HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Journeys Greenwich West Hostel

Hostel | 86 Tanner's Hill, London, England SE8 4PN

72.2% Overall Rating

152 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"The downstairs bar was attractive and the atmosphere was quite good as music was played late into the night. It was very clean throughout and the decor was really cool."

Read all Journeys Greenwich West Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Groups 15 people Plus: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Our Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. If you are arriving later than 11.30PM (weekdays) or 12.30AM (weekends), you will need to notify us of your arrival time as after 2.00am there will be no check in. please be advised that only persons over the age of 16 can stay at the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

New Cross Inn Hostel
23.70 USD

Hostel 72.1% 648 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
17.78 USD

Hostel 73.6% 273 reviews
Goddis Lodge
38.09 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 53.7% 10 reviews
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
15.22 USD

Hostel 77.5% 391 reviews
YHA London Thameside
23.99 USD

Hostel 79.9% 176 reviews
Peckham Lodge
41.76 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 169 reviews
Qbic London City
54.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.4% 4 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
23.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.2% 167 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

152 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Greenwich West Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 205 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ellen Cooper

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

31 October 2012 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, and perfect location for us as we were doing a gig just up the road- cheap and cheerful place to stay!

Disliked: Showers and toilets on our floor were not very clean and were a bit cramped.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hugo Alonso Castillo Lagos

Alone

Business / conference

26 October 2012 Hugo Alonso would recommend this property

Liked: pretty descent

Disliked: Hugo Alonso left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rodolfo benitez

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

24 October 2012 rodolfo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that is close to the Cross gates and New Cross Station and the bus to Piccadilly circus runs 24 hours and stops about 2 blocks from the hostel, as well as the bus to Victoria station runs 24 hours and runs about 3 blocks from the place.

Disliked: nothing really. The price is corect

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tony Corbett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: location close to Greenwich, very helpful staff

Disliked: No kitchen. No "quite zone" unless you stay in your room. Signs directing guests to the lounge and kitchen on the third floor need removing as these facilities don't exist. Bar music very loud, not a relaxing stay. Often toilet paper ran out, some seats broken or very loose. Breakfast was basic, and a toaster was broken.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Wing Hang Vince Yeung

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012

Liked: clean and with breakfast

Disliked: only 2 electrical sockets available in a 8 bed dorm, dorm light is broken and no spares in the reception to replace it. others are ok...good in average if you stay for a short period.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice, helpful and friendly. It's always nice to be well surrounded!

Disliked: The breakfast was very basic.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christabelle del borrello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 christabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and people, was veryy happy with my stay.

Disliked: didnt have a problem with anything

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kristýna Pokorná

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Kristýna would recommend this property

Liked: I like reception, common area and breakfasts were also good.

Disliked: I think that bathrooms (showers, toilets) and look of rooms can be better.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff The food and drink in pub are cheap

Disliked: 1- meanwhile you are having a shower, the light turn off because there isn't the photocell in the shower (obviously). There are around 10 mins of light if someone doesn't walk in the bathroom. 2- the staff make confusion with the bookings 3- in my case, i don't like this district (New Cross) Besides this, it was all ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john james

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fun in this hostel, good food from the chef, prices on the drink in the bar was very cheap! I enjoyed my stay

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012

Liked: I enjoyed friendliness of the staff and the street market held in the nearest street. Food shops around nearby streets are very reasonable. The bar on the ground floor is neither too noisy nor too expensive; you can relax for hours there. Short on foot access to three stations, i.e., Deptford, New Cross, and Deptford Bridge.

Disliked: - The mixed dorm I stayed was too narrow to relax. - I no longer see any kitchen on the second floor.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: nada

Disliked: demasiado alejado del centro de la ciudad, muy poca higiene. El desayuno regular

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Peter Beard

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find and would have been a great place for a few drinks if i was there for that reason

Disliked: I found it very hard to sleep as there was very loud music until after 3am, the walls were very thin and people in the next room kept me awake talking and messing around, the door next to my room slammed constantly, it really needed a door closer as I heard other people complaining about it, the room was very cramped for 3 people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, laid back, helpful staff. Room comfortable and clean.

Disliked: No complaints at all.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Reisinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012

Liked: Lookers, free wifi, near to greenwich

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, not a good area in london, to far away from central london, breakfast in a dirty bar, no atmosphere

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2012

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The staff were rude and unhelpful, and the guests were just as bad. I was told I could purchase a lock from them, to use a locker within my room to leave my bags in. When i had paid for the padlock and went to my room, i discovered there was no lockers available. The toilets were unclean and smelly and the amount of noise during the night was unbelievable. My bed also had no duvet so I had a hard mattress, one useless pillow and a sheet to cover me. I got up and left halfway through my nights stay to relocate to a different hotel at 2am! Definitely would NOT reccomend this hostel to ANYONE. RUDE STAFF, POOR FACILITIES, UNWELCOMING ATMOSPHERE, DIRTY TOILETS AND FAR TOO MUCH NOISE.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really helpful and nice. For example,we couldn't check in in time so they waited for us until 2 am! The next day we asked some informations about the places to see, main attractions and they answered with pleasure to our questions. Bed were clean and comfortable. Bathroom are a bit small and not so clean but it was really okay! Breakfast are really good with cereals, bread, nutella, etc... it's a good place to stay, i'll recommande it !

Disliked: lockers in the rooms are too small, and also the fact they moved us to another bedroom every night. The place is also quite far from the center of london (around 2O min by bus) but it is deserved by a 24h bus, that was really pleasant!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stuart O Connell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: I dont usually give such bad ratings but this was rediculous. The pounding music of the downstairs nightclubs went on until 5am! I would understand if it were part of the hostelo but its not. None of the guests would attend it because it's very much a 'local' club. Coupled with this is the fact that everyone turns on the light when they walk into the room AFTER 3am. I counted 6 times that the light was switched on. At one stage the owner walked in, turned on the light and started shouting for 'Victor' then afterwards she banged the dorr and left the light on! The receptionist came into our room 3 times and also turned on the light and rooted through his locker. You have to rent the dishes and cutlery and theres no room to shit down. The clientele are far from what id call backpackers and overall it just seems to be a chaotic place where you wont even meet new people. Usuallly the chaos at least brings atmosphere but NOT here. DONT STAY HERE

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012

Liked: Pas cher, lits confortables,toilettes propres, pas bruyant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Teeven

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, perfect stay :)

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice. The bathroom is little, and there are a many users so there fastly dirty. The kitchen and bedroom are clean, very good.

Disliked: Rooms are little. There is a pub at the bottom where are there many noise.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laima Purina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012

Liked: The guy who is almost always at the reception is very helpful and deals with all the issues. Other staff doesnt seem very interested.

Disliked: It is like a nonstop party place. Of course it is a hostel where you share the room with other people but there has to be some rules and security. There should be somebody from staff at night because people who go out and come back drunk and in a party mood are bothering others. Some brazilian girls coming back from the party almost let the guy inside the room which was female only. I had to tell them strictly to close the doors and not to do that. There should be more control about what is happening in the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012

Liked: The beds were fairly comfortable and the complimentary breakfast is nice. They were almost constantly cleaning, and you have access to a kitchen if you feel like keeping leftovers or cooking for yourself.

Disliked: The neighborhood seems a bit sketchy to me. Nothing bad happened, but I did not feel particularly safe in the area.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011

Liked: The staff tried to help and were friendly.

Disliked: Even if I'm not sensitive at all this hostel made it impossible to get any sleep - it's like trying to sleep inside of a club, not just beside one. Incredibly reckless and rude to have that type of mega loud music (with THAT bass!!) until 6am if people pay you to SLEEP there. Also they put us (two girls) in a (very tiny and so crowded) room with six guys who came as a party group and were drinking and partying inside the room. Those guys were so anti-social that they wouldn't even react when we asked them to turn off the light and the noise, so we had to tell the front desk.... they spoke to our roommates but then simply told us that they couldn't forbid them to go on with their behaviour. Which they did... we felt horrible and sleeping was just impossible. I never experienced any of this in any other hostel - and I've been to a lot of different ones all over the world. The location is pretty far out of the city, there is no tube - you have to go by bus ( a long ride...) and then walk through a not so nice, not safe neigbourhood. Also, the beds we had to sleep in were almost broken and then, when we wanted to use the bathroom in the morning, evrything was full of puke...disgusting!

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels