HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Journeys Greenwich West Hostel

Hostel | 86 Tanner's Hill, London, England SE8 4PN

72.2% Overall Rating

152 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"The downstairs bar was attractive and the atmosphere was quite good as music was played late into the night. It was very clean throughout and the decor was really cool."

Read all Journeys Greenwich West Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.42

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Groups 15 people Plus: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Our Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. If you are arriving later than 11.30PM (weekdays) or 12.30AM (weekends), you will need to notify us of your arrival time as after 2.00am there will be no check in. please be advised that only persons over the age of 16 can stay at the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

New Cross Inn Hostel
23.91 USD

Hostel 72.1% 648 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
20.32 USD

Hostel 73.6% 273 reviews
Goddis Lodge
38.43 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 53.7% 10 reviews
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
20.48 USD

Hostel 77.0% 389 reviews
YHA London Thameside
22.78 USD

Hostel 79.5% 175 reviews
Peckham Lodge
42.13 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 169 reviews
Qbic London City
50.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.4% 4 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
23.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.2% 167 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

152 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Greenwich West Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 205 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ayman Kenawy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Ayman would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,Secure,Good staff

Disliked: Kitchen closure at 11 pm, I think it should only close 2 hours daily

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs bar was attractive and the atmosphere was quite good as music was played late into the night. It was very clean throughout and the decor was really cool.

Disliked: The drinks prices on the board are out of date (according to the man working there). Only one extremely thin pillow is provided and the bed I was on was wonky somehow, so I kept rolling sideways. The showers are extremely small and I was unable to turn the temperature down below burning hot.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Amanda Lima

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew, very clean place, bar downstairs, good hostel atmosphere, breakfast fairly good.

Disliked: I had to change rooms during my stay from an all female dorm to a mixed one. I mean, I don't mind staying in mixed dorms, but that wasn't the best example f organization. The room by the bathrooms was quite noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite location.

Disliked: Three level bunk bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people are great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good affordable place to stay while I was working in the area. Good breakfast. For basic accommodation is reasonably nice and comfortable. Well located for bus, rail and DLR

Disliked: Bathrooms often dirty and sometimes closed. Kitchen is very cramped. Wifi doesn't always work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Tenai

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed staying in this hostel. It is a clean and nice place with friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere in this hostel was good. The value for the money is good - breakfast is included in the price, so that's definitely a plus. Another good thing is that the hostel is opened 24/7 - we had a late arrival and there were no problems with the check-in, same with the early check-out.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were not very clean but that's understandable because many people use them all day, so it's hard to keep them clean all the time.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. It was the worst I have ever stayed in. No windows in the room, really hot and it's only April still, beds rocked around really bad. Springs sticking through the mattress, iching like there are fleas or lice there, used tampon in the toilet. I didn't even stay for the breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anette Larsen

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 Anette would recommend this property

Liked: Good common area and well equipped kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff. The place is very clean. The female dorms is very nice and quiet.

Disliked: Nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martina Genovese

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

10 March 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful people and clean place, nice hall with good services.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ho Yan Yim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Ho Yan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has good atmosphere. The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful, it gives you a sense of comfort! It's value is more than the price charged!

Disliked: The location is a bit inconvenient.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hostel.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 February 2014

Liked: The big lounge area.

Disliked: Staff is not kind.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 February 2014

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Bunk beds difficult to use as steps in the wrong place! Shower so small you cant turn around. Spanish woman receptionist very unhelpful!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sabina Niemier

Alone

Business / conference

19 January 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms nice and clean, met some lovely people, nice breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms not very nice and the area is quite scary.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew l rees rees

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 andrew l rees would recommend this property

Liked: was perfect for what we needed

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sriram Venkateswaran

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Sriram would recommend this property

Liked: Service and maintainance

Disliked: Location and Value for money

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manuel Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: + Location was very good as it's situated 7min walking distance from two tube stations, also close to shops and market. + Great atmoshpere, friendly environment. + Pool table, bar, and lounge/lobby. + Very friendly staff, willing to help with any questions.

Disliked: - WiFi Internet was terrible whilst I was there, I suggest looking for another hostel if you plan on using the WiFi regularly. - Kitchen space is very limited and can be an inconvience at times to cook meals.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here four nights with my partner while traveling through London, the location was good as it was only about 20 min tube ride from central London. The rooms were clean as we witnessed them clean them daily. The lounge area was good to relax in and the other guests were also very payed back. Everyone was on the same program. The breakfast daily was great for the price your paying and you can even buy cheap alcohol beverages at night. A Great value four your money and I would definitely stay there again if I were to come back to London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jordan Grant

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 December 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice place overall

Disliked: Hot drinks machine wasn't stocked up and only half fills the cup

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My goodness, when I arrived I was a bundle of stress and frayed nerves caused by a different hostel. This place was a soothing balm for me. The staff were genuinely friendly, the people staying were happy, it was so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were lovely and clean, the air fresheners were gentle on the nose, the heating was perfect. The bathrooms were cleaned every day, and whenever anything was broken, it was fixed within 24 hours. The wifi was free, there were no hidden fees or nasty surprises. I was really happy during my stay here, and would recommend it to everyone. From solo travelers to family vacationers. This place is wonderful.

Disliked: Nothing, don't change a thing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was ok, near greenwich which is what i needed for the tennis o2 tournament.

Disliked: good value for money, can't really complain given it's £12 per night, breakfast wasn't great (cereal choice)...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, near greenwich which is what I needed for my stay.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't great (cereal choice) but I can't complain as it was only about £12 per night.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 October 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: This place is horrendous. Nothing works there. I booked it a day in advance as there wasn't much choice and the location worked for me. I wasn't able to check in at 2 pm and after a quarter my room was still getting ready, so I decided to leave my luggage and come back later. Bathrooms are nightmares. Extremely smelly and filthy, hair all around the place, only two toilets and showers per floor and they're mixed male/female. There is actually no door to the bathroom area, so if you're in rooms nearby you can hear people showering or drying their hands. When I showered the light turned off and the sensor appears to be at the entrance to the bathroom so I had to go out and get back. Maybe it's a warning not to shower for too long. I wanted to use a locker as I became rather concerned about my belonging in this place. It appeared that lockers in my room were not to close with a padlock but with a key from the reception. I promptly enquired and was asked to check if any was open so I'd get a key. None of them was open so I was informed they're all in use and that someone took more than one locker, but I can leave my stuff in a luggage storage downstairs. Many people at this hostel seem to be there for quite a few days. There's hardly any breathing space in the room. On the top of that it was crammed with luggage on the floor and someone's clothes were even hung on my the bed. In the middle of the night I felt that there was a piece of a metal wire on my bed, so I started to wonder if the bedding wasn't changed that day or maybe it was a 'gift' from a fellow roommate. This hostel emanates with some kind of anarchy and chaos. I was utterly disgusted seeing a girl cutting down her friend's hair on one of the floors just outside bedrooms, straight on the floor. The price was average and they charge extra 2 pounds to leave your bag after you check out. Staff looks like they can't be bothered to do their job. It's a lesson learnt for me not to book hostels at the last moment, because you can get much better place for the same price. The area is also rather dodgy especially to come back at night.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels