HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 81%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.82USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm

A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ?

Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room.

We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 81%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

Showing 71-80 of 266 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Comfortable, quiet stay with free breakfast in the morning. Also has a great location. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: Secure lockers in the dorms were not large enough for my laptop however larger lockers where provided for a small fee.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just so you know for the next time you stay with us, we can keep your laptop for you at reception for free :) no need to hire a locker.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and tidy all the time, friendly and helpful staff - as a traveller on my own, they made me feel completely at home!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels,
Jacqui

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were incredibly on top of things, even as hordes of people swarmed the desk during check-in/out times. One staff member even helped me right away when a laundry machine stole my money. I really appreciated it!The humble breakfast is also nice, and, if nothing else, you can marvel at the massive amount of toast that people can consume.

Disliked: To be honest, this was the only hostel I really disliked on my trip, which was ironic given that it was the most expensive compared to similar size rooms in other countries (but London in general is expensive).The worst thing was probably... the communal showers. I get that they want to prevent people from using too much water, especially in such a big hostel, and I thought people were just being whiny when I read about the timers in advance. But you get about 8 seconds of water, the first 3-4 of which are cold. I wouldn't have minded the timers as much if it had been about 3-5 minutes of water, but only a few seconds? And after a couple of minutes of dedication, there was no hot water at all. Having caught a bad cold on my way to London, I wanted to cry.Also, there is only WiFi in the common areas, most of which had loud music blasting over the speakers (except for the computer lounge, but either you could hear music from the lobby or someone would decide to start playing music in the only remotely quiet space in this hostel). Sometimes I just needed WiFi to figure out where I was going the next day, not as part of a social experience. Also, while I enjoy socializing and having fun in the evenings, having a party atmosphere 24/7 was too much for me. If you're looking for that, you'd be happy here. If you're looking for a place to rest, look elsewhere.


The property's response is

Hi There.Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so happy that you found the staff friendly & ready to help & that you had the time to enjoy the free breakfast. For the showers, we have put timers on them to try do our bit to help save the planet however the water should be hot for the whole time so when it is not we urge you to pop down to reception so we can get maintenance to fix it. We are currently getting free wifi installed in the rooms.
Happy travels,
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I am not your average traveller, just somebody staying down for one night from Durham so I can go on a course. I just wanted somewhere convenient, cheap and with a good reputation, not too noisy as I wanted to sleep so I booked into a four bed dorm. After working a busy week, getting up at 5am was taking its toll on me when I checked into the hostel in the early evening so it was with absolute delight that the friendly receptionist said I had been upgraded and had a 2 person dorm and I would be on my own, how did they know this is what I really wanted...sleep! The room is newly decorated, clean, quiet and all mine. Very very happy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Nicola. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your night with us. We do random free upgrades for our guests and I'm glad you were one of the lucky few :) Hopefully we will see you again! All the best - Jacqui

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 12 bed dorm had enough room. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Damp rooms, nothing dries, everything smells.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to leave 2 reviews! We really appreciate your feed back. I'm glad you found our 12 bed dorms had more space. In winter we keep the windows of the dorms closed but we can always open them for you if you need more ventilation. All the best - Jacqui

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Uniqueness

Disliked: The lack air conditioning within the room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Paul. Thanks for your great feedback! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at Clink and fully enjoyed the atmosphere! We have windows in all the rooms but we normally keep them closed in winter as it is a bit chilly, in future just pop down to reception and we will open them for you so you can enjoy the the fresh London air. All the best - Jacqui

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were comfortable, the hostel bar and common rooms.

Disliked: The room was tiny (staying in an 8 bed dorm) we had nowhere to put our bags. The room was also damp so my towel never dried. The showers were often cold and on a timer of 5 seconds.


The property's response is

Hi Cathy! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! I'm glad that you slept well and enjoyed our lovely common areas :) There is normally plenty of space under the beds to leave your bags, that way it gives you mores pace to move around. I am sorry about the showers, in future come down to reception and let us know and we will try our best to fix it as soon as possible for you. All the best - Jacqui

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's location.

Disliked: Very cramped rooms. Also, it felt like the staff were 'doing me a favour' if I asked them something by answering.


The property's response is

Hi there :) thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have to agree with you we are very lucky to have such a good location. Please feel free to contact us with more details about the staff member you felt didn't provide good customer service as we thrive on providing the best guest experience possible. All the best - Jacqui

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great facilities - kitchen is huge and well equipped, free breakfast is standard but good, bar had live music. The hostel felt secure with personal lockers and card access. Nice and clean bathrooms and showers. Fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Tiny rooms - I stayed in a 4-bed female only dorm. It was fine as the other girls were lovely and we didn't get in eachothers way, but by far the smallest hostel I have ever stayed in! Small lights above beds didn't work which were a little frustrating but completely fine.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your detailed review and awesome rating! We hope to see you again here at Clink78 :) Safe travels! Indra.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Place and athmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Anna. Thank you for leaving such a nice a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again :)
All the best - Jacqui

Check Availability