We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

91.0% Overall Rating

688 out of 742 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Benedikt Gleich thinks…

"It was greate every one was friendly and very helpful. I will come back next Year again. Zu Deutsch: Richtig klasse, sehr freundlich, sauber, Selbst Bettzeug gibt es was bei unseren deutschen…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.55
  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
21.64 USD

Hostel 84.8% 1181 reviews
Acacia Hostel
18.53 USD

Hostel 62.7% 507 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
30.91 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 30 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
37.09 USD

Hotel 84.8% 41 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
68.10 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
21.62 USD

Hostel 72.1% 1332 reviews
Anwar house
28.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.9% 200 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
18.55 USD

Hostel 71.2% 1857 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

688 out of 742 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 557 of 674 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Lea Senzato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011

Liked: Location was convenient.

Disliked: Disorganized. Half hour to start check in. Second night 3 in the morning, there was a mess with some bookings and the reception guy with 2 other people woke up everyone in the room to count people. In the end they've put one person than should be in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Busy but good feel about the place. Good value. Liked the free breakfast. Convenient location. Ensuite bathroom convenient.

Disliked: Dorm room floor needed cleaning (should be swept or vacuumed every day but wasn't done in the 2 nights/3 days I was there). 2pm earliest check-in is too late (why not midday? - that's still 2 hrs after check-out). Wirless was hopeless - didn't work for any of us with iPads or smart phones (but did work for people with laptops and netbooks), and the problem got no interest from staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Stephen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Astor Hyde Park was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. It's great place to meet genuine people if you are travelling alone.

Disliked: Nothing. Absolutely no downsides.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Rose Annenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Francesca Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great staff and facilities: big kitchen and places to chill. The rooms were ultra clean and the actual hostel is super nice. Great vibe. Planned events were on offer too. All good!

Disliked: Real slow computers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. It is close to 2 Tube stations (10-15 min walk), both on the Piccadilly line which runs direct from the airport so no changing trains etc. required. 2. Rooms are generally clean (except my last night when the only room available was a 12-bed dorm) but toilets were not clean. 6-bed dorm was clean 3. There is lock-able container (not a safe) in the 6-bed dorm, not in the 12-bed one. There is a safe at the reception but you have to pay 1.5 per day to use it. 4. Most of the staff are nice but some make it feel sometimes like a pick-up scene out-and-out which, depending on your interest, can be a good or bad thing.

Disliked: 1. The biggest negative is the check-in, check-out process. Check out is at 10 AM and you have to move all of your belongings and move it to the luggage room which is all the way in the basement. Also, the fact that the rooms are booked quite a bit, means that if you stay for anything longer than 1-2 days, you will be repeating the above process every 1 or 2 days. Also, since rooms can be on 4th or 5th floor (i.e. 5th or 6th for americans), that is a LOT of going up/down the stairs. I happened to get the same room for 4 nights, an event which is very rare here and was described by one of the guys here as 'miraculous' 2. Breakfast is cereal and toast only (which may/may not be a problem, depending on where you are coming from) 3. Because there is so much traffic going in/out every day, meeting other people if you are a solo traveler can be a problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Nice Hostel

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and excellent location

Disliked: no elevator, had to lug luggage up stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best part about this hostel. Yes there is free breakfast but honestly it's not very good. Not worth making it down to the basement by 10am. Still the staff was lovely, very friendly and you could see that they made an effort.

Disliked: I can't really put my finger on what I didn't love about this hostel, I guess for the amount I paid I expected something nice, but I suppose it is downtown London so to have gotten something really nice it would have cost an arm and a let. Still, the breakfast really could have been better. An effort really needs to be made in that regard! I stayed at another hostel that cost less than this one in much the same area and their breakfast was way better.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within walking distance to hyde park and museums. Friendly staff.

Disliked: The stairs, especially when allocated rooms at the 4th and 5th floor as there is no lift. Tends to get a bit noisy downstairs at night. No shelves/towel racks in the toilets.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Abrahams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Location!!!

Disliked: Breakfast!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2011

Liked: 24/7 reception, not a bad location

Disliked: I got moved rooms twice, and the second time i didn't know until I got back to the hotel late at night with my bags waiting in plain view at the front desk and they had informed me that they had filled the room and they moved me. Again. To sum up the negatives; bloody disorganised.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephanie Becker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people, good location

Disliked: stairs!!!!!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: beds very small. every time I turned, I touched the other side of the bed...and I'm not very big at all. Too loud.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicole Herndon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a great location, right by hyde park. It was in between 3 tube stops, but they were all about 10 minutes (walking) away.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jess mccall

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2011 jess would recommend this property

Liked: staff was fun, location was very good, and there was always events going on in the basement

Disliked: there was some mould on the walls in the basement

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean place, young people, nice breakfast and great value for money!

Disliked: There was nothing in particular that i didn't like.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacob Dührr

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice rooms. Good to have your own bath and toilet:-)

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rafael Gioielli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is special. The neighborhood is calm, silent, you can find good restaurants, pubs. You just need some minutes walking to reach the hyde park, the royal albert hall and museuns.

Disliked: The stairs...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mattia Monaci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 Mattia would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, loved all the activities they bring up, a huge help deciding what to do during your stay and beyond

Disliked: please never give me 4th and 5th floor rooms :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mattia monaci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 mattia would recommend this property

Liked: pretty much everything

Disliked: too many stairs if you are in the wrong room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is nice and big. Lots of young travelers are staying there like dormitory of student.

Disliked: A bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleca Blaisdell-Black

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Aleca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and other travelers were extremely friendly. The guy working reception (for the life of me can't remember his name, curly long dark hair) went above and beyond when I ran into a snag with travel plans. He helpfully booked me a cheap bus to Manchester to catch my train, while juggling the needs of three other travelers, and maintained a smile the entire time. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the hostel was spotless in an absolutely gorgeous neighborhood and literally a minute from Hyde Park. Would definitely stay here again if I was in London

Disliked: Bed was hard as a rock, and no potable on water on the fifth floor...or anywhere, for that matter, except the kitchen. But these complaints were easily remedied with a big water bottle and pure exhaustion.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Opara

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: I think that was one of the best hostels I've stayed in. I loved the location, the rooms were nice and bright, staff were friendly...

Disliked: I have no comments.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 mins walk to the National History Museum, V&A and the Science Museum. pretty like the staff, very nice and helpful.

Disliked: no lift!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and nice place

Disliked: Stairs...a lot of them...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels