We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Hyde Park

Hostel | 191 Queensgate, London, England SW7 5EU

87.4% Overall Rating

678 out of 732 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2015)

Katarzyna Iwa?ska thinks…

"Everyone was very friendly and helpfull, hostel is near center, very good localisation"

Read all Astor Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

MEININGER London Hyde Park
20.65 USD

Hostel 87.2% 1174 reviews
Acacia Hostel
22.95 USD

Hostel 63.4% 492 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
24.86 USD

Guesthouse 67.1% 29 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
38.24 USD

Hotel 82.6% 38 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
67.40 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
27.52 USD

Hostel 73.6% 1330 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
26.39 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
37.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 199 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

678 out of 732 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 550 of 664 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Minyoung Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011

Liked: Town was best. It was safe even over midnight, I think the town was for rich people. And there is hostel near by Hyde Park. That was so good :)

Disliked: No lift(elevator). I don't want to remember that i had to carry my luggage to 5th floor..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location for the price, the rooms are very spacious and the vibe was really chilled... The free breakfast wasn't too bad either.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were quite limited.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent stay; average hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramiro Mattos

Alone

Business / conference

25 November 2011 Ramiro would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: lights should be better

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great! 10 min bus to the most important places, great rooms (12 dorm), good beds, good showers. Awesome common room and kitchen. Really nice staff. I loved it, thanks Astot Hyde Park!!!!

Disliked: Lots of stairs and no lift. I was on the first floor so it wasnt a problem for me

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place has its own story and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: No numbers or letters on beds, with them would be easier for everyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Susannah Cyr

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: I really liked that they were so close to a park. I enjoyed riding around the park by bicycle.

Disliked: The whole place was kind of gross. I suppose that if I had gotten a more private room, it might have been nicer. The bathroom smelled like an outhouse constantly, even after is was cleaned. The kitchen was a mess and really nasty. The wi-fi didn't work for me and the internet was expensive to use on their computers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Oury

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2011 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying in Astor Hyde Park, the room was clean, the staff was very friendly and what is very worthy in this hostel is that there is a huge kitchen with an oven, microwave and everything so you can do your own meals by yourself, which is not the case in every hostels so this is a major plus ! Moreover there were parties organised every nights and the area ( Kensington ) is very posh, calm and touristic, not far from the city center. I really recommend this hostel, and if I have to come back to London, I knnow where I'm gonna stay the next time ;)

Disliked: I really want to be objective, but I really can't find something that I didn't like, I shared a room with 5 other people and everything went well and I've got nothing in mind bad to say about this hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joao Mota

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2011 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: His location, very near of everything.

Disliked: Two of my roommates. But thats life :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good service

Disliked: location, service

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a great common room, really big kitchen and a 24 hr recpetion that are really friendly

Disliked: the bathroom in my room didn't have a fan which meant that everything got damp while you had a shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irena Impric

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

28 October 2011 Irena would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, fabulous location!!!

Disliked: nothing to complain about!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked locaton , rooms ,staff ,everything!

Disliked: Only thet the kichen could be cleaner!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011

Liked: Great Location close to Hyde Park and South Kensington. Close to the Glouster Tube station. It was really easy to get to Heathrow Airport and other locations.

Disliked: Horribly dirty. Staying in the 12 bedroom room, the bathroom and shower were in the room itself. The bathroom had a mouldy odour to it that spread throughout the whole dorm whenever the door opened. The ceiling above the shower had mould in the ceiling and water stayed stagnant on the floor. My girlfriend and I had to leave early.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was grerat, about 15 mins from the tube station; Staff was friendly, specific information will be given when you ask; The living room and kitchen are spacious, free WIfi, easy-access sockets for charge in the room . Great deal with the price and the service I got, will definitly live there if back London.

Disliked: The information which guide us to find the hostel isn't clear enough, after out off tube station, we followed the guidance, but got lost in the middle, and walked wrong way, it will be perfect if the direction guidance more speciific.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great building, very clean and tidy, lots of space in the dorms. Staff are very friendly and its a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Thinness of the walls and creaky stairs made it a bit hard to sleep as it was noisy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, the atmosphere

Disliked: dirty toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aljoša Trninic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Aljoša would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is just great!!! :))

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarina Zumbar

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Katarina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fantastic- friendly atmosphere, clean and safe, beautiful hostel building and great people! A great place to feel London!

Disliked: Everything was cool!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic! Staff was super nice and the kitchen and lounge were very nice and spacious. I felt safe the whole time and especially liked that the bathroom was in the room itself (12 bed dorm)

Disliked: Nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011

Liked: The property itself was located in a fairly good position

Disliked: The facilities and the room was filthy, the room didn't look like it had been cleaned for weeks and the bathroom smelt of mould. We avoided using the bathroom at all expense

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was pretty nice for the money, in a good area, near the park, and the free wifi worked pretty well. I especially liked the blankets they gave you and the showers were pretty nice as well.

Disliked: it wasn't a super social hostel, and I found a lot of people in bed before 10pm. It is not the best place to meet people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness.

Disliked: You must be under 35 - ageist!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joey Ham

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011

Liked: The actual building it self. And the overall area seemed relatively safe also.

Disliked: I stayed on the fifth floor. And with no lift had to climb the stairs every single time. At one point the key card would not work, and after walking for ten-fifteen miles that day ended up taking the stairs up and down four times. Not really what you want to do when your exhausted. But it is what it is, but there in lies the problem (i understand that people are constantly walking up and down banging against the walls and/or tracking in dirt) but the stairs stink and are disgusting if they would put some effort with paint and shampoo the carpet at least once a week it would be much better.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels