HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's Village London Hostel

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm. Valid UK Drivers Licenses, Valid Passport's and a Valid European Identity Card's is required upon check-in.

Group bookings are not guaranteed to be in the same room and are subject to availability. Please contact the hostel prior to your arrival to check if there is availability.

Please note that guests under 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians. They cannot share in general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under-18s are not allowed in the bars or pubs. If you do not make this clear and book children into a mixed dorm, your reservation will be cancelled upon arrival and you will not receive a refund.

Please note that the maximum stay policy is 14 days

A £2 key card deposit will be required upon check in (refundable on check out)

Breakfast not included, £3 for unlimited continental buffet.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

Showing 21-30 of 313 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Atmosphere here us very nice, so was staff.

Disliked: I would maybe clean toilets and showers more often. And also I thought that there will be locks on the cages under the beds provided for luggage.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. We do have housekeeping staff that clean our facilities 3 times a day and once at night, however, with more than 200 guests, sometimes you make it to the mess before they do. We ask guests to provide their own locks or purchase one from reception as it would be hard to keep track of 200+ keys or combinations. ;) We hope to have to stay again!

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the pre cheeking with the lockers and the emplacment. very nice staff too

Disliked: The security we can do better and the clearness absolutly we can do better than that. It was just disgusting. And the shower room weren't made for tall people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We're glad our pre-check in process made your arrival easy and breezy. ;) We'll be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff, as well. Our housekeeping staff clean the facilities 3 times daily and once nightly, but sometimes, with more than 200 guests, you make it to the mess before they do. We would love to hear your specific comments regarding our security so we can try to improve on this. We hope you stay with us again. Safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The area was interesting .Good walks along Thames Path.

Disliked: Happy hour could have cheaper beer.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our prime location--close to many must-sees in London and also some hidden gems. We'll pass your comments about Happy Hour on to the bar; did you try our 5 for £10 buckets of Sol or 2 for £4 bottles of Fosters Gold? Can't beat £2 a beer! Hope to have you back and, until then, safe travels!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A fantastic breakfast and good location on Southwark. The bar area is very nice and with good food and drink specials and there is a separate chill out area to relax as well. Lockers below the beds which is good.

Disliked: Lacking in power points in the rooms which is a common occurrence in many hostels. Not a great experience when my wife is woken up at 1am as she was in the wrong bed and room (not her fault it had been issued to her on check in incorrectly).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us a review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our prime location in London--so close to many must-sees! We are currently in the midst of refurbishing our hostel which includes adding personal power points to each bed. We're sorry to hear about this incident; sometimes with over 200 beds we do encounter allocation errors which our staff need to resolve promptly. We hope this did not dampen you overall stay. Safe travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the station. Bed was comfy and not a squeaky old bunk that trembles when you climb up. Sheets clean. The room was nice and big. Bathroom was regularly cleaned too. Not your typical backpackers breakfast of just toast and cereal but also had fresh and dried fruit, juices, yoghurt, ham and cheese.

Disliked: The room did get alot of traffic and street noise. I'd suggest asking for a room not facing onto the main road. The lady checking me in couldn't even say hello, just ignored me completely until she was ready. The other staff were much friendlier.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to tuck in to our complimentary breakfast! Being located on a busy High street right above a bar we know it can get noisy, but we do provide free earplugs at reception for those lighter sleepers. Thank you for the kind words about most of our staff and hope that they made your stay even better. Until next time, safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to stay. Cool atmosphere and easy to meet other travellers. Also a great location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us a review! So glad you had a great time. Come back soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: sometimes no water

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad to see you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are sorry you happened to be here during the time we were experiencing a problem with out hot water but we hope you managed to find a warm shower at the Inn next door and that the problem was fixed before you checked out. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location; close to many must-sees in London. Come and stay with us any time!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: noise outside the window

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We could not ask for more! Sometimes, being on a busy High Street, there is some excess noise which is why we provide free earplugs at reception. :) Come stay with us again any time. Safe travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, convient.

Disliked: Not as clean as I would have liked.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear that you took advantage of our prime central location! We're sorry to hear that our cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Sometimes, with so many guests, you make it to the mess before our housekeeping staff do. We hope this did not put a damper on your overall stay with us and that we will see you again next time you are in London! Until then, safe travels!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: great location in LondonBed was nice and comfyDecent breakfast included

Disliked: The shower was really hot and the temperature control was not working (I am nit picking though)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for noting our great location in central london, and noted that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast. We are sorry that the showers were not up to par, however we would like you to know that we are in the middle of renovating all our bathrooms at the moment. If you fancy coming back any time, we are sure of new showers will please you!

Safe travels!

Check Availability