HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Journeys Greenwich West Hostel

Hostel | 86 Tanner's Hill, London, England SE8 3JE

70.5% Overall Rating

137 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

Ho Yan Yim thinks…

"The hostel has good atmosphere. The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful, it gives you a sense of comfort! It's value is more than the price charged!"

Read all Journeys Greenwich West Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Groups 15 people Plus: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Our Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. If you are arriving later than 11.30PM (weekdays) or 12.30AM (weekends), you will need to notify us of your arrival time as after 2.00am there will be no check in. please be advised that only persons over the age of 16 can stay at the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

New Cross Inn Hostel
20.17 USD

Hostel 68.3% 643 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
14.96 USD

Hostel 73.4% 270 reviews
Goddis Lodge
37.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 56.7% 7 reviews
Lanterns Court Apartment
56.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Seacon Tower Apartment
84.06 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
15.11 USD

Hostel 82.9% 365 reviews
Discovery Dock Apartment
58.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
YHA London Thameside
21.86 USD

Hostel 82.4% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

137 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Greenwich West Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 191 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martina Genovese

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

10 March 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful people and clean place, nice hall with good services.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ho Yan Yim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Ho Yan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has good atmosphere. The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful, it gives you a sense of comfort! It's value is more than the price charged!

Disliked: The location is a bit inconvenient.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hostel.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 February 2014

Liked: The big lounge area.

Disliked: Staff is not kind.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 February 2014

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Bunk beds difficult to use as steps in the wrong place! Shower so small you cant turn around. Spanish woman receptionist very unhelpful!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sabina Niemier

Alone

Business / conference

19 January 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms nice and clean, met some lovely people, nice breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms not very nice and the area is quite scary.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew l rees rees

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 andrew l rees would recommend this property

Liked: was perfect for what we needed

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sriram Venkateswaran

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Sriram would recommend this property

Liked: Service and maintainance

Disliked: Location and Value for money

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manuel Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: + Location was very good as it's situated 7min walking distance from two tube stations, also close to shops and market. + Great atmoshpere, friendly environment. + Pool table, bar, and lounge/lobby. + Very friendly staff, willing to help with any questions.

Disliked: - WiFi Internet was terrible whilst I was there, I suggest looking for another hostel if you plan on using the WiFi regularly. - Kitchen space is very limited and can be an inconvience at times to cook meals.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here four nights with my partner while traveling through London, the location was good as it was only about 20 min tube ride from central London. The rooms were clean as we witnessed them clean them daily. The lounge area was good to relax in and the other guests were also very payed back. Everyone was on the same program. The breakfast daily was great for the price your paying and you can even buy cheap alcohol beverages at night. A Great value four your money and I would definitely stay there again if I were to come back to London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jordan Grant

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 December 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice place overall

Disliked: Hot drinks machine wasn't stocked up and only half fills the cup

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My goodness, when I arrived I was a bundle of stress and frayed nerves caused by a different hostel. This place was a soothing balm for me. The staff were genuinely friendly, the people staying were happy, it was so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were lovely and clean, the air fresheners were gentle on the nose, the heating was perfect. The bathrooms were cleaned every day, and whenever anything was broken, it was fixed within 24 hours. The wifi was free, there were no hidden fees or nasty surprises. I was really happy during my stay here, and would recommend it to everyone. From solo travelers to family vacationers. This place is wonderful.

Disliked: Nothing, don't change a thing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was ok, near greenwich which is what i needed for the tennis o2 tournament.

Disliked: good value for money, can't really complain given it's £12 per night, breakfast wasn't great (cereal choice)...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, near greenwich which is what I needed for my stay.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't great (cereal choice) but I can't complain as it was only about £12 per night.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 October 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: This place is horrendous. Nothing works there. I booked it a day in advance as there wasn't much choice and the location worked for me. I wasn't able to check in at 2 pm and after a quarter my room was still getting ready, so I decided to leave my luggage and come back later. Bathrooms are nightmares. Extremely smelly and filthy, hair all around the place, only two toilets and showers per floor and they're mixed male/female. There is actually no door to the bathroom area, so if you're in rooms nearby you can hear people showering or drying their hands. When I showered the light turned off and the sensor appears to be at the entrance to the bathroom so I had to go out and get back. Maybe it's a warning not to shower for too long. I wanted to use a locker as I became rather concerned about my belonging in this place. It appeared that lockers in my room were not to close with a padlock but with a key from the reception. I promptly enquired and was asked to check if any was open so I'd get a key. None of them was open so I was informed they're all in use and that someone took more than one locker, but I can leave my stuff in a luggage storage downstairs. Many people at this hostel seem to be there for quite a few days. There's hardly any breathing space in the room. On the top of that it was crammed with luggage on the floor and someone's clothes were even hung on my the bed. In the middle of the night I felt that there was a piece of a metal wire on my bed, so I started to wonder if the bedding wasn't changed that day or maybe it was a 'gift' from a fellow roommate. This hostel emanates with some kind of anarchy and chaos. I was utterly disgusted seeing a girl cutting down her friend's hair on one of the floors just outside bedrooms, straight on the floor. The price was average and they charge extra 2 pounds to leave your bag after you check out. Staff looks like they can't be bothered to do their job. It's a lesson learnt for me not to book hostels at the last moment, because you can get much better place for the same price. The area is also rather dodgy especially to come back at night.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low price. Clean bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kaitlin Cheetham

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2013

Liked: The price was great. The beds were comfy and the rooms were fairly clean.

Disliked: That part of London wasn't necessarily dodgy, but the road that the hostel is on is- ran into a man who made me feel very uncomfortable. Instead of key cards, there is a code you have to enter into the door. The numbers on the code box are very small, so its difficult to enter them in sometimes, this may cause issues when coming in late at night, possibly intoxicated, because it may disturb the guests sharing your room, and you may not be able to put in the code. The bathrooms were disgusting, very dirty!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe

Disliked: too few showers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. Rooms are big and comfortable for the price.

Disliked: For some problem with their system my bed was double booked and had to be given another bed after I had already spent a night there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Evans

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I utilised many services including free breakfast, free wifi and I am even using the laundry here as I dont mind hanging out here before going home. I also like the 24 hr reception, meaning someone is always happy to help. Its a little gem hidden away, but if you find it you'll want to stay.

Disliked: Not that I disliked it, I found it rather amusing as I have never slept on a triple bunk before. I have climbed Mount Fuji, but that was a piece of cake compared to my trek up to the top bunk. It was an experience, but added to the stay. Good fun!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Talty

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2013 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location in zone two, great value for money.

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Ferguson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The community created

Disliked: Most of the sinks didn't work and the kitchen was far from ideal

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HOLLY GRIEVE

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 HOLLY would recommend this property

Liked: It served its purpose for what it was and what we needed it for.would go back again.

Disliked: The area was in a questionable area,however,was fine throughout our stay.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2013

Liked: Simpatia do staff

Disliked: Falta de limpeza

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good space in bar for eating,socialising etc Good security Kitchen

Disliked: 3 tier bunks cramped washroom facilities

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels