HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

89.7% Overall Rating

809 out of 843 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Close to 2 tube stations within 5 mins walk. Supermarket also within 5 mins walk. Food and drink sold from Hostle. Rooms clean and tidy. I liked it and will book here next time I'm in London."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.55
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
63.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
41.95 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
41.95 USD

Hostel 79.0% 235 reviews
Staunton Hotel
91.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
19.97 USD

Hostel 80.3% 241 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
20.96 USD

Hostel 68.6% 1076 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
36.91 USD

Hostel 65.5% 104 reviews
Opulence Central London Hotel
88.09 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

809 out of 843 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 760 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I ve ever stayed in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Onno Garms

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Onno would recommend this property

Liked: nice meeting and eating room in front of the reception, affordable internet, discount ticket sales to sights, organized pub crawls, central, relatively cheap, relatively small dorms (4 beds)

Disliked: breakfast (and other food) has poor value for money, charge for lockers in the luggage room, slightly sterile atmosphere

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. nice and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff , clean room.

Disliked: The lift was out of survice while I was on my way down to kitchen and I stuck in there for 80minutes. The staff on his duty that day was great , he came to talk with me from the other side and told me that the engineer was coming and he offered me to bring my friends to stay with me that make me calm down.But the lift still out of service at least for three days (till the day I leave the hostel)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Clean room

Disliked: No free wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Silvia Garcia San Antonio

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, you could go walking to so many places and they are close to one Saintsbury and also a Tesco. The staff is very friendly and you can get at the reception tickets for musicals and museums at lower prices. At the bar they offer good food and drinks at reasonable prices and the kitchen avaiable for the guest has all the facilities to make you easy prepare your own food. There are also avaiable several fridges and shelves to store your food. And regarding to the rooms, they clean it everyday. The room has its own heating, the temperature is always perfect and you can also regulate it as you want. And the beds are incredibly confortable, you don't miss your own bed.

Disliked: I don't have any complaints

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013

Liked: good location. good security.

Disliked: staff are very uninterested in guests, any question asked you're made to feel like you're bothering them. no activities for solo travelers, even the pub crawl is run by an external body so instead of starting at the hostel together you're just told to meet at a random location. would not recommend to anyone who has stayed in a decent hostel before as this one will fall short big time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ayaka Maeda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 Ayaka would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was reallty friendly and helpful! The kitchen seemed reallt nice (I did not use it though). Security was also good, I think. The light just side of the bed was also useful and helpful especially when my roommates were sleeping.

Disliked: Shower was really useless. Everytime I used the shower, the bathroom got wet because there was no gap. This was horrible. Wifi was not free and it was available on the ground floor only.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hubbard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic !this was my first stop on a six week trip through Europe and I could not have asked for more. They even went out of their way to make sure I knew where to visit when I am in Paris. Would stay here every time I'm in London !

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: not great social space for meeting & chatting to other travellers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top hostel. Location is central London however the hostel doesnt feel like you are central as is a few streets away from Oxford street. Top hostel for me. Felt secure area and rooms were good size and lockers in room. Would happily recommned this hostel to any person visiting London. Hostel has a good vibe, Main social area good for meeting people and downstairs Kitchen quiet and able to study and do work in the evenings.

Disliked: No dislikes at all. Would happily stay here again in the future.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5 minutes walking to a underground station You can go walking to the center if you dont want to spend money in public transport. The room was very clean. It was very quiet and we sleep very well. You can cook your own food, there is fridges and places to hold your food.

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked was the lockers in the rooms. In my room there was 4 lockers and only one of them works well. But I talked to the reception guy and a locker was fixed for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jefferson Schwantes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Jefferson would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first experience on a hostel and everything was great. Clean, secure, beds with individual lights and plugs, location near Oxford Street, helpfull staff.

Disliked: Wifi is not for free. Shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom except for the curtain.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was actually excelent: the room, the bunk beds with individual lights and plugs, kitchen area...

Disliked: You don't have free wifi... And shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom except for the curtain, so when you have a shower, everything floods!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, location is great, the staff is really friendly. I would definitely recommend it. I felt great and safe. They also have hairdryers and harinstraighteners for free. You can alsowash your clothes. Self Catering kitchen is great.

Disliked: No free wifi-it is quite expensive. Showers are not good you get everything wet. It is family friendly hostel, so there are no parties or anything similar :)-I missed that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpfull staff, good additional services. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Molloy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 February 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite and location was good.

Disliked: The cleaning staff were a little rude when I wanted to get down to the ground floor the cleaner put his hand out to block me entering and said "busy", It was rude, Apart from that it was fine,

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013

Liked: It's lication, how effective the stuff members were and all the touristic information provided. Great choice.

Disliked: The lack of free wifi and the elevated cost of it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul McGee

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 February 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was excellent for my needs and definitely would be described as a "prime location" for London.

Disliked: I dont think I disliked anything really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were really nice and friendly. Helpful. Even when they didn't know so,etching, they would say so or ask someone else to get the answer.

Disliked: Bathroom in the 4 female dorm smelt a bit when you were inside. Plus the water from the shower sort of went everywhere on the floor. You definitely needed to be careful about not dropping anything on the floor. Other than that, nothing else!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JINYAO DAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 JINYAO would recommend this property

Liked: it's a really nice hostel, although I just stayed there for 1 night. The location is pretty good, as it is near Oxford Street, and one can walk to the visiting places. and it is safe. the staff is friendly.

Disliked: the breakfast is just soooo common comparing with that in Amsterdam, Austria, and other countries...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern clean and lively

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

29 January 2013

Liked: Place was clean.

Disliked: I did not like the people I was with there. I did not feel safe at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, safe, close to center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and modern with lockers good kitchen nice little restuarant with good prices and also had a bathroom in the room.it is very hard to find a clean and modern hostel thats also warm and a good central location with kitchen and lockers (very hard it seems to find a kitchen)so i was very happy to find this one.

Disliked: the only complaint i would have is the lift is painfully slow to arrive and no wifi available in the rooms only available on the same floor as the bar and restuarant so if you want to skype or watch something its a little too noisy (especially at night) also the other thing is the wifi is a little pricey but there are cafes and pub not too far away where you ca use wifi.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels