liked: pretty much everything

Disliked: too many stairs if you are in the wrong room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is nice and big. Lots of young travelers are staying there like dormitory of student.

Disliked: A bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleca Blaisdell-Black

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Aleca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and other travelers were extremely friendly. The guy working reception (for the life of me can't remember his name, curly long dark hair) went above and beyond when I ran into a snag with travel plans. He helpfully booked me a cheap bus to Manchester to catch my train, while juggling the needs of three other travelers, and maintained a smile the entire time. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the hostel was spotless in an absolutely gorgeous neighborhood and literally a minute from Hyde Park. Would definitely stay here again if I was in London

Disliked: Bed was hard as a rock, and no potable on water on the fifth floor...or anywhere, for that matter, except the kitchen. But these complaints were easily remedied with a big water bottle and pure exhaustion.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Opara

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: I think that was one of the best hostels I've stayed in. I loved the location, the rooms were nice and bright, staff were friendly...

Disliked: I have no comments.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 mins walk to the National History Museum, V&A and the Science Museum. pretty like the staff, very nice and helpful.

Disliked: no lift!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and nice place

Disliked: Stairs...a lot of them...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Sauve

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2011 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were great!

Disliked: the location was a bit far out of the downtown part of the city

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Pakieser

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: No problems, everyone was lovely

Disliked: --

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fun and affordable and all the people there were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There were a few internet problems.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, extreme cleanliness, free wi-fi, easy access and frequent facilities, convenient downstairs shop, lounge, and vending, events calendar & pin-ups, nice atmosphere..

Disliked: Very minor, but no towel racks or hand towel ring in the en suite; definitely a good idea for future improvement.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Matrljan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly and good located

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it is a pretty good hostel. When you book for a hostel you already know that it is not going to be 5 star hotel, and you are not going to have king size bed with a big room. You go there to sleep, and during the day you are out in the town. Actually I was surprised when I got there, this hostel was better than I thought,.

Disliked: the kitchen, but it is not that bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, great location, amazingly clean, good breakfast, nice staff... perfect place!

Disliked: The only thing I can think about would be the lack of shelves in the bathroom...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Enrique Diaz

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

21 March 2011 Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Room service

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convienent to Hyde park and Science history museum.

Disliked: nothing too bad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent

Disliked: the kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2011

Liked: Very good location, no cerfue, pleasent staff

Disliked: Bathroom was completely diferent then on pictures. Breakfast was poor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very clean friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Free breakfast.

Disliked: A little noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2011

Liked: Hostel was clean and the staff were friendly. Located in a nice area, about 10 minutes walk from a tube station.

Disliked: Private rooms are bare, mattress is lumpy and they have NO CURTAINS. This is a bit odd as it could be fixed quite cheaply. There is also a lot of noise from the hostel on Saturday night, so not much good if you're leaving early Sunday morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Veeery friendly staff! =)

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011

Liked: I loved the location of the hostel. Just one step away from the Natural History Museum, Victoria and Albert, Science Museum and Hyde Park.

Disliked: I stayed in a private room. The room was not clean enough, it was small and without curtains. So, overall the room was very unconfortable and would only recommend it, if you plan to stay only for a couple of days and spend litle time on the room.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels