We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

87.2% Overall Rating

915 out of 1023 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

"Very good location. Staff was nice and facilities were quite decent. Clean for a youth party hostel."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 14.93

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
20.76 USD

Hostel 86.5% 239 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.43 USD

Hostel 73.1% 1451 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
16.28 USD

Hostel 81.8% 272 reviews
Restup London
20.53 USD

Hostel 72.1% 443 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
51.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
29.87 USD

Hostel 92.0% 241 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
23.89 USD

Hostel 82.6% 328 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
58.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

915 out of 1023 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 650 of 827 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the bar, the chillout room, the staff and the location.

Disliked: No lift for us poor guys stuck on level 3.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Sami Oueslati Vidal

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: The staff was friendly, the location was good next to Borough market and London Bridge metro station, Good beds and lockers and good atmosphere at the reception and the Belushi's bar.

Disliked: The building is too old, the ground was too dirty, the WC and showers were unsanitary...Sorry I will discourage all my friends to come there as cleanliness is the most important point in a hostel where 70 persons by hall share the same bathroom... Also power 6 plugs are insufficient for 14 persons in a room...It's a pity that we have to fight to have an available plug to charge our cameras... Even if the price was too low, that's not an argument for me...For the same price, I could have found respectable hostels but St. Christopher's Inn-Village was the only one available during this period...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hostelin içerisindeki bar eğlenceli, odalar güvenli(ben kilit götürmeyi unuttuğum halde eşyalarımı bıraktım ve hiç kimse dokunmamıştı, tabi değerli eşyalarımı bırakmadım), tek başıma gitmeme rağmen birçok kişiyle tanıştım(ki pek aktif birisi değilimdir)

Disliked: otelin lobisindensonra ilk kapıdan girdiğim anda gelen koku dayanılmazdı, ama koku sadece o bölümde var, bazen çok kalabalık oluyor, chilling room ve barda yer bulmakta zorlanıyorsunuz...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lianbin Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Lianbin would recommend this property

Liked: Convinent of it's location, and helpful of the staff.

Disliked: Washroom is not good designed for bath. And some rooms closed to road are very noisy at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and relatively clean bathroom.

Disliked: Showers were not hot.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Noora-Liina Ora

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Noora-Liina would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok - what you'd expect to get for 15 euros a night, nothing more. I've nothing to complain about noise. Though i didn't actually go there to party and went to sleep quite early every night I heard nothing. Might be due to the location of the room though. The breakfast was ok.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean but not that bad anyway. The house is quite old after all. The showers and toilets could've been better! The water wasn't quite hot always and the toilets didn't always flush. Funny thing is that it was really hot in the room though it was December and a window was open almost all the time!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!!

Disliked: I was a bit noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cinema

Disliked: No curtains in the room and luck of plugs

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town center, free wi-fi, free all-you-can-eat breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel to stay in London due to clean and location

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JANJA MRAMOR

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 JANJA would recommend this property

Liked: I mosty liked the location because it's close the the centre.

Disliked: Maybe few things could be renovated (like showers, toilets). During my staying in a hostel, we also had a mouse in a room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shae Solomon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Shae would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! And fabulous staff. Very cool atmosphere! Chilli out room is a great space. Very clean for a hostel!

Disliked: Shae left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good vibe with the pub below it - but was never too noisy. Beds have a cage below them for you to store your bags and be able to lock them. Liked the convenience of washing machines and dryers in the same building and they were relatively cheap. Fairly good location - not too far from London bridge tube station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff. good and clean beds. lockers under the beds are a good idea.

Disliked: toilets bit overcrowded from time to time. same for showers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Bainbridge

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: Bathrooms had that 'grimy' look about them. (They were clean, it was just the look of them).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Nagy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable mattress, pillow and warm duvet. Clean shower even at night.

Disliked: The bunk beds are rickety metal, not stable. Whenever the person above me moved the whole bad was shaking. Pre-used, unclean sheets on my bed, but staff replaced them on request.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dusan Golubovic

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2012 Dusan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location! The borough street is so charming, filled with pubs, not so touristy, and architecture is great! Head to tate on foot from the hostel via market and you will see old warehouses converted and preserved. Also london bridge station is great... dont bother using borough tube station. Breakfast was also great, and healthy too. You will save a lot of money on the morning coffee and meal. also, the hostel has a deal with fabric, and they can put you on a list for a 50 per cent discount.. but be sure to check that with them before 7 o clock .

Disliked: Toilets wouldnt flush most of the time and it is a problem that the hostel should deal with. Also as much as the toilets are cleaned (few times a day as I noticed), shared bathroom and toilets is a thing i hate.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpfull

Disliked: We waited for the pub crawll seller, he did not appear.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bed

Disliked: noisy, hot, smelt downstairs

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast is basic but good

Disliked: no lifts and i was on the 4th floor with a heavy suitcase

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niamh Collins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, very helpful staff and a good location.

Disliked: Niamh left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub downstairs, free wi-fi, the atmosphere

Disliked: No kitchen, noisy rooms when the street is busy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and all the people staying as well. It was a very nice atmosphere and easy to get in touch with people. We also spend a great night at the bar belonging to the hostel and had lots of fun meeting people from all over the world. The location is perfect, right in the city and with lots of bars and food places around and in walking distance to the southbank and tower bridge. We enjoyed our stay very much!

Disliked: the bathroom fascilities are a bit run down

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great to have secure place to leave belongings. Staff helpful and very friendly. Enjoyed the live music in the bar. Breakfast included makes it a real bargain!

Disliked: I am sure the sheets were clean but my pillow and duvet smelt disgusting - stale sweat. The rooms are hot so the bedding needs to be cleaned and aired regularly (or replaced!). (room 21 bed H) The shower I used had a blocked drain and so the water rose up and soaked my shoes and smelt quite bad. I told a cleaner who was around that floor and he had a plunger and said he had reported it lots of times but just had to keep unblocking it himself. Considering how busy the hostel is I think the cleaning is pretty good - however the underlying maintenance and deep cleaning needs to be scheduled to avoid problems that the day to day cleaners cannot control.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bonnie Bray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, close to the underground station. Bar downstairs. Nice staff.

Disliked: Computers, towels and any other extras cost extra. Lots of stairs.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels