HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-Village

Hostel | 161-165 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

84.8% Overall Rating

900 out of 1006 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

Steven Anft thinks…

"It's easily accessible to few tube stations, bike hire's close f2f rom the inn, pretty much close to many tour spots"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 16.23

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be aware that you must show a photo ID when arriving. We only accept Passports and Driving licenses as ID. Thank you for your co-operation. Cancellation policy: If you do not turn up for the first night, the amount for the first night will be charged and all other reservations / nights will be cancelled. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable Group bookings for over 10 people must be made by email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit - refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
25.80 USD

Hostel 82.7% 234 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.23 USD

Hostel 74.2% 1433 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
29.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 262 reviews
Restup London
23.21 USD

Hostel 77.1% 408 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
68.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
38.95 USD

Hostel 88.0% 223 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
32.46 USD

Hostel 83.2% 324 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
80.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

900 out of 1006 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-Village'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 639 of 810 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean & affordable rooms.

Disliked: The dishware for the free breakfast was always filthy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very beautiful and friendly. I liked the space of leisure and the room was very big and comfortable. I really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: I really like everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

elizabeth onley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi in room. Clean even cleaners in bathroom at random times, not just morning/once a day. Beds comfy and space to lock things under the bed. Friendly staff when chècked in.

Disliked: No lift just stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arik Morrison

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 October 2013 Arik would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty nice, right near Borough Market. The beds are of the soft, comfortable foam type. The shower and bath facilities are pretty generous and well-designed. I like the chillout room.

Disliked: The first day I got in, the late checkin was pretty annoying – I arrived very jetlagged around 9 in the morning and ended up having to sleep in the "chillout room" until after 2, when I could finally put my bags down in the room. I just slept with my luggage near me, but *really* you're supposed to put it in the (paid) lockers, thus beginning a trend of nickel-and-diming that pervades many of the hostel's services. Want a towel? £9 (!) deposit! They did print something for free for me, which surprised me.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Azevedo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice, large and they are always clean. The hostel bar is a good place to make new friends.

Disliked: The internet does not work in the rooms. The bathroom are small, tall people will have problems to take a shower, for example.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sergio Azevedo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are confortable and clean. They had a good bar on the fist floor whith karoke.

Disliked: The internet does not work in the rooms. The bathroom are small, tall people will have problems to take a shower, for example.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil MacDonald

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great free breakfast, everything good quality, very cheap, good bar/food discounts, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

19 August 2013

Liked: The room was spacious and good storage space and a full legth mirror.

Disliked: This St Christopher's is not like the others I have been too. The rooms lacked privacy, the pillows were uncomfortable, the bedding not good quality. My room had 14 people and only two powerpoints which is definitely not enough. Showers were really old and didn't feel clean. Breakfast is only served until 9am. 10am would be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karla Paola Bermudez Serrato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Karla Paola would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't much time in the hostel, but it was worth the money and the place was fairly nice

Disliked: A little bit small, and the bathrooms were not very comfortable, but okay

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close it was to the market and market station. Also their free tour and bar/chill room. Perfect for young adults wanting to interact with other young adults from other cultures.

Disliked: The showers were slightly dirty and there was only WIFI in the chill room and reception area. Oh, and there was only one outlet in my 10 person room. Of course it was next to my bed so id enter the room with people hanging out on my bed while their electronics were charging or be woken up by them trying to plug/unplug the electronics.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms, staff and bar are great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely common area, the beds were excellent, staff is very friendly and considerate, showers were functioning well

Disliked: The bathroom floors and the shower floor could have been , but I have seen worse! (E.g. Rest Up hostel in Elephant & Castle)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location! Great Party hostel - huge common room Amazing rooftop terrace Beds are comfy Noisy fun party hostel

Disliked: -Very little ventilation in rooms - windows are bolted shut. Like sleeping in a furnace and it wasn't even that hot out -Noisy fun party hostel - read - plenty of Bogans! -Having to pay for storage lockers whilst waiting for the late check-in time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food here tastes really great, with a 25% off discount, I can't ask for more. The atmosphere here is great, I meet some good ppl in the bar. The cinema room is great as well. I'd like to stay here again!

Disliked: There are only two sockets in the room, it's certainly not enough for everyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Price

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 June 2013 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and comfortable. I couldn't ask for more from a hostel at such a great price and great tube location.

Disliked: Only peeve is the downstairs chill out area was closed in the mornings

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2013

Liked: Great amenities, helpful staff. Everything is very well organized

Disliked: Just needs more frequent cleaning of the drains in the sink and showers. Washing machines very dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Supermarket across the street. A lot of activities (e.g. Free Walking Tour, BBQ) organized by the hostel.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location. Within walking distance of plenty of great restaurants, attractions etc. Also very close to the tube with is excellent. Showers were nice and hot every morning even though you had to press the button to keep them going. The atmosphere in the chill out room is really fun and great for meeting new people. Bedding was clean, beds were what you would expect of a budget hostel. Good deals at the bar for food and drink. There is also a grocery store right across the street and Borough Market down the street which is convinient since there are o kitchen facilities. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel and would Definetly recommend it to others traveling to London!

Disliked: The wifi kinda sucked. You only got it on the bottom level of the hostel. We also had a mouse problem in our room which we didn't know about the first night and sure enough before I to my friends bag of granola bars and made a mess in her bag. There was also some mornings when you would wake up to go to the bathroom and there would be vomit everywhere from the night before.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people mostly partiers though. I liked the set up, especially the cinema room and hangout rooms.

Disliked: Charge you extra for everything and the only outlets are in the common area :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

NAYEONG CHOI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 NAYEONG would recommend this property

Liked: the card key system

Disliked: There those not have a lift, so I'm climbing up to 5 stairs with my have carrier.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberto das Neves

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2013 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, room, breakfast free and clean

Disliked: Roberto left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013

Liked: NOTHING!! THIS WAS THE WORST HOSTEL I HAVE EXPERIENCED IN THE U.K. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WITH GIANT, LONG 3 FLOORS TO WALK, BAD AND UNWELCOMING STAFF MEMBERS, BELOW AVERAGE CLEANLINESS SPECIALLY IN THE LOUNGE AREA, NO KETTLE OR FREE WATER AVAILABLE IN THE LOUNGE AREA, AND DEFINITELY NOT VALUE FOR MONEY THIS HOSTEL CHARGES!

Disliked: EVERYTHING!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were cheerful and helpful. It was clean and comfortable as well.

Disliked: A little farther from the main tourist attractions than I thought, but other than that I loved it!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels