HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 91%

Safety 83%

Staff 87%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.13USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people.

A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ?

Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room.

We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 91%

Safety 83%

Staff 87%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 312 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Clean rooms, free breakfast.

Disliked: Very big hostel, not very atmospheric. Very plain, no little details that make a hostel feel warming.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Character of the building and common rooms

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: I love hostels, I travel a lot, but this was the smallest room I have ever slept in. I booked a private double room. I could not enter the room simultaneously with my luggage. It was supposed to keep my luggage under the bed, but the bed was so low that it was impossible. Two people cannot stand in the room at one and the same time. One must be out or maybe lying on the bed. There was not a single hanger in the "room" and we had no place for our coats /jackets. There was condense water on the window and it was wet in the room. The pipe exploaded and it was freezingly cold. The staff just said "I'm sorry, there's nothing we can do. Drinking of alcohol that is not bought from their bar is prohibited. The lockers are in common areas and you have to pay for them. There was no internet in the room and there were people all over the hallways sitting on the floor. The breakfast was too basic. I prefer paying instead of only having bread, jam and cornflakes for free. The coffee sucked, it was an extracted coffee, but I guess this is what you could expect for "free". It was my worst experience in a hostel ever. I've slept in great hostels in London for less money. I choose Clink for the location and would never return again.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at Clink 78. Rooms sizes vary due to the shape and alcohol can't be brought in due to the licensed bar. There are also free lockers throughout the building and wifi does not but will be operating all over the building soon. Brekky option is basic but we thank you for the feedback and will be brought in to improve in the future. Please email reception.supervisor@clinkhostels.co.uk to investigate further.thanks

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Liked: Location

Disliked: No smoking area

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location very usefulInteresting place full of historyStaff REALLY nice

Disliked: Maybe the heat during the night

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Good location, nice look and feel, free breakfast, hot showers.

Disliked: Impractical aspects about the rooms - no coat hangers, beds too close together.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not a good atmosphere to meet people.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: the staff is very friendly

Disliked: small rooms

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


08 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Overall facilities good, staff nice. Interesting decor

Disliked: Bunk ladders stylish if not the most practical. They are also too close to the wall which makes it harder for those with broad shoulders.Wifi should not need facebook login. Privacy/security concerns,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay, thanks! Just to let you know, you actually don't need to have a Facebook account in order to login. Safe travels! Fábio

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location, close to King's Cross station, but that's about it.

Disliked: There weren't adequate lockers, no wifi in the rooms, not enough power outlets, room was too cramped, basic breakfast (powdered coffee...c'mon now).


The property's response is

Hi there! Thank you for leaving your feedback; we are sorry you have partially enjoyed your stay. I am taking your observations into careful consideration in order to improve our service. Safe travels! Fabio - Clink78

Check Availability