HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Victoria

Hostel | 71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2BG

81.0% Overall Rating

1377 out of 1570 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

"this hostel is the best one that I have ever stay, so i recommend it to others also the hostelbookers is very helpful because it solve my problems of finding accomodation and help me to compare the prices of differend…"

Read all Astor Victoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided as a deposit. We do not accept group bookings of over 8 people so please contact the groups department if you are booking a group! As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Melita House Hotel
76.34 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Victor Hotel
45.24 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Park Hotel
38.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Blades Hotel
74.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
163.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caswell Hotel
38.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 7 reviews
Surprise Backpackers
22.05 USD

Hostel 58.4% 784 reviews
Airways Hotel
62.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

1377 out of 1570 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Victoria'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 933 of 1007 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marilyn Mansilla

Alone

City break

07 May 2014 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were great. And breakfast was very good, too.

Disliked: Very noisy guests. I could not sleep well during my stay because the girls next door were very loud all night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jing zhu

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 jing would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and tidy. Everything is well organized.

Disliked: Only for the room floor of 4th,is a little bit high fo r me

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Callum Gracey

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 April 2014 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located in london

Disliked: Lots of stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff. Clean rooms

Disliked: Noisy because of thin walls

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is the best one that I have ever stay, so i recommend it to others also the hostelbookers is very helpful because it solve my problems of finding accomodation and help me to compare the prices of differend types of place to choose

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014

Liked: The cleanliness and availability of bathrooms.

Disliked: The fact that there was no idea about rules around noise at night time. Also that there was no consideration for other patrons when people checked in at 1am and proceeded to be noisey, would have been nice to know rather than be woken up in the middle of the night by very loud arrivals. Also when people take others bed the staff didn't follow up after being told it had happened. A specific request for a bottom bunk was made and I missed out which was frustrating

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Minyoung Song

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Minyoung would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was trying to be helpful they spoke different languages.Neighborhood was safe and quiet

Disliked: They kept forgetting to change the sheets in one particular bed I left a letter to them on the bed, called them personally by going down the enormous stairs but for 3 of the 4 nights they didn't change my sheet. So I was unhappy about that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and it's worth the price I paid for it.

Disliked: They offer free breakfast but the place is very little and there is too many people in there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zuzana Jurgova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: very good location ner Victoria Station

Disliked: Zuzana left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013

Liked: They offered storage cages underneath the bed and open cubicles for storage. While the cages were noisy when opened, they did work. Need to bring your own padlock though or rent one.

Disliked: The internet did not work on tablets. We brought this up to the workers a few times and they asked us if it was our first time using the internet on our tablet (assuming the problem was us). In fact, it was not our first time. They said they had not gotten any other complaints about the internet. When we asked people in our room and at breakfast about the internet and their ability to connect, they noted they also could not connect. Some people could get it on their phones, but those with tablets or computers could not. Then there were the toilets which leaked all over the floor or were clogged. I went to a few different floors trying to find a toilet that would work. The one I found, the light did not work so you could not see very well inside the bathroom. There is only one washer and dryer for the whole building, you have to pay for it and you cannot access it after 10 o'clock at night as the kitchen is locked and you have to go through the kitchen in the basement to get to it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

JING GUAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2013

Liked: near Victoria Coach station

Disliked: bathroom and shower room was too small and was not very clean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2013

Liked: Not bad. Location is good, very closed to the victlria station. It's good to backpackers to take a coach in early morning.

Disliked: Wifi is really bad. Actually, it didn't work within whole time to stay.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome, 15 min walk from Victoria Station, 5 min walk from Pimlico. The rooms are clean and cozy, the toilets are clean, we had wifi signal everywhere, the staff is helpful and the environment is great. Is a bit expensive of compared to others, but I think it was worth it.

Disliked: It is a bit exensive of compared to other hostels.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people I met.

Disliked: The kitchen and dining area was pretty boring

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Lingeman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good breakfast, lockers under bunk beds.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and motivated staff, lively atmosphere, free breakfast (though with rather strict times), coffee and tea.

Disliked: Little space for luggage. Guests are required to leave their creditcard number as a guarantee against damage (but without further information on the conditions).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and not difficult to find

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit chaotic in the morning, run out of some food- but it was fairly late when we went downstairs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Bathroom was very small and the sink was tiny

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lBig kitchen, nice breakfast. Clean and tidy.

Disliked: Not comfortable living in the rooms located in basement.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Maltsev

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive, clean, very friendly staff, internet included in the price, hot rolls for breakfast

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of all, the staff man was really nice. They allowed me to leave my luggage even after I checked out. (for 1 day) The breakfast was also nice and bad was clean and comfortable.This is only 10-15minutes walk from Victoria coach station so it worth to stay here.

Disliked: The only think I didn't like about astor victoria was shower. It was quite old and didn't work well. Hard to control the temprature and the power of water was also weak.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels