We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Victoria

Hostel | 71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2BG

91.9% Overall Rating

1406 out of 1600 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

Maria Fleischhack thinks…

"It is by far the best hostel in London. Large rooms (even most 8-bed rooms are big enough so one can still move), the beds are super comfortable. The staff is great and super friendly and helpful,…"

Read all Astor Victoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.54
  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Melita House Hotel
69.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Victor Hotel
34.88 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Park Hotel
769.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Blades Hotel
67.32 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
81.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Caswell Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Airways Hotel
50.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Blair Victoria & Tudor Inn
38.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

1406 out of 1600 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Victoria'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 946 of 1035 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24/7 reception, clean room, continental breakfast included, easy to find from both Victoria/Pimlico, walk-distance to city centre and major tourist attractions.

Disliked: Showers too small. Otherwise I liked it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and neighbourhood. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the showers at the 4th flour didn't really work. I wanted to get a duvet when we arrived as there wasn't any at our room. The guy who had to give us one was searching one in the cupboard. Instead of giving it to me, he'd thrown it on the floor and stood on it while looking for another one. Therefore, he seems to be either retarded or he's simply sleeping on the floor himself. So boy, do it better next time ;-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very recommended...super near to bus stop and Victoria coach station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, food, beds, rooms. diversity, atmosphere, kindness.

Disliked: absolutely nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, kitchen, beds are comfortable and clean, localization close to center

Disliked: The check you in and don't even show you the facilities.. NO internet for free. You have to pay 1£ for 40 min. Showers are tiny, you can barely fit or move there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Garrard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members went above expectations to help me. I had lost my voice at the time but they were patient and helped me wherever they could.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't very good. The kitchen set up was disorganised and hard to understand but it didn't bother me all that much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this hostel. Everyone was extremely nice and friendly! People staying there hang out in the common room and I met so many great people. The location and staff are both great. I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to stay in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great convenient location, warm bed and friendly people! Couldn't ask for much more in a hostel. Everyone was very helpful. Breakfast was convenient also. Recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: very noisy building. you hear people walking on the floor above.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 December 2011

Liked: warmer than outside

Disliked: It was my second stay in this hostel. First time everything was ok, respectful quiet people. This time every few minutes somebody's slumming heavy doors, no chance to sleep at all. At 2 am 3 guys arrived but only two beds have left. After investigation in the middle of the night they found out that one of them booked with future date. Instead of sorting this at the reception, it was easier for them to sort it out in the room. No respect at all. Would have been much quieter on the street. This time it was waste of moeny.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Beata Kling

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2011 Beata would recommend this property

Liked: very close to victoria coach station and 24h reception is perfectly convenient

Disliked: my booking of hostelbookers has not been transferred to the computer system of the hostel. but after the hostel locked itself into its hostelbooker account, it saw my booking and i got my bed. so i got shocked a for a second. i hope these transaction problems do not occure more often.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to Victoria stations. The room where I was staying was big and there was a toilet and then also a separate sink in it!

Disliked: The breakfast room can get a bit crowded if you happen to be there on the wrong time....

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location good, close to the Victoria stations, the room was clean and the breakfast ok. Didn't see any bedbugs or any other horrible creatures!

Disliked: The showers in the 1st floor were nasty. And when I checked in, there were actually no free beds in the room where I was supposed to stay in. But the staff was very friendly and they had made a bed for me while I took a shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchens & free breakfast. Friendly staff. Warm showers & comfy bed. Hostel is situated in a nice area which is quiet and safe at night.

Disliked: No lockers in my dorm, and the ones at reception that you had to pay for were out of order for the duration of my stay. Had to pay for internet. Directions from Heathrow on the tube need editing, took me ages to find the right street after coming out of pimlico underground as the directions were wrong. Luggage room not secure - anyone could just come in and take the key. 10.30am checkout.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sarah pagliaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great Friendliness, helpfulness and location!

Disliked: it's all good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amy Gravendaal

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011

Liked: Friendly people and good to reach. Enough places to eat and have a pint in the neighbourhood.

Disliked: The whole 4 days we where there, one of the toilets was never cleaned. And I think the same for the 3 showers we used.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, safe, upscale neighbourhood. Relatively close to everything - so many attractions are within 30min walk, including the westminster, parliament, London eye, Trafalgar Sq, Piccadilly Circus, both Tate museums, NatGal. The staff is very friendly! Included free breakfast won't pass a doctor's nutrition test, but will keep you from buying lunch until mid-day. They also have many pre-arranged activities - ie daily pub crawls.

Disliked: The property is habitually neglected - tiny things that in itself don't mean much but in collection spoil the stay. Things like loose faucets or faucets that only give hot water when the water is running at full blast. Showers that either have a broken water tap or ones that only give lukewarm water. Door hinges that squeak at night when all that they need is a bit of WD40. The staff that works there are all in their 20s, so there is quite a bit of laissez-faire attitude towards anything that isn't on their individual daily "to do" list. In other words - there is nobody to give a damn about the ongoing neglect. The wi-fi is atrocious. It's "40" free minutes that expire much sooner than expected. The rest of Internet use needs to be paid for. Beware of selecting "Remember me" when logging into their wi-fi, because it will prevent you from using the Internet once the time runs out (specially true for smartphones and iPads).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Marko Marinovic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Small bedrooms...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011

Liked: staffs were friendly. Good breakfast, nice rooms

Disliked: not that close from the underground station, no lift

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Bitencourt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a very good location, close to the bus and tube station. This is a clean and safe place. The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just stayed one night but it was worth the money i spent! cheap, confortable and 10 min walk from victoria station.

Disliked: bathrooms too small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: situation

Disliked: cold water in the showers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap for London. Good common area to meet people. Reception 24/7

Disliked: Not particularly comfortable. Showers and toilets were very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything !

Disliked: Nothing !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: toilets and showers not clean


See all London hostels
See all London hotels