HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

84.3% Overall Rating

896 out of 1002 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

adam bishop thinks…

"Big rooms, good price for Central London, breakfast was fine, staff was pretty good, it's fairly safe"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 16.58

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
24.71 USD

Hostel 82.3% 233 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.58 USD

Hostel 75.9% 1426 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
28.03 USD

Hostel 80.1% 261 reviews
Restup London
18.24 USD

Hostel 82.2% 393 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
65.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
33.17 USD

Hostel 86.9% 217 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
34.83 USD

Hostel 84.2% 322 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
65.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

896 out of 1002 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 636 of 805 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location-big rooms

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rui Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable price, having a nice bar and movie room

Disliked: No elevators. It is little bit not convenient to get upstairs. There are some bugs in the hostel (like mosquito)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Petra Pusic

Alone

Business / conference

09 April 2012 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great: walking distance to Tower and London Bridge, Tate Museum and 3 min from Borough Market, good connections to city center and Excell exhibition center. Free continental breakfast, Belushi's bar downstairs with today's specials for people staying in the hostel for only 3.95 pounds and a shop across the street working till late are really convenient, you do not have to think about food at all. Bed linen, dorms and bathrooms were clean and nice. Hot water in the showers all day long.

Disliked: Staff are friendly, but at moments seem a bit distracted and overwhelmed with all the duties as the people staying in the hostel are mostly pretty selfish and rude in their attempt to party and have fun, so the staff have to deal with some situations that are not so nice and convenient. Maybe it would be better that each St. Christopher in Borough Street has its own reception, at least for the usual check-in/out times. Maybe then would some of small issues be more promptly solved: people not checked out and still having their stuff on your bed, informing me in the morning at 08:30 a.m. that I should change to another room till 10:00 a.m., while I have a meeting at 09:00, no space in luggage room so I have to pay for the lockers.. The toilets were not so clean and nice as rest of the hostel, but that is more due to people that are staying in the hostel, because they were really cleaned on the regular basis. Noise from the traffic, bar and other people in hostels was solved with free ear-plugs :) Don't forget the pad-lock, as they do not sell it, but if you do, there is a shop round the corner to buy it :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thiago Deconto Vieira

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: It´s the best place to go if you don´t have a lot of money. They have free wifi, free breakfast. Its for sure, the best place I've already stayed.

Disliked: Thiago left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome value for the money. Free wi-fi, super safe, awesome facilities and free stuff (including breakfast). Was surrounded by a lot of cool pubs and cheap food places.

Disliked: A good 8-10 minute walk from the tube station, was a pain with my carry bag when I was rushing to get somewhere on time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hugo Alonso Castillo Lagos

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Hugo Alonso would recommend this property

Liked: well located

Disliked: too noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff. Heaters in rooms.

Disliked: Showers were cold at peak times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Troy Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed her numerous times on my travels and can recommend it each time. I stayed in the massive dorm - 22 bed this time and it was fine. Maybe could do with a couple more showers but thats just nit picking. Lockers under the bed are good.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Very noisy at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, nice rooms.

Disliked: Showers were a bit crampy. I couldnt have my clothing in there without it getting damp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Mieszczak

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, just minutes off the vibrant City and close to great outdoor places. Nice touch was the lunge / cinema room as well as the Belushi's accessible from the hostel. Entirely satisfied.

Disliked: Never made it for breakfast (maybe it should be served till 11 am?). The maze of corridors, tiny steps up and down to get to the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to the underground. It was very smooth to travel to the different parts of the city. What I also enjoyed is that they had both a chill out room and and cinema, that was off the hook! (and the microwave!)

Disliked: It was mostly nice, but some times the showers and the bathroom were a bit nasty...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, free breakfast was nice surprise! Didn´t hear bar to our room. Good storage possibility/ Todella hyvä sijainti. Kevyt aamiainen sisäiltyi hintaan. Rauhallinen ympäristö (alakerran baari ei kuulunut ylös). Jokaisen pedin yhteydessä metalliset säilytyslaatikot toimivat hyvin.

Disliked: You can hear street noices..that didn´t bother much tough../ Ulkoäänet kuuluivat hieman ikkunoista.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Coral Eisenbruch

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Coral would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were super helpful, personable, and friendly- and the rooms were clean, spacious and well-organized. it's also very accessible and they have a lot of awesome drink/dinner deals.

Disliked: the pillows are a bit thin and the rooms don't have enough outlets.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the hostel was its location.

Disliked: The rooms and bathrooms were not in a very good condition and not very clean either. I also had an issue with the hostel staff, as they offered to put me and my friends on a guestlist to one of the clubs but apparently they didn't as we couldn't enter with a discount as promised. Apart from that, there was a problem with our reservation. We booked 4-people room but due to an error in the reservation system the hostel informed us that we had a place in a 8-people room, which we agreed to accept. However, it turned out that the room was not for 8 but for 10 people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariane Duval-Godbout

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Ariane would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!! IT WAS FANTASTIK

Disliked: Ariane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and good atmosphere. The room for 14 people was big enough and good wifi connection.

Disliked: Noise during the night, especially someone is making love next your bed! However, you should accept some annoying things when you share a room with a lot of people

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and place to stay.

Disliked: The bar below might be a bit noisy at night and you can hear them upstairs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrés Proaño Mattioli

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Andrés would recommend this property

Liked: To me, the best thing was the movie theater they have in the back, just pure awesomeness.

Disliked: Hot showers were too hot. Way too hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this place. Theater was awesome.

Disliked: Asian guy with thick black glasses at the counter was kind of rude and unfriendly. Perhaps customer service is not for him. Otherwise, the hostel was awesome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Penner-Ray

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: When I was the only girl in an 8-bed room, I went to the front desk to ask if I could change rooms. I was immediately moved to a room upstairs, with one girl, and one boy. The staff was amazingly helpful, the free breakfast was passable, and the food I had for dinner in the bar was delicious. I had a fantastic time!

Disliked: The tape and the bars on the broken windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to tube station, awesome cinema lounge, easy going staff, and the discount on food and drinks !

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Callus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Great bar and lounge facilities. Heaps of lockers for storage and lockers in the room. Wife worked in the room because we were on the first floor above the lobby :)

Disliked: Showers were absolutely disgusting! All sorts of hair and unidentifiable things on the ground and the rubber mats held it all in place and obviously made it hard to clean. Really really gross. I would recommend you bring jandals...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

therese schembri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 therese would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice, chillout room and movie room were great, showers and toilets appeared to be getting cleaned all the time.

Disliked: therese left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything... most of all the emplolyees are really kind and helpful!

Disliked: nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels