We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Victoria

Hostel | 71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2BG

81.0% Overall Rating

1379 out of 1572 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

"this hostel is the best one that I have ever stay, so i recommend it to others also the hostelbookers is very helpful because it solve my problems of finding accomodation and help me to compare the prices of differend…"

Read all Astor Victoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided as a deposit. We do not accept group bookings of over 8 people so please contact the groups department if you are booking a group! As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Victor Hotel
32.46 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Park Hotel
811.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Blades Hotel
71.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
86.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caswell Hotel
27.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews
Airways Hotel
50.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Blair Victoria & Tudor Inn
35.17 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

1379 out of 1572 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Victoria'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 933 of 1009 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MISEON KANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 MISEON would recommend this property

Liked: Good location !

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Boris Bauermeister

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Boris would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is located near to an underground station, easy to find. WIFI almost everywhere. We had a room next to the kitchen and it was loud in the evening, but after 10pm it was not loud and sleep was granted!

Disliked: Boris left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice location near to Victoria Station. Nice place to know a lot of young people.

Disliked: The bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. Pimlico underground station is really close and as well the Victoria station. Finding the place is easy. If you want to meet other young travellers, it's a good place for that.

Disliked: The showers and bathrooms were small and not that clean and also often they were taken. There was no towels for us for the first night we came. The lockers under the beds were hard to lock and made a lot of noise if you had to open the locker, not the best in a dorm room. Also not enought sockets for charging your phones or laptops in the dorm room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, nice and safe district, modern and clean facilities, low cost

Disliked: absolutely nothing; you could hardly expect anything better than that for this price; best hostel in London in terms of everything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grzegorz Pruszak

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2012 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable bed, clean linen, quiet location, room size

Disliked: Grzegorz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was reasonable close to all the main attractions of London and even Victoria Station. The people within the complex were all really lovely and friendly. Nice and large cooking area too.

Disliked: The only downfall of this hostel are the showers. The one I used didn't have any hooks to keep your towel and clothes off the ground, and the knob to turn the showers on wasn't very good either.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice.

Disliked: The beds made a lot of noise. The bath had no lock nor a proper place where to put stuff.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2012

Liked: Location is ok, but in a quite neighborhood.

Disliked: Staff is lost! We (couple) arrived and got the notice that we unfortunately had to sleep in separate beds, just unacceptable. After complaining for after half a hour (with the pink hair lady) she finally called the manager that solved the issue in 5 min, it is definitely missing training for the personnel. We were then kept in the basement which was bad all in all, smelly, not organized, and worst of all, a terrible small of shit coming from the bathroom system, something is wrong there. Internet was also down, it seemed to be for a while without any interest to fixing it, but of course they have some prepaid card to be purchased, another smart ass move.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012

Liked: The area was nice and it's not too far from all the big sites, though you still need to take the underground to get to them. It was clean. Staff was friendly

Disliked: Wifi costs extra and must be used on the bottom floor. There is one bathroom for quite a few people so you often have to wait for it. People in the hostel were being VERY noisy. To the defense of the hostel, they did come up and tell them to be quiet but it took about an hour of constant laughing and knocking on doors. Overly priced for what it is.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super Lage!!

Disliked: Duschvorhänge könnten ruhig auch mal gewechselt werde ;).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alex Harford

Alone

City break

08 June 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: I had to trek right up to the top floor but it was worth it in the end for the view over London. Breakfast was decent enough, staff were helpful.

Disliked: There was a noisy boiler in the room at night and no lockers in rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All guests in our room happened to be girls which was probably good management from the staff to put different groups together and whenever possible put same sexes together. The luggage room which was free proved to be very safe during the last day of our visit and allowed us to experience London for one more day before heading off; could've not done that otherwise with all our baggage. Also the internet availability was good to have and of reasonable price with good deals even though we only used the minimum 40 min!

Disliked: We did wake up a couple of times as the other girls in the room had been partying late at night and came back to the room but I guess this is to be expected and if we wanted more privacy we would've paid for it more and gone for a hotel, so it was worth the money we paid. The showers were quickly very dirty in the morning with long hair, and the shower curtains had all seen better days (I saw lots of them having to use showers in different floors in the morning, but I did not mind this at all).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Kosanke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

28 May 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, rooms, Location

Disliked: No lockers available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, 8 person room was fairly spacious, got a good price for my stay and staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Basement shower wasn't very good, couldn't adjust water temperature (Had a boiling hot shower and also a cold shower on different days) Not many power sockets, with only 2 in the middle of the room and another 2 hidden behind one of the beds in the room I stayed in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Doreen Chia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Doreen would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were pretty, spacious and very clean

Disliked: abit far from victoria train station, but quite near to plimlico train station (which is not very useful honestly)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Wishaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, easy walking distance to train and to shops.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Na Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 May 2012 Lee Na would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Victoria coach station. You can lock your stuff under your bed with your own lock. Everything else is quite good with the price you pay in London. Worth staying there.

Disliked: Water pressure is not hot and high enough. You have to go downstairs for hotter water. Wifi is not free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very convenient regarding the places of interest I had when visiting this city. Also great location for the place i was arriving/departing from (Victoria bus station). It was easy to find & you could get to other places you need to be around the city center either with a little bit of a walk or though bus/tube. It was very clean and neat place. The room was spacious enough and plenty of space for the luggage. Sufficient breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Internet room/lobby/plenty of space to sit in the kitchens. The stay was very affordable & a good value for money.

Disliked: The fact that I couldn't have stayed longer...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marco Aurélio Dellabruna Maccarini

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Marco Aurélio would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and excellent and helpful.

Disliked: bathroom a little bit dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, not incredibly central but an easy walk or bus ride from everything we wanted to see. Free breakfast and good kitchen set up, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: I watched an interaction between the staff and a group that was checking in, in which the staff got incredibly defensive when the group said that HostelWorld has them listed as having free internet, when they don't. You have to pay 50 p for 20 minutes of internet, only once you're down to 10 minutes you actually need to buy another 20 minutes to stay on, because 10 minutes registers as "not enough credit to use it". They ran out of hot water many times during our stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne-Marie Hiltunen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Anne-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Better late than never with this review, right... Free breakfast was grand, not every hostel in London offers that. Staff was lovely and helpful. I promised to promote Pablo because they let me drink Jack Daniels with them in the kitchen. GO PABLO! Also, the staff helped me with my injured thumb the day after. My thumb is btw still sore. Location was excellent, Pimlico is really pleasant and if you're up for it, you can easily walk to all the major sights. If you're arse is lazy, bus 24 from Belgrave Rd takes you to all the major sights (Westminster, Trafalgar Sq and whatnot) and Camden. Pimlico tube station was also round the corner. The place was safe as long as you don't leave your valuables unattended. Nothing but a perfume was stolen from me, but I was rather asking for it by leaving it unattended. LEAVE YOUR CAMERAS AND LAPTOPS IN THE RECEPTION. You'll save yourself from a lot of harm and upset.

Disliked: Well, the 1st floor toilet was clogged. I went there just to see it was full of water and poo. Luckily I'm not sensitive like that, I just went and used the upstairs toilet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shea Henson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Shea would recommend this property

Liked: everything, good place for single traveler

Disliked: bathroom and shower down the stairs but really no worry

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect

Disliked: I believe that just a little bit small the room, but it is very Ok.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

HYEJONG LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012

Liked: location(nearby Victoria station)

Disliked: expensive wifi, so noisy doors & bed.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels