HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Venture Hostel London Hostel

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 67%

Location 62%

Safety 74%

Staff 72%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.62USD

Important Information

Groups 15 people Plus:
Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Our Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice.

If you are arriving later than 11.30PM (weekdays) or 12.30AM (weekends), you will need to notify us of your arrival time as after 2.00am there will be no check in.
please be advised that only persons over the age of 16 can stay at the hostel.

Upon check in each guest will receive a room key card for access to their room. These key cards are activated for the period of stay only and must be handed back to reception on check out. Failure to return the key card or re-issue of a lost card will result in a charge of £5.00 CASH

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 67%

Location 62%

Safety 74%

Staff 72%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: NO!

Disliked: No safety, Gangster area. All Padlocks was Broken in the Room and 400£ was missing.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: CAUTION DO NOT GO TO THIS HOSTEL

Disliked: Please stay away from this hostel! Firstly all toilets and showers are shared and you will see a lot of naked skinny bald men in and out of the showers. Secondly all duvets and pillows are not washed after used and it is yellow and stained with smells and dirts. Thirdly the location of the hostel is very unsafe surrounded by run down council flats and is unsafe to walk outside.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: They have decent showers and a breakfast included. I like the location as it is conveninent for Greenwich Maritime Museum etc. I like that they have separate dorms for male and female and that everything is kept very clean.

Disliked: I think that the bunk beds need new mattresses but they did have very clean starched linen and it was comfortable enough.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Suitable for those budget travelers

Disliked: Lockers are available inside the rooms, yet there are no padlock attached. You have to buy it at the reception counter.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest thank you for your review. Let me explain to you why there is not padlocks on it because normally the guest brings his own padlock. In case that you don't have it, you have the option to buy it at the reception or also go somewhere else and acquire one. We don't force anybody to buy it from here. Sorry if this caused you any inconvenience during your stay. Regards, Xenia.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very friendly staff, super clean toilets and shower, near to two stations and honestly priced.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for your positive review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope see you next time in Venture Hostel. Best regards, Xenia

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Dining/bar area being the same room made it very sociable. I know this varies depending on guests at the time but it felt like a very happy, friendly hostel. Their morning breakfast included some interesting things, like a boiled egg and a yoghurt for everyone.

Disliked: As mentioned above, the room wasn't the one I was expected. I really dislike triple beds. Their breakfast policy of "one of this item per person" was a bit strange - I understand that for something like an egg, but 1 bowl of cereal per person seems very stingy. They also cleaned the bathrooms at really strange times - the toilets were cleaned between 10-11pm, when a lot of people were trying to get ready for bed, then the next morning I went for a shower between 7-8am & a guy was cleaning the showers - surely that's the peak time when guests want to use these facilities? It would make much more sense to clean in the middle of the day when guests are out & about.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comment, we appreciate all your comment, in respect of cleaning the showers and toilets, we think we offer nearly 24hrs cleaning on these facilities so that our guest can shower in a very clean environment because we have a lot of people using these facilities, in respect of the breakfast, please bear in mind that we offer a very fantastic breakfast compared to many hostel and it is free, we offer a bowl of cereal, a bowl of porridge, yoghurt, egg, fresh juice and many more,

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Price

Disliked: - staff friendliness- moving my clothes for no reason (blamed on smell that persisted after they were removed from room without permission)- noise / disturbances compared to other London hostels


The property's response is

Thank you for your comment. Sorry for the inconvenience, but we can not tolerate in our rooms that our guests have suitcases or bags that emit nasty smell. We tried to talk to you, but you were not in your room. So for that reason, we moved your belongings and put them in a safe place. You must understand, they are shared rooms and that is not pleasant for anyone to be in a room smelling bad. We do apologize once again. Xenia

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: Toilette

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate your comment. Our toilets will change drastically very, very soon so when you visit us next time I can guarantee you will be delighted using our brand new facilities.

Jarek

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I have been in the hostel only for one night but what I could notice a great, family atmosphere in the hostel's pub with really helpful and friendly staff, on my check-out they helped me with my travel directions and even they called a taxi for me !! I have booked 12 bed dorm, room was clean and bed was comfortable enough. But the most shocking thing is breakfast, I mean for this price ( I paid 12 quid ) I got eggs, yogurt, juice, cereals and all other stuff included... I have chosen this place because it was cheap but what I got in return overwhelmed me totally. Definitely I will come back in the future !!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for this fantastic review ! We are very happy we could provide you a great stay in our hostel. We have hope you will visit us again. Jarek

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel is cool. Comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, service generally nice. Especially regards to Jarek :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments, we appreciate it, hope to see you again...
Thanks

ade

Check Availability