HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

87.9% Overall Rating

667 out of 720 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

"The staff were very friendly, and the hostel itself is very beautiful. Everything was clean and as described and there were nice, big open communal areas. The wifi works, and breakfast had a good selection. Really great…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. - Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. Refunds will only be made to the same credit card. For all groups over 8, please contact us on groups@hostelbookers.com in order to make your booking. We regret that we do not take group bookings through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
28.40 USD

Hostel 81.8% 1157 reviews
Acacia Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 69.3% 475 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 67.7% 28 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
35.70 USD

Hotel 81.3% 36 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
101.43 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View
19.46 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1324 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
58.83 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
38.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 192 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

667 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 542 of 652 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is beautiful and in a very nice place.

Disliked: The rooms were in serious needs of some hoovering or sweeping.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: expensive

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011

Liked: Free wifi, breakfast included, large common room. It's not super close to the tube but there are buses nearby and it's in a nice area.

Disliked: Really noisy on some nights, bathrooms not particularly clean. The stairs to the 5th floor are pretty hideous.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Peel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything you want from a hostel. Easy to locate, walking distance from shops and transport, friendly, clean, safe. Great first hostel to ever stay in. Set the bar high.

Disliked: Not much, maybe a vent in the bathroom would have been good, gets real hot in there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Soderberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Next to Hyde Park!

Disliked: Maybe a bit dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Bettinson

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good location, friendly people, good staff, clean rooms, clean toilets, big kitchen and dining area

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in a very nice area. The breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily White

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, on the same line as a lot of main attractions, also on the airport line, which was convenient after a long flight, lovely area as well

Disliked: ALOT of stairs, be prepared.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Lea Senzato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011

Liked: Location was convenient.

Disliked: Disorganized. Half hour to start check in. Second night 3 in the morning, there was a mess with some bookings and the reception guy with 2 other people woke up everyone in the room to count people. In the end they've put one person than should be in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Busy but good feel about the place. Good value. Liked the free breakfast. Convenient location. Ensuite bathroom convenient.

Disliked: Dorm room floor needed cleaning (should be swept or vacuumed every day but wasn't done in the 2 nights/3 days I was there). 2pm earliest check-in is too late (why not midday? - that's still 2 hrs after check-out). Wirless was hopeless - didn't work for any of us with iPads or smart phones (but did work for people with laptops and netbooks), and the problem got no interest from staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Stephen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Astor Hyde Park was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. It's great place to meet genuine people if you are travelling alone.

Disliked: Nothing. Absolutely no downsides.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Rose Annenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Francesca Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great staff and facilities: big kitchen and places to chill. The rooms were ultra clean and the actual hostel is super nice. Great vibe. Planned events were on offer too. All good!

Disliked: Real slow computers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. It is close to 2 Tube stations (10-15 min walk), both on the Piccadilly line which runs direct from the airport so no changing trains etc. required. 2. Rooms are generally clean (except my last night when the only room available was a 12-bed dorm) but toilets were not clean. 6-bed dorm was clean 3. There is lock-able container (not a safe) in the 6-bed dorm, not in the 12-bed one. There is a safe at the reception but you have to pay 1.5 per day to use it. 4. Most of the staff are nice but some make it feel sometimes like a pick-up scene out-and-out which, depending on your interest, can be a good or bad thing.

Disliked: 1. The biggest negative is the check-in, check-out process. Check out is at 10 AM and you have to move all of your belongings and move it to the luggage room which is all the way in the basement. Also, the fact that the rooms are booked quite a bit, means that if you stay for anything longer than 1-2 days, you will be repeating the above process every 1 or 2 days. Also, since rooms can be on 4th or 5th floor (i.e. 5th or 6th for americans), that is a LOT of going up/down the stairs. I happened to get the same room for 4 nights, an event which is very rare here and was described by one of the guys here as 'miraculous' 2. Breakfast is cereal and toast only (which may/may not be a problem, depending on where you are coming from) 3. Because there is so much traffic going in/out every day, meeting other people if you are a solo traveler can be a problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Nice Hostel

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and excellent location

Disliked: no elevator, had to lug luggage up stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best part about this hostel. Yes there is free breakfast but honestly it's not very good. Not worth making it down to the basement by 10am. Still the staff was lovely, very friendly and you could see that they made an effort.

Disliked: I can't really put my finger on what I didn't love about this hostel, I guess for the amount I paid I expected something nice, but I suppose it is downtown London so to have gotten something really nice it would have cost an arm and a let. Still, the breakfast really could have been better. An effort really needs to be made in that regard! I stayed at another hostel that cost less than this one in much the same area and their breakfast was way better.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within walking distance to hyde park and museums. Friendly staff.

Disliked: The stairs, especially when allocated rooms at the 4th and 5th floor as there is no lift. Tends to get a bit noisy downstairs at night. No shelves/towel racks in the toilets.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Abrahams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Location!!!

Disliked: Breakfast!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2011

Liked: 24/7 reception, not a bad location

Disliked: I got moved rooms twice, and the second time i didn't know until I got back to the hotel late at night with my bags waiting in plain view at the front desk and they had informed me that they had filled the room and they moved me. Again. To sum up the negatives; bloody disorganised.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephanie Becker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people, good location

Disliked: stairs!!!!!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: beds very small. every time I turned, I touched the other side of the bed...and I'm not very big at all. Too loud.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicole Herndon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a great location, right by hyde park. It was in between 3 tube stops, but they were all about 10 minutes (walking) away.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jess mccall

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2011 jess would recommend this property

Liked: staff was fun, location was very good, and there was always events going on in the basement

Disliked: there was some mould on the walls in the basement


See all London hostels
See all London hotels