HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London

Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.11USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people.

A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ?

Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room.

We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 72%

Showing 81-90 of 358 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Some of the staff may have been overworked, but the ones at reception didn't seem all that friendly, a little bit of contempt.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your time leaving us a review. Please feel free to contact us with more details about the staff member you felt didn't provide a good customer service as we thrive on providing the best guest experience possible. Have safe travels! (Indra)

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was really good! A lot of very friendly staff. The breakfast was basic but good

Disliked: We slept in a dorm of 12 people. This was fully booked. The room was really small and the window didn't open, it was stuck. So the room was very smelly and hot. It was not clean at all. The staff took a look at it but couldn't fix it and they didn't have a spare room to give us...


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our free breakfast, found staff friendly and atmosphere pleasant. So sorry that the issue you had in the room wasn't solved fast and effective enough. Hope this didn't put you down and we will see your face again at Clink78 :) (Indra)

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms and poor lighting.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found a good value for the money you paid at Clink78. Try our "Bird's Nest" girls dorms next time, they are much brighter and sit right next to newly renovated super girly bathrooms :) Hope to see you again, safe travels!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Stayed here for a week whilst working in London. Was very comfortable and facilities were great. Was able to get a decent nights sleep, showers were hot and breakfast was free. Great location and staff are really friendly.

Disliked: The only downside was the security was a little too relaxed - and there were no lockers in the rooms. Other than this I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your review. It's always nice to hear good feedback - it's the best reward for our work :) Sorry that our security didn't meet your expectations, feel free to come to reception and express your concerns next time, we are ready to help and step up! Have safe travels, hope to see you again soon.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Shopping

Liked: Great design and fun atmosphere. The fact this this hostel is an old courthouse with cells adds to the character. The staff were very welcoming and clear on the house rules upon checking in.The hostel has everything you could want with onsite bar, lockers and storage facilities, comfortable beds and clean rooms. There is wifi in the community areas, quiet computer room and a cinema.The drinks at the bar were very reasonable prices for London, where you would expect to pay far more for a beer elsewhere!The location was great, only 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross station and easy to find.I would definitely recommend this hostel and will be back.

Disliked: The only thing that was a little awkward was the communal showers (for cell block users). There wasn't a place to put our dry clothes before stepping into the shower as it was a small cubical so I found I had to hang my towels and clothes over the door and hope they didn't get too much splash. When trying to dry myself afterwards, I found that I was getting sprayed with water from the person in the next cubical. This just meant I couldn't dry my legs, however it wasn't too much of a convenience as I just pulled my trousers up to my knees, dried the rest of myself and ran to my call in bare feet =)I recommend all hostel goers to bring along flip flops.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there, thank you for your time leaving us such an insightful review and of course - perfect rating even though you were slightly annoyed by showers :) Just to let you know - we have bunch of other showers in the building which differ in size and style, next time come to reception and ask where to find the best one that suits your needs. We hope to see you soon, have safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I stayed there once before and it was the same: a great place to stay

Disliked: The only thing I dislike about the place is the showers! But I found one that doesn't require a bunch of pushes on a button to get hot water and that was good!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for your time leaving us this awesome review. We are happy to hear that both of your stays at Clink78 were joyful, hope you will visit us again soon. Cheers!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, good location, secure hostel, free breakfasts

Disliked: Wifi was limited to downstairs

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you so much for the amazing rating! Hope to see you again soon :) Safe trips.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Breakfast was basic. Check-in was available at late night.

Disliked: Internet was only accessible at reception area. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm and there was only 1 working light in the room. There was a small lamp on each bed but not working. It was late night when me and other 2 arrived, and there was already someone sleeping. We didn't want to turn on the only light on the ceiling so we were arranging our bed and stuffs in the dark, with little light from our cellphone.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! Thank you for your feedback and rating! We are sorry to hear that the bed lights weren't working! We have a 24/7 reception to report this sort of problem and get them fixed :) As for the WiFi, it works in all common rooms: reception, Computer Room, TV Room, kitchen, dinning area and Clashbar! We hope to see you again soon and wish you safe travels!

Anna

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location, price, atmosphere, helpfilness of staff on duty

Disliked: Low lighting in my room, window wouldn't shut

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hello :)
Thanks for your great feedback! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at Clink and fully enjoyed the atmosphere! About the window, could you let us know which room have you stayed in so we can send our maintenance team to have a look on that window?
We hope to see you again shall you return to London!
Safe trips
Anna

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Rooms were tiny, smelled, lockers were minute and pointless as very easy to break into.


The property's response is

Hi there!!
Thank you for sparing some time and leaving your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us. Room sizes vary as per the shape of the building and fans can be borrowed from front desk as for the room too upon request as it can sometimes get a bit stuffy during summer season. We also have electronic lockers in our dock (computer room) to lock any valuables you wish to keep safely. We always appreciate a review and we wish you safe travels!

Check Availability