We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

87.5% Overall Rating

841 out of 876 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/11/2014)

"In a great central location, perfect for exploring London. The kitchen facilities were excellent and the hostel was always clean."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
51.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
45.98 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
59.56 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
19.31 USD

Hostel 80.5% 247 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 67.4% 1091 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
40.57 USD

Hostel 66.2% 116 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.0% 467 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

841 out of 876 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 794 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hubbard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic !this was my first stop on a six week trip through Europe and I could not have asked for more. They even went out of their way to make sure I knew where to visit when I am in Paris. Would stay here every time I'm in London !

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: not great social space for meeting & chatting to other travellers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top hostel. Location is central London however the hostel doesnt feel like you are central as is a few streets away from Oxford street. Top hostel for me. Felt secure area and rooms were good size and lockers in room. Would happily recommned this hostel to any person visiting London. Hostel has a good vibe, Main social area good for meeting people and downstairs Kitchen quiet and able to study and do work in the evenings.

Disliked: No dislikes at all. Would happily stay here again in the future.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5 minutes walking to a underground station You can go walking to the center if you dont want to spend money in public transport. The room was very clean. It was very quiet and we sleep very well. You can cook your own food, there is fridges and places to hold your food.

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked was the lockers in the rooms. In my room there was 4 lockers and only one of them works well. But I talked to the reception guy and a locker was fixed for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jefferson Schwantes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Jefferson would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first experience on a hostel and everything was great. Clean, secure, beds with individual lights and plugs, location near Oxford Street, helpfull staff.

Disliked: Wifi is not for free. Shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom except for the curtain.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was actually excelent: the room, the bunk beds with individual lights and plugs, kitchen area...

Disliked: You don't have free wifi... And shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom except for the curtain, so when you have a shower, everything floods!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, location is great, the staff is really friendly. I would definitely recommend it. I felt great and safe. They also have hairdryers and harinstraighteners for free. You can alsowash your clothes. Self Catering kitchen is great.

Disliked: No free wifi-it is quite expensive. Showers are not good you get everything wet. It is family friendly hostel, so there are no parties or anything similar :)-I missed that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpfull staff, good additional services. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Molloy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 February 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite and location was good.

Disliked: The cleaning staff were a little rude when I wanted to get down to the ground floor the cleaner put his hand out to block me entering and said "busy", It was rude, Apart from that it was fine,

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013

Liked: It's lication, how effective the stuff members were and all the touristic information provided. Great choice.

Disliked: The lack of free wifi and the elevated cost of it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul McGee

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 February 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was excellent for my needs and definitely would be described as a "prime location" for London.

Disliked: I dont think I disliked anything really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were really nice and friendly. Helpful. Even when they didn't know so,etching, they would say so or ask someone else to get the answer.

Disliked: Bathroom in the 4 female dorm smelt a bit when you were inside. Plus the water from the shower sort of went everywhere on the floor. You definitely needed to be careful about not dropping anything on the floor. Other than that, nothing else!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JINYAO DAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 JINYAO would recommend this property

Liked: it's a really nice hostel, although I just stayed there for 1 night. The location is pretty good, as it is near Oxford Street, and one can walk to the visiting places. and it is safe. the staff is friendly.

Disliked: the breakfast is just soooo common comparing with that in Amsterdam, Austria, and other countries...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern clean and lively

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

29 January 2013

Liked: Place was clean.

Disliked: I did not like the people I was with there. I did not feel safe at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, safe, close to center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and modern with lockers good kitchen nice little restuarant with good prices and also had a bathroom in the room.it is very hard to find a clean and modern hostel thats also warm and a good central location with kitchen and lockers (very hard it seems to find a kitchen)so i was very happy to find this one.

Disliked: the only complaint i would have is the lift is painfully slow to arrive and no wifi available in the rooms only available on the same floor as the bar and restuarant so if you want to skype or watch something its a little too noisy (especially at night) also the other thing is the wifi is a little pricey but there are cafes and pub not too far away where you ca use wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Korsmoe

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Well, to start of, at the very first moment we got into the hostel, we were met with a very friendly atmosphere. Secondly, the staff were extremely helpful, wether it was about the rooms or places to party. Really great.

Disliked: The elevator.. Wow, this thing was bugging the crap out me and my co-students. And secondly, they forgot to mention in the reception that we had to bring our passports for several +18 activities, because my VISA card was not enough. Heh. But it was really great, no doubt.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing as usual, I love how outgoing and friendly they all are. They have great offers on both food and beverages and it's all delicious. I love the atmosphere at this hostel; it's lively and energetic! And the discounts they have on different tourist attractions are great.

Disliked: Nothing much!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barry bradley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 barry would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic and in good walkable location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Quite clean. Has a safe inside the room.

Disliked: Well, you do have to pay extra for everything, although it is stated what is included and what is not. There is no WIFI in the rooms, just in common areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to shopping area

Disliked: The pillow is so uncomfortable, very flat an hurts my neck.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rita Elise Fjeldstad

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 December 2012 Rita Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to find, helpful staff, nice reception, clean rooms, good facilities

Disliked: Bathroom with no air circulation what so ever -nor window to open) and therefore a very strong smell. Did not have free wifi, and no wifi in the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money! Nice common area, international atmosphere, very helpful staff, simple but clean rooms (slept in a 4 bed female dorm with own bathroom) with lockers (bring a padlock or buy one at the hostel) and only 10 minutes by foot to Oxford Street and Soho.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels