We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

84.0% Overall Rating

3427 out of 4009 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/12/2014)

"Stayed here for a week whilst working in London. Was very comfortable and facilities were great. Was able to get a decent nights sleep, showers were hot and breakfast was free. Great location and staff are really…"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
76.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
73.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
21.10 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
Keystone Hostel
27.51 USD

Hostel 84.1% 38 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
16.21 USD

Hostel 65.7% 646 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Fairway Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
14.61 USD

Hostel 76.3% 1729 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

3427 out of 4009 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 2373 of 3429 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 94 | 95   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica kaye

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere friendly staff

Disliked: no wifi access in the rooms

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel has a great atmosphere with plenty of people backpacking, not just groups. the staff were friendly and helpful, especially anna who took the time to make sure i could avoid changing rooms upon extending my stay. quiz night, trivia and beer pong in the bar provided a few memorable nights

Disliked: staying on the 5th floor, press button showers, always very hot inside

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dana Siens

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about Clink78!!! the staff were friendly and helpful, the entire place got cleaned everyday, the breakfast was great!! the coffee was coffee and the Clash Bar was where we had the most fun when we decided to grab a cocktail. if and when I go back to London Clink78 is the first choice for me!

Disliked: what did I dislike about the property???? nothing really, I was there for 13 day in August 2013. some people were not that friendly, but there are so many more travelers that are nice, and interested in your story as much as you are interested in theirs..

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building is quite old, which creates kind of a special atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and fun

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Brice

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2013 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, cheap. Very convenient - flew into Luton, train to st. Pancreas, and you're there!

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013

Liked: The building is cool, but that's the only good thing I have to say about this place.

Disliked: It's crowded. It's noisy. It's not very clean. The internet is absolutely terrible. I had to pay ₤3 for internet that is only available in the lobby and basement and is so slow I can't even make a skype phone call. I had a room facing King's Cross road and last night (Saturday) it was so loud it was nearly impossible to sleep. There was live music playing somewhere so close to the hostel that it was extremely disruptive. There were people yelling on the front steps below our window and all the cigarette smoke came right in our window. The free breakfast is terrible, just toast, cereal, and instant coffee. For the price, this hostel should be much better. Having a cool building in a good location doesn't make up for all the negative things. They could make this place much better with very few changes.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013

Liked: not much other than the rather unique albeit cramped beds

Disliked: Internet was costly and still terrible, the bar and kitchen are the same area, the showers were among the worst ever encountered, prisonlike atmosphere, lockers must be purchased daily at rather steep prices ensuring one does not stay long.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Martin Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good at end of last day of top deck tour.

Disliked: Small rooms, little choice for breakfast.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Maria Penaloza

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013

Liked: It was clean and secure.

Disliked: Super tiny rooms. Not AC in the Summer. They charged for wifi.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matt Eunson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Clink78 is located less than 10 minutes away from Kings Cross St Pancras, which made exploring the city very easy. The included breakfast was also very good.

Disliked: The rooms are very small and quite poorly ventilated.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Giovanni Zaniol

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 August 2013

Liked: Goog cleanliness, helpful staff.

Disliked: I don't think it is so good as it is described. I found it always very crowded and with small spaces, and you have to pay extras for wifi and lockers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly

Disliked: Not enough sockets in the dorm rooms to plug in mobile phones and other things. Only 4 sockets in a room for 12 girls.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character but with a modern vibe, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: loads of people smoking on the entrance steps - unpleasant to have to walk through

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KEITH LUKE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 KEITH would recommend this property

Liked: This is the second time I have stayed here and I will stay again. good value for the money and in a good area.

Disliked: KEITH left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Karl Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013

Liked: Breakfast and bar.

Disliked: Showers and location.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good, the buses run all night and several stop close by so transport was never a problem. Also close to the northern city attractions like Camden town markets. Clean property and great value!

Disliked: Although there was a tours desk, in terms of activities and staff informing you of things to do, there was nothing. Also, it's a really big hostel, so info desk is often very busy and there is definitely no sense of community.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 July 2013

Liked: Cool building, showers fine, safe

Disliked: 3 pound charge for wifi, wifi only works in one room, pay by the half hour to use desktop comps, no AC, kitchen staff was super rude to a girl trying to get breakfast five mins early so she could go to work, very young crowd 18-22 ish, very bro-y, location kind of sucked- far from everything, overall just kind of corporate and shitty- stay at The Phoenix instead

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrea Orlandi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 July 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The guy on reception was very helpful, very nice breakfast and very clean shared bathrooms.

Disliked: There aren't free Wi-Fi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randolph |Reynolds

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Randolph would recommend this property

Liked: Good location..great, hard working staff..good service, kitchen and bar..very busy not for the seekers of quiet but very exciting

Disliked: Randolph left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Neenan

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 July 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. There is also a nice atmosphere, it's well decorated and the breakfast is above average.

Disliked: Internet access is not free. The room (a 2 person cell) was much too hot and had no ventilation at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janene Cherry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Janene would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great! The staff was helpful and informative! I will stay again next time.

Disliked: Janene left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Miriam Price

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: great way to meet new people , good wifi and good facilities such as the bar, the kitchen, the luggage room and numerous bathrooms! the lifts were out of order and I even had multiple staff offer to help me carry my bags to my room!

Disliked: showers were annoying to function, I stayed and it was pretty warm (no air conditioning in rooms$

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Aaron Hayward

Alone

City break

19 July 2013

Liked: Good location. Atmosphere good.

Disliked: Very hot room no air-conditioned or fans in room. No power in plug sockets when got to room- complained 3 times to staff before anything was done about this! Wi-Fi not free!! Lift out of service for 2 days so had to climb 5 flights of stairs. T-Shirt was stolen from hostel room.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hsiao-Mei Chiu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013

Liked: location is near the train station

Disliked: different description from the website. people should have right to know the size of the room... on website, it shows there has curtain for each bed but actually no.. for the hot weather in london, there is no air condition and only one small window in the room. it's hard too sleep within such surrounding.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels