HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

90.5% Overall Rating

808 out of 842 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Close to 2 tube stations within 5 mins walk. Supermarket also within 5 mins walk. Food and drink sold from Hostle. Rooms clean and tidy. I liked it and will book here next time I'm in London."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.57
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
63.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
42.03 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
42.03 USD

Hostel 79.0% 235 reviews
Staunton Hotel
108.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
20.01 USD

Hostel 80.3% 241 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
21.00 USD

Hostel 68.6% 1076 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
36.99 USD

Hostel 65.5% 104 reviews
Opulence Central London Hotel
88.27 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

808 out of 842 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 760 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ralina Zinnatullina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Ralina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is new and comfortable. I liked everything there. I'm really thankful for the girls of reception for their help and understanding!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was phenomenal. I worry about staying in hostels as someone who has a few more years of experience then the standard backpacker but the YHA London Central exceeded all my expectations. It was quiet, immaculately clean, the private baths in each room were a huge plus and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hostel to a person of any age. Thank you for an amazing stay YHA staff!

Disliked: none.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and overall standard

Disliked: Attitude of some members of staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the place is great, close to St. Pancras, Oxford St and Picadilly Circus.

Disliked: I was surprised to find only two toilets and two showers on our floor, while there seemed to be at least 6 rooms (and our room was a 6-bed dorm)!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a top hostel in London. Although they don't offer many of the value-adds of other hostels (such as complimentary wi-fi and/or breakfast), YHA London Central more than makes up for it with it's location, cleanliness and security.

Disliked: I personally think that complimentary wi-fi should be standard at a hostel, but I understand from the commercial perspective - why offer something for free when you can have an additional revenue stream? I just walk to the Starbucks around the corner and use theirs. My only other observation is that they often book up completely so it's hard to get space at short notice, but this also confirms the quality and value of this hostel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: expensive internet cost

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF

Disliked: LOUD PEOPLE IN THE ROOM

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gisele alves credito

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010 gisele would recommend this property

Liked: I like the people and the location. It is very clean.

Disliked: I didn`t like the bedrooms because i think that they are small and very hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was really impressed. VERY clean, bathrooms had plenty of hot water. I always felt really safe. So close to everything. Right on a tube station too. Very happy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Ho

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

18 September 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: nice bed and clean room

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a very good location. It is clean and very organized.

Disliked: It is a little bit expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Waqas Zaib

Alone

Business / conference

16 September 2010 Waqas would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, good wheelchair facilities

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was very clean and up to date. Very nice kitchen facilities and common rooms. In-hostel cafe/bar was convenient and well-priced.

Disliked: Breakfast was overpriced and wifi was not free. Other than that, no complaints

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yha you know what you are going to get and it is a newish hotel so was very comfortable

Disliked: Heating in rooms on during summer. to hot

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and good place to meet people.

Disliked: Paid Wi-Fi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and the room felt big enough for six persons and your personal space. the staff helped you if you had questions and the free royal tour was great! also the fan's where great, it got really warm in the room at night.

Disliked: you couldnt lock the cabinets for your bag so you had to keep them under your bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well located in the city center and convient for shopping and travel aroundfriendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Georgina Baxter

11 June 2010 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is new so it's not run downlike a lot of other hostels in London. No free wifi.

Disliked: Georgina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and GREAT location. Easy to get to the Warren St. or Googe St. tube stops and surrounded by great pubs and places to eat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margrethe Knudsen

10 June 2010 Margrethe would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff is really nice, and you get to know them well. The alternative pub crawl is awesome. It's a big hostel, so it might get hard to get to know people, but as a lonesome traveller, it worked out for me! Tnx, YHA central!

Disliked: Margrethe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: YHA London was my first experience staying at a hostel and it was excellent! The staff is awesome and very friendly, the lobby atmosphere is really inviting with a lot computers available. The rooms were very clean and secure, though I often found both bathrooms on the floor to be occupied which was somewhat frustrating in the morning (there are larger bathrooms in the lobby, though). Fantastic location, close to Oxford Circus and at least three different tube stations. Really the only negative is that my pillow was flat as can be, but given the rest of the ammenities, it was a small price to pay. Would absolutely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Smith

07 June 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, great value and in central London. I will stay again now I know it's there.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'll definitely be back here. The staff was great and the rooms were clean and fresh. We stayed in a 6 bedroom-room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels