We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

86.4% Overall Rating

917 out of 1025 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

"Very good location. Staff was nice and facilities were quite decent. Clean for a youth party hostel."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 15.48

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
21.52 USD

Hostel 86.5% 239 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
17.03 USD

Hostel 69.7% 1457 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
21.52 USD

Hostel 82.5% 274 reviews
Restup London
17.80 USD

Hostel 76.2% 454 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
61.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
27.86 USD

Hostel 92.6% 243 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
27.86 USD

Hostel 82.7% 329 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
61.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

917 out of 1025 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 651 of 829 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bonnie Bray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, close to the underground station. Bar downstairs. Nice staff.

Disliked: Computers, towels and any other extras cost extra. Lots of stairs.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Diabe Diabira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: It was a nightmare,i paid to th ereceptioniste and 3 hours before my check out they said to me i did not! Also there was a rat inside the room and they did not care about the probleme. Everyone was drunk,noisy and unfriendly! The staff it is not honest at all,because i've been stolen and i don't think it is a customer!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ricardo Wojciechowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpfull and very friendly. They are really happy helping you in anything you need, everyone. They have a microwave oven so you can sometimes, if you want prepare your fast food, you know London is almost expensive to eat, the pound problem hehe. in the roof they have a nice bar, cheap with friendly and nice staff, very nice for a happy hour, they close at middle night, but its ok if you are going to a pub after.

Disliked: The pub crawl offer by the hostel is a trick, is better you spend your 10-15 pounds in a pub or bar, or buying beer on supermarket than going to their pub crawl, believe it. The bathroom is bad, no places to leave your thinks inside the bathroom (shampoo, soup, clothes), and you can't choose the temperature.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ines Huskic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2012 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: the room were spacious..they had little stuff like shampoo,toothpaste on sale, a programm every day, lounge room is nice, there's a rooftop.

Disliked: not enough electric sockets in the room so we had to charge on the hallway or at the reception

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ciro Costa Vieira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Ciro would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good hostel with a bar on the ground floor.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren`t so clean and the temperatura of the water was too hot

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Akhil Kommadath

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

20 August 2012 Akhil would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar attached to the hostel with a dance floor open until 3am. Good beds and atmosphere.

Disliked: While booking with Hostelbookers, a 10% deposit was taken. However, while paying at the hostel, they took the full payment. I realised it only after I got back home and emailed them about it, but got no response.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the kind staff and the pubs near the street.

Disliked: The showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: it was a labyrinth

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Gapinska

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2012 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: It is great place! Very good location, with underground you easily reach any place in London. Great atmosphere and also very nice party :) You can meet people from all over the World and enjoy cold beer in the bar that is located just downstairs. Love it!

Disliked: That I have stayed there just 3 nights... I want more!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wemerson Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Wemerson would recommend this property

Liked: Localização,Staff...

Disliked: Nda

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Organized

Disliked: Early check out

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is quite good, breakfast toast are not those non-branded crap, room is spaceful.

Disliked: sometimes can hear noise from the street. nearly get overcharged.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere if you like to party, bathrooms are reasonable and there is a nice rooftop terace where you can drink and/or enjoy the view.

Disliked: Three there are some toilets out of order, or the plastic seats are loose and keep falling off.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Vaclav Tmej

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 August 2012 Vaclav would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, great for parties

Disliked: only for parties, I stayed for different reason and I did not enjoyed well, but If you are looking for party in London, do not hesitate

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Lemoine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: good location, free breakfast, discounts at the bar/cafe, clean rooms, free wifi.

Disliked: atmosphere could have been better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Marcuzzi

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 August 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, with lots of other young and friendly travelers. It was a very fun stay, and we also felt safe and secure.

Disliked: They ran out of towels, and didn't have bandaids for my cut :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurora Smedley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Aurora would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a 14 bed room. Clean room, helpful/friendly staff, cool people. I was happily surprised to find there were lockable cases under all the beds (bring your own padlock) and a electronics charging hub in the room (enough for about 5-6 electronic devices). In general, I did not feel that it was necessary to lock up all my stuff, though. Bathrooms were clean though some toilets had issues flushing. Room did not feel cramped at all. Most people seemed satisfied with their stay. Convenient location, close to the metro and the train station, as well as the Thames, Tower of London, and Shakespeare's Globe (highly recommend seeing a play there). Overall, very satisfied; exceeded my expectations; great value for your money.

Disliked: Some found the room too hot for sleeping; I was next to the window, so I didn't have issues.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SEONHYE YEOM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 SEONHYE would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. The door was broken, so i couldn't get in the room. but the staff fixed the door. It took some times, but they were really friendly, so I wasn't angry. Thanks.

Disliked: Toilets were not clean.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staf, great atmosphere, good common areas, great for meeting people

Disliked: rooms were too hot (during the summer at least)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere both roommates and staff the number of toilet and shower booth was ok reasonable price

Disliked: The building is like an maze... had trouble finding way to my room on my first visit. but youll get used to it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, the room was a good value for money

Disliked: The bed was a bit too small for a 1,90 guy. There were only two electric sockets in a 6-bed room..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nynke Huizinga

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Nynke would recommend this property

Liked: Washing room and toilets are clean

Disliked: someone slept in my bed before I checked in and the sheets were still dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Atkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

20 July 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the spacious rooms and lockers under the beds, and the free earplugs! There were lots of hanging out areas - I found some privacy in the downstairs bar area in the morning.

Disliked: There was no lift, and the place seemed like a bit of a maze at times. There were only 2 powerpoints in the room, though luckily they weren't being used much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms and well maintained beds. Breakfast was a selection of bread (wholemeal, white), cereal, milk, tea, coffee. Good if they had hot chocolate too.

Disliked: For the 4 nights I was there (Mon-Fri), the power got cut off around 11.46pm and I couldn't charge my phone and camera batteries! Short-circuit due to too many plugs perhaps? Staff were helpful to help me charge, but there is only so any plugs at the reception. Bed lamps at my area not repaired Bathrooms are ok but toilets were smelly. No kitchen, but there is a stove nd

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gina Iacurto

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: cheap washing machines, close to tube stop

Disliked: not enough powerpoints at all, no wifi in most of hostel which was very annoying , not enough staff so they can't help you, very poor breakfast, have to pay for use of computers


See all London hostels
See all London hotels