We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

86.6% Overall Rating

920 out of 1028 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Ebony Norton thinks…

"Close to the station. Bed was comfy and not a squeaky old bunk that trembles when you climb up. Sheets clean. The room was nice and big. Bathroom was regularly cleaned too. Not your typical…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 15.61

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
24.81 USD

Hostel 85.8% 241 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
14.04 USD

Hostel 71.5% 1465 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
23.25 USD

Hostel 82.5% 274 reviews
Restup London
17.17 USD

Hostel 84.6% 471 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
69.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
29.65 USD

Hostel 89.4% 251 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
24.66 USD

Hostel 82.7% 329 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
69.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

920 out of 1028 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 653 of 832 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms and well maintained beds. Breakfast was a selection of bread (wholemeal, white), cereal, milk, tea, coffee. Good if they had hot chocolate too.

Disliked: For the 4 nights I was there (Mon-Fri), the power got cut off around 11.46pm and I couldn't charge my phone and camera batteries! Short-circuit due to too many plugs perhaps? Staff were helpful to help me charge, but there is only so any plugs at the reception. Bed lamps at my area not repaired Bathrooms are ok but toilets were smelly. No kitchen, but there is a stove nd

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gina Iacurto

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: cheap washing machines, close to tube stop

Disliked: not enough powerpoints at all, no wifi in most of hostel which was very annoying , not enough staff so they can't help you, very poor breakfast, have to pay for use of computers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, Entertainment in the hostel, cheap food and drink, Rooftop terrace

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lisa Ao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were good and location was ideal? Meet lots of friendly travelers.

Disliked: Was not informed upon arrival that I will be changing rooms mid-stay. Had suitcase and all possessions moved without my knowledge to another room. Quite a scare. Staff was unattentive and distracted when I check in and failed to inform me of this. Showers are decent, but could be a bit cleaner and warmer as you are unable to adjust the temperature.jum

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs and great location.

Disliked: Breakfast was rather blend. But overall its great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location! Then the stmosphere.

Disliked: Couldn't choose water temperature in the showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Bar and chill out room on site.

Disliked: The bathrooms are not maintained well, they always smelt and the drains were often blocked.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniele Rubert Nogueira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great. Good parties at the the bar!! Good place to meet new people.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a little dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chi Fung Hui

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
City break

28 June 2012 Chi Fung would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and convenient location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not enough bathroom on every floor. A bar on G/F is not helpful for travellers who want quietness.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, especially the staff. While other people stood in line we could go straight to the pub through the hostel, which was great and pretty cheap compared to other places in London. Rock on!

Disliked: Couldn't really adjust the heat in the showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karel Vitek

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Karel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful, everything clean.

Disliked: Too noisy street (depends on location of each room).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are really helpfull and atmosphere great. Just great place!

Disliked: I could not use my la[top to enter internet anywhere else than the recaption. top bed should have some kind of box for your things, otherwise is very easy to drop those down...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Slana

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely stay, loved the bbq on the roof and football game at Belushi's, cool crew and friendly staff (shoutout at Emily and Nick and also the nice cleaning ladies always smiling and keeping hostel so clean!).

Disliked: If you are staying longer the breakfast combo toast and jam gets really boring.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location; great place to stay if you're just looking for a place to sleep and store your stuff; friendly and comfortable bar downstairs. And a small shop just across the street! Also no need to worry about if the sheets are clean; they were.

Disliked: ...pillows were a tad used up and flat. And the windows were not "soundproof" so you could hear the two nearby bar very well. If you're a light sleeper.. ouch. It's not too bad though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Femke Jansen

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2012 Femke would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, the dorms aren't too cramped, staff is friendly and helpful, it's close to London Bridge underground station.

Disliked: There were only two sockets in our 10-bedded dorm and both located next to the door. Bathrooms could've been a bit cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Friendly staff Safe

Disliked: No outlets in room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Haddrick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Good cheap bar downstairs, friendly staff, good location 5 minute walk from tube

Disliked: No kitchen- no biggie

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub was great for watching football.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shaun Rooke

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 June 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bar downstairs, problem free stay

Disliked: chill out area not big enough for amount of guests

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: É muito preparado para jovens mochileiros. Tem todos os serviços necessários em uma ótima estrutura.

Disliked: Não aconselho para pessoas que não estejam dispostas a conviver com muitos jovens, pegações no próprio quarto, quartos grandes com alta rotatividade e agitação.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff, nice atmosphere. And even though there's a pub downstairs, I couldn't hear any noise up to my room.

Disliked: Only two plug-ins in the room for 14 people. Small lamps besides beds would also be a good idea. There was only the ceiling lamp so whenever someone came in at night the big light would wake most of people up. The showers and toilets were old. Not the best place I've stayed in, still good value for such a low price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar was great and the staff verry friendly and helpful

Disliked: the Bathroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They change the bed sheet but not me!!

Disliked: One can´t use the locker once he check out

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is my 3rd time to stay at this hostel and i really like it here with its atmosphere and clean bathrooms, location etc.

Disliked: i do like this hostel but this time the room that i was put in was very small for 8people and there was no light/plug socket for each bed. only 2 sockets for 8 people - not enough as we are all traveling w/digital camera, iPhone, iPad etc!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012

Liked: Pretty good location, bar connected to the hostel.

Disliked: We visited during a pretty warm weekend, but even at night our 10-bed dorm room was like a SAUNA. So hot! And the super annoying thing was that the windows wouldn't open any more than a couple of inches. So even at night when it was nice and cool outside, the room was still twenty degrees warmer. Kind of miserable.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels