We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

87.9% Overall Rating

667 out of 720 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

"The staff were very friendly, and the hostel itself is very beautiful. Everything was clean and as described and there were nice, big open communal areas. The wifi works, and breakfast had a good selection. Really great…"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. - Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. Refunds will only be made to the same credit card. For all groups over 8, please contact us on groups@hostelbookers.com in order to make your booking. We regret that we do not take group bookings through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
25.98 USD

Hostel 83.2% 1156 reviews
Acacia Hostel
24.36 USD

Hostel 69.3% 475 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
32.48 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 27 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
38.65 USD

Hotel 81.3% 36 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
103.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View
19.47 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1324 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
47.91 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
36.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 192 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

667 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 542 of 652 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Oury

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2011 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying in Astor Hyde Park, the room was clean, the staff was very friendly and what is very worthy in this hostel is that there is a huge kitchen with an oven, microwave and everything so you can do your own meals by yourself, which is not the case in every hostels so this is a major plus ! Moreover there were parties organised every nights and the area ( Kensington ) is very posh, calm and touristic, not far from the city center. I really recommend this hostel, and if I have to come back to London, I knnow where I'm gonna stay the next time ;)

Disliked: I really want to be objective, but I really can't find something that I didn't like, I shared a room with 5 other people and everything went well and I've got nothing in mind bad to say about this hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joao Mota

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2011 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: His location, very near of everything.

Disliked: Two of my roommates. But thats life :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good service

Disliked: location, service

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a great common room, really big kitchen and a 24 hr recpetion that are really friendly

Disliked: the bathroom in my room didn't have a fan which meant that everything got damp while you had a shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irena Impric

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

28 October 2011 Irena would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, fabulous location!!!

Disliked: nothing to complain about!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked locaton , rooms ,staff ,everything!

Disliked: Only thet the kichen could be cleaner!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011

Liked: Great Location close to Hyde Park and South Kensington. Close to the Glouster Tube station. It was really easy to get to Heathrow Airport and other locations.

Disliked: Horribly dirty. Staying in the 12 bedroom room, the bathroom and shower were in the room itself. The bathroom had a mouldy odour to it that spread throughout the whole dorm whenever the door opened. The ceiling above the shower had mould in the ceiling and water stayed stagnant on the floor. My girlfriend and I had to leave early.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was grerat, about 15 mins from the tube station; Staff was friendly, specific information will be given when you ask; The living room and kitchen are spacious, free WIfi, easy-access sockets for charge in the room . Great deal with the price and the service I got, will definitly live there if back London.

Disliked: The information which guide us to find the hostel isn't clear enough, after out off tube station, we followed the guidance, but got lost in the middle, and walked wrong way, it will be perfect if the direction guidance more speciific.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great building, very clean and tidy, lots of space in the dorms. Staff are very friendly and its a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Thinness of the walls and creaky stairs made it a bit hard to sleep as it was noisy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, the atmosphere

Disliked: dirty toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aljoša Trninic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Aljoša would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is just great!!! :))

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarina Zumbar

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Katarina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fantastic- friendly atmosphere, clean and safe, beautiful hostel building and great people! A great place to feel London!

Disliked: Everything was cool!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic! Staff was super nice and the kitchen and lounge were very nice and spacious. I felt safe the whole time and especially liked that the bathroom was in the room itself (12 bed dorm)

Disliked: Nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011

Liked: The property itself was located in a fairly good position

Disliked: The facilities and the room was filthy, the room didn't look like it had been cleaned for weeks and the bathroom smelt of mould. We avoided using the bathroom at all expense

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was pretty nice for the money, in a good area, near the park, and the free wifi worked pretty well. I especially liked the blankets they gave you and the showers were pretty nice as well.

Disliked: it wasn't a super social hostel, and I found a lot of people in bed before 10pm. It is not the best place to meet people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness.

Disliked: You must be under 35 - ageist!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joey Ham

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011

Liked: The actual building it self. And the overall area seemed relatively safe also.

Disliked: I stayed on the fifth floor. And with no lift had to climb the stairs every single time. At one point the key card would not work, and after walking for ten-fifteen miles that day ended up taking the stairs up and down four times. Not really what you want to do when your exhausted. But it is what it is, but there in lies the problem (i understand that people are constantly walking up and down banging against the walls and/or tracking in dirt) but the stairs stink and are disgusting if they would put some effort with paint and shampoo the carpet at least once a week it would be much better.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location,...

Disliked: nothing....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: no lift. my room is on the fourth floor. it is inconvenient.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ekaterina Orlova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, kitchen facility is good, its safe to leave your things there, friendly neighbourhood, wifi.

Disliked: Little ventilation in the rooms, smell in the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendon Warren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and informative staff, and clean accomodation

Disliked: nothing, very happy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jared Hawkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, friendly staff and nice location.

Disliked: No complaints.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is worth for the money i paid!

Disliked: one of the staff is not helpful at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thu Le

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Thu would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place free wifi, big lounge and big kitchen/bar to chill in, also pretty easy walking distance to tube station and supermarket

Disliked: Bathroom in dorm room was never cleaned

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tania Nogic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic - so helpful, friendly and really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

Disliked: It was in a beautiful neighbourhood, but the closest tube stop was about 15 minutes walk. Not too big a deal, but with lots of baggage it could be tiresome.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels