HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Victoria

Hostel | 71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2BG

80.5% Overall Rating

1376 out of 1569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

"this hostel is the best one that I have ever stay, so i recommend it to others also the hostelbookers is very helpful because it solve my problems of finding accomodation and help me to compare the prices of differend…"

Read all Astor Victoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided as a deposit. We do not accept group bookings of over 8 people so please contact the groups department if you are booking a group! As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Melita House Hotel
75.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Victor Hotel
47.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Park Hotel
28.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Blades Hotel
73.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Corbigoe Hotel
37.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.9% 20 reviews
Central House Hotel
72.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caswell Hotel
33.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 5 reviews
Surprise Backpackers
15.13 USD

Hostel 71.4% 715 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

1376 out of 1569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Victoria'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 932 of 1006 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's in a really great location, close to tube stop, train station, and coach station. it's always kept acceptably clean and the rooms are pretty spacious for a hostel. i've stayed here several times because of that.

Disliked: they nickle and dime you for every little extra. in the summer months, you should not have to pay #5 for a fan. and a lot of hostels provide locks for lockers with a fully-returnable deposit.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and nice hostel

Disliked: location is not so good-far away from the city

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is convenient.

Disliked: The rooms are crammed in, and when we stayed there, it was boiling and almost impossible to sleep, but if you only need a place to kip briefly it's not too bad. It might have simply been a very humid evening, but I think the little bit of lost 'air space' didn't help.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 July 2010

Liked: I guess the best thing for me to say was the staff. They were pretty helpful and nice when I had a question or needed help. They also held pubcrawls and such and nights to go out which was cool.

Disliked: Where to start... I guess this place is especially not ideal during the summer. When it's hot, you walk 8 flights of stairs to get to your room, and then have to sit there sweating balls in a stuffy room for an hour or so before feeling comfortable to move again. And if everyone is in the room, the room starts to smell like sweat. The rooms seem pretty small and cramped. Your room is "cleaned" daily as in someone comes in and takes out the trash. Your floor is filthy and when you take off the sheets when you check out, the mattress looks horrible. When you need to lock your belongings, you can't even use a normal lock. You need to buy a super long lock cause you have to lock between the frame of your bed and your storage space. The toilets are super cramped and does not seem to be very sanitary. They also smell pretty bad (but it must just be the fourth floor because the third floor toilets smelled a lot better). When you shower on the fourth floor, NEVER EVER EVER use the shower on the left! It only runs hot water so unless you want to get burned, use the shower on the RIGHT or the other level showers (rumor has it that the lower you go the colder the water can get). The showers weren't that clean either. My friend found bugs swarming around one of the drains in the shower. Only one washer and dryer. The heck? They need more especially when the dryer swallows money and you have to dry your clothes all around your room. That was not fun. I would not be writing all of this complaining if I didn't talk to my other roommates who agreed with me on all of these matters.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very good location to any attractions!!!!near underground station..it just need 2-3 mins walk!!!!!very nice!!

Disliked: a little bit old and it is too hot due to the window a fixed!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chia I Lin

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 July 2010 Chia I would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, friendliness, and cleanliness.

Disliked: Chia I left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Maria Paz Del Real

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010

Liked: It is clean

Disliked: I put 5000 euros in the security box, and a person robbed me everything. The hostel told me that they dont have the responsability even we I paid to them to rent the security box. They have treat me so bad. The manager in charge of the Hostel doenst know how to treat people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the great location, funny coments everywhere

Disliked: don´t know

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Veronica Perrotta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money

Disliked: Staff could have been nicer

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2010

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Too hot and too rumorous

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ren Yung Seow

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2010 Ren Yung would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms and toilets.

Disliked: Rooms can get a bit hot and stuffy sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

juliette caron

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

11 July 2010 juliette would recommend this property

Liked: l'hôtel est tout prêt de la station de métro pimlico donc c'est vraiment pratique et facile à trouver!le petit déj est inclus et plutôt de bonne qualité, le personnel est plutôt sympa, les locaux plutôt propres

Disliked: les douches étaient un peu petites

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KA MAN KWOK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 KA MAN would recommend this property

Liked: nice location

Disliked: small living room for breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lucia Plackova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

11 July 2010 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: i liked cleanliness and location of the hostel.

Disliked: In our rooom, there were broken and locked window, there were sultry hot and fug.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2010

Liked: Close to the tube stations.

Disliked: The staff was nice but not overly helpful. They lost my reservation and acted like it was my fault. The entire first day of my 4 day trip was wasted on getting a room. And they didn't even care. No remorse or apology was given.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frankie Tonge

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 July 2010 Frankie would recommend this property

Liked: How little we payed for a weeks stay.

Disliked: The rudeness of the staff, the insecurity of the room (the door wouldnt lock) The lack of communal space.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic, walking distance to Buckingham Palace, Westminster, St James Park, public transportation... Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: A little run down, but not a big deal, would recommend the place to others.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and very convenient

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly. Price is really good.

Disliked: The chocolate powder in breakfast could be better

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Leanne Murray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Secure luggage racks and free breakfast!

Disliked: Leanne left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2010

Liked: The rest of the staff were nice ansd polite.The bloke on reception offered me a free bottle of water which the girl said i had to pay for!!I asked for a refund and gt out of there as quick as possible.. She was very lucky!! Not to mention lugging all my bags up them stairs to the top floor.

Disliked: The girl on reception with glasses was by far the worst character i have met in my entire life... and considering i travel to different countries every month, thats saying something. To say she was rude would be an understatement, i was in and out within 10 mintutes The room was atleast 40degrees and when i complained... she simply asked am i on antibitoics... no im not, you cheeky mare.. the room was bloody awful!! So no, i would not rate this hotel... simply for the sake of her!! Get her of the main point of meeting!! Not a wise move for any business. First impressions count!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! The staff was amayingly helpful and the facilities were spotless with all the amenities you could possiblz need!

Disliked: Loved everything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in a very safe area especially for lone females to walk about

Disliked: Just people dont interact as much as maybe other hostels

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have absolutely nothing bad to say. Clean, nice place to stay, good breakfast considering the price, location really great. A bus straight to Trafalgar Square like 200m from doorstep! Stairs to the 4th floor gave a nice daily workout though (hopefully you'll get situated at lower floors, especially if you have heavy baggage :P). :D Also, spacey rooms, considering the price etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had some a few hours there but I liked it. The area is fine and the staff very friendly. The only bad thing is that my room was on the 3rd floor! !! and there are only stairs but the reception boy offered to take my luggage to my room, very kind of him!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels