HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's Village London Hostel

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm. Valid UK Drivers Licenses, Valid Passport's and a Valid European Identity Card's is required upon check-in.

Group bookings are not guaranteed to be in the same room and are subject to availability. Please contact the hostel prior to your arrival to check if there is availability.

Please note that guests under 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians. They cannot share in general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under-18s are not allowed in the bars or pubs. If you do not make this clear and book children into a mixed dorm, your reservation will be cancelled upon arrival and you will not receive a refund.

Please note that the maximum stay policy is 14 days

A £2 key card deposit will be required upon check in (refundable on check out)

Breakfast not included, £3 for unlimited continental buffet.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

Showing 31-40 of 313 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Convenient and easy ocation

Disliked: No bike storage and bedside shelf/table

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location. Staff was nice and facilities were quite decent. Clean for a youth party hostel.

Disliked: With two pubs inside/beside it, it got really loud at night. Wifi was really bad - didn't work at all in the rooms and choppy in the lobby. It was completely down on the last day. In the washrooms, taps didn't have hot water (showers were fine).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and facilities! We apologise that the wifi wasn't working correctly, please be assured that this is something that we are aware of and we are trying our hardest to remove some roadblocks to getting an all new wifi system in place. We hope that by the next time you come this will be sorted and up to your expectations.

Thanks, and safe travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is great, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the free breakfast is brilliant!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow! Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review! We're glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and prime location, and that our staff impressed you. We will be sure to pass on your kind words! Please come stay with us any time! Safe travels!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location, location, location was GREAT. Walkable from a lot of attractions and very close to the tube if you were trying to go a bit further away.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review. Great you enjoyed the location and your stay with us. Take care :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: hostel is very good, is almost in the centre and is just few minutes from the tube station

Disliked: not enough plugs in the wall in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad you noticed and took advantage of our great location within London. We are currently doing renovations at our property and adding more power sockets/charging points is definitely on our list! Please come stay with us again and let us pleasantly surprise you with the changes we've made. Until then, safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Romantic getaway

Liked: I enjoyed thereIf I back to London again I would back to the same place

Disliked: Just 2 plugs in my room It was hard to charge battery

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back any time! It makes us so happy that you consider St. Christopher's Village your home in London, please don't stay gone to long ;) As for having a limited number of power-points in the rooms this is something we are taking care of with a quickness as we are currently undergoing a full hostel refurb with this being at the top of our list. So we garentee next time you are here, you will be pleasantly surprised ;) Thanks again!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good

Disliked: Not enough power points in the room to charge cameras and phones.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving your comments. We are currently working on the final stages of the installation plan for individual UK, Euro and USB sockets for each bed. The installation for these will commence in last Jan 15.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Kitchen and common room

Disliked: Bad wifi, 18 bed room was loud, bad air in the upper beds


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry that you experiences bad WIFI during our stay. We offer free WIFI in our reception, chillout room and bar area. I understand we were having some issues recently but i believe these have been rectified now. The Village offers rooms from 22 beds to 2 beds, may we suggest you try one of our smaller options on our next visit.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Central and affordable

Disliked: It is des described as a party hostel but breakfast is only served till 9.30 and Check out is possible till 10.00 - this is not particularly party-friendly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thankls so much for the review! It sounds like you took advantage of our party hostel atmosphere, which is what we like to hear ;) As we do understand after a big night out 9:30 and 10am can come quite early which is why we offer the option for late check-out, which extends check-out until 12pm, for just £5 and a hot cooked breakfast for the low low price of just £3.95 which is also served until. 12pm ;) Please just let our reception staff know on your next visit and we'll sort out the rest!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's easily accessible to few tube stations, bike hire's close f2f rom the inn, pretty much close to many tour spots

Disliked: Going into reception is quite inconvenient, have to go in through the bar everytime and it's too crowded of people

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for the review, we would love to have you back anytime! It sounds like you enjoyed our central location, which is always nice to hear :) Just so you know for next time, our 24 hour reception can be reached from the bar entrence but also has it's own seprate entrence just adjacent to to the bar's entrence so you don't have to move your way through a crowded bar in order to get to your room :) Thanks again and please don't be a stranger.

Check Availability