We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

87.5% Overall Rating

843 out of 878 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/11/2014)

"In a great central location, perfect for exploring London. The kitchen facilities were excellent and the hostel was always clean."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
45.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
45.98 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
59.56 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
17.69 USD

Hostel 80.5% 247 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
32.05 USD

Hostel 88.0% 467 reviews
Astor Museum Inn
25.97 USD

Hostel 85.9% 607 reviews
Access Camden
56.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

843 out of 878 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 796 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Fisher

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and everyone that I shared the dorm with were also really nice. The facilities were clean and it was really good value for money!

Disliked: As I was on the 5th floor, the lift took forever to arrive as it seemed to stop on each floor even when no one else was getting on. That's all!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Clarence Yen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 April 2011

Liked: Had a lively corner where we could watch soccer

Disliked: 1)Kitchen was very inaccesible 2)Lifts were extremly slow and buttons were insensitive. We had to press it for more than 50 times before the light comes up. the lift traveled like a tortoise. 3) For 28 pounds a night for 2 people. We could top up 2 pounds each and stay in a B&B hotel. Sometimes B&B hotel allows 3 people in a room. Then it would be cheaper to check into a B&B hotel than the hostel. Bunk Beds were extremly small 4) No wifi in rooms. Wifi was not even free 5) Toilet was very dirty and there wasnt something that seperated the shower from the rest of the toilet. Everytime we bath the toilet would get flooded.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEAN HUGHES

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2011 JEAN would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT LOCATION: SUPERB RECEPTION AREA AND WONDERFUL RECEPTION CHAP ( I HAD BOOKED MY STAY ON THE WRONG DATE AND HE FITTED ME IN HOW GOOD IS THAT)

Disliked: NOTHING

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great place to meet people, brilliant bar area

Disliked: Very limited toilet and shower facilities - tiny single toilet and shower for 4 rooms of 6 people uncomfortable bed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean, modern, safe, central location between Regent Park and Oxford Circus. Quiet street and not a party hostel.

Disliked: Small bathrooms w tiny sinks. Expensive internet. YHA nonmember surcharge.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Alexander

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Some hostel guests were very unreasonable about noise levels within the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic and very helpful, especially after as I was arrested and had to spend one night in a cell instead of the YHA.

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful hostel and really really clean.. one of the best i've stayed at.

Disliked: Unfortunately they charged 3.50 pounds for a towel that you had to buy and Internet access was not free either and didn't work in the rooms if you did opt to buy the 5 pounds of 24 hour wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: nothing comes to mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Gaffney

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Always clean. Assured never have bed bugs.

Disliked: The personal lights are great but used late at night hard to sleep.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Cleanliness

Disliked: Hard to meet people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is bright, airy and modern. Great for a short term stay, Location is excellent. Great value for money

Disliked: The staff are quite slow and a bit vague on details about places to see etc. There was also a mix up with our booking which they could not fix until the second night of our stay. Having said that they did compensate us with a bottle of wine!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serra Cinar Fletcher

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 March 2011 Serra would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and felt very safe. worth the money

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice atmopshere.

Disliked: Only very few toilets and showers for many rooms together.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shu Ho

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 March 2011 Shu would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Helpful staff

Disliked: safety issue. I lost a jacket (my favourite one) and some food during my stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as this was my first time staying in a hostel. i was a bit weary .but when i arrived i was made welcome and got key to the room i was impressed then i had a look around the facilitys and it was fantastic to see all your needs catered for

Disliked: there was'nt any thing i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Varghese Cherian

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Varghese would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location. Nice rooms.

Disliked: The bathrooms were too small compared to the YHA in Cambridge where I had stayed earlier.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was really, really brilliant!!! Including the nice guys who served us^^ And the kitchen had all we needed :) Furthermore te beds were quite nice and the possiblity to lock one's staff was given, too. Thank you for this aweful stay in your hostal!

Disliked: Well, maybe the shower in the 5th floor could be improved. It seemed a little bit dirty... But it worked hihi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Room fairly small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Fuller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Impeccably managed, tidy and logical facilities. This is how all hostels should operate.

Disliked: Nothing but the price was a little steep. Everything you get and the feeling of going to sleep in a clean, well run hostel is worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, comfy beds, super friendly staff, good location, couldn't ask for more!!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really live and friendly

Disliked: the fact that the dorm had just one shower and toilet. for the period i was there, it was of no issues but don't know how the shower facilities would cater during peak periods when the dorms are full.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place and the localitation is perfecto to visit london center

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Declaye Josephine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Declaye would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was clean, great location (bus 24h) Really really nice. The staff was great.

Disliked: it's was really nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Miller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels