We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

85.0% Overall Rating

898 out of 1004 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

adam bishop thinks…

"Big rooms, good price for Central London, breakfast was fine, staff was pretty good, it's fairly safe"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 16.28

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
25.89 USD

Hostel 82.7% 234 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.28 USD

Hostel 74.2% 1433 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
22.63 USD

Hostel 80.1% 261 reviews
Restup London
19.70 USD

Hostel 77.6% 406 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
61.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
16.28 USD

Hostel 88.1% 222 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
26.87 USD

Hostel 84.2% 323 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

898 out of 1004 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 637 of 808 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything... most of all the emplolyees are really kind and helpful!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big feel and friendly atmosphere, staff were well informed and you received 10% off meals next door in a restaurant with your hostel card. Showers were great, really hot

Disliked: There was no WIFI available in the rooms so you had to sit downstairs to use it and you had to pay to use the computers: 50p per minute which does add up. Staff were nice but not overly helpful, a little slow at times and easily distracted

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gustave Pardo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Gustave would recommend this property

Liked: La salle de cinéma dans l'auberge, le pub intégré dans l'auberge, pas trop de problèmes d'hygiènes...

Disliked: Certains membres du staff sont très désagréables ou s'en tape de vous

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Anna Kreutz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location

Disliked: smell

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean. There was always someone cleaning the toilets. The showers were also clean. They were also all available all the time even though the hostel was quite crowded. And the location is perfect. Close to a train and underground station, a lot of restaurants and pubs around.

Disliked: There was no lock in our room. Basically anyone could get into the hostel. wi-fi worked only in limited area (that did not include our room)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very nice location near to the city center - Not expensive, in addition you get a 10% discount on food, drinks and next stay in St. Ch. hostels all over the Europe

Disliked: - there are free lockers in rooms but you have to have you own padlock

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cinema room

Disliked: no fridge

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great bar with friendliness staff.

Disliked: The breakfast could be better. An elevator is missing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, close to tube station, supermarket across the road, clean rooms, comfy beds, clean bathrooms and no queuing to shower, free wifi with good connection, lockers in room and swipe card access - can't pick a fault with this hostel (don't listen to any of the negative reviews!)

Disliked: It's not a dislike, just a suggestion for improvement: power points in the bathroom and a kitchen for guests (there is a microwave and kettle available though)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok price

Disliked: huge, not very clean

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Mariana Dalbosco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011

Liked: A localização era realmente boa.

Disliked: Este hostel não deveria fazer parte dos Famous. Banheiros sujos, falta de segurança, copos e pratos muito sujos no café da manhã, os lockers dos quartos são gaiolas grandes que sem um bom cadeado não servem pra nada e.. mesmo com cadeado, abriram meu locker e roubaram pertences. O bar não é bom (se vc pensar em comer por lá, fique atento ao horário de fechamento da cozinha q é por volta das 22h). A experiência foi decepcionante, resumidamente.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly & helpful staff Large and clean toilet/shower rooms The best Hostel I have stayed in

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect for my needs. The place itself was clean and nice. The staff were super friendly and breakfast was filling. The reason I went here though was the location and it didn't disappoint. It was easy to get everywhere, the tube was so close and it's super easy to walk to the Tower of London and around.

Disliked: The price, but this is London..there's not much to be done about it.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

13 November 2011

Liked: Free maps?

Disliked: Even though I stayed during winter, rooms were VERY hot and the windows were broken so they couldn't be opened. Breakfast is very simple and the orange juice tastes more like water. The showers were put in a place with no windows either, so at some point with all the cubicles occupied and if anyone was using the hairdryer, it would get EXTREMELY hot and impossible to breath. You can't control the water temperature, and I found it quite hot as well. The day I went there were no towels left for rent and some of the staff can be very rude and give the impression that they don't really care about your queries, also a few of them didn't really know much about London, how to walk around etc. And last thing, there is no lift and if you're carrying a huge suitcase + unlucky enough to be sent to room 20-24 on the last floor, I feel sorry for you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Man Ting Kwai

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 November 2011 Man Ting would recommend this property

Liked: ppl haf to use their room card to get into the reception after 10pm, also room card is needed to access the staircases to the rooms n the room we were staying at, i reli think these r gd coz i feel like more secure for ppl reli staying there the free breakfast is nice and the paid food in the bar is reli gd!!(10%off wif the room card) the staffs in the reception r reli nice n helpful, they will inform u everything when u do the check-in the matress is comfortable=] it's also very near to the tube (London bridge) n also to the London bridge

Disliked: there's not enough socket in the room, juz 2 in the dorm the staircase is a bit smelly...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Location is great; price is low; Lockers available inside dorm with your own padlocks..

Disliked: Mechanical & inflexible - I wanted to extend one more night, but if I extend it over the counter, it's a lot more expensive than doing it online. However, the staff said if I did it online, I'll need to check out again and then check in, and may not have the same bed ... I had made quite a number of extended nights in other hostels, but no hostel is so inflexible like it! Usually they would charge you similar amount of money (though I know that different days would have different artes), and most important of all, I did not need to stupidly check out & in again! Moreover, the staff's attitude were mechanical. They wouldn't tell you more info if you didn't ask. And when you asked them, they would just answer you with as few words as possible (but insufficient contents) as if they would lose anything if they spoke more!! (Especially the male staff without glasses!) The laundry time was too limited too. And you need to pay for left luggage service after checkout.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Belushi's

Disliked: big dorms can be too noisy (but i guess it depends on the ppl who are in there), no guest ktichen :(

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The location is very good indeed.

Disliked: Simply too noise. No wonder why they offer "free earplugs". The party in the pub on the ground floor continues in the rooms, with people running through the corridors and slamming doors until late. If you want to wake up early and explore the city, that is not the best place for a recovering night.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lauren Zavala

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: There was a bar attached to the hostel which was really nice. The rooms were ok, and even though there was a street below it wasn't too loud.

Disliked: the bathrooms were literally the nastiest place ever. They looked like they had never been cleaned.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of St. Christopher's is great. It is just south of the Thames, which makes it a great jumping off point for the rest of London. The staff was very helpful when we arrived and realized our booking had yet to be processed. They gave us great advice on things to do while we waited for our beds to open up. There is also a free tour that leaves from the Hostel, and it is fantastic. I definitely recommend it as a way to see London if you are there for a short time or on a budget. There's a grocery store right across the street, which makes cheap eating pretty easy. Also, the free breakfast is really good.

Disliked: This is a very large hostel, so I want to make clear that while these were things that bothered me, I can understand why they happen. The shower I used was in pretty bad shape, cleanliness wise, but (like I said) that's to be expected when you have so many people showering in one place. Just a heads up for everyone...bring shower-shoes. The other thing that was a bit bothersome was the locker situation. While the hostel rents lockers at a pretty reasonable rate, it would be nice if there was a free luggage room, especially since the HostelBookers page lists that as an included service.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near tube stop. Free breakfast and free wifi.

Disliked: N/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Senad Basic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Senad would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway, wifi works fine.

Disliked: No possibility to adjust the hot/cold water in the shower, dirty toilets, had to change the room during the stay like many other guests.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time staying here. I took the free walking tour on the first day and met people that i spent the whole week with. Easily accessible from the tube and a great location for just hanging out around the hostel. The staff is very helpful and can help you with anything. The bar is fun downstairs and I had no trouble going to sleep early eventhough music was being played until 2 am. Definitely sets itself apart from a majority of the hostels. I highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renee mitchell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: They are clearly in the right business.... They have enough little hooks in the shower to hang everything you could possibly want to hang up, the heaters in the dorm rooms worked, the beds were okay, they were pretty organised.

Disliked: the chill out room should have some chilled music? Also, the chill out room was freezing, I ended up going to the dorm because I was too cold. Also, the wifi did not reach our dorm room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011

Liked: Lockers under beds. Put your bag in,lock it up and don't worry.

Disliked: Nothing in particular. not good value though


See all London hostels
See all London hotels