HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

93.3% Overall Rating

829 out of 863 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

Jessica Morris thinks…

"Great value for money, clean rooms, friendly staff and people. A bit of a walk to oxford circus but nothing you can't manage. Great soundproofing of the room from the outside, not so much the…"

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.62
  • Towel USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
67.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
42.32 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
62.13 USD

Hostel 78.4% 244 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
37.07 USD

Hostel 79.0% 244 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
23.68 USD

Hostel 70.6% 1087 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
42.32 USD

Hostel 64.7% 114 reviews
St Athans Hotel
40.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
42.32 USD

Hostel 88.7% 464 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

829 out of 863 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 547 of 781 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gooood!!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Vaughan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, a short walk from the nearest tube station and good value for money. Rooms were clean and tidy. Great place to stay for 2 nights.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Caldeira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have stayed. With really friendly staff =)

Disliked: Nothing =)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, only 5 minutes walk to Oxford street. The rooms were really clean and beds comfortable.

Disliked: No free breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Only 5 min walk to Oxford street. Enough space for the need. Good condition of the rooms and the whole facility. Everything was good. During this trip we tried YHA St Paul´s which was not good at all since it was VERY old. We also visited YHA Oxford street which was very small, ie smaller facility and felt cramped. YHA Central is defnitely the best of all YHA properties. Clean and nice facility. Stayed in a quad room which was perfect for our family of 4 persons. Good price for the stay. Cheap breakfast. First time we stayed at a hostel and it was a nice first experience. We will definitely look for hostel stays in the future.

Disliked: Nothing of dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claes Lygrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Claes would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen facilities and helpful desk staff

Disliked: Claes left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathrin Sheridan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: the common room had a good vibe

Disliked: nothing really

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great location.

Disliked: No free breakfast or wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the lounge the kitchen

Disliked: the bathrooms are not ventilated adequate

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karolina Kaszuba

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Karolina would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, perfect for getting around London and UK, since Euston is only a medium walk away, staff is very helpful and makes sure everything works great, beds are comfy, rooms are warm, bathrooms are super-clean, it's overall great.

Disliked: Karolina left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barbara Baldinucci

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and new, very quiet and safe at night..

Disliked: Internet connection only on the ground floor... And quite expensive actually

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, location, comfortable.

Disliked: Just a little soulless, perhaps not the best place for meeting people. Also that you have to pay for all extras, including wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I ve ever stayed in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Onno Garms

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Onno would recommend this property

Liked: nice meeting and eating room in front of the reception, affordable internet, discount ticket sales to sights, organized pub crawls, central, relatively cheap, relatively small dorms (4 beds)

Disliked: breakfast (and other food) has poor value for money, charge for lockers in the luggage room, slightly sterile atmosphere

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. nice and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff , clean room.

Disliked: The lift was out of survice while I was on my way down to kitchen and I stuck in there for 80minutes. The staff on his duty that day was great , he came to talk with me from the other side and told me that the engineer was coming and he offered me to bring my friends to stay with me that make me calm down.But the lift still out of service at least for three days (till the day I leave the hostel)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Clean room

Disliked: No free wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Silvia Garcia San Antonio

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, you could go walking to so many places and they are close to one Saintsbury and also a Tesco. The staff is very friendly and you can get at the reception tickets for musicals and museums at lower prices. At the bar they offer good food and drinks at reasonable prices and the kitchen avaiable for the guest has all the facilities to make you easy prepare your own food. There are also avaiable several fridges and shelves to store your food. And regarding to the rooms, they clean it everyday. The room has its own heating, the temperature is always perfect and you can also regulate it as you want. And the beds are incredibly confortable, you don't miss your own bed.

Disliked: I don't have any complaints

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013

Liked: good location. good security.

Disliked: staff are very uninterested in guests, any question asked you're made to feel like you're bothering them. no activities for solo travelers, even the pub crawl is run by an external body so instead of starting at the hostel together you're just told to meet at a random location. would not recommend to anyone who has stayed in a decent hostel before as this one will fall short big time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ayaka Maeda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 Ayaka would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was reallty friendly and helpful! The kitchen seemed reallt nice (I did not use it though). Security was also good, I think. The light just side of the bed was also useful and helpful especially when my roommates were sleeping.

Disliked: Shower was really useless. Everytime I used the shower, the bathroom got wet because there was no gap. This was horrible. Wifi was not free and it was available on the ground floor only.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hubbard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic !this was my first stop on a six week trip through Europe and I could not have asked for more. They even went out of their way to make sure I knew where to visit when I am in Paris. Would stay here every time I'm in London !

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: not great social space for meeting & chatting to other travellers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top hostel. Location is central London however the hostel doesnt feel like you are central as is a few streets away from Oxford street. Top hostel for me. Felt secure area and rooms were good size and lockers in room. Would happily recommned this hostel to any person visiting London. Hostel has a good vibe, Main social area good for meeting people and downstairs Kitchen quiet and able to study and do work in the evenings.

Disliked: No dislikes at all. Would happily stay here again in the future.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5 minutes walking to a underground station You can go walking to the center if you dont want to spend money in public transport. The room was very clean. It was very quiet and we sleep very well. You can cook your own food, there is fridges and places to hold your food.

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked was the lockers in the rooms. In my room there was 4 lockers and only one of them works well. But I talked to the reception guy and a locker was fixed for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jefferson Schwantes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Jefferson would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first experience on a hostel and everything was great. Clean, secure, beds with individual lights and plugs, location near Oxford Street, helpfull staff.

Disliked: Wifi is not for free. Shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom except for the curtain.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels