HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Victoria

Hostel | 71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2BG

81.0% Overall Rating

1379 out of 1572 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

"this hostel is the best one that I have ever stay, so i recommend it to others also the hostelbookers is very helpful because it solve my problems of finding accomodation and help me to compare the prices of differend…"

Read all Astor Victoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided as a deposit. We do not accept group bookings of over 8 people so please contact the groups department if you are booking a group! As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Victor Hotel
59.51 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Park Hotel
50.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Blades Hotel
71.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
86.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caswell Hotel
44.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews
Airways Hotel
56.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Blair Victoria & Tudor Inn
44.35 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

1379 out of 1572 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Victoria'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 933 of 1009 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchens & free breakfast. Friendly staff. Warm showers & comfy bed. Hostel is situated in a nice area which is quiet and safe at night.

Disliked: No lockers in my dorm, and the ones at reception that you had to pay for were out of order for the duration of my stay. Had to pay for internet. Directions from Heathrow on the tube need editing, took me ages to find the right street after coming out of pimlico underground as the directions were wrong. Luggage room not secure - anyone could just come in and take the key. 10.30am checkout.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sarah pagliaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great Friendliness, helpfulness and location!

Disliked: it's all good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amy Gravendaal

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011

Liked: Friendly people and good to reach. Enough places to eat and have a pint in the neighbourhood.

Disliked: The whole 4 days we where there, one of the toilets was never cleaned. And I think the same for the 3 showers we used.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, safe, upscale neighbourhood. Relatively close to everything - so many attractions are within 30min walk, including the westminster, parliament, London eye, Trafalgar Sq, Piccadilly Circus, both Tate museums, NatGal. The staff is very friendly! Included free breakfast won't pass a doctor's nutrition test, but will keep you from buying lunch until mid-day. They also have many pre-arranged activities - ie daily pub crawls.

Disliked: The property is habitually neglected - tiny things that in itself don't mean much but in collection spoil the stay. Things like loose faucets or faucets that only give hot water when the water is running at full blast. Showers that either have a broken water tap or ones that only give lukewarm water. Door hinges that squeak at night when all that they need is a bit of WD40. The staff that works there are all in their 20s, so there is quite a bit of laissez-faire attitude towards anything that isn't on their individual daily "to do" list. In other words - there is nobody to give a damn about the ongoing neglect. The wi-fi is atrocious. It's "40" free minutes that expire much sooner than expected. The rest of Internet use needs to be paid for. Beware of selecting "Remember me" when logging into their wi-fi, because it will prevent you from using the Internet once the time runs out (specially true for smartphones and iPads).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Marko Marinovic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Small bedrooms...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011

Liked: staffs were friendly. Good breakfast, nice rooms

Disliked: not that close from the underground station, no lift

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Bitencourt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a very good location, close to the bus and tube station. This is a clean and safe place. The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just stayed one night but it was worth the money i spent! cheap, confortable and 10 min walk from victoria station.

Disliked: bathrooms too small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: situation

Disliked: cold water in the showers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap for London. Good common area to meet people. Reception 24/7

Disliked: Not particularly comfortable. Showers and toilets were very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything !

Disliked: Nothing !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: toilets and showers not clean

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010

Liked: It's dirty and extremely small. It is also full of Spanish speakers so if you speak Spanish then it might be fun but if you are an English speaker then good luck to you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Orr

Alone

City break

17 November 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: stayed here loads of times, probably once a month on my regular trips to London. Central, good neighbourhood, 15 mins walk to Westminster, quiet, peaceful, clean - depends what you want. Not a huge common area but hey you're in the centre of London, space is at a premium. Good people.

Disliked: not a thing...........!!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: overall clean, full use of kitchen facilities - cooker, microwave, cuttlery, etc...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: something smell like sweat

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Shannon Robertson

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 October 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wet carpet in bedroom from shower that did not work. When I stepped on the wet carpet it turned my sock dark brown. Staff did not give me any information about hostel when I checked in (breakfast, internet, etc.)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

carmen eugenio gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

30 October 2010

Liked: no thanks

Disliked: no thanks

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gabrielle Gabriel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: This place was dirty, and uncomfortable. The rooms were very small. I cut my stay short because of this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

19 October 2010

Liked: the location is pretty good...

Disliked: it was not what I would call CLEAN!!! we booked a double room and it was soooooo tiny and for the price that we payed I expext for sure more then that...it was cold and I wouldn't reccomend that hostel to anyone...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty bathrooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

joana sa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 joana would recommend this property

Liked: About 10min on foot from Victoria Sation.

Disliked: Noisy neighbours. Fourth floor without elevator!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and internet was available on site. Many travelers to meet!

Disliked: Breakfast 'included' was a little misleading. I wasn't impressed with the selection but realize it's traveling on a budget so makes sense. Starbucks and little bakeries aren't far away so I ate breakfast out instead for a bit more.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Sebastien Rondeau

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 Jean-Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Walking distance from Pimlico Station or even Victoria and Victoria leads to pretty much everywhere.Staff is very helpful with any questions you have. Rooms have enough space and plenty of storage. Breakfast is very good, lot of choice: ham, cheese, oatmeal, cereals, tea, coffee, bread, etc. 2 kitchens, lot of room.Overall, the what you see in the description is what you get,

Disliked: No free wifi. 8 GBP for the week, not that much but still. The baggage storage room is not monitored, everybody can access it,

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010

Liked: its not a good place to be in.

Disliked: small stairs and filthy toilets


See all London hostels
See all London hotels