HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

90.5% Overall Rating

808 out of 842 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Close to 2 tube stations within 5 mins walk. Supermarket also within 5 mins walk. Food and drink sold from Hostle. Rooms clean and tidy. I liked it and will book here next time I'm in London."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.57
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
63.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
42.03 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
42.03 USD

Hostel 79.0% 235 reviews
Staunton Hotel
108.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
20.01 USD

Hostel 80.3% 241 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
21.00 USD

Hostel 68.6% 1076 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
36.99 USD

Hostel 65.5% 104 reviews
Opulence Central London Hotel
88.27 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

808 out of 842 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 760 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is very nice. Wifi was down over the weekend which was disappointing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nico Jonas

Alone

Business / conference

29 November 2013 Nico would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean. Friendly staff. Food prepared on site

Disliked: Fire alarm going off and having to vacate property at midnight

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ANDREW PHILIP CARBONE

Alone

City break

26 November 2013 ANDREW PHILIP would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities, staff, and the location.

Disliked: The price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Gledhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: All good - great staff, facilities and location!

Disliked: Nothing bad to say.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holger Wagner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2013 Holger would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel, clean, good rooms, insuite bathroom, i like the hostel and i am an old man (41) :-)

Disliked: Holger left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safety

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koba Tirkia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 November 2013 Koba would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first ever hostel and I am very pleased with my stay.

Disliked: No internet in rooms. I mean common, 21st century! Buses, trains and planes have free internet these days. :)) Paid internet was available in the lobby / reception / breakfast area. Tip: Go for a breakfast to nearby costa, starbucks or nany's cafe and use their free internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaana Kari

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Jaana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Jaana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, good service

Disliked: People on my floor was noisy and there was any staff that shut them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Littlewood

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were extremely helpful, and all areas in the hostel were very, very clean!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere and facilities.

Disliked: We have to pay for wi-fi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Southwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very helpful and friendly staff, maps on hand for people to use and staff were really happy to answer questions about various attractions. The location was fantastic. Having washing machines and dryers on site was also very useful, as was having key cards instead of actual keys for the rooms. Not having internet access in the rooms was annoying but I understand that the centre of London is expensive enough as it is. And I really enjoyed going to Wicked, which thanks to the hostel I was able to go to with a half-priced ticket!

Disliked: -Not having internet access in rooms (see above). -Showers weren't very well designed - no boundary between the shower and the rest of the floor, meaning clothes could very easily get wet as you were trying to have your shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Christians

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe, friendly, good location, value for money

Disliked: Tania left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don't think about staying anywhere else!! Yes, for £19 a night it is a little on the pricey side but it is definitely worth paying for. This hostel is nicer than basically all budget hotels for twice or even quadruple the price. The rooms are small but adequate, and very safe. Location is brilliant. I won't be staying anywhere else in London from now on.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in rooms Bar downstairs Security

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect; it is quiet and safe. And it is only a 15 minutes walk from Oxford Cirus and a minute walk away from Sainsbury's and Tesco. Overall, a very good value of money and will definitely recommend to others in the future.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melithia Held

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Melithia would recommend this property

Liked: ANTHYTHING WE LOVE THIS PLACE THIS PLACE BECOMES OUR SECOND HOME WE MAKE A RESERATIONS FOR NEXT FEBRUARI .WE REALLY LOVE IT .

Disliked: THE SHOWER DOESNT HAVE A HANDSHOWER BECOUSE YOUR HAIR IS GOING TO BE VERY WET .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shiong Kok Wong

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Shiong Kok would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom and room were cleaned daily. Well, it was like this when I was staying there. I was very happy with the free internet access for a YHA member like me, although no WIFI in the room . Very friendly and energetic staff members who were always ready to assist. I would like to particularly thank those staff members who made me a cup of big latte early in the morning, like 5:30am and sometimes earlier. They have a well-equipped kitchen in the basement. It's a bit like a commercial kitchen really - all self-service. It's free to use. They also have hair straightening irons, hair dryer and irons for guests to use at no cost in the laundry room. If you can, consider becoming a YHA member and take advantage of the discounted rates for services and items on offer. I joined the membership upon checking in at a cost of 15 pounds. For me, it's a good value for money for all the discount rate on service and items I received during my stay there. :)

Disliked: The noise from the some of the guests in my room drove me crazy. I guess people ought to be more considerate. That said, I would definitely come back to stay at this hostel next time I'm in London.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

vaughan capstick

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 October 2013 vaughan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are always very friendly and helpful. And most importantly, they SMILE! And this alone makes you feel very welcome.

Disliked: The showers on the upper floors have very low pressure

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chiung-Jiuan Chen

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Chiung-Jiuan would recommend this property

Liked: Price is affordable for young people , Compare to other hostal yha is clean and comfortable

Disliked: Sound proof is not very good in this building You may get up very early at 5am as your neighbors' showering

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koba Tirkia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 October 2013 Koba would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. It was my firts stay at hostel and i was a bit skeptical about it, but now I think i will stay at hostels with no bad thoughts :))

Disliked: Complimentary internet would have been great. Internet was available freely from nearby starbucks and other cafes, so in 21st century it is a shame to charge people for internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clare braithwaite

Alone

Shopping

22 October 2013 clare would recommend this property

Liked: central clean good facilities .

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location! Great staff, all facilities you could want, positive atmosphere

Disliked: Not a dislike, but so many coming and going, cleaning staff had trouble knowing what items in rooms were abandoned

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cosmopolitan clientell, the central location, the efficiency of the staff/management and the overall feel of the place.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, good location and facilities were excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels