We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

76.3% Overall Rating

3512 out of 4111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
73.58 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
20.28 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews
Keystone Hostel
31.99 USD

Hostel 75.9% 59 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
23.39 USD

Hostel 80.6% 674 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
39.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Fairway Hotel
56.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
Smart Russell Square Hostel
20.27 USD

Hostel 80.3% 1768 reviews
Generator London
39.01 USD

Hostel 91.7% 4197 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

3512 out of 4111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 2428 of 3531 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 97 | 98   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 July 2015

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Rooms were tiny, smelled, lockers were minute and pointless as very easy to break into.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet.

Disliked: It felt really institutional. This isn't so much a bad thing about the hostel, it just wasn't for me. I'd stay here again if I wanted to be near this area, but I'd rather stay elsewhere. It really did feel like I was in a prison. Long empty hallways, beds with barriers/blinders on them, giant breakfast hall with cereal dispensers...it was quite private and fine, but it just felt really sterile to me. But that could be what some people want - it was entirely suitable and useful, just not really for me. Oh - it would be nice if the room I was in had some shades or curtains. It never really gets dark in London - but especially in summer, it's actually still bright until 11pm, and it's bright again at 4am, so it's hard to sleep.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert Mühl

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friedlich staff. Biker rental (Santander) directly in front of the door

Disliked: Quite noisy place (Inside and from Outside (Main street). No socket at each bed. No place for luggage storage in the rooms.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015

Liked: The staff were incredibly on top of things, even as hordes of people swarmed the desk during check-in/out times. One staff member even helped me right away when a laundry machine stole my money. I really appreciated it! The humble breakfast is also nice, and, if nothing else, you can marvel at the massive amount of toast that people can consume.

Disliked: To be honest, this was the only hostel I really disliked on my trip, which was ironic given that it was the most expensive compared to similar size rooms in other countries (but London in general is expensive). The worst thing was probably... the communal showers. I get that they want to prevent people from using too much water, especially in such a big hostel, and I thought people were just being whiny when I read about the timers in advance. But you get about 8 seconds of water, the first 3-4 of which are cold. I wouldn't have minded the timers as much if it had been about 3-5 minutes of water, but only a few seconds? And after a couple of minutes of dedication, there was no hot water at all. Having caught a bad cold on my way to London, I wanted to cry. Also, there is only WiFi in the common areas, most of which had loud music blasting over the speakers (except for the computer lounge, but either you could hear music from the lobby or someone would decide to start playing music in the only remotely quiet space in this hostel). Sometimes I just needed WiFi to figure out where I was going the next day, not as part of a social experience. Also, while I enjoy socializing and having fun in the evenings, having a party atmosphere 24/7 was too much for me. If you're looking for that, you'd be happy here. If you're looking for a place to rest, look elsewhere.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 June 2015

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Our room was on the ground floor with the window being about 3ft off the ground of the alley outside. Our window was broken so the security was nonexistent. The room and the weather were so hot but we had to close the window for safety. It was an uncomfortable and uneasy night.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

seomary arriaza

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015

Liked: The breakfast and the location is pretty good

Disliked: The rooms are super crowded and the bathrooms and showers were a little bad

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun environment

Disliked: Very expensive for not too great amenities

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor service when asked for help finding things or recommendations. In the bar there were people who were obviously beyond drunk and should not have been served.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Larissa Faria

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing to complain, just that the lift was broken in the last day of stay and we had to use the stairs to reach our room in the third floor.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and super friendly staff Great location Good breakfast

Disliked: No locked lockers in shared dorms. £3 pounds per day for save little locker outside the rooms. Showers smelled like urine. Too few toilets and people urinate there? 4 person shared room was in the basement with one small window. No light from window and dark brown walls made the room the most depressive and expensive hostel room I have ever stayed.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting building, central, friendly staff, luggage room, etc.

Disliked: The showers are a pain.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Rafferty

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

23 May 2015 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was so comfortable - best night's sleep in a long time.

Disliked: Reception staff seem a bit fed up with us non-Londoners.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Chlumsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere for meeting people, the theatre and movie showings is pretty cool. Overall pretty sweet hostel and is close to King's Cross which is very useful for inter-city trains, especially to store luggage for the day after check out.

Disliked: There was no personal bag lock or locker in the rooms, only thing I would have liked.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilie Labrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - great and helpful staff - dorm bunk beds were not separated but instead like two levels of beds with little walls separating you - small just a heads up. Great atmosphere - the bar and dining area were great for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: Emilie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Maginness

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, and the vibe around the place made it an entertaining prospect, especially with the bar attracting many like-minded travellers.

Disliked: Tiny nature of the rooms, fit as many beds into as small a space as possible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Wight

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

13 May 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: During one stay I stayed in a girls-only dorm on the 3rd floor which was lovely and quiet. My most recent stay was in a mixed 12-bed dorm on the top floor which faced out to the city so was pretty loud all night. However the beds are comfortable, the sheets and rooms are clean, and the partitions between the beds are fantastic. The staff is very helpful and efficient, the court TV room is hilarious (you MUST go in if you're staying there!), the bar is pretty good, and the inclusion of a basic free breakfast is great.

Disliked: Because of the partitions, more beds are crammed into the rooms than there would be otherwise. However it's not actually as bad as it sounds. The bathroom facilities are minimal for the number of people but are at least clean and functional. Try and get a bottom bunk - the ladders on the beds are a pain in the backside...or rather a pain in the feet. And most importantly, the 'lockers' over the beds are TINY and unlikely to hold anything you actually want to store. There are some lockers downstairs but you have to bring your own padlock, and all lockers were full when I stayed there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAUL SPENCER

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 May 2015 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!

Disliked: NOTHING.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Thaxton

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great and it was convenient location to saddlers wells theatre.

Disliked: Wifi was not connected in rooms, only in common areas

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jesus Andion Garcia

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: The ambient

Disliked: Little toiletes

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: The toilet is too small

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015

Liked: - Having a private bathroom (even though small, was very functional), toiletries and towels provided was a nice touch. - Easy and fast check-out and check-in. - Hostel is very well located, just a bit less than a 10 minute walk from King's Cross/St Pancras. Loads of restaurants, bars, off license, etc. Easy to commute anywhere in London.

Disliked: - Granted it may have been the last Private Double room they had, but we were located right next to the Bar which closes at 2am. Needless to say we had some trouble getting some sleep with all the music! Especially that the walls are so paper thin, we could already hear every little sound (including the loud conversations in the hall and the door slamming!), so we felt like we were sleeping on a sofa in a club. - The room was really small (which was not a problem for us as we literally just booked it to sleep as we were out the whole day): just bunk beds, shelves and mirror on the walls and the private bathroom. No hangers on the wall so we had to hand our coats from the door handles or whatever we could think of and leave our clothes in the luggage. We had to make the top bunk bed completely (linens were just put there). - Cleaning staff entered the room once without knocking, while my friend was changing and I was in the shower. They basically told us that if we didn't leave the room now, they wouldn't be cleaning it (it was just 10am). - As the hostel has its own bar, you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol. Totally understandable. Still when I got back to the hostel one night with a simple sealed bottle of water, I was asked by security to let them see it. I get that they have to be sure the place is safe and that nobody is going against the rules, but being treated as a "criminal" when going "home", is not what I call an enjoyable atmosphere. - Finally, we were told there was Free WiFi everywhere. Our room was located on the basement floor, therefore we had no WiFi whatsoever. The only place we could any signal was in the lobby.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devyn Gee

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

20 April 2015 Devyn would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay and interact, and although the capita per room is quite high the bed designs are great to maximise privateness

Disliked: Nothing that could have been helped but we were in beds next to the Main Street which proved quite loud but that's the only thing I can say in a negative light

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015

Liked: great atmosphere, and full of young travellers, location close to st. pancras about a 10 min walk

Disliked: staff was extremely rude and not helpful at all, at least the individuals we dealt with. had an issue with our room and they certainly did not try to accomodate us. rooms were also very very small, we stayed in a 10 bed dorm and the beds were literally attached

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jess Heanley

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2015 Jess would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, good staff and facilities.

Disliked: Nothing in particular would have been useful to have ovens in the kitchen or at least for it to be more clear that they didnt before arival.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area was nice with a spacious and clean kitchen. The free breakfast is really well organized. The dorm was really small but I found the bed very comfy, large and it gave you some sense of privacy. Staff was nice and really accomodating when I asked them a favour because of a problem I had.

Disliked: The dorm scared me at first because there was no space for luggage or for hanging clothes so everyone's stuff were all over the place. This also made the floor kind of dirty because there were many empty bottles, food wraps and other trash lying down. Also I did a laundry, it cost me 6£ and my clothes were still very smelly and stained afterwards! The lift seems to have been out of service for ages so if you stay on the 5th you might feel tired walking up and down the stairs!

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels