We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

87.5% Overall Rating

841 out of 876 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/11/2014)

"In a great central location, perfect for exploring London. The kitchen facilities were excellent and the hostel was always clean."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
51.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
45.98 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
59.56 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
19.31 USD

Hostel 80.5% 247 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 67.4% 1091 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
40.57 USD

Hostel 66.2% 116 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.0% 467 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

841 out of 876 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 794 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, good service

Disliked: People on my floor was noisy and there was any staff that shut them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Littlewood

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were extremely helpful, and all areas in the hostel were very, very clean!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere and facilities.

Disliked: We have to pay for wi-fi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Southwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very helpful and friendly staff, maps on hand for people to use and staff were really happy to answer questions about various attractions. The location was fantastic. Having washing machines and dryers on site was also very useful, as was having key cards instead of actual keys for the rooms. Not having internet access in the rooms was annoying but I understand that the centre of London is expensive enough as it is. And I really enjoyed going to Wicked, which thanks to the hostel I was able to go to with a half-priced ticket!

Disliked: -Not having internet access in rooms (see above). -Showers weren't very well designed - no boundary between the shower and the rest of the floor, meaning clothes could very easily get wet as you were trying to have your shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Christians

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe, friendly, good location, value for money

Disliked: Tania left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don't think about staying anywhere else!! Yes, for £19 a night it is a little on the pricey side but it is definitely worth paying for. This hostel is nicer than basically all budget hotels for twice or even quadruple the price. The rooms are small but adequate, and very safe. Location is brilliant. I won't be staying anywhere else in London from now on.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in rooms Bar downstairs Security

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect; it is quiet and safe. And it is only a 15 minutes walk from Oxford Cirus and a minute walk away from Sainsbury's and Tesco. Overall, a very good value of money and will definitely recommend to others in the future.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melithia Held

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Melithia would recommend this property

Liked: ANTHYTHING WE LOVE THIS PLACE THIS PLACE BECOMES OUR SECOND HOME WE MAKE A RESERATIONS FOR NEXT FEBRUARI .WE REALLY LOVE IT .

Disliked: THE SHOWER DOESNT HAVE A HANDSHOWER BECOUSE YOUR HAIR IS GOING TO BE VERY WET .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shiong Kok Wong

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Shiong Kok would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom and room were cleaned daily. Well, it was like this when I was staying there. I was very happy with the free internet access for a YHA member like me, although no WIFI in the room . Very friendly and energetic staff members who were always ready to assist. I would like to particularly thank those staff members who made me a cup of big latte early in the morning, like 5:30am and sometimes earlier. They have a well-equipped kitchen in the basement. It's a bit like a commercial kitchen really - all self-service. It's free to use. They also have hair straightening irons, hair dryer and irons for guests to use at no cost in the laundry room. If you can, consider becoming a YHA member and take advantage of the discounted rates for services and items on offer. I joined the membership upon checking in at a cost of 15 pounds. For me, it's a good value for money for all the discount rate on service and items I received during my stay there. :)

Disliked: The noise from the some of the guests in my room drove me crazy. I guess people ought to be more considerate. That said, I would definitely come back to stay at this hostel next time I'm in London.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

vaughan capstick

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 October 2013 vaughan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are always very friendly and helpful. And most importantly, they SMILE! And this alone makes you feel very welcome.

Disliked: The showers on the upper floors have very low pressure

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chiung-Jiuan Chen

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Chiung-Jiuan would recommend this property

Liked: Price is affordable for young people , Compare to other hostal yha is clean and comfortable

Disliked: Sound proof is not very good in this building You may get up very early at 5am as your neighbors' showering

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koba Tirkia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 October 2013 Koba would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. It was my firts stay at hostel and i was a bit skeptical about it, but now I think i will stay at hostels with no bad thoughts :))

Disliked: Complimentary internet would have been great. Internet was available freely from nearby starbucks and other cafes, so in 21st century it is a shame to charge people for internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clare braithwaite

Alone

Shopping

22 October 2013 clare would recommend this property

Liked: central clean good facilities .

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location! Great staff, all facilities you could want, positive atmosphere

Disliked: Not a dislike, but so many coming and going, cleaning staff had trouble knowing what items in rooms were abandoned

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cosmopolitan clientell, the central location, the efficiency of the staff/management and the overall feel of the place.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, good location and facilities were excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Kosanc

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nicely taken care off.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal areas were always clean and tidy and the staff very helpful. Proximity to the tube station was also excellent.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location wise was great! Close to Oxford Street = SHOPPING! Comfy bed and had a place for us to store food at the kitchen. Everything was good!

Disliked: The power of the shower head couldn't be adjusted and the bathroom would flood a little due to the strong shower and water splatter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Corinna Vellnagel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Corinna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is incredible. Right in the centre and plenty of dining facilities and pubs in the nearby surrounding.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms. Unless you're a HI member they charge 5£ per day for wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all of the above. As a mature widow i feel safe and welcome here,

Disliked: can be noisy late at night inside the building

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean and calm.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't free and even when you paid for it you couldn't use it in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

STEPHEN BALL

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, comfortable bed and fresh clean bedding. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and great facilities.

Disliked: STEPHEN left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and great location. Price was really good as well.

Disliked: The lockers inside the room was of very poor quality, 3 out of 4 of their locking mechanisms where broken and could easily been opened without the key after you lock them. Also our power sockets above our beds where broken when we arrived in the room, they got them fixed the next day but my power socket was still not working properly and sometimes my phone would stop charging.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels