We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

87.8% Overall Rating

3470 out of 4059 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

"King's Cross is a good place to start and you find basic needs just from there. It is nicely middle thinking about train and underground moving."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
70.12 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
19.33 USD

Hostel 83.3% 960 reviews
Keystone Hostel
25.20 USD

Hostel 83.9% 47 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
14.85 USD

Hostel 71.9% 658 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
47.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Fairway Hotel
37.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.38 USD

Hostel 75.4% 1739 reviews
Generator London
25.28 USD

Hostel 90.2% 4166 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

3470 out of 4059 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 2400 of 3479 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 95 | 96   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015

Liked: King's Cross is a good place to start and you find basic needs just from there. It is nicely middle thinking about train and underground moving.

Disliked: Very noisy, glad I was so tired... Reception is so noisy that you can't hear what people are saying. Breakfast --- They could offer better maybe like a pound or two? There were no First aid package. My bed was upper bed and my things dropped between wall and bed to underbed. There were lights on, because people had a light in their bed, but those did not worked. Showers were terrible, water everywhere and no place to put your things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachael Cortesi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2015 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Kings Cross. Bar downstairs was vibing

Disliked: Beds are very close together but that's any hostel for you really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ewa Gajowniczek

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 March 2015 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: localisation was good

Disliked: sharing room with other people, you never know else is staying in your room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Dobson

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2015 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, bar area and location

Disliked: Rooms too small with few en-suites available only real downside

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, really nice staff, good atmosphere. And free breakfast obviously always a plus!

Disliked: The showers were a bit funny and changed from hot to cold so that was frustrating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bridgina Mackay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Bridgina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy all the time, friendly and helpful staff - as a traveller on my own, they made me feel completely at home!

Disliked: Bridgina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Jimenez-Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 March 2015 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The materials is not cheap. We feel that so many people we here before us and they left their marks with drawing and cool stuff

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location near the tube

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, quiet stay with free breakfast in the morning. Also has a great location. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: Secure lockers in the dorms were not large enough for my laptop however larger lockers where provided for a small fee.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jake Loveland

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 February 2015 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Its great location, great place, the staff really set it apart the reception staff are the friendliest in London, every single time I've came

Disliked: It's a room lottery, either grear airy room or submarine, smelly showers or great open ones, for the same room types, But I loved the hostel which ever one I go in, the higher the room in the hostel the better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Woodward

Alone

Business / conference

08 February 2015 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: I am not your average traveller, just somebody staying down for one night from Durham so I can go on a course. I just wanted somewhere convenient, cheap and with a good reputation, not too noisy as I wanted to sleep so I booked into a four bed dorm. After working a busy week, getting up at 5am was taking its toll on me when I checked into the hostel in the early evening so it was with absolute delight that the friendly receptionist said I had been upgraded and had a 2 person dorm and I would be on my own, how did they know this is what I really wanted...sleep! The room is newly decorated, clean, quiet and all mine. Very very happy.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Catherine Dee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: 12 bed dorm had enough room. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Damp rooms, nothing dries, everything smells.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cathy Dee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015

Liked: The beds were comfortable, the hostel bar and common rooms.

Disliked: The room was tiny (staying in an 8 bed dorm) we had nowhere to put our bags. The room was also damp so my towel never dried. The showers were often cold and on a timer of 5 seconds.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Chaple

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Uniqueness

Disliked: The lack air conditioning within the room

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015

Liked: It's location.

Disliked: Very cramped rooms. Also, it felt like the staff were 'doing me a favour' if I asked them something by answering.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Tomkowska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Place and athmosphere

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were always ready to help whatever was needed. Attentive and friendly. The breakfast (rich and varied). The large kitchen to cater for our group.

Disliked: The noise in the basement dorms on the first night (sorted out by the staff for the following nights). The water in the shower which could be cold or warm... we could not know in advance.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Patrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities - kitchen is huge and well equipped, free breakfast is standard but good, bar had live music. The hostel felt secure with personal lockers and card access. Nice and clean bathrooms and showers. Fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Tiny rooms - I stayed in a 4-bed female only dorm. It was fine as the other girls were lovely and we didn't get in eachothers way, but by far the smallest hostel I have ever stayed in! Small lights above beds didn't work which were a little frustrating but completely fine.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is young and fun. The best part was exploring the old courthouse. The washer and dryer was a great help too.

Disliked: The cost of the washer and dryer(£6). Also the noise after the bar closes until 4 am is pretty loud on the ground floor.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Heather mcgushin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, and it is in a central location.

Disliked: There were a lot of long term guests, which was not a problem. But it means the vibe is different to other hostels, although not a bad vibe.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Ogbourne

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 January 2015 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast - still better than any other hostel we have stayed in, lots of choice

Disliked: not being allowed to drink our own alcohol - which we adhered to, returned after midnight on New Years Eve and the bar was shut.. gutted. the breakfast room was oppressively hot.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice despite being small, the staff friendly and helpful, and the bar right downstairs is a bonus.

Disliked: Be prepared to be really cozy with other travelers, space is pretty limited.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronwyn Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Bronwyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and helpful! We had a wonderful time in London and were able to see a lot in a short time.

Disliked: The wifi didn't work in the dorms but it wasn't that annoying, if anything it's more practical and encourages people to be more social.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Justin White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2014 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good! I party in soho and walked back drunk and no one cared!

Disliked: That the beds are beside one another and the bathroom was too small! But I'm 6'3 so can't really complain about that! Other than that. I enjoyed my time here!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Some of the staff may have been overworked, but the ones at reception didn't seem all that friendly, a little bit of contempt.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels