We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

87.9% Overall Rating

914 out of 1022 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

"Very good location. Staff was nice and facilities were quite decent. Clean for a youth party hostel."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 14.87

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
16.21 USD

Hostel 86.4% 238 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
14.87 USD

Hostel 75.4% 1448 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
17.69 USD

Hostel 80.0% 269 reviews
Restup London
17.99 USD

Hostel 73.9% 436 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
43.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
25.28 USD

Hostel 91.7% 238 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
32.71 USD

Hostel 82.6% 328 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
58.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

914 out of 1022 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 649 of 826 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food here tastes really great, with a 25% off discount, I can't ask for more. The atmosphere here is great, I meet some good ppl in the bar. The cinema room is great as well. I'd like to stay here again!

Disliked: There are only two sockets in the room, it's certainly not enough for everyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Price

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 June 2013 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and comfortable. I couldn't ask for more from a hostel at such a great price and great tube location.

Disliked: Only peeve is the downstairs chill out area was closed in the mornings

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2013

Liked: Great amenities, helpful staff. Everything is very well organized

Disliked: Just needs more frequent cleaning of the drains in the sink and showers. Washing machines very dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Supermarket across the street. A lot of activities (e.g. Free Walking Tour, BBQ) organized by the hostel.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location. Within walking distance of plenty of great restaurants, attractions etc. Also very close to the tube with is excellent. Showers were nice and hot every morning even though you had to press the button to keep them going. The atmosphere in the chill out room is really fun and great for meeting new people. Bedding was clean, beds were what you would expect of a budget hostel. Good deals at the bar for food and drink. There is also a grocery store right across the street and Borough Market down the street which is convinient since there are o kitchen facilities. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel and would Definetly recommend it to others traveling to London!

Disliked: The wifi kinda sucked. You only got it on the bottom level of the hostel. We also had a mouse problem in our room which we didn't know about the first night and sure enough before I to my friends bag of granola bars and made a mess in her bag. There was also some mornings when you would wake up to go to the bathroom and there would be vomit everywhere from the night before.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people mostly partiers though. I liked the set up, especially the cinema room and hangout rooms.

Disliked: Charge you extra for everything and the only outlets are in the common area :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

NAYEONG CHOI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 NAYEONG would recommend this property

Liked: the card key system

Disliked: There those not have a lift, so I'm climbing up to 5 stairs with my have carrier.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberto das Neves

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2013 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, room, breakfast free and clean

Disliked: Roberto left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013

Liked: NOTHING!! THIS WAS THE WORST HOSTEL I HAVE EXPERIENCED IN THE U.K. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WITH GIANT, LONG 3 FLOORS TO WALK, BAD AND UNWELCOMING STAFF MEMBERS, BELOW AVERAGE CLEANLINESS SPECIALLY IN THE LOUNGE AREA, NO KETTLE OR FREE WATER AVAILABLE IN THE LOUNGE AREA, AND DEFINITELY NOT VALUE FOR MONEY THIS HOSTEL CHARGES!

Disliked: EVERYTHING!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were cheerful and helpful. It was clean and comfortable as well.

Disliked: A little farther from the main tourist attractions than I thought, but other than that I loved it!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs is great and it was conveniently close to the tube

Disliked: The rooms were a little cold and there was no kitchen to make food in or eat properly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Palmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with a good atmosphere

Disliked: Toilets all seemed to be blocked and not enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Plinio Bello

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Plinio would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: They had no hot water in the showers.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is OK

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smells and cleanliness

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property was good and the staff was also very nice. I think it's a good stay for young people.

Disliked: The bathroom is not too clean but it's ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marcus fraser

Alone

Business / conference

19 February 2013 marcus would recommend this property

Liked: great location for a short stay close to tube and some okay bars

Disliked: washrooms not to spacious

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds secure storage space to lock with your own padlock below bed Cinema room party in the bar downstairs

Disliked: miss a kitchen - but as it's not listed, it's all fine - just another concept of hostel... less the big family living together, more the party crew who pays for food at bar/restaurant

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Italo Amorim Queiroz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 Italo would recommend this property

Liked: The localization is really nice. Staff is nice. The security very good. The hostel is really beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast is nice

Disliked: It isn't cheap

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eduardo Maior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The Belushi's Bar is a excelllent place to eat, drink and meet people. Teh location is very good. Near the LondonBridge Station, allowing you to go anywhere and return in a easy way.

Disliked: Some of the doors lock (keycard) was not working so the put a lock with a password. We had to memorize the password (notthing really bad, but it is a problem, right?) They moved me for another room after the first day without even telling me that on the moment of checkin. I woke up and saw a paper on the door of my room (and others doors in the way to the reception) with my name and telling me that). I didn't like this at all. And the place need an elevator! Carry the luggage using stairs was not cool.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Bukowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location right near a metro line with three main lines running to it. Bar was decently priced or you can buy cheap drinks at the super market across the road and dink in the common room. Very easy to meet people in the common room and bar.

Disliked: Showers and toilets could get a little bit dirty but nothing major. Not the greatest food places in walking distance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Olson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, close to the Jubilee line. Clean. Bunk beds in the large dorm room were very sturdy, they did not squeak a bit. Showers were close. Secure lockers were excellent. (Remember to brink a small lock).

Disliked: A lot of winding stairs, a bit of a maze a first.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: facility

Disliked: no elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the bar, the chillout room, the staff and the location.

Disliked: No lift for us poor guys stuck on level 3.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels