HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Central

Hostel | 104 - 108, Bolsover Street, London, England W1W 5NU

89.7% Overall Rating

809 out of 843 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Close to 2 tube stations within 5 mins walk. Supermarket also within 5 mins walk. Food and drink sold from Hostle. Rooms clean and tidy. I liked it and will book here next time I'm in London."

Read all YHA London Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.55
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 10 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Court Hotel
63.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.7% 7 reviews
Access Euston
41.95 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Goldsmiths House
41.95 USD

Hostel 79.0% 235 reviews
Staunton Hotel
91.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
19.97 USD

Hostel 80.3% 241 reviews
Smart Camden Inn
20.96 USD

Hostel 68.6% 1076 reviews
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly London
36.91 USD

Hostel 65.5% 104 reviews
Opulence Central London Hotel
88.09 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

809 out of 843 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Central'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 760 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super clean, big rooms, great beds... loved everything.

Disliked: Location felt a bit sketchy late in the evening, but that's it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joonatan Noor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Joonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Oxford Street 6-7min walk, Tube stations and groceries very close by. Quite quiet, very clean, kitchen downstairs was good (toasters, microwaves, fridges for your own food and so on... Simple but modern design. Very good value for your money! Stayed for a week on 4th floor room 407 for 8 people.

Disliked: Can't really think of anything. Will stay there also next time when visiting London.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pio Luciano Losco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Pio Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the Tube. Clean. Safe. Nice staff...highly recommended!!!!

Disliked: breakfast not included = ( 3 pound per night if not YHA member

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jason Samsair

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, secure rooms with large suitcase lockers and sink in-room. 24-hr kitchen and bar open until 11pm nightly in hostel for drinks. Well located, 5 min walk from 3 tube stations.

Disliked: Bathrooms needed cleaning and deodourizing. WC on 3rd and 4th floors smelled bad. WC on 5th floor much cleaner and nicer. Internet VERY expensive at GBP 1 per 20 min. Dorm rooms were very clean though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall is a good hostel to stay in, my friends and I were really enjoy staying here.

Disliked: No comment on this part.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susan Ellis

With a large group / tour

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Really nice area of London and not too far away from everything. Amazingly clean and spacious rooms. 3 generations of our family stayed here and they all loved it!

Disliked: Maybe a little pricey but it is in London so what do you expect? You're paying for quality accommodation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Silvia Maier

Alone

Business / conference

09 May 2011 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were very tidy, even late in the evening and early in the morning. Nice and open atmosphere.

Disliked: --

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all in all very nice, nice staff, nice rooms and very clean, one of the best hostels we have been to in a month

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Fisher

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and everyone that I shared the dorm with were also really nice. The facilities were clean and it was really good value for money!

Disliked: As I was on the 5th floor, the lift took forever to arrive as it seemed to stop on each floor even when no one else was getting on. That's all!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Clarence Yen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 April 2011

Liked: Had a lively corner where we could watch soccer

Disliked: 1)Kitchen was very inaccesible 2)Lifts were extremly slow and buttons were insensitive. We had to press it for more than 50 times before the light comes up. the lift traveled like a tortoise. 3) For 28 pounds a night for 2 people. We could top up 2 pounds each and stay in a B&B hotel. Sometimes B&B hotel allows 3 people in a room. Then it would be cheaper to check into a B&B hotel than the hostel. Bunk Beds were extremly small 4) No wifi in rooms. Wifi was not even free 5) Toilet was very dirty and there wasnt something that seperated the shower from the rest of the toilet. Everytime we bath the toilet would get flooded.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEAN HUGHES

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2011 JEAN would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT LOCATION: SUPERB RECEPTION AREA AND WONDERFUL RECEPTION CHAP ( I HAD BOOKED MY STAY ON THE WRONG DATE AND HE FITTED ME IN HOW GOOD IS THAT)

Disliked: NOTHING

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great place to meet people, brilliant bar area

Disliked: Very limited toilet and shower facilities - tiny single toilet and shower for 4 rooms of 6 people uncomfortable bed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean, modern, safe, central location between Regent Park and Oxford Circus. Quiet street and not a party hostel.

Disliked: Small bathrooms w tiny sinks. Expensive internet. YHA nonmember surcharge.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Alexander

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Some hostel guests were very unreasonable about noise levels within the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic and very helpful, especially after as I was arrested and had to spend one night in a cell instead of the YHA.

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful hostel and really really clean.. one of the best i've stayed at.

Disliked: Unfortunately they charged 3.50 pounds for a towel that you had to buy and Internet access was not free either and didn't work in the rooms if you did opt to buy the 5 pounds of 24 hour wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: nothing comes to mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Gaffney

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Always clean. Assured never have bed bugs.

Disliked: The personal lights are great but used late at night hard to sleep.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Cleanliness

Disliked: Hard to meet people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is bright, airy and modern. Great for a short term stay, Location is excellent. Great value for money

Disliked: The staff are quite slow and a bit vague on details about places to see etc. There was also a mix up with our booking which they could not fix until the second night of our stay. Having said that they did compensate us with a bottle of wine!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serra Cinar Fletcher

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 March 2011 Serra would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and felt very safe. worth the money

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice atmopshere.

Disliked: Only very few toilets and showers for many rooms together.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shu Ho

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 March 2011 Shu would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Helpful staff

Disliked: safety issue. I lost a jacket (my favourite one) and some food during my stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as this was my first time staying in a hostel. i was a bit weary .but when i arrived i was made welcome and got key to the room i was impressed then i had a look around the facilitys and it was fantastic to see all your needs catered for

Disliked: there was'nt any thing i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Varghese Cherian

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Varghese would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location. Nice rooms.

Disliked: The bathrooms were too small compared to the YHA in Cambridge where I had stayed earlier.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels