We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

84.0% Overall Rating

3427 out of 4009 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/12/2014)

"Stayed here for a week whilst working in London. Was very comfortable and facilities were great. Was able to get a decent nights sleep, showers were hot and breakfast was free. Great location and staff are really…"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
76.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
73.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
21.10 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
Keystone Hostel
27.51 USD

Hostel 84.1% 38 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
16.21 USD

Hostel 65.7% 646 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
42.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Fairway Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
14.61 USD

Hostel 76.3% 1729 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

3427 out of 4009 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 2373 of 3429 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 94 | 95   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for a week whilst working in London. Was very comfortable and facilities were great. Was able to get a decent nights sleep, showers were hot and breakfast was free. Great location and staff are really friendly.

Disliked: The only downside was the security was a little too relaxed - and there were no lockers in the rooms. Other than this I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping

02 December 2014 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Great design and fun atmosphere. The fact this this hostel is an old courthouse with cells adds to the character. The staff were very welcoming and clear on the house rules upon checking in. The hostel has everything you could want with onsite bar, lockers and storage facilities, comfortable beds and clean rooms. There is wifi in the community areas, quiet computer room and a cinema. The drinks at the bar were very reasonable prices for London, where you would expect to pay far more for a beer elsewhere! The location was great, only 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross station and easy to find. I would definitely recommend this hostel and will be back.

Disliked: The only thing that was a little awkward was the communal showers (for cell block users). There wasn't a place to put our dry clothes before stepping into the shower as it was a small cubical so I found I had to hang my towels and clothes over the door and hope they didn't get too much splash. When trying to dry myself afterwards, I found that I was getting sprayed with water from the person in the next cubical. This just meant I couldn't dry my legs, however it wasn't too much of a convenience as I just pulled my trousers up to my knees, dried the rest of myself and ran to my call in bare feet =) I recommend all hostel goers to bring along flip flops.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenna Cain

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2014 Brenna would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there once before and it was the same: a great place to stay

Disliked: The only thing I dislike about the place is the showers! But I found one that doesn't require a bunch of pushes on a button to get hot water and that was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, secure hostel, free breakfasts

Disliked: Wifi was limited to downstairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Giulio Tani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2014

Liked: quite nice the bar with karaoke, billiard and stuff

Disliked: noisy and overcrowded

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station, which was what I wanted.

Disliked: It was quite large, so it had a faceless quality to it. It could also be cleaner, but I'm not saying that it was dirty.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was basic. Check-in was available at late night.

Disliked: Internet was only accessible at reception area. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm and there was only 1 working light in the room. There was a small lamp on each bed but not working. It was late night when me and other 2 arrived, and there was already someone sleeping. We didn't want to turn on the only light on the ceiling so we were arranging our bed and stuffs in the dark, with little light from our cellphone.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Frost

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 September 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, atmosphere, helpfilness of staff on duty

Disliked: Low lighting in my room, window wouldn't shut

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the big dorm rooms, the beds were really comfortable and clean.the staff was always friendly and ready to help you. It was a great stay here, I would come back anytime!

Disliked: Only thing I didn't like, is, that there are no chargers on every bed! Its really annoying to leave your phone or whatever somewhere in the room.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giulia Bizzarri

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely loved the location and it surely was good value for money. The breakfast included makes things a lot easier I you've got a busy day ahead and it was also quite good. The staff are very friendly and happy to help which for me is fundamental for the place to feel a bit more homely, let's say. Very good experience overall!

Disliked: The dorm was alright, just it felt quite small once all the beds had been occupied. Got me wondering where I should leave my bags every once in a while, but that's about it. About the cleanliness, I know it's not easy to keep such a busy and central hostel clean all the time so I wasn't really bothered. And it wasn't anything too bad anyway.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facility was clean, the location was perfect, and the staff were extremely nice and helpful! The hostel has a good, internationally diverse character.

Disliked: Crowded and rather loud. There were too few showers and toilets in comparison to the amount of guests at the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Harrison-Melville

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 September 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It wasn't just 'good' it was excellent. My friend booked in too and she is happy for her daughter to use it in future. The staff go the extra mile to be helpful.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Pittas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was cool, but the best part was definitelhy the kitchen!

Disliked: No outsiders could come into the bar, even as hostel guests' guests. Pool cue was broken.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rhiannon Holmes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Terrible staff service, no privacy, no security. Was rudely woken at 12:45am By a male employee grabbing my ankle asking who I was.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was overall good. Good shower facilities, breakfast etc. You get what you pay for. The staff are nice and friendly.

Disliked: The room we were allocated was not cleaned out properly, with sheets from the previous occupant...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really incredible staff. one girl (who was new) went above and beyond sign helping me find my room when I couldn't, giving me information on different things to do in London and tried her hardest to find this one little attraction I was desperate to find. bar staff was amazing too, especially at just making you feel welcome. facilities are great, kitchen was a big thumbs up as well as the common areas. definitely one of the most social hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: not a lot of room to place your bag in your room (I was a late check in and everyone had already scattered themselves by the time I arrived)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly staff, privacy in the bunk beds, the history of the building. Although.. Joe Strummer would roll over in his grave if he were to be subjected to the music at the bar named after his band.

Disliked: Lack of WiFi in the dorms, that their liquor liscence extends to the whole property so the only alcohol MUST be bought from the bar, no screens on the dorm windows. Dirt would blow in and I would have to wipe my pillow and blanket before bed.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom/shower facilities are modern and clean Free breakfast included

Disliked: Wifi limited, Ok for emails, but not if you want to do any streaming or utube no coffee with breakfast

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly, helpful staff stood out to me above all else. They were so genuinely nice and approachable.

Disliked: The only real complaint I have is the elevator was broken during my entire stay. This was quite a problem as my luggage was very heavy and I had to walk up two flights of stairs to get to my room.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was big and had everything you needed. Close to main stations too

Disliked: The bedroom was too hot and no way of cooling it down. My light switch did not work for my bed.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very practical to get around (especially easy to/from airport). They offer breakfast.

Disliked: *) Room: My 6-bed room was very (!) small and it was difficult to get fresh air in there. It's nice that there's a bar/disco in the basement of the venue, but maybe people should know that before selecting the floor in which their room is on ;) *) Summer outside: It was not possible to "legally" sit outside. There were stairs, but it was not allowed by the hostel to sit on them. Not even if you were the only person sitting there. I understand that, under the given circumstances of laws/requirements like "clear fire exit" or "problems with volume for the neighbours", but maybe if the security would allow a reasonable number of people to sit on the stairs - or only intervene if necessary? It's tricky. I know. Especially with drunk travellers ;) It was just really uncomfortable that there was no fully approved/legal way of, even quietly, sitting outside with friends near the hostel. Staying inside just ain't the same. *) Smoking: Smokers might know in advance, that there is no way of having a cigarette *and* drink at the same time. It's either-or. But that's more a problem of English laws then the hostel. I'm not blaming the hostel, I just think it'd be in their interest of finding a way for making that more comfortable for their guests. Maybe a smoker's room (with reasonable size!) where you can take your drink with you? *) Internet: I tried on 2 different devices, and the Internet was hardly usable for me. I also found it very questionable that the default way of using the Internet was promoting Facebook so prominently. At least you didn't require a Facebook-account for it to work, though.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: Kindness of the staff. Quality of breakfast.

Disliked: Too much bed for limited area. check out is too early

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennina Lahti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Jennina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, close to the station and also easy to find. The atmosphere is great and staff very friendly. Kitchen facilities are superb and the breakfast awesome. Special thanks for Dylan of being such a friendly and happy fellow.

Disliked: The tables and floors were sticky. One of our group members had dirty linen. The showers go on and off, which is quite disturbing. It was very hot everywhere, especially in the rooms. The hostel says it has security lockers, well there were security lockers in the room, not all of them had a lid though. So you can't really put anything in them. The upper beds don't have any power sockets and there are only two extras in the room, which makes it challenging to charge anything.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

christian galen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 christian would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the whole look and atmosphere about this place, particularly that the majority of the travelers here were like myself backpacking or on vacation from all different countries and not just passing through on business. I also liked that it was almost entirely young people, maybe 25 or younger. The bar/club in the basement is a nice touch along with all the tables they have down there. As stated they offer a little breakfast which i never seemed to make on time! I did feel fairly safe here as there is 24/7 security, locked front door, locked door leading to room and locked room doors they also have tiny lockers in the rooms overtop of the beds just big enough for valuables like passport wallet etc. No curfew which is important to me and very close to St. Pancras station and a walkable distance to the sites, if not there is a bus stop directly out front. They also have an elevator which seemed to work the entire time if your on an upper level. All in all i really liked it here and if im ever in london again i wouldn't think twice about going back or to refer this hostel to a friend.

Disliked: My two biggest complaints would be that i had to pay for a towel, it wasn't much but still it should be included in the price. Also, The bathrooms were not particularly well kept HOWEVER i think this was due to the sheer number of people using them and dirtying them up - this place gets busy! Wifi does not reach the room but you can fight for a seat in the common room and use it there. For some reason my key card here kept failing to work i had to have it re-set 3 diff times but no one else had that problem maybe i just got a bad one.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels