We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

88.5% Overall Rating

840 out of 875 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"It is in a really great location and the staff are really friendly and always willing to help. It is also pretty clean."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
66.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
40.57 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
59.56 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
22.56 USD

Hostel 80.0% 245 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
19.46 USD

Hostel 67.4% 1091 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
40.57 USD

Hostel 66.2% 116 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
25.97 USD

Hostel 88.3% 465 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

840 out of 875 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 551 of 793 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wim van Logtestijn

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2011 Wim would recommend this property

Liked: we were staying at the YHA Central London because we had planned some visits in the centre of London. it worked out perfectly; we could do our things in the daytime and when we came back to the hostel we were met by friendly and helpsom people every time. it could not have been better. we highly recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's really close to the center

Disliked: it doesn't have that typlical "hostel feeling", it's more like a hotel...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the best hostel I have ever stayed, brand new facilities, wonderful atmosphere, and good services.

Disliked: Nothing, I think.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff.

Disliked: My room wasin bad shape and there could have been more showers and toilets.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice athpsphere and nice people

Disliked: room was very small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Kieran Fitzgerald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011

Liked: Location is top notch- walking distance to almost everything. Very clean.

Disliked: but pretty sterile, no real character. A huge behemoth of a place, kind of hard to meet people. Staff aren't great, one of those places where they seem to think working there is a party for them. You may or may not get attention from one of the three or four people behind the desk when you go up to it. Plus despite belonging to the wealthy YHA chain, you have to pay for wifi, breakfast, tea, coffee, towels, etc. Cheapskates.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zara Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: It is your standard well run and efficient hostel. With nothing to complain about.

Disliked: You dont get a free breakfast and internet can get expensive if you dont have your own computer. But hey what can you expect in London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GRACIE CAO

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2011 GRACIE would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first time to stay in YHA and I was really surprised by the high value of this hostel...the location is good, nice staffs, clean and comfortable...

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Martinez

Alone

City break

07 January 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Has a nice area to hang out with sofas and TVs. and provides food and drinks.

Disliked: Not enough shower and bathrooms per floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Addison Welsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Addison would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was incredibly clean. The atmosphere was great and it was very easy to meet people. Staff is pretty friendly!

Disliked: Unfortunately, I only had cold showers both days I was there, not sure if this is typical. The location isn't the best, but it's in walking distance of everything, otherwise you can take the tube. Internet was a bit expensive, 3 pounds an hour but they did offer free printing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe. Great atmosphere in the reception area. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: The ratio of toilets to people on the room floors was rather low!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's definitely clean, and the securty is truly satisfying.

Disliked: the bathroom is so tiny.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Che-Wei Hu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Che-Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Location - Central London, 5 mins walk from Great Portland St. Station Nice atmosphere downstairs (where reception/bar/restaurant/lounge locates) ppl talk and drink with each other. - sometimes a problem if your roommates got drunk and return to room at 3am...... Really new and clean facilities

Disliked: Pricey-Everything costs! (Wifi £5/24hr, I usually walk to McDonald's on Oxford St. for complimentary wifi) Odd personal in-room locker, you need to have a bigger(but not overly big) padlock for their lockers, a normal luggage padlock cannot lock well (and still can be opened..)I dun wannt purchase their £3 padlock so i gave up using it. Sparse toilet and showers....2rooms (twenty beds i guess) share 1 toilet and 1 showroom?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, staff very friendly and chatty

Disliked: all was fine, i would highly recommed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marianne Keating

Alone

04 December 2010 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, one of the best I've stayed and I've stayed in alot. Very safe and clean, friendly staff. Nice design something I've never said about a hostel before! Great reception area with a friendly cafe vibe where people can hang put and use the internet and order food and beers. Not a nasty party party hostel, great place to stay if your on your own.

Disliked: Mattresses bit on the thin side, but other than that no complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ralina Zinnatullina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Ralina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is new and comfortable. I liked everything there. I'm really thankful for the girls of reception for their help and understanding!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was phenomenal. I worry about staying in hostels as someone who has a few more years of experience then the standard backpacker but the YHA London Central exceeded all my expectations. It was quiet, immaculately clean, the private baths in each room were a huge plus and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hostel to a person of any age. Thank you for an amazing stay YHA staff!

Disliked: none.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and overall standard

Disliked: Attitude of some members of staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the place is great, close to St. Pancras, Oxford St and Picadilly Circus.

Disliked: I was surprised to find only two toilets and two showers on our floor, while there seemed to be at least 6 rooms (and our room was a 6-bed dorm)!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a top hostel in London. Although they don't offer many of the value-adds of other hostels (such as complimentary wi-fi and/or breakfast), YHA London Central more than makes up for it with it's location, cleanliness and security.

Disliked: I personally think that complimentary wi-fi should be standard at a hostel, but I understand from the commercial perspective - why offer something for free when you can have an additional revenue stream? I just walk to the Starbucks around the corner and use theirs. My only other observation is that they often book up completely so it's hard to get space at short notice, but this also confirms the quality and value of this hostel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: expensive internet cost

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF

Disliked: LOUD PEOPLE IN THE ROOM

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gisele alves credito

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010 gisele would recommend this property

Liked: I like the people and the location. It is very clean.

Disliked: I didn`t like the bedrooms because i think that they are small and very hot.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels