HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Venture Hostel

Hostel | 86 Tanner's Hill, London, England SE8 4PN

70.4% Overall Rating

158 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

Sanna Malkamaeki thinks…

"It was cheap. We could sleep in the same room with my friends. The staff was nice. It was good that we could leave our bags to the storage room for free before the check-in."

Read all Venture Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Groups 15 people Plus: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Our Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. If you are arriving later than 11.30PM (weekdays) or 12.30AM (weekends), you will need to notify us of your arrival time as after 2.00am there will be no check in. please be advised that only persons over the age of 16 can stay at the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

New Cross Inn Hostel
22.72 USD

Hostel 72.1% 648 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
12.98 USD

Hostel 72.8% 277 reviews
Goddis Lodge
36.51 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 55.8% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
24.33 USD

Hostel 82.2% 404 reviews
YHA London Thameside
24.34 USD

Hostel 81.0% 178 reviews
Peckham Lodge
45.98 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 170 reviews
Wombats City Hostel London
30.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Qbic London City
405.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.4%

Overall Rating

158 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Venture Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 150 of 214 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sanna Malkamaeki

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2014

Liked: It was cheap. We could sleep in the same room with my friends. The staff was nice. It was good that we could leave our bags to the storage room for free before the check-in.

Disliked: The hostel was dirty, there were dirty underwear all over the room when we got to the hostel. One day our window was open and there was a rope hanging out of it and it took almost an hour that someone came and took it off after we had asked for it. Especially the bathrooms were filthy, there was mole on the roofs and the mats were wet and stinky. We were obliged to wait to get to the shower very long. The room was too small for 6 persons and the safety lockers were too small also. The hostel was noisy and far from the city. The breakfast was almost always really small and not nutritious at all.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katarzyna Jurek

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is cool. Comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, service generally nice. Especially regards to Jarek :)

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Devon Horner Bourassa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2014 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, more or less comfortable. The common area (bar downstairs) was pleasant. Breakfast was quite good.

Disliked: Do be aware that it's quite a ways away from central London and the main attractions and coach/train station. Cleanliness of the hostel got worse throughout the day, and there weren't quite enough bathroom facilities to accommodate everyone.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benjamin Crompton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well organised, with comfortable beds and power points and lockers (though provide your own lock please) in every room. The place is well organised and clearly well run. Whilst I'm beyond the stage where I want to meet fleeting friends in a hostel, the impression is they've created a good atmosphere for a great variety of travelers to intermix.

Disliked: On arrival I was met not with rudeness but just generally cold efficiency. The hostel has a list of rules as long as your arm, and you're left with the impression that you will probably break one of these without knowing. The 9 bed dorm is cramped - only three triple bunkers. As I write this, it's 10:30 and five of us in here are checking out - at the stupidly early time of 11:00 - and frankly I'm not sure when there will be enough space in the room to stand up! Added to this was the heat; note that bed linen consists of a duvet and pillow only (I was there in August). On my second night, staff and guests had spilled out from the bar into the street and were singing and playing guitar very loudly until 3am.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne McGowan

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 August 2014 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: I could get a room for 5 young people at a good price. The staff were very helpful and the communal areas very friendly. The manager was very accomodating and helped the young people out of a difficult situation. I would like to thank the staff for their understanding and support.

Disliked: .There was no where on the information at the time of booking that said all guests had to have photo ID. I think it would be a good idea to put it on the website for first timers like myself or others who work with young people.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matt Sigle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014

Liked: Room was ok. Had a fan. Pool table. Decent wifi

Disliked: Showers were rubbish, had to hold the shower head. Worlds smallest kitchen, only enough room for 1 at a time. If you're expecting a beer from the 'bar', the taps don't work. Police were here his morning because someone had their stuff stolen

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ayman Kenawy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Ayman would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,Secure,Good staff

Disliked: Kitchen closure at 11 pm, I think it should only close 2 hours daily

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs bar was attractive and the atmosphere was quite good as music was played late into the night. It was very clean throughout and the decor was really cool.

Disliked: The drinks prices on the board are out of date (according to the man working there). Only one extremely thin pillow is provided and the bed I was on was wonky somehow, so I kept rolling sideways. The showers are extremely small and I was unable to turn the temperature down below burning hot.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Amanda Lima

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew, very clean place, bar downstairs, good hostel atmosphere, breakfast fairly good.

Disliked: I had to change rooms during my stay from an all female dorm to a mixed one. I mean, I don't mind staying in mixed dorms, but that wasn't the best example f organization. The room by the bathrooms was quite noisy.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite location.

Disliked: Three level bunk bed.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people are great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good affordable place to stay while I was working in the area. Good breakfast. For basic accommodation is reasonably nice and comfortable. Well located for bus, rail and DLR

Disliked: Bathrooms often dirty and sometimes closed. Kitchen is very cramped. Wifi doesn't always work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Tenai

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed staying in this hostel. It is a clean and nice place with friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere in this hostel was good. The value for the money is good - breakfast is included in the price, so that's definitely a plus. Another good thing is that the hostel is opened 24/7 - we had a late arrival and there were no problems with the check-in, same with the early check-out.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were not very clean but that's understandable because many people use them all day, so it's hard to keep them clean all the time.

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. It was the worst I have ever stayed in. No windows in the room, really hot and it's only April still, beds rocked around really bad. Springs sticking through the mattress, iching like there are fleas or lice there, used tampon in the toilet. I didn't even stay for the breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anette Larsen

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 Anette would recommend this property

Liked: Good common area and well equipped kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff. The place is very clean. The female dorms is very nice and quiet.

Disliked: Nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martina Genovese

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

10 March 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful people and clean place, nice hall with good services.

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ho Yan Yim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Ho Yan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has good atmosphere. The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful, it gives you a sense of comfort! It's value is more than the price charged!

Disliked: The location is a bit inconvenient.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hostel.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 February 2014

Liked: The big lounge area.

Disliked: Staff is not kind.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 February 2014

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Bunk beds difficult to use as steps in the wrong place! Shower so small you cant turn around. Spanish woman receptionist very unhelpful!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sabina Niemier

Alone

Business / conference

19 January 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms nice and clean, met some lovely people, nice breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms not very nice and the area is quite scary.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew l rees rees

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 andrew l rees would recommend this property

Liked: was perfect for what we needed

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sriram Venkateswaran

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Sriram would recommend this property

Liked: Service and maintainance

Disliked: Location and Value for money

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manuel Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: + Location was very good as it's situated 7min walking distance from two tube stations, also close to shops and market. + Great atmoshpere, friendly environment. + Pool table, bar, and lounge/lobby. + Very friendly staff, willing to help with any questions.

Disliked: - WiFi Internet was terrible whilst I was there, I suggest looking for another hostel if you plan on using the WiFi regularly. - Kitchen space is very limited and can be an inconvience at times to cook meals.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels