HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Journeys London Bridge Hostel

Hostel | 204 Manor Place, Walworth, London, England SE17 3BN

64.8% Overall Rating

410 out of 529 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

Emily Muscroft thinks…

"Loved the curtains on the beds, made it more private! Close to the tube station and only a half an hour walk to Westminster bridge. Good bedding and individual lights for each bed. Really enjoyed the…"

Read all Journeys London Bridge Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Groups 15 people Plus: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. Age restriction - Over 18 only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Safestay
31.94 USD

Hostel 87.3% 207 reviews
Restup London
27.74 USD

Hostel 77.7% 319 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
57.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
London Eye Hostel
20.17 USD

Hostel 65.4% 495 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
20.15 USD

Hostel 78.2% 352 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.79 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1398 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.8%

Overall Rating

410 out of 529 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys London Bridge Hostel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
71.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 365 of 476 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bukhkuhikhukhuk

Disliked: Fungus gum

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014

Liked: The best part about our time here was when we left.

Disliked: Girls I would avoid! This hostel is full of men on average over 50 years old; had a man sleep in our bed, pillows taken , men were going to the toilet without shutting the door, sanitary bin was over flowing , it smelt like weed downstairs where the smokers were, people were coming in and out of the room from late hours of the night.. Many of whom I'm sure weren't staying in the room. Horrible sleep because you don't feel safe there. The staff are the most unhelpful people we have come across .. One woman even working while having her iPod speakers in..booked for 2 nights only stayed for one and we only stayed that night because we couldbt get In anywhere else. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emily Muscroft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the curtains on the beds, made it more private! Close to the tube station and only a half an hour walk to Westminster bridge. Good bedding and individual lights for each bed. Really enjoyed the free breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms always very dirty, had some of the rudest roommates I've had in years of backpacking. Nothing to do with the actual hostel, but it didn't make me feel comfortable. Someone actually touched my foot and laughed with their friends as I was trying to sleep and people on the phone in the room at 4am. One thing that made me very uncomfortable about the hostel is that you need to put in a code for the front room and your room to get it. I don't know how often they get changed, but some guests were just coming in who didn't stay in that room whenever they wanted because they knew the code. And someone could just come back the day after checking out and take peoples stuff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brianna Hill

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: This was an amazing hostel for the price. The breakfast was simple, but free and filling. I would recommend going early so you don't have to wait in line for food or dishes. The beds were triple bunks, but relatively comfortable. The hostel was very clean. I felt safe the entire time, and I didn't even use the lockers that are provided. There is a kitchen available to use, but I don't know where it is located, as I never asked, but it is nice that it is an option. The showers are really the best. Warm and spacious. The location is a little bit out of the way, but easily accessible by bus or tube. I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: The wait for the food in the morning, but not really the hostel's fault. Also, as the week progressed, there was less and less toilet paper, until the last day when there was none to be found. Good thing I had kleenex! And for some reason, two of the toilets were locked and that left only one to be used. The wifi was also spotty, but I think everyone can go without being connected all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people and atmosfere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 March 2014

Liked: Staff was nice

Disliked: Dirty showers , dirty and smelly floor, disrespectful people, uncomfortable bed, no socket to charge my phone near my bed

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014

Liked: -Breakfast was Ok. -Infodesk was helpfull. -Local shops were near by. -Showers have warm water. -Location is good if you take underground. -Beds were OK

Disliked: -Toilets were usually clogged and they didn't check the bathrooms every hour as they informed. -Eating policy is silly because you have to make food upstares and then eat downstaris in the bar/lounge. -WiFi was very poor. -Although the staff was helpful, they were rude. -Bedrooms air condition were very bad. Also too small space to leave luggage. -The hanging area was uncomfortable. -Pillows were too flat. -We booked for 9 bed dorm but we got 15 bed dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Filippo Meneghello

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 March 2014 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are cmfortble and the location ok!

Disliked: The stuff doesn't seem so happy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friends can be made

Disliked: People can not consume their own alcoholic drinks on the premises, at peoples homes they have this freedom, thus it degrades the rights of human beings.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rachel Darke

Alone

Events / festivals

09 December 2013

Liked: The showers are hot, and space in the cubicle to get dressed is handy.

Disliked: Bed sheet had a hole in it when I arrived. The next day when the bedding was 'changed' it miraculously had a hole in the same place. Made me wonder how long that sheet had really been on there. There really is not enough headroom unless you have a top bunk, scraped head a few too many times on the metal. Witnessed a customer request to see the manager and was robbed off with no contact number or means to make an official complaint. WiFi is mostly poor. Room was freezing. No apparent enforcement in place to prevent people from sleeping in random beds as opposed to the ones they've been assigned to.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the tube station, nice that they have curtains on every dorm bed to feel more private, a lamp and two sockets at located at every bed! easy check in and check out, film posters and Journeys London Bridge advices everywhere on the walls - looked quite professional and nice, lockers

Disliked: breakfast simple and we often ran out of crockery, staff took its time to wash the dishes, one out of three toilets out of order the whole time of my stay (one day even two out of three), locks needed to be bought for the lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Vukovic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: cheap clean and close to city

Disliked: Ivan left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Philip Wharmby

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place with a bar

Disliked: The kitchen, you had to hire utensils or bring your own

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and fair value for money.

Disliked: Some toilets and shower cubicles out of order during my stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special

Disliked: No tissues in the breakfast, Increase the breakfast time window

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

marcello stillitano

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

02 October 2013 marcello would recommend this property

Liked: I came to London for attend some job interviews, I prolonged my staying and found the hostel to be a pretty good base for that purpouse. I eventually found a job outside of London but still will use the hostel again if I happen to stay in the city overnight.

Disliked: marcello left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tochukwu Ibe

Alone

Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Tochukwu would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Aaron King

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Emma Barnett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The area is nice and quiet. Good to have key code entrance. There is a kitchen.

Disliked: Terrible stay! Generally, I love hostel accommodation so I'm not one of those people who goes into a hostel expecting 5* service. There is no age limit so this hostel is filled with creepy middle-aged men. The beds are SO tiny (and I'm only a little person!) and half the toilets are out of order. WiFi is beyond absurd, either not available or dropping out constantly. I see reviewers have had this problem months back. I don't mind if a hostel doesn't have WiFi but don't advertise that you do if it doesn't work! Young travellers today rely on WiFi and how expensive can a new modem or repair be? The staff are beyond rude . I've never seen anything quite like it! They will ignore you when you walk up to the counter or just look at you blankly. All this would be fine if the beds were at a cheap rate but it's not even good value! There are far better places in London for several pounds less each night and in much better locations. Just don't do it. :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marco Alvarenga

Alone

Events / festivals

16 September 2013 marco would recommend this property

Liked: Good Breakfast, lockers available for free, clean and with a lot of facilities, i recommend.

Disliked: marco left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sergio teatino mozo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 sergio would recommend this property

Liked: good location, helpful staff

Disliked: sergio left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean.

Disliked: It was a bit too hot and I had a squeaking bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Federica Comini

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 July 2013 Federica would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Federica left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KIT SIONG Yong

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 KIT SIONG would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are helpful when I ask them to help me to make a reservation for the taxi for next day.

Disliked: The Wifi was slow. The shower tap was uncontrollable and it is too hot for us. The breakfast was simple and it end too early. The location was a bit far from city center but is easily reachable by the public transport.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Place

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels