HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Journeys Greenwich West Hostel

Hostel | 86 Tanner's Hill, London, England SE8 3JE

70.5% Overall Rating

137 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

Ho Yan Yim thinks…

"The hostel has good atmosphere. The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful, it gives you a sense of comfort! It's value is more than the price charged!"

Read all Journeys Greenwich West Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Groups 15 people Plus: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Our Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. If you are arriving later than 11.30PM (weekdays) or 12.30AM (weekends), you will need to notify us of your arrival time as after 2.00am there will be no check in. please be advised that only persons over the age of 16 can stay at the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

New Cross Inn Hostel
20.16 USD

Hostel 68.3% 643 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
15.96 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Goddis Lodge
37.81 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 56.7% 7 reviews
Lanterns Court Apartment
62.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Seacon Tower Apartment
84.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
15.11 USD

Hostel 81.0% 367 reviews
Discovery Dock Apartment
66.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
YHA London Thameside
21.00 USD

Hostel 82.4% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

137 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Greenwich West Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012

Liked: I enjoyed friendliness of the staff and the street market held in the nearest street. Food shops around nearby streets are very reasonable. The bar on the ground floor is neither too noisy nor too expensive; you can relax for hours there. Short on foot access to three stations, i.e., Deptford, New Cross, and Deptford Bridge.

Disliked: - The mixed dorm I stayed was too narrow to relax. - I no longer see any kitchen on the second floor.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: nada

Disliked: demasiado alejado del centro de la ciudad, muy poca higiene. El desayuno regular

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Peter Beard

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find and would have been a great place for a few drinks if i was there for that reason

Disliked: I found it very hard to sleep as there was very loud music until after 3am, the walls were very thin and people in the next room kept me awake talking and messing around, the door next to my room slammed constantly, it really needed a door closer as I heard other people complaining about it, the room was very cramped for 3 people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, laid back, helpful staff. Room comfortable and clean.

Disliked: No complaints at all.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Reisinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012

Liked: Lookers, free wifi, near to greenwich

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, not a good area in london, to far away from central london, breakfast in a dirty bar, no atmosphere

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2012

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The staff were rude and unhelpful, and the guests were just as bad. I was told I could purchase a lock from them, to use a locker within my room to leave my bags in. When i had paid for the padlock and went to my room, i discovered there was no lockers available. The toilets were unclean and smelly and the amount of noise during the night was unbelievable. My bed also had no duvet so I had a hard mattress, one useless pillow and a sheet to cover me. I got up and left halfway through my nights stay to relocate to a different hotel at 2am! Definitely would NOT reccomend this hostel to ANYONE. RUDE STAFF, POOR FACILITIES, UNWELCOMING ATMOSPHERE, DIRTY TOILETS AND FAR TOO MUCH NOISE.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really helpful and nice. For example,we couldn't check in in time so they waited for us until 2 am! The next day we asked some informations about the places to see, main attractions and they answered with pleasure to our questions. Bed were clean and comfortable. Bathroom are a bit small and not so clean but it was really okay! Breakfast are really good with cereals, bread, nutella, etc... it's a good place to stay, i'll recommande it !

Disliked: lockers in the rooms are too small, and also the fact they moved us to another bedroom every night. The place is also quite far from the center of london (around 2O min by bus) but it is deserved by a 24h bus, that was really pleasant!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stuart O Connell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: I dont usually give such bad ratings but this was rediculous. The pounding music of the downstairs nightclubs went on until 5am! I would understand if it were part of the hostelo but its not. None of the guests would attend it because it's very much a 'local' club. Coupled with this is the fact that everyone turns on the light when they walk into the room AFTER 3am. I counted 6 times that the light was switched on. At one stage the owner walked in, turned on the light and started shouting for 'Victor' then afterwards she banged the dorr and left the light on! The receptionist came into our room 3 times and also turned on the light and rooted through his locker. You have to rent the dishes and cutlery and theres no room to shit down. The clientele are far from what id call backpackers and overall it just seems to be a chaotic place where you wont even meet new people. Usuallly the chaos at least brings atmosphere but NOT here. DONT STAY HERE

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012

Liked: Pas cher, lits confortables,toilettes propres, pas bruyant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Teeven

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, perfect stay :)

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice. The bathroom is little, and there are a many users so there fastly dirty. The kitchen and bedroom are clean, very good.

Disliked: Rooms are little. There is a pub at the bottom where are there many noise.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laima Purina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012

Liked: The guy who is almost always at the reception is very helpful and deals with all the issues. Other staff doesnt seem very interested.

Disliked: It is like a nonstop party place. Of course it is a hostel where you share the room with other people but there has to be some rules and security. There should be somebody from staff at night because people who go out and come back drunk and in a party mood are bothering others. Some brazilian girls coming back from the party almost let the guy inside the room which was female only. I had to tell them strictly to close the doors and not to do that. There should be more control about what is happening in the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012

Liked: The beds were fairly comfortable and the complimentary breakfast is nice. They were almost constantly cleaning, and you have access to a kitchen if you feel like keeping leftovers or cooking for yourself.

Disliked: The neighborhood seems a bit sketchy to me. Nothing bad happened, but I did not feel particularly safe in the area.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011

Liked: The staff tried to help and were friendly.

Disliked: Even if I'm not sensitive at all this hostel made it impossible to get any sleep - it's like trying to sleep inside of a club, not just beside one. Incredibly reckless and rude to have that type of mega loud music (with THAT bass!!) until 6am if people pay you to SLEEP there. Also they put us (two girls) in a (very tiny and so crowded) room with six guys who came as a party group and were drinking and partying inside the room. Those guys were so anti-social that they wouldn't even react when we asked them to turn off the light and the noise, so we had to tell the front desk.... they spoke to our roommates but then simply told us that they couldn't forbid them to go on with their behaviour. Which they did... we felt horrible and sleeping was just impossible. I never experienced any of this in any other hostel - and I've been to a lot of different ones all over the world. The location is pretty far out of the city, there is no tube - you have to go by bus ( a long ride...) and then walk through a not so nice, not safe neigbourhood. Also, the beds we had to sleep in were almost broken and then, when we wanted to use the bathroom in the morning, evrything was full of puke...disgusting!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lukas Bartakovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: stuff, rooms were clean

Disliked: neighborhood looks danger but we didnt have any problem, maybe the music from weekend partys but in higher floors no problem

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabrielle Graetz

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 November 2011 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Was set out nicely

Disliked: The beds were very uncomfortable

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Above a nice pub, lovely people and staff :) a great place to stay, brill value for money! Excelent location for o2 gigs :):)

Disliked: Above a pub that played music till 5am- we did fall asleep tho- I recomend being drunk or very very tired.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joe Whittaker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and helpful polite staff

Disliked: i would like to say that journey Greenwich is in lewisham, which is not Greenwich. The room smelt of damp ad the bar did not make me feel welcome.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved to be there. People was kind, the place was also clean. The staff open to the guest, Gustavo one of the boy of reception was really cool, helpful and charming (with an exeptional hair dress). So go there if you want to meet kind and open minded people

Disliked: the light that switch off when you are taking your shower and you are full of foam!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Koerper

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 November 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: A so sympathetic place, really clean and friendly. The staff was so nice always ready to help you. Math was so smiling and warmful ( actually he knows some words in french). Gustavo give such interesting toursitic advice (like how to visit bridge)! I will definitly recommand it to other travlers!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ade, the owner is really taking care of the place and is really friendly. They have a cleaner in everyday so you know that it's actually being cleaned (and the 2 cleaning girls are so nice. They'll always say hi and chat with you). The other staff are also really friendly. It's not super posh, but it has everything you need. They have free internet in the lounge.

Disliked: The overground station that you need to use, New Cross, is a bit out of the way. And only 1 in every 3 trains from Canada Water (off the Jubilee line) go there. But it wasn't the end of the world. People complained about the music at night, but what do you expect if you are in a hostel above a pub. I didn't mind it. Plus they offer free ear plugs if it really bothers you.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, karaoke night, good price

Disliked: very small kitchen

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandro Cherchi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 October 2011 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, Great Location, and Great Atmosphere

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jeanne caspard

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 October 2011

Liked: not far from the indigo2, we had to go for an event. Very easy to go to London center.

Disliked: Sound systems untill 6 o clock in the morning in the bar of the hostel that is not correct for the people who payed to sleep ! 6 bed dorms are really small : less than 1m separates the 2 bunk beds of 3 beds.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels