We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Victoria

Hostel | 71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2BG

90.1% Overall Rating

1398 out of 1592 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2015)

Brigette Duckworth thinks…

"While the location is exceptional and the facilities clean and well managed, it is truly is the staff that make this place unique. I've stayed at quite a few hostels across Europe these past two…"

Read all Astor Victoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.56
  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Melita House Hotel
70.27 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Victor Hotel
58.82 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Park Hotel
780.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Blades Hotel
68.32 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
82.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Caswell Hotel
34.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Airways Hotel
89.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Blair Victoria & Tudor Inn
46.33 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

1398 out of 1592 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Victoria'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 943 of 1027 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Lingeman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good breakfast, lockers under bunk beds.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and motivated staff, lively atmosphere, free breakfast (though with rather strict times), coffee and tea.

Disliked: Little space for luggage. Guests are required to leave their creditcard number as a guarantee against damage (but without further information on the conditions).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and not difficult to find

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit chaotic in the morning, run out of some food- but it was fairly late when we went downstairs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Bathroom was very small and the sink was tiny

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lBig kitchen, nice breakfast. Clean and tidy.

Disliked: Not comfortable living in the rooms located in basement.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Maltsev

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive, clean, very friendly staff, internet included in the price, hot rolls for breakfast

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of all, the staff man was really nice. They allowed me to leave my luggage even after I checked out. (for 1 day) The breakfast was also nice and bad was clean and comfortable.This is only 10-15minutes walk from Victoria coach station so it worth to stay here.

Disliked: The only think I didn't like about astor victoria was shower. It was quite old and didn't work well. Hard to control the temprature and the power of water was also weak.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MISEON KANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 MISEON would recommend this property

Liked: Good location !

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Boris Bauermeister

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Boris would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is located near to an underground station, easy to find. WIFI almost everywhere. We had a room next to the kitchen and it was loud in the evening, but after 10pm it was not loud and sleep was granted!

Disliked: Boris left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice location near to Victoria Station. Nice place to know a lot of young people.

Disliked: The bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. Pimlico underground station is really close and as well the Victoria station. Finding the place is easy. If you want to meet other young travellers, it's a good place for that.

Disliked: The showers and bathrooms were small and not that clean and also often they were taken. There was no towels for us for the first night we came. The lockers under the beds were hard to lock and made a lot of noise if you had to open the locker, not the best in a dorm room. Also not enought sockets for charging your phones or laptops in the dorm room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, nice and safe district, modern and clean facilities, low cost

Disliked: absolutely nothing; you could hardly expect anything better than that for this price; best hostel in London in terms of everything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grzegorz Pruszak

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2012 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable bed, clean linen, quiet location, room size

Disliked: Grzegorz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was reasonable close to all the main attractions of London and even Victoria Station. The people within the complex were all really lovely and friendly. Nice and large cooking area too.

Disliked: The only downfall of this hostel are the showers. The one I used didn't have any hooks to keep your towel and clothes off the ground, and the knob to turn the showers on wasn't very good either.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice.

Disliked: The beds made a lot of noise. The bath had no lock nor a proper place where to put stuff.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2012

Liked: Location is ok, but in a quite neighborhood.

Disliked: Staff is lost! We (couple) arrived and got the notice that we unfortunately had to sleep in separate beds, just unacceptable. After complaining for after half a hour (with the pink hair lady) she finally called the manager that solved the issue in 5 min, it is definitely missing training for the personnel. We were then kept in the basement which was bad all in all, smelly, not organized, and worst of all, a terrible small of shit coming from the bathroom system, something is wrong there. Internet was also down, it seemed to be for a while without any interest to fixing it, but of course they have some prepaid card to be purchased, another smart ass move.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012

Liked: The area was nice and it's not too far from all the big sites, though you still need to take the underground to get to them. It was clean. Staff was friendly

Disliked: Wifi costs extra and must be used on the bottom floor. There is one bathroom for quite a few people so you often have to wait for it. People in the hostel were being VERY noisy. To the defense of the hostel, they did come up and tell them to be quiet but it took about an hour of constant laughing and knocking on doors. Overly priced for what it is.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super Lage!!

Disliked: Duschvorhänge könnten ruhig auch mal gewechselt werde ;).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alex Harford

Alone

City break

08 June 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: I had to trek right up to the top floor but it was worth it in the end for the view over London. Breakfast was decent enough, staff were helpful.

Disliked: There was a noisy boiler in the room at night and no lockers in rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All guests in our room happened to be girls which was probably good management from the staff to put different groups together and whenever possible put same sexes together. The luggage room which was free proved to be very safe during the last day of our visit and allowed us to experience London for one more day before heading off; could've not done that otherwise with all our baggage. Also the internet availability was good to have and of reasonable price with good deals even though we only used the minimum 40 min!

Disliked: We did wake up a couple of times as the other girls in the room had been partying late at night and came back to the room but I guess this is to be expected and if we wanted more privacy we would've paid for it more and gone for a hotel, so it was worth the money we paid. The showers were quickly very dirty in the morning with long hair, and the shower curtains had all seen better days (I saw lots of them having to use showers in different floors in the morning, but I did not mind this at all).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Kosanke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

28 May 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, rooms, Location

Disliked: No lockers available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, 8 person room was fairly spacious, got a good price for my stay and staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Basement shower wasn't very good, couldn't adjust water temperature (Had a boiling hot shower and also a cold shower on different days) Not many power sockets, with only 2 in the middle of the room and another 2 hidden behind one of the beds in the room I stayed in.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels