HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Victoria

Hostel | 71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2BG

80.5% Overall Rating

1376 out of 1569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

"this hostel is the best one that I have ever stay, so i recommend it to others also the hostelbookers is very helpful because it solve my problems of finding accomodation and help me to compare the prices of differend…"

Read all Astor Victoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided as a deposit. We do not accept group bookings of over 8 people so please contact the groups department if you are booking a group! As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Melita House Hotel
75.55 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Victor Hotel
44.78 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Park Hotel
66.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Blades Hotel
73.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Corbigoe Hotel
41.97 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.9% 20 reviews
Central House Hotel
72.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caswell Hotel
33.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.5% 6 reviews
Surprise Backpackers
15.11 USD

Hostel 72.6% 721 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

1376 out of 1569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Victoria'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 932 of 1006 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Diogo Brito

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Diogo would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price. Breakfast is ok.

Disliked: 8 beds in a pretty small room. Toilet facilities are also small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was quite easy to get to. And there is a regular bus service that passed in front of Astor Victoria. Sitting on that bus was like taking a tour of London's sites (ie: Westminster Cathedral and Abbey, Big Ben, Tralfagar Square).Too bad we only found out about it on our last day there.The hostel rooms and toilets were clean. Breakfast was simple; bread, butter, jam, cereals, ham, cheese, but it's more than sufficient. You can even buy your own stuff to cook there, which helps in reducing cost.There's Tesco and Sainsbury which was 5 minutes walk away. So buying groceries was easy.

Disliked: Can hear conversations from next room quite clearly if they spoke loud enough.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 August 2010

Liked: location is good

Disliked: place is old and dingy. terrible beds and the room is crowded and stuffy, hot like hell and no air! top floors are impossible to reach with your lugge.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to all atractions

Disliked: accommodation age criteria

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Federico Leonardo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

23 August 2010

Liked: It's about 200 meters from the Pimlico tube station and the price for night is good

Disliked: It's a little place with many guys, I don't recommend it to over 40 years old people

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alex Snowball

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010

Liked: Clean hostel with a great location. Breakfast and catering facilities were very good.

Disliked: Unclean, not much character, rooms were small and very hot. Also had to pay quite alot to use the wifi.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Billy Smale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010

Liked: It was close to the tube.

Disliked: 5 floors and no elevator. Had to pay for the wireless. The showers smelled like mildew and bathrooms were so small I could barely get in and out of them.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locatin is really good and it is clean.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've been at in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fausto Hernan Reguera

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2010 Fausto Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good, and Federico, an argentinian guy, is an amazing guy who helps all the time and make sure that travellers can know eachother... i meet amazing friends in there thanks to him

Disliked: the australian guy was very bad, he work at hostel allways with a bad face and he look at you like if you are an insect... MUST GO... and if you want to know london nights, try with federico and not with the pub crowling...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location.. it is near the bus terminal.. value for money as well.. good place to interact with people as well..

Disliked: nothing..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barbara Bauer

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

16 August 2010 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful and typical london style hostel!!!!!I love it!!!!!

Disliked: ATTENTION: If you have to stow you luggage in the luggage room, you need time to take you bag out because there are a lot of bags in this room and the bags lay on top of each other... :D amazing !!!!!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Guzman Cabrera

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010

Liked: Bad staff, not even helpfull

Disliked: I don´t like the staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Davies

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It had breakfast included as that was a requirement as was arriving late and didnt want to have to hunt for milk

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2010

Liked: the breakfast wasn´t too bad

Disliked: while we were there there was an incident where a girl had all of her money stolen from the hostel safe ( which she had paid for exactly so it would not be stolen). the manager wasn´t at all helpful and rude to her.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lena Gregorčič

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

10 August 2010 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: tje location is very good, 10 minutes from Victoria station so you can see most of the atraction by feet. the staff was helpfull.

Disliked: It was not so clean that could be, they charge practically for everything (washing powder, adapters, wifi,....)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the hostel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, and great cooking facilities!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they were very nice and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place to meet people

Disliked: security and cleanliness

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proximeity to Victoria station is good. The beds were modern and relatively comfy.

Disliked: There is no free wifi and the ventilation in the room wasn't great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place had a really diverse group of people and the location was fantastic. i loved the street.

Disliked: the showers weren't very good. it lacked ventilation and was way too small. also had no where to hang your clothes and towels

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good location, clean, with useful informations for tourists.

Disliked: The room is a bit stuffy with a small window which does not allow too much fresh air.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION GREAT PEOPLE breakfast is even good for the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stayed in the Astor Victoria the 2nd time--> the location is just superb! good variety @ the breakfast!very helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hieu Ngoc Nguyen

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

28 July 2010 Hieu Ngoc would recommend this property

Liked: There isn't a lift, so pity you if you've got to lug a heavy pack up six flights of stairs. Luckily for me, the night manager was very kind to do it for me. The dorm room I stayed in did not have A/C. It was hot and the room stank from other travellers' smelly socks :-P. The hostel is closer to Pimlico tube station than it is to Victoria Station, so get off at Pimlico.

Disliked: Hieu Ngoc left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels