HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 83%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note:
●Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
●If the name on your booking is different to the name on the card used to the confirm the booking, the hostel may request a copy of your ID or card for legal reasons.
● Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room from 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for guest use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
● Note that all dorms are mixed unless a girls’ dorm is booked.
● Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
● Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
● When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, the hostel cannot guarantee that guests travelling together will be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms or whole dorms if guests want to ensure they're together.
● For stag/hen parties, please contact us directly. Clink reserves the right to deny entry to anyone who has booked online and is part of such a group.
● If you wish to cancel or amend your reservation to receive a full refund you will need to notify us by email
– For the fully flexible rates: 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 48 hours before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– For the semi flexible rates: 14 days in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 14 days before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– Non-refundable rates: If cancelled, modified, or in case of a no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
– If you arrive a day or more late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.

● In the event of Force Majeure (governmental action; fire; flood; insurrection; earthquake; power failure; riot; explosion; embargo, transportation interruption of any kind; terrorist attack; acts of God…) affecting your booking, the company reserves the right to receive any outstanding payments in connection to your confirmed booking.
● A great-value buffet breakfast is available for £2.

Groups (+15 people)
● We accept groups from age 12+.
● You will be asked to pay a 20% non-refundable deposit a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival.
● One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
● If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
● If you do not inform us by email when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 83%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

Showing 81-90 of 972 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Comfortable, quiet stay with free breakfast in the morning. Also has a great location. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: Secure lockers in the dorms were not large enough for my laptop however larger lockers where provided for a small fee.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just so you know for the next time you stay with us, we can keep your laptop for you at reception for free :) no need to hire a locker.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and tidy all the time, friendly and helpful staff - as a traveller on my own, they made me feel completely at home!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels,
Jacqui

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were incredibly on top of things, even as hordes of people swarmed the desk during check-in/out times. One staff member even helped me right away when a laundry machine stole my money. I really appreciated it!The humble breakfast is also nice, and, if nothing else, you can marvel at the massive amount of toast that people can consume.

Disliked: To be honest, this was the only hostel I really disliked on my trip, which was ironic given that it was the most expensive compared to similar size rooms in other countries (but London in general is expensive).The worst thing was probably... the communal showers. I get that they want to prevent people from using too much water, especially in such a big hostel, and I thought people were just being whiny when I read about the timers in advance. But you get about 8 seconds of water, the first 3-4 of which are cold. I wouldn't have minded the timers as much if it had been about 3-5 minutes of water, but only a few seconds? And after a couple of minutes of dedication, there was no hot water at all. Having caught a bad cold on my way to London, I wanted to cry.Also, there is only WiFi in the common areas, most of which had loud music blasting over the speakers (except for the computer lounge, but either you could hear music from the lobby or someone would decide to start playing music in the only remotely quiet space in this hostel). Sometimes I just needed WiFi to figure out where I was going the next day, not as part of a social experience. Also, while I enjoy socializing and having fun in the evenings, having a party atmosphere 24/7 was too much for me. If you're looking for that, you'd be happy here. If you're looking for a place to rest, look elsewhere.


The property's response is

Hi There.Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so happy that you found the staff friendly & ready to help & that you had the time to enjoy the free breakfast. For the showers, we have put timers on them to try do our bit to help save the planet however the water should be hot for the whole time so when it is not we urge you to pop down to reception so we can get maintenance to fix it. We are currently getting free wifi installed in the rooms.
Happy travels,
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I am not your average traveller, just somebody staying down for one night from Durham so I can go on a course. I just wanted somewhere convenient, cheap and with a good reputation, not too noisy as I wanted to sleep so I booked into a four bed dorm. After working a busy week, getting up at 5am was taking its toll on me when I checked into the hostel in the early evening so it was with absolute delight that the friendly receptionist said I had been upgraded and had a 2 person dorm and I would be on my own, how did they know this is what I really wanted...sleep! The room is newly decorated, clean, quiet and all mine. Very very happy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Nicola. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your night with us. We do random free upgrades for our guests and I'm glad you were one of the lucky few :) Hopefully we will see you again! All the best - Jacqui

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 12 bed dorm had enough room. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Damp rooms, nothing dries, everything smells.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to leave 2 reviews! We really appreciate your feed back. I'm glad you found our 12 bed dorms had more space. In winter we keep the windows of the dorms closed but we can always open them for you if you need more ventilation. All the best - Jacqui

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Uniqueness

Disliked: The lack air conditioning within the room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Paul. Thanks for your great feedback! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at Clink and fully enjoyed the atmosphere! We have windows in all the rooms but we normally keep them closed in winter as it is a bit chilly, in future just pop down to reception and we will open them for you so you can enjoy the the fresh London air. All the best - Jacqui

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were comfortable, the hostel bar and common rooms.

Disliked: The room was tiny (staying in an 8 bed dorm) we had nowhere to put our bags. The room was also damp so my towel never dried. The showers were often cold and on a timer of 5 seconds.


The property's response is

Hi Cathy! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! I'm glad that you slept well and enjoyed our lovely common areas :) There is normally plenty of space under the beds to leave your bags, that way it gives you mores pace to move around. I am sorry about the showers, in future come down to reception and let us know and we will try our best to fix it as soon as possible for you. All the best - Jacqui

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's location.

Disliked: Very cramped rooms. Also, it felt like the staff were 'doing me a favour' if I asked them something by answering.


The property's response is

Hi there :) thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have to agree with you we are very lucky to have such a good location. Please feel free to contact us with more details about the staff member you felt didn't provide good customer service as we thrive on providing the best guest experience possible. All the best - Jacqui

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great facilities - kitchen is huge and well equipped, free breakfast is standard but good, bar had live music. The hostel felt secure with personal lockers and card access. Nice and clean bathrooms and showers. Fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Tiny rooms - I stayed in a 4-bed female only dorm. It was fine as the other girls were lovely and we didn't get in eachothers way, but by far the smallest hostel I have ever stayed in! Small lights above beds didn't work which were a little frustrating but completely fine.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your detailed review and awesome rating! We hope to see you again here at Clink78 :) Safe travels! Indra.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Place and athmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Anna. Thank you for leaving such a nice a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again :)
All the best - Jacqui

Check Availability