We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

87.9% Overall Rating

839 out of 874 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"It is in a really great location and the staff are really friendly and always willing to help. It is also pretty clean."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.35
  • Towel USD 3.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
66.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
40.84 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
59.96 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
24.34 USD

Hostel 80.0% 245 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
19.59 USD

Hostel 67.4% 1091 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
40.84 USD

Hostel 66.2% 116 reviews
St Athans Hotel
39.21 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
24.51 USD

Hostel 88.3% 465 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

839 out of 874 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 551 of 792 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was really impressed. VERY clean, bathrooms had plenty of hot water. I always felt really safe. So close to everything. Right on a tube station too. Very happy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Ho

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

18 September 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: nice bed and clean room

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a very good location. It is clean and very organized.

Disliked: It is a little bit expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Waqas Zaib

Alone

Business / conference

16 September 2010 Waqas would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, good wheelchair facilities

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was very clean and up to date. Very nice kitchen facilities and common rooms. In-hostel cafe/bar was convenient and well-priced.

Disliked: Breakfast was overpriced and wifi was not free. Other than that, no complaints

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yha you know what you are going to get and it is a newish hotel so was very comfortable

Disliked: Heating in rooms on during summer. to hot

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and good place to meet people.

Disliked: Paid Wi-Fi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and the room felt big enough for six persons and your personal space. the staff helped you if you had questions and the free royal tour was great! also the fan's where great, it got really warm in the room at night.

Disliked: you couldnt lock the cabinets for your bag so you had to keep them under your bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well located in the city center and convient for shopping and travel aroundfriendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Georgina Baxter

11 June 2010 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is new so it's not run downlike a lot of other hostels in London. No free wifi.

Disliked: Georgina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and GREAT location. Easy to get to the Warren St. or Googe St. tube stops and surrounded by great pubs and places to eat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margrethe Knudsen

10 June 2010 Margrethe would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff is really nice, and you get to know them well. The alternative pub crawl is awesome. It's a big hostel, so it might get hard to get to know people, but as a lonesome traveller, it worked out for me! Tnx, YHA central!

Disliked: Margrethe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: YHA London was my first experience staying at a hostel and it was excellent! The staff is awesome and very friendly, the lobby atmosphere is really inviting with a lot computers available. The rooms were very clean and secure, though I often found both bathrooms on the floor to be occupied which was somewhat frustrating in the morning (there are larger bathrooms in the lobby, though). Fantastic location, close to Oxford Circus and at least three different tube stations. Really the only negative is that my pillow was flat as can be, but given the rest of the ammenities, it was a small price to pay. Would absolutely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Smith

07 June 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, great value and in central London. I will stay again now I know it's there.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'll definitely be back here. The staff was great and the rooms were clean and fresh. We stayed in a 6 bedroom-room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara placzek

21 May 2010 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing kitchen facilities and friendly atmosphere. Internet access could have come at the cheaper price but I remember to take my own laptop next time. I will definately be back!

Disliked: barbara left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 May 2010

Liked: I was disappointed with the fact that breakfast was not included but 3.95 pond each time, on top of that the internet is so expensive there. With your own laptop to use wifi, you have to pay 5 pond for one day or 3 pond for 1 hour with their computer. I know some hostels that i stayed in Paris offer both breakfast and wifi for free, included in the original room rate. Soon, I learned to use an internet cafes elsewhere that cost only 1 pond per hour, thus the hostel is knowingly taking advantage of new visitors' ignorance or lack of time to research the prices.One of female staff at the reception was incredibly and totally unnecessarily rude to me when I asked her about the location of the hostel on the map and about buses. I have been to 100s of hostels and hotels in my life though, I never met any hotel staff, who couldn't point their own hotel location on the map, besides that she seemed totally justified with her ignorance and lack of politeness. My jaw dropped with the lack of the staff education at the hostel. I don't know how she could work at any hotel reception with that kind of rude attitude and lack of basic courtesy. She blatantly refused to point the location of the hostel (on the map) she is working for, and quickly told me proudly that "i don't have a compass!" No one needs a compass to be able to point the location of the place s/he is working everyday.However, I have stayed in other YHA hostel in London, and I never met this kind of bad attitude staff, so I know that it's not all about YHA but some particular individual at an individual hostel. This YHA hostel seems to be so proud of being somewhat cool & modern that the employees may have been becoming arrogant, which I found very unpleasant. I don't think I will go back to this hostel. YHA Saint Paul was better, offers English breakfast for free and closer to Liverpool station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is wonderful,it is clean,with perfect location and the most friendless staff!I would like to be their guest again with big pleasure!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Anthony Samuelson

26 April 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location (close to oxford, not too far from camden...). the whole place is clean. and above all the staff is very friendly. i'd really recommend this hostel to other travelers.

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a family orientated and friendly hostel which is well situated in town near the metro. The staff were very helpful and nice. I would definitely reccommend others to go there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the pub crawl that the hostel organises.the location is amazingits warm and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good: Very clean hostel with friendly and helpful people. Good to meet people. Very central.Bad: I booked 4 nights with Hostelbookers, but when I was there they told my, I have to change the rooms after 2 nights, because they didn´t had free rooms for the 4 days. That meens I had to check out in the morning after 2 nights and check in in the afternoon again. Then I got another room with 2 more beds in it and less clean :(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the decor, the friendliness of other travelers, and the cute English accents! Great location, very clean and fresh smelling bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with very nice and helpful staff.The hostel is very good located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels