HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

88.5% Overall Rating

840 out of 875 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"It is in a really great location and the staff are really friendly and always willing to help. It is also pretty clean."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
66.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
40.57 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
59.56 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
27.43 USD

Hostel 80.0% 245 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
19.46 USD

Hostel 67.4% 1091 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
40.57 USD

Hostel 66.2% 116 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
34.08 USD

Hostel 88.3% 465 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

840 out of 875 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 551 of 793 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ADRIAN O'FARRELL

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 June 2012 ADRIAN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and the location was perfect.

Disliked: My shower was out of order

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast deals were cheap and good. The location was also reasonably central.

Disliked: We knew that we had to pay for WIFI but had to go down the the ground floor to us the WIFI. This was quite a bummer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jennifer price

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

08 June 2012 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the clean rooms, the comfy beds and warm duvets, the facilities and communal areas were excellent and there was an overall great atmosphere.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything except the miserable english weather.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

03 June 2012

Liked: Die Lage ist für London gut.

Disliked: Wir waren in einem Souterain-Zimmer untergebracht ohne Fenster nur mit einem Lichtschacht. Klimaanlage war defekt. Somit extrem schlechte und stinkige Luft im Zimmer ohne Möglichkeit zum Lüften. WC auf dem Stockwerk defekt. Reklamationen an der Rezeption wurden aufgenommen, aber nichts dagegen unternommen. Umziehen in ein anderes Zimmer war nicht möglich. Auch in der Küche, welche im Keller war, extrem schlechte Luft. Hier auch keine Klimaanlage oder Fenster

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Rassie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location to central city and extremely helpful staff. Clean and tidy plus great amenity deals for travelers on a budget. I will definitely be staying here again.

Disliked: No free wireless internet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sherly Fen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Sherly would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly. You could have easily talk and ask about anything and they would be really nice to help and answer you. The place is quite nice.

Disliked: It's not that close to underground station. You should walk about 5-10 minutes. but actually, that is still acceptable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marilyn Stoffelsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: great place loved it

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gaston Aguirre

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Gaston would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly

Disliked: toilettes quite small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicolle Holm

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Nicolle would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Our first night the air conditioner broke and flooded our room and we found that out after waking up to the fire alarm but our next few nights were great. The beds were quite comfortable, the bathroom was what could be expected of a shared bathroom on a room of 6 - but no shortage of hot water! Staff was amazing. Food was great, cheap and available all night! We walked everywhere from the hostel and it was wonderful.

Disliked: Other than some bad luck the first night we didn't hav any complaints. Our bathroom wasn't the cleanest but like I said - it was shared between 6 people so given that it was to e expected!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located, clean rooms with good shower/toilet facilities.

Disliked: There was a bit of a mix-up; there were three of us in a private room for four, and another traveller was assigned that room by mistake. It was a bit unnerving to find a stranger's stuff with ours!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fabian Schvartzman

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are OK, and the travelers:bathroom ratio is quite well, I didn't have to wait even once in order to take a shower. The staff is very very nice.

Disliked: The only issue I had was that it wasn't what I expected atmosphere-wise. I thought there will be a lot of young people, however most of the visitors were families and old folks.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

15 May 2012

Liked: The location only

Disliked: When i went to the room i have booked, it was full already, so they had to move a guy from my room to another room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour cafe / communal area spatious room (i was in a 4p female dorm) with very nice beds night light and socket next to each bed super nice staff security (key cards for front door and dorm room) computers are fast (1 pound for 20 minutes)

Disliked: no free wifi (starts at 5 pound a day!) shower knob increases volume and temperature at the same time, so is either cold and 'normal' or hot and blows you against the wall.. but from experience i know that in london you should just be happy that it's hot. lockers in the room (which can fit a complete backpack) don't lock

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

andrea grillone

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2012 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It's very safe and the location is wonderful

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

JONGHOON KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 JONGHOON would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: expensive...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, excelent friendlty environent. Staff is very helpfull and the place is all new and clean. We felt safe all the time. We strongly recommend it!!! Have a nice stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a good place to stay, it may cost a little more than some other locations but it offers great value for that!

Disliked: had a very unfriendly woman at the reception once; hard to meet new people there; Internet access is very expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's quite so allow you to take some rest. It's clean and secure. You can find food easily since they have 'restaurant' with reasonable price. There's a big screen to watch TV. All the facilities are very good.

Disliked: The wash basin in the toilet is quite small so sometimes the water falls on the floor and make it wet and slippery.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCIA VIEIRA

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 MARCIA would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: Water on the room when someone was in the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael johnson

Alone

City break

28 April 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: very smart and modern

Disliked: no.free breakfast and towel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: Room was very warm at night and Noise/hum from generators at back of hostel was constant and intrusive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, clean and tidy room, well-equipped kitchen (save my live :P) and quite convenient location (few minutes walk from underground, about 15-20 minutes walk to Soho, with supermarkets, cafe and bars nearby)

Disliked: No free wifi, I can accept charged wifi since it seems it is common in European hostels, but the bad thing is it is not really well connected, often lost connection even I used in the instructed area. Toilet in the room may be not very well ventilated or maybe it is the problem of pipes, the toilet sometimes stinky

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leon Scothern

Alone

City break

25 April 2012 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean & new, good facilities, nice staff

Disliked: The power sockets and bed side lights werent working in our room and although i told this to the front desk staff a few times, they just said "there is nothing we can do, its an electrical fault" and didnt offer a solution to the problem or anything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica Quinn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean, the kitchen and bar area is nice and upbeat. The staff where also friendly and happy.

Disliked: I was in a 4 person dorm and the rooms are small, but they are clean and sufficent enough if all your doing is sleeping there anyway, as you can chill out in the other areas of the hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tobias Frimor Koopmann Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Tobias Frimor Koopmann would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Tobias Frimor Koopmann left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels