We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

87.2% Overall Rating

915 out of 1023 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

"Very good location. Staff was nice and facilities were quite decent. Clean for a youth party hostel."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 15.18

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
18.06 USD

Hostel 86.5% 239 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.70 USD

Hostel 73.1% 1452 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
18.06 USD

Hostel 81.6% 273 reviews
Restup London
20.87 USD

Hostel 72.0% 445 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
52.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
28.84 USD

Hostel 92.7% 242 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
22.53 USD

Hostel 82.6% 328 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
59.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

915 out of 1023 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 650 of 827 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sophie Crowder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price and food

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good sized rooms, excellent location, I loved that there was a pub and restaurant attached to the hostel which set a great vibe

Disliked: Needed more power point connections in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and atmosphere is great. Met some amazing people there which made up for most of the negatives.

Disliked: I'm not very fussy but it's evident that this place is more concerned with making money than it is with providing the best experiences for it's guests. There's no kitchen. But what really got to me was that instead of repairing the toilet seats they just sat them back on top of the toilet bowl each day. Not good when you've had a couple. Last thing, the staff seem pretty unhappy. "We get treated like animals" was what I woke up to when a small meeting of staff randomly occurred in my bedroom one morning. The morale is kinda low there which unfortunately can be noticed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

erika sainz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

18 December 2013

Liked: The location was good and the staff was very friendly

Disliked: The bedrooms didn't had enough light and they were always dark we either didn't have any privacy at all, there was a lock on the cage under my bed that didn't let me put my luggage in, the bathrooms were the most dirty place I've ever seen, they were broken and smell bad, the halls were dirty and they charged me for trying to use the computers on the lobby that didn't work at all and didn't gave me my money back.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 December 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: very noisy (road), showers not very clean,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Callum Willmington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast free wifi can easily luck away stuff in cages that go under the beds

Disliked: Charging phones becomes a bit of a struggle in the bigger share dorms but thats to be expected I guess

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location The price The staff

Disliked: The shower I used didn't have adjustable temperature. I think others do though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a restaurant and bar within the building.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok for one-two nights, but no more than that. Good location, easy to find and enough space in the room (I was in the 10 one if I'm not wrong). But don't have big expectations, it's accommodation and it's London. The pub downstairs was amazing, though

Disliked: We arrive early in the morning and we need to pay for the lockers while the room was having done. It's safer, but it's expensive too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aomar Aouane

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 November 2013 Aomar would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: toilet cleanliness

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Harris

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the bar and restaurant, the mattresses were comfy

Disliked: Woke up to room being too hot and not enough plug sockets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean & affordable rooms.

Disliked: The dishware for the free breakfast was always filthy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very beautiful and friendly. I liked the space of leisure and the room was very big and comfortable. I really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: I really like everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

elizabeth onley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi in room. Clean even cleaners in bathroom at random times, not just morning/once a day. Beds comfy and space to lock things under the bed. Friendly staff when chècked in.

Disliked: No lift just stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arik Morrison

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 October 2013 Arik would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty nice, right near Borough Market. The beds are of the soft, comfortable foam type. The shower and bath facilities are pretty generous and well-designed. I like the chillout room.

Disliked: The first day I got in, the late checkin was pretty annoying – I arrived very jetlagged around 9 in the morning and ended up having to sleep in the "chillout room" until after 2, when I could finally put my bags down in the room. I just slept with my luggage near me, but *really* you're supposed to put it in the (paid) lockers, thus beginning a trend of nickel-and-diming that pervades many of the hostel's services. Want a towel? £9 (!) deposit! They did print something for free for me, which surprised me.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Azevedo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice, large and they are always clean. The hostel bar is a good place to make new friends.

Disliked: The internet does not work in the rooms. The bathroom are small, tall people will have problems to take a shower, for example.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sergio Azevedo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are confortable and clean. They had a good bar on the fist floor whith karoke.

Disliked: The internet does not work in the rooms. The bathroom are small, tall people will have problems to take a shower, for example.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil MacDonald

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great free breakfast, everything good quality, very cheap, good bar/food discounts, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

19 August 2013

Liked: The room was spacious and good storage space and a full legth mirror.

Disliked: This St Christopher's is not like the others I have been too. The rooms lacked privacy, the pillows were uncomfortable, the bedding not good quality. My room had 14 people and only two powerpoints which is definitely not enough. Showers were really old and didn't feel clean. Breakfast is only served until 9am. 10am would be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karla Paola Bermudez Serrato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Karla Paola would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't much time in the hostel, but it was worth the money and the place was fairly nice

Disliked: A little bit small, and the bathrooms were not very comfortable, but okay

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close it was to the market and market station. Also their free tour and bar/chill room. Perfect for young adults wanting to interact with other young adults from other cultures.

Disliked: The showers were slightly dirty and there was only WIFI in the chill room and reception area. Oh, and there was only one outlet in my 10 person room. Of course it was next to my bed so id enter the room with people hanging out on my bed while their electronics were charging or be woken up by them trying to plug/unplug the electronics.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms, staff and bar are great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely common area, the beds were excellent, staff is very friendly and considerate, showers were functioning well

Disliked: The bathroom floors and the shower floor could have been , but I have seen worse! (E.g. Rest Up hostel in Elephant & Castle)


See all London hostels
See all London hotels