HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

85.6% Overall Rating

3379 out of 3957 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

"The staff are very friendly, helpful, and efficient. The place has a good atmosphere for socialising and having fun. The location is good, especially for access to the Underground, but it is quite a long walk if you…"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
80.49 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
72.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
22.19 USD

Hostel 78.9% 946 reviews
Keystone Hostel
30.72 USD

Hostel 84.2% 31 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
25.58 USD

Hostel 74.5% 633 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
50.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Stay In Holborn Guest House
50.64 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Fairway Hotel
41.82 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

3379 out of 3957 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 2343 of 3377 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 93 | 94   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place! It was my first time traveling and im glad i picked this hostel. Everyone was extremely friendly. Great place to party!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Santiago Germán Rodríguez Góngora

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 May 2013 Santiago Germán would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to the underground station. It's clean and it has a very good breakfast. It has got a wi-fi (you have to pay) and it also has a computer room and TV Room. The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Showers are imposible to regulate the temperature, so it's always hot. You have to be fast.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyndell Towner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Lyndell would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean, great atmosphere and location.

Disliked: Lyndell left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really nice and helpfull and the property was pretty. Bar in the downstairs was a nice add!

Disliked: The room we stayed (twin ensuite) was really cold! Like, the window had no insulators at all and the wind blew right through it. So those rooms aren't really good if you travel in winter, luckily the climate wasn't really cold on our stay (May).

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique environment

Disliked: Wifi costed money

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hr reception was good, friendliest and heaps helpful staff, didnt spend a lot of time at the hostel i was mainly out, breakfast was real good too.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, tidy and warm. The reception staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel was easy to find and felt secure.

Disliked: It's not the hostel's fault, but a lot of other guests were very loud during the night and it was difficult to get any sleep. Lots of stamping up metal stairs which could be easily heard from our room.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gabor Farkas

Alone

City break

12 May 2013 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: lovely and friendly atmosphere with young staff and guests

Disliked: the rooms are underground so there is no natural light

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maximilian Brüne

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 May 2013 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: Vivid young guests and a great bar inside. Staff is very nice and supportive. Public rooms are decorated charmingly as the buildings prior use was a court.

Disliked: I would extremly advice London tourists with claustrophobia to choose another hostel. Besides the fact that our 4 male bedroom was very (!) Small, one bed was absolutely absent from any direct or indirect daylight. I was more or less fine with the toilets and showers although after a party in the bar I would not recommend using them. For what you pay, you cannot expect more to my mind.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: Our room was clean.

Disliked: There were just two toiletts and showers for a huge floor. The web page of the hostel looks copletly diffrent to the real rooms. I didnt liked the location neither.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Hack

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, excellent customer service, cheap - especially for the location! Great facilities, really impressed with the bar prices and selection, and the breakfast setup was great, lots of choice. Fantastic experience.

Disliked: The only thing I would prefer is for free lockers to be available. We were told on arrival that we had a locker but we had to provide our own padlocks for them - not something I would ordinarily carry with me so would have been nice to know in advance! The alternative was to pay for other lockers. It was also very easy to get lost in the hostel so perhaps a few more signs to help those of us who take a wrong turn! (Amazing how big that hostel really is).

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and friendly. Very multicultural.

Disliked: Was a bit noisy and didn't have that many toilets.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt safe, youthful and consistently run. The decor was fun and added to the ease of navigating the many hallways.

Disliked: The bedroom was darkly lit and the bathrooms were only moderately clean. More girls bathrooms might be helpful.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Cheap! Breakfast included

Disliked: A bit of a walk to some of the main 'touristy' locations, but London is huge so that can be forgiven.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 April 2013

Liked: Location, not too expensive. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: The place smelt a bit funny. There were no lockers in the dorm.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice kitchen, cool bar, relatively good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sabine Sprick

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and Kitchen. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Luxury room was only a mirror and towels, there was no chair or table, the space tiny because of the big suitcases, the reading light weak, the street and the pub onside loud, and it was the first time, that I must go to the reception, because we had a worker or student in the room, who used the room as a litterbag, a problem in all hostels, I guess.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meet new people

Disliked: Unhealthy breakfast

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cheap place to stay in London. Good free breakfast too.

Disliked: You have to pay for wi-fi and computers. Lame. Also, they advertise lockers but they are really just small cubbies for wallets and such, definitely cannot fit your luggage anywhere in there. Top bunks are pretty painful to climb up, but comfortable.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catia Vala

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Catia would recommend this property

Liked: All the space concept, the friendliness of the staff was great! The common areas are always cleen and the all you can eat breakfast was nice.

Disliked: Our room had a bit of dust on the walls and under the bed.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minji Son

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Minji would recommend this property

Liked: I had 3 hours left till my train ride to paris and found out i had accidentally thrown away my passport,debit card & credit card into the rubbish bin while cleaning out my backpack before checkout. All the staff were so nice and willing to help out that 3 including me fished around the plastic bags in the backyard until i found all three! They even helped me clean them too. Lots of thanks and love to the clink78 staff!

Disliked: Nothing much!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie Pickard

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find and the bar area n other areas was really good for young travelers wanting to meet new people.

Disliked: the room was a little 2 small for 6 people but was with friendly people in room so not all bad

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Julson

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Have to pay to use wifi, rooms are even smaller than you'd think.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliek Suhardjono

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Liliek would recommend this property

Liked: The room was the best room i've ever encountered during my "budget journey" so far. The breakfast was also nice. The owner, Michelle & David is a very lovely, friendly and helpful couple. At the corridor they placed a series of photograph of younger David, when he built the house himself, needless to say, he did an awesome job!

Disliked: For a lazy person like me, I have to catch the bus to reach the city centre.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: a little bit crowded when having breakfast

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels