HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's Village London Hostel

165 Borough High Street, London, England

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 94%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 13.01USD

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation.

Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled.

Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 94%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

Showing 21-30 of 87 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A fantastic breakfast and good location on Southwark. The bar area is very nice and with good food and drink specials and there is a separate chill out area to relax as well. Lockers below the beds which is good.

Disliked: Lacking in power points in the rooms which is a common occurrence in many hostels. Not a great experience when my wife is woken up at 1am as she was in the wrong bed and room (not her fault it had been issued to her on check in incorrectly).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us a review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our prime location in London--so close to many must-sees! We are currently in the midst of refurbishing our hostel which includes adding personal power points to each bed. We're sorry to hear about this incident; sometimes with over 200 beds we do encounter allocation errors which our staff need to resolve promptly. We hope this did not dampen you overall stay. Safe travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the station. Bed was comfy and not a squeaky old bunk that trembles when you climb up. Sheets clean. The room was nice and big. Bathroom was regularly cleaned too. Not your typical backpackers breakfast of just toast and cereal but also had fresh and dried fruit, juices, yoghurt, ham and cheese.

Disliked: The room did get alot of traffic and street noise. I'd suggest asking for a room not facing onto the main road. The lady checking me in couldn't even say hello, just ignored me completely until she was ready. The other staff were much friendlier.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to tuck in to our complimentary breakfast! Being located on a busy High street right above a bar we know it can get noisy, but we do provide free earplugs at reception for those lighter sleepers. Thank you for the kind words about most of our staff and hope that they made your stay even better. Until next time, safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to stay. Cool atmosphere and easy to meet other travellers. Also a great location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us a review! So glad you had a great time. Come back soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: sometimes no water

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad to see you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are sorry you happened to be here during the time we were experiencing a problem with out hot water but we hope you managed to find a warm shower at the Inn next door and that the problem was fixed before you checked out. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location; close to many must-sees in London. Come and stay with us any time!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: noise outside the window

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We could not ask for more! Sometimes, being on a busy High Street, there is some excess noise which is why we provide free earplugs at reception. :) Come stay with us again any time. Safe travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, convient.

Disliked: Not as clean as I would have liked.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear that you took advantage of our prime central location! We're sorry to hear that our cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Sometimes, with so many guests, you make it to the mess before our housekeeping staff do. We hope this did not put a damper on your overall stay with us and that we will see you again next time you are in London! Until then, safe travels!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: great location in LondonBed was nice and comfyDecent breakfast included

Disliked: The shower was really hot and the temperature control was not working (I am nit picking though)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for noting our great location in central london, and noted that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast. We are sorry that the showers were not up to par, however we would like you to know that we are in the middle of renovating all our bathrooms at the moment. If you fancy coming back any time, we are sure of new showers will please you!

Safe travels!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Convenient and easy ocation

Disliked: No bike storage and bedside shelf/table

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location. Staff was nice and facilities were quite decent. Clean for a youth party hostel.

Disliked: With two pubs inside/beside it, it got really loud at night. Wifi was really bad - didn't work at all in the rooms and choppy in the lobby. It was completely down on the last day. In the washrooms, taps didn't have hot water (showers were fine).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and facilities! We apologise that the wifi wasn't working correctly, please be assured that this is something that we are aware of and we are trying our hardest to remove some roadblocks to getting an all new wifi system in place. We hope that by the next time you come this will be sorted and up to your expectations.

Thanks, and safe travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is great, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the free breakfast is brilliant!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow! Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review! We're glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and prime location, and that our staff impressed you. We will be sure to pass on your kind words! Please come stay with us any time! Safe travels!

Check Availability