We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

88.6% Overall Rating

908 out of 1015 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

Igor Miric thinks…

"hostel is very good, is almost in the centre and is just few minutes from the tube station"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 16.23

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
16.07 USD

Hostel 83.7% 235 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
17.85 USD

Hostel 72.6% 1439 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
16.07 USD

Hostel 80.9% 268 reviews
Restup London
21.42 USD

Hostel 76.6% 420 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
29.21 USD

Hostel 89.6% 230 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
25.97 USD

Hostel 82.7% 327 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

908 out of 1015 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 643 of 819 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Gapinska

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2012 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: It is great place! Very good location, with underground you easily reach any place in London. Great atmosphere and also very nice party :) You can meet people from all over the World and enjoy cold beer in the bar that is located just downstairs. Love it!

Disliked: That I have stayed there just 3 nights... I want more!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wemerson Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Wemerson would recommend this property

Liked: Localização,Staff...

Disliked: Nda

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Organized

Disliked: Early check out

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is quite good, breakfast toast are not those non-branded crap, room is spaceful.

Disliked: sometimes can hear noise from the street. nearly get overcharged.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere if you like to party, bathrooms are reasonable and there is a nice rooftop terace where you can drink and/or enjoy the view.

Disliked: Three there are some toilets out of order, or the plastic seats are loose and keep falling off.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Vaclav Tmej

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 August 2012 Vaclav would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, great for parties

Disliked: only for parties, I stayed for different reason and I did not enjoyed well, but If you are looking for party in London, do not hesitate

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Lemoine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: good location, free breakfast, discounts at the bar/cafe, clean rooms, free wifi.

Disliked: atmosphere could have been better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Marcuzzi

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 August 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, with lots of other young and friendly travelers. It was a very fun stay, and we also felt safe and secure.

Disliked: They ran out of towels, and didn't have bandaids for my cut :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurora Smedley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Aurora would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a 14 bed room. Clean room, helpful/friendly staff, cool people. I was happily surprised to find there were lockable cases under all the beds (bring your own padlock) and a electronics charging hub in the room (enough for about 5-6 electronic devices). In general, I did not feel that it was necessary to lock up all my stuff, though. Bathrooms were clean though some toilets had issues flushing. Room did not feel cramped at all. Most people seemed satisfied with their stay. Convenient location, close to the metro and the train station, as well as the Thames, Tower of London, and Shakespeare's Globe (highly recommend seeing a play there). Overall, very satisfied; exceeded my expectations; great value for your money.

Disliked: Some found the room too hot for sleeping; I was next to the window, so I didn't have issues.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SEONHYE YEOM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 SEONHYE would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. The door was broken, so i couldn't get in the room. but the staff fixed the door. It took some times, but they were really friendly, so I wasn't angry. Thanks.

Disliked: Toilets were not clean.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staf, great atmosphere, good common areas, great for meeting people

Disliked: rooms were too hot (during the summer at least)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere both roommates and staff the number of toilet and shower booth was ok reasonable price

Disliked: The building is like an maze... had trouble finding way to my room on my first visit. but youll get used to it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, the room was a good value for money

Disliked: The bed was a bit too small for a 1,90 guy. There were only two electric sockets in a 6-bed room..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nynke Huizinga

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Nynke would recommend this property

Liked: Washing room and toilets are clean

Disliked: someone slept in my bed before I checked in and the sheets were still dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Atkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

20 July 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the spacious rooms and lockers under the beds, and the free earplugs! There were lots of hanging out areas - I found some privacy in the downstairs bar area in the morning.

Disliked: There was no lift, and the place seemed like a bit of a maze at times. There were only 2 powerpoints in the room, though luckily they weren't being used much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms and well maintained beds. Breakfast was a selection of bread (wholemeal, white), cereal, milk, tea, coffee. Good if they had hot chocolate too.

Disliked: For the 4 nights I was there (Mon-Fri), the power got cut off around 11.46pm and I couldn't charge my phone and camera batteries! Short-circuit due to too many plugs perhaps? Staff were helpful to help me charge, but there is only so any plugs at the reception. Bed lamps at my area not repaired Bathrooms are ok but toilets were smelly. No kitchen, but there is a stove nd

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gina Iacurto

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: cheap washing machines, close to tube stop

Disliked: not enough powerpoints at all, no wifi in most of hostel which was very annoying , not enough staff so they can't help you, very poor breakfast, have to pay for use of computers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, Entertainment in the hostel, cheap food and drink, Rooftop terrace

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lisa Ao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were good and location was ideal? Meet lots of friendly travelers.

Disliked: Was not informed upon arrival that I will be changing rooms mid-stay. Had suitcase and all possessions moved without my knowledge to another room. Quite a scare. Staff was unattentive and distracted when I check in and failed to inform me of this. Showers are decent, but could be a bit cleaner and warmer as you are unable to adjust the temperature.jum

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs and great location.

Disliked: Breakfast was rather blend. But overall its great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location! Then the stmosphere.

Disliked: Couldn't choose water temperature in the showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Bar and chill out room on site.

Disliked: The bathrooms are not maintained well, they always smelt and the drains were often blocked.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniele Rubert Nogueira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great. Good parties at the the bar!! Good place to meet new people.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a little dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chi Fung Hui

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
City break

28 June 2012 Chi Fung would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and convenient location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not enough bathroom on every floor. A bar on G/F is not helpful for travellers who want quietness.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, especially the staff. While other people stood in line we could go straight to the pub through the hostel, which was great and pretty cheap compared to other places in London. Rock on!

Disliked: Couldn't really adjust the heat in the showers


See all London hostels
See all London hotels