We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

87.3% Overall Rating

913 out of 1021 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

"Very good location. Staff was nice and facilities were quite decent. Clean for a youth party hostel."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 14.89

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
20.69 USD

Hostel 86.4% 238 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
14.89 USD

Hostel 75.4% 1448 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
20.69 USD

Hostel 80.0% 269 reviews
Restup London
18.01 USD

Hostel 73.9% 436 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
43.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
22.33 USD

Hostel 91.7% 238 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
32.75 USD

Hostel 82.6% 328 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
58.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

913 out of 1021 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 648 of 825 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Coral Eisenbruch

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Coral would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were super helpful, personable, and friendly- and the rooms were clean, spacious and well-organized. it's also very accessible and they have a lot of awesome drink/dinner deals.

Disliked: the pillows are a bit thin and the rooms don't have enough outlets.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the hostel was its location.

Disliked: The rooms and bathrooms were not in a very good condition and not very clean either. I also had an issue with the hostel staff, as they offered to put me and my friends on a guestlist to one of the clubs but apparently they didn't as we couldn't enter with a discount as promised. Apart from that, there was a problem with our reservation. We booked 4-people room but due to an error in the reservation system the hostel informed us that we had a place in a 8-people room, which we agreed to accept. However, it turned out that the room was not for 8 but for 10 people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariane Duval-Godbout

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Ariane would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!! IT WAS FANTASTIK

Disliked: Ariane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and good atmosphere. The room for 14 people was big enough and good wifi connection.

Disliked: Noise during the night, especially someone is making love next your bed! However, you should accept some annoying things when you share a room with a lot of people

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and place to stay.

Disliked: The bar below might be a bit noisy at night and you can hear them upstairs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrés Proaño Mattioli

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Andrés would recommend this property

Liked: To me, the best thing was the movie theater they have in the back, just pure awesomeness.

Disliked: Hot showers were too hot. Way too hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this place. Theater was awesome.

Disliked: Asian guy with thick black glasses at the counter was kind of rude and unfriendly. Perhaps customer service is not for him. Otherwise, the hostel was awesome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Penner-Ray

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: When I was the only girl in an 8-bed room, I went to the front desk to ask if I could change rooms. I was immediately moved to a room upstairs, with one girl, and one boy. The staff was amazingly helpful, the free breakfast was passable, and the food I had for dinner in the bar was delicious. I had a fantastic time!

Disliked: The tape and the bars on the broken windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to tube station, awesome cinema lounge, easy going staff, and the discount on food and drinks !

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Callus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Great bar and lounge facilities. Heaps of lockers for storage and lockers in the room. Wife worked in the room because we were on the first floor above the lobby :)

Disliked: Showers were absolutely disgusting! All sorts of hair and unidentifiable things on the ground and the rubber mats held it all in place and obviously made it hard to clean. Really really gross. I would recommend you bring jandals...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

therese schembri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 therese would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice, chillout room and movie room were great, showers and toilets appeared to be getting cleaned all the time.

Disliked: therese left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything... most of all the emplolyees are really kind and helpful!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big feel and friendly atmosphere, staff were well informed and you received 10% off meals next door in a restaurant with your hostel card. Showers were great, really hot

Disliked: There was no WIFI available in the rooms so you had to sit downstairs to use it and you had to pay to use the computers: 50p per minute which does add up. Staff were nice but not overly helpful, a little slow at times and easily distracted

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gustave Pardo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Gustave would recommend this property

Liked: La salle de cinéma dans l'auberge, le pub intégré dans l'auberge, pas trop de problèmes d'hygiènes...

Disliked: Certains membres du staff sont très désagréables ou s'en tape de vous

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Anna Kreutz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location

Disliked: smell

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean. There was always someone cleaning the toilets. The showers were also clean. They were also all available all the time even though the hostel was quite crowded. And the location is perfect. Close to a train and underground station, a lot of restaurants and pubs around.

Disliked: There was no lock in our room. Basically anyone could get into the hostel. wi-fi worked only in limited area (that did not include our room)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very nice location near to the city center - Not expensive, in addition you get a 10% discount on food, drinks and next stay in St. Ch. hostels all over the Europe

Disliked: - there are free lockers in rooms but you have to have you own padlock

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cinema room

Disliked: no fridge

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great bar with friendliness staff.

Disliked: The breakfast could be better. An elevator is missing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, close to tube station, supermarket across the road, clean rooms, comfy beds, clean bathrooms and no queuing to shower, free wifi with good connection, lockers in room and swipe card access - can't pick a fault with this hostel (don't listen to any of the negative reviews!)

Disliked: It's not a dislike, just a suggestion for improvement: power points in the bathroom and a kitchen for guests (there is a microwave and kettle available though)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok price

Disliked: huge, not very clean

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Mariana Dalbosco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011

Liked: A localização era realmente boa.

Disliked: Este hostel não deveria fazer parte dos Famous. Banheiros sujos, falta de segurança, copos e pratos muito sujos no café da manhã, os lockers dos quartos são gaiolas grandes que sem um bom cadeado não servem pra nada e.. mesmo com cadeado, abriram meu locker e roubaram pertences. O bar não é bom (se vc pensar em comer por lá, fique atento ao horário de fechamento da cozinha q é por volta das 22h). A experiência foi decepcionante, resumidamente.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly & helpful staff Large and clean toilet/shower rooms The best Hostel I have stayed in

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect for my needs. The place itself was clean and nice. The staff were super friendly and breakfast was filling. The reason I went here though was the location and it didn't disappoint. It was easy to get everywhere, the tube was so close and it's super easy to walk to the Tower of London and around.

Disliked: The price, but this is London..there's not much to be done about it.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

13 November 2011

Liked: Free maps?

Disliked: Even though I stayed during winter, rooms were VERY hot and the windows were broken so they couldn't be opened. Breakfast is very simple and the orange juice tastes more like water. The showers were put in a place with no windows either, so at some point with all the cubicles occupied and if anyone was using the hairdryer, it would get EXTREMELY hot and impossible to breath. You can't control the water temperature, and I found it quite hot as well. The day I went there were no towels left for rent and some of the staff can be very rude and give the impression that they don't really care about your queries, also a few of them didn't really know much about London, how to walk around etc. And last thing, there is no lift and if you're carrying a huge suitcase + unlucky enough to be sent to room 20-24 on the last floor, I feel sorry for you.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels