HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

81.8% Overall Rating

888 out of 993 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

VESNA BUKOVEC thinks…

"Staff is really nice, the atmosphere is good and you really feel good in hostel. There is nice pub and place to meet other travelers. And free walking tour, the best!!!"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
37.26 USD

Hostel 84.7% 230 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
17.01 USD

Hostel 77.8% 1422 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
27.05 USD

Hostel 80.8% 260 reviews
Restup London
20.59 USD

Hostel 77.5% 372 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
50.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
34.03 USD

Hostel 86.2% 215 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
36.87 USD

Hostel 84.2% 322 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
67.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

888 out of 993 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 632 of 798 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome value for the money. Free wi-fi, super safe, awesome facilities and free stuff (including breakfast). Was surrounded by a lot of cool pubs and cheap food places.

Disliked: A good 8-10 minute walk from the tube station, was a pain with my carry bag when I was rushing to get somewhere on time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hugo Alonso Castillo Lagos

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Hugo Alonso would recommend this property

Liked: well located

Disliked: too noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff. Heaters in rooms.

Disliked: Showers were cold at peak times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Troy Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed her numerous times on my travels and can recommend it each time. I stayed in the massive dorm - 22 bed this time and it was fine. Maybe could do with a couple more showers but thats just nit picking. Lockers under the bed are good.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Very noisy at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, nice rooms.

Disliked: Showers were a bit crampy. I couldnt have my clothing in there without it getting damp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Mieszczak

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, just minutes off the vibrant City and close to great outdoor places. Nice touch was the lunge / cinema room as well as the Belushi's accessible from the hostel. Entirely satisfied.

Disliked: Never made it for breakfast (maybe it should be served till 11 am?). The maze of corridors, tiny steps up and down to get to the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to the underground. It was very smooth to travel to the different parts of the city. What I also enjoyed is that they had both a chill out room and and cinema, that was off the hook! (and the microwave!)

Disliked: It was mostly nice, but some times the showers and the bathroom were a bit nasty...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, free breakfast was nice surprise! Didn´t hear bar to our room. Good storage possibility/ Todella hyvä sijainti. Kevyt aamiainen sisäiltyi hintaan. Rauhallinen ympäristö (alakerran baari ei kuulunut ylös). Jokaisen pedin yhteydessä metalliset säilytyslaatikot toimivat hyvin.

Disliked: You can hear street noices..that didn´t bother much tough../ Ulkoäänet kuuluivat hieman ikkunoista.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Coral Eisenbruch

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Coral would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were super helpful, personable, and friendly- and the rooms were clean, spacious and well-organized. it's also very accessible and they have a lot of awesome drink/dinner deals.

Disliked: the pillows are a bit thin and the rooms don't have enough outlets.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the hostel was its location.

Disliked: The rooms and bathrooms were not in a very good condition and not very clean either. I also had an issue with the hostel staff, as they offered to put me and my friends on a guestlist to one of the clubs but apparently they didn't as we couldn't enter with a discount as promised. Apart from that, there was a problem with our reservation. We booked 4-people room but due to an error in the reservation system the hostel informed us that we had a place in a 8-people room, which we agreed to accept. However, it turned out that the room was not for 8 but for 10 people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariane Duval-Godbout

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Ariane would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!! IT WAS FANTASTIK

Disliked: Ariane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and good atmosphere. The room for 14 people was big enough and good wifi connection.

Disliked: Noise during the night, especially someone is making love next your bed! However, you should accept some annoying things when you share a room with a lot of people

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and place to stay.

Disliked: The bar below might be a bit noisy at night and you can hear them upstairs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrés Proaño Mattioli

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Andrés would recommend this property

Liked: To me, the best thing was the movie theater they have in the back, just pure awesomeness.

Disliked: Hot showers were too hot. Way too hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this place. Theater was awesome.

Disliked: Asian guy with thick black glasses at the counter was kind of rude and unfriendly. Perhaps customer service is not for him. Otherwise, the hostel was awesome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Penner-Ray

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: When I was the only girl in an 8-bed room, I went to the front desk to ask if I could change rooms. I was immediately moved to a room upstairs, with one girl, and one boy. The staff was amazingly helpful, the free breakfast was passable, and the food I had for dinner in the bar was delicious. I had a fantastic time!

Disliked: The tape and the bars on the broken windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to tube station, awesome cinema lounge, easy going staff, and the discount on food and drinks !

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Callus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Great bar and lounge facilities. Heaps of lockers for storage and lockers in the room. Wife worked in the room because we were on the first floor above the lobby :)

Disliked: Showers were absolutely disgusting! All sorts of hair and unidentifiable things on the ground and the rubber mats held it all in place and obviously made it hard to clean. Really really gross. I would recommend you bring jandals...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

therese schembri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 therese would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice, chillout room and movie room were great, showers and toilets appeared to be getting cleaned all the time.

Disliked: therese left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything... most of all the emplolyees are really kind and helpful!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big feel and friendly atmosphere, staff were well informed and you received 10% off meals next door in a restaurant with your hostel card. Showers were great, really hot

Disliked: There was no WIFI available in the rooms so you had to sit downstairs to use it and you had to pay to use the computers: 50p per minute which does add up. Staff were nice but not overly helpful, a little slow at times and easily distracted

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gustave Pardo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Gustave would recommend this property

Liked: La salle de cinéma dans l'auberge, le pub intégré dans l'auberge, pas trop de problèmes d'hygiènes...

Disliked: Certains membres du staff sont très désagréables ou s'en tape de vous

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Anna Kreutz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location

Disliked: smell

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean. There was always someone cleaning the toilets. The showers were also clean. They were also all available all the time even though the hostel was quite crowded. And the location is perfect. Close to a train and underground station, a lot of restaurants and pubs around.

Disliked: There was no lock in our room. Basically anyone could get into the hostel. wi-fi worked only in limited area (that did not include our room)


See all London hostels
See all London hotels