We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

83.9% Overall Rating

3485 out of 4077 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2015)

"- Having a private bathroom (even though small, was very functional), toiletries and towels provided was a nice touch. - Easy and fast check-out and check-in. - Hostel is very well located, just a bit less than a 10…"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
71.35 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
19.67 USD

Hostel 84.6% 964 reviews
Keystone Hostel
21.94 USD

Hostel 80.0% 55 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
19.65 USD

Hostel 76.3% 662 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
34.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Fairway Hotel
37.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.62 USD

Hostel 76.2% 1749 reviews
Generator London
33.28 USD

Hostel 90.9% 4177 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

3485 out of 4077 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 2408 of 3497 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 96 | 97   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015

Liked: - Having a private bathroom (even though small, was very functional), toiletries and towels provided was a nice touch. - Easy and fast check-out and check-in. - Hostel is very well located, just a bit less than a 10 minute walk from King's Cross/St Pancras. Loads of restaurants, bars, off license, etc. Easy to commute anywhere in London.

Disliked: - Granted it may have been the last Private Double room they had, but we were located right next to the Bar which closes at 2am. Needless to say we had some trouble getting some sleep with all the music! Especially that the walls are so paper thin, we could already hear every little sound (including the loud conversations in the hall and the door slamming!), so we felt like we were sleeping on a sofa in a club. - The room was really small (which was not a problem for us as we literally just booked it to sleep as we were out the whole day): just bunk beds, shelves and mirror on the walls and the private bathroom. No hangers on the wall so we had to hand our coats from the door handles or whatever we could think of and leave our clothes in the luggage. We had to make the top bunk bed completely (linens were just put there). - Cleaning staff entered the room once without knocking, while my friend was changing and I was in the shower. They basically told us that if we didn't leave the room now, they wouldn't be cleaning it (it was just 10am). - As the hostel has its own bar, you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol. Totally understandable. Still when I got back to the hostel one night with a simple sealed bottle of water, I was asked by security to let them see it. I get that they have to be sure the place is safe and that nobody is going against the rules, but being treated as a "criminal" when going "home", is not what I call an enjoyable atmosphere. - Finally, we were told there was Free WiFi everywhere. Our room was located on the basement floor, therefore we had no WiFi whatsoever. The only place we could any signal was in the lobby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devyn Gee

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

20 April 2015 Devyn would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay and interact, and although the capita per room is quite high the bed designs are great to maximise privateness

Disliked: Nothing that could have been helped but we were in beds next to the Main Street which proved quite loud but that's the only thing I can say in a negative light

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015

Liked: great atmosphere, and full of young travellers, location close to st. pancras about a 10 min walk

Disliked: staff was extremely rude and not helpful at all, at least the individuals we dealt with. had an issue with our room and they certainly did not try to accomodate us. rooms were also very very small, we stayed in a 10 bed dorm and the beds were literally attached

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jess Heanley

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2015 Jess would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, good staff and facilities.

Disliked: Nothing in particular would have been useful to have ovens in the kitchen or at least for it to be more clear that they didnt before arival.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area was nice with a spacious and clean kitchen. The free breakfast is really well organized. The dorm was really small but I found the bed very comfy, large and it gave you some sense of privacy. Staff was nice and really accomodating when I asked them a favour because of a problem I had.

Disliked: The dorm scared me at first because there was no space for luggage or for hanging clothes so everyone's stuff were all over the place. This also made the floor kind of dirty because there were many empty bottles, food wraps and other trash lying down. Also I did a laundry, it cost me 6£ and my clothes were still very smelly and stained afterwards! The lift seems to have been out of service for ages so if you stay on the 5th you might feel tired walking up and down the stairs!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sone Kotze

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Sone would recommend this property

Liked: The whole atmosphere of the hostel is great, lots of young people hanging around. The staff was really friendly, especially the guy that checked me in. The location was great as I was able to walk from Westminster to it after I was finished sightseeing. The bathrooms and rooms were clean and neat, nice linen as well. I liked the huge kitchen were you could prepare food, the dock with computer access and the free city tour pick - up in the lobby.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit small, there's not really room for luggage. The lift was broken and I was on the top floor. I don't really mind stairs but the first day with the luggage was quite tough. The wifi doesn't work in the top rooms so I had to go down to use it. The breakfast can also be a bit more substantial, maybe with yoghurt or cheese- anything proteiny for your bread or cereal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dirk Neujahr

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and comfortable, near to the City, bus stop direct in front oft the hostel, 5 minutes walk to underground station

Disliked: Nothing negative to mention, please have in mind you're not at the Waldorf !

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline wedler

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2015 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: We got upgraded to a private room, that was great! The staff working in the breakfast room were so attentive and fast, there was never a lack of anything and every spill was cleaned up instantly, so even with the place full it was nice!

Disliked: It would be nice to have hooks and a chair in the private room

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015

Liked: King's Cross is a good place to start and you find basic needs just from there. It is nicely middle thinking about train and underground moving.

Disliked: Very noisy, glad I was so tired... Reception is so noisy that you can't hear what people are saying. Breakfast --- They could offer better maybe like a pound or two? There were no First aid package. My bed was upper bed and my things dropped between wall and bed to underbed. There were lights on, because people had a light in their bed, but those did not worked. Showers were terrible, water everywhere and no place to put your things.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachael Cortesi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2015 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Kings Cross. Bar downstairs was vibing

Disliked: Beds are very close together but that's any hostel for you really

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ewa Gajowniczek

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 March 2015 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: localisation was good

Disliked: sharing room with other people, you never know else is staying in your room

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Dobson

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2015 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, bar area and location

Disliked: Rooms too small with few en-suites available only real downside

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, really nice staff, good atmosphere. And free breakfast obviously always a plus!

Disliked: The showers were a bit funny and changed from hot to cold so that was frustrating.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bridgina Mackay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Bridgina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy all the time, friendly and helpful staff - as a traveller on my own, they made me feel completely at home!

Disliked: Bridgina left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Jimenez-Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 March 2015 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The materials is not cheap. We feel that so many people we here before us and they left their marks with drawing and cool stuff

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location near the tube

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, quiet stay with free breakfast in the morning. Also has a great location. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: Secure lockers in the dorms were not large enough for my laptop however larger lockers where provided for a small fee.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jake Loveland

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 February 2015 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Its great location, great place, the staff really set it apart the reception staff are the friendliest in London, every single time I've came

Disliked: It's a room lottery, either grear airy room or submarine, smelly showers or great open ones, for the same room types, But I loved the hostel which ever one I go in, the higher the room in the hostel the better

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Woodward

Alone

Business / conference

08 February 2015 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: I am not your average traveller, just somebody staying down for one night from Durham so I can go on a course. I just wanted somewhere convenient, cheap and with a good reputation, not too noisy as I wanted to sleep so I booked into a four bed dorm. After working a busy week, getting up at 5am was taking its toll on me when I checked into the hostel in the early evening so it was with absolute delight that the friendly receptionist said I had been upgraded and had a 2 person dorm and I would be on my own, how did they know this is what I really wanted...sleep! The room is newly decorated, clean, quiet and all mine. Very very happy.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Catherine Dee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: 12 bed dorm had enough room. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Damp rooms, nothing dries, everything smells.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cathy Dee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015

Liked: The beds were comfortable, the hostel bar and common rooms.

Disliked: The room was tiny (staying in an 8 bed dorm) we had nowhere to put our bags. The room was also damp so my towel never dried. The showers were often cold and on a timer of 5 seconds.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Chaple

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Uniqueness

Disliked: The lack air conditioning within the room

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015

Liked: It's location.

Disliked: Very cramped rooms. Also, it felt like the staff were 'doing me a favour' if I asked them something by answering.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Tomkowska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Place and athmosphere

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were always ready to help whatever was needed. Attentive and friendly. The breakfast (rich and varied). The large kitchen to cater for our group.

Disliked: The noise in the basement dorms on the first night (sorted out by the staff for the following nights). The water in the shower which could be cold or warm... we could not know in advance.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels