We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

75.8% Overall Rating

3521 out of 4121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2015)

Marco Antonio Ortiz Cabrera thinks…

"It has all the essentials, if you're a party traveler this is your place cuz it has its own disco."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
72.04 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
25.97 USD

Hostel 84.5% 973 reviews
Keystone Hostel
27.50 USD

Hostel 75.2% 63 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
18.32 USD

Hostel 76.3% 684 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
48.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Fairway Hotel
42.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
Smart Russell Square Hostel
18.32 USD

Hostel 78.4% 1786 reviews
Generator London
20.78 USD

Hostel 86.9% 4205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

3521 out of 4121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
64.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 2433 of 3541 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 97 | 98   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marco Antonio Ortiz Cabrera

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2015 Marco Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It has all the essentials, if you're a party traveler this is your place cuz it has its own disco.

Disliked: As this place has its now disco/bar there's a lot of noise in between 22h-2h it was hard to sleep early.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YENA KU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2015 YENA would recommend this property

Liked: facilities, restaurant

Disliked: wi-fi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah robb

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2015 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are keen and friendly. Plenty of options available.

Disliked: The rooms are a wee bit small but then they did used to be cells, also a cooker for self catering would have been nice.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great-close to connections to all parts of London, there is a bus stop right in front. Facilities and rooms are clean and decent, breakfast is included (toast, jam, butter and muesli/cornflakes), staff is overall friendly and helpful. We had a little incident with one of the "inmates" and the reception and security staff solved the problem in a blink of an eye. We felt super safe and cared for. Good work Clinck78!

Disliked: Some rooms are crammed and some are spacious- you never know what you get. I stayed in 312 and it could accommodate maybe 4 people but there were 6 beds so you had virtually NO place to leave your luggage. G32 on the other hand was large and spacious.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 July 2015

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Rooms were tiny, smelled, lockers were minute and pointless as very easy to break into.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet.

Disliked: It felt really institutional. This isn't so much a bad thing about the hostel, it just wasn't for me. I'd stay here again if I wanted to be near this area, but I'd rather stay elsewhere. It really did feel like I was in a prison. Long empty hallways, beds with barriers/blinders on them, giant breakfast hall with cereal dispensers...it was quite private and fine, but it just felt really sterile to me. But that could be what some people want - it was entirely suitable and useful, just not really for me. Oh - it would be nice if the room I was in had some shades or curtains. It never really gets dark in London - but especially in summer, it's actually still bright until 11pm, and it's bright again at 4am, so it's hard to sleep.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert Mühl

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friedlich staff. Biker rental (Santander) directly in front of the door

Disliked: Quite noisy place (Inside and from Outside (Main street). No socket at each bed. No place for luggage storage in the rooms.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015

Liked: The staff were incredibly on top of things, even as hordes of people swarmed the desk during check-in/out times. One staff member even helped me right away when a laundry machine stole my money. I really appreciated it! The humble breakfast is also nice, and, if nothing else, you can marvel at the massive amount of toast that people can consume.

Disliked: To be honest, this was the only hostel I really disliked on my trip, which was ironic given that it was the most expensive compared to similar size rooms in other countries (but London in general is expensive). The worst thing was probably... the communal showers. I get that they want to prevent people from using too much water, especially in such a big hostel, and I thought people were just being whiny when I read about the timers in advance. But you get about 8 seconds of water, the first 3-4 of which are cold. I wouldn't have minded the timers as much if it had been about 3-5 minutes of water, but only a few seconds? And after a couple of minutes of dedication, there was no hot water at all. Having caught a bad cold on my way to London, I wanted to cry. Also, there is only WiFi in the common areas, most of which had loud music blasting over the speakers (except for the computer lounge, but either you could hear music from the lobby or someone would decide to start playing music in the only remotely quiet space in this hostel). Sometimes I just needed WiFi to figure out where I was going the next day, not as part of a social experience. Also, while I enjoy socializing and having fun in the evenings, having a party atmosphere 24/7 was too much for me. If you're looking for that, you'd be happy here. If you're looking for a place to rest, look elsewhere.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 June 2015

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Our room was on the ground floor with the window being about 3ft off the ground of the alley outside. Our window was broken so the security was nonexistent. The room and the weather were so hot but we had to close the window for safety. It was an uncomfortable and uneasy night.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

seomary arriaza

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015

Liked: The breakfast and the location is pretty good

Disliked: The rooms are super crowded and the bathrooms and showers were a little bad

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun environment

Disliked: Very expensive for not too great amenities

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor service when asked for help finding things or recommendations. In the bar there were people who were obviously beyond drunk and should not have been served.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Larissa Faria

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing to complain, just that the lift was broken in the last day of stay and we had to use the stairs to reach our room in the third floor.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and super friendly staff Great location Good breakfast

Disliked: No locked lockers in shared dorms. £3 pounds per day for save little locker outside the rooms. Showers smelled like urine. Too few toilets and people urinate there? 4 person shared room was in the basement with one small window. No light from window and dark brown walls made the room the most depressive and expensive hostel room I have ever stayed.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting building, central, friendly staff, luggage room, etc.

Disliked: The showers are a pain.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Rafferty

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

23 May 2015 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was so comfortable - best night's sleep in a long time.

Disliked: Reception staff seem a bit fed up with us non-Londoners.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Chlumsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere for meeting people, the theatre and movie showings is pretty cool. Overall pretty sweet hostel and is close to King's Cross which is very useful for inter-city trains, especially to store luggage for the day after check out.

Disliked: There was no personal bag lock or locker in the rooms, only thing I would have liked.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilie Labrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - great and helpful staff - dorm bunk beds were not separated but instead like two levels of beds with little walls separating you - small just a heads up. Great atmosphere - the bar and dining area were great for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: Emilie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Maginness

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, and the vibe around the place made it an entertaining prospect, especially with the bar attracting many like-minded travellers.

Disliked: Tiny nature of the rooms, fit as many beds into as small a space as possible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Wight

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

13 May 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: During one stay I stayed in a girls-only dorm on the 3rd floor which was lovely and quiet. My most recent stay was in a mixed 12-bed dorm on the top floor which faced out to the city so was pretty loud all night. However the beds are comfortable, the sheets and rooms are clean, and the partitions between the beds are fantastic. The staff is very helpful and efficient, the court TV room is hilarious (you MUST go in if you're staying there!), the bar is pretty good, and the inclusion of a basic free breakfast is great.

Disliked: Because of the partitions, more beds are crammed into the rooms than there would be otherwise. However it's not actually as bad as it sounds. The bathroom facilities are minimal for the number of people but are at least clean and functional. Try and get a bottom bunk - the ladders on the beds are a pain in the backside...or rather a pain in the feet. And most importantly, the 'lockers' over the beds are TINY and unlikely to hold anything you actually want to store. There are some lockers downstairs but you have to bring your own padlock, and all lockers were full when I stayed there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAUL SPENCER

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 May 2015 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!

Disliked: NOTHING.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Thaxton

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great and it was convenient location to saddlers wells theatre.

Disliked: Wifi was not connected in rooms, only in common areas

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jesus Andion Garcia

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: The ambient

Disliked: Little toiletes

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: The toilet is too small

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels