HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

86.3% Overall Rating

3403 out of 3984 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

"The hostel was overall good. Good shower facilities, breakfast etc. You get what you pay for. The staff are nice and friendly."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
78.26 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
86.13 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
21.57 USD

Hostel 79.5% 950 reviews
Keystone Hostel
48.12 USD

Hostel 85.3% 37 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
18.24 USD

Hostel 67.1% 642 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
48.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.24 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Fairway Hotel
38.17 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

3403 out of 3984 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 2361 of 3404 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 94 | 95   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building, the staff, the facilities, everyhting!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, in a convenient place and gave me somewhere to store luggage the next day

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Guedia

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: Everything :)

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, no stress for a quick night away

Disliked: Lack of secure baggage areas in rooms ie lockers

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the facilities and the friendly staff a lot.

Disliked: The room I stayed in had one little window which isn't obvious when booking. If you then add the very small (and no, it's not "cosy" ;) ) rooms, I think the rooms are overprized.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool character to the place, and the location was really close to King's Cross.

Disliked: Didn't like that the WiFi wasn't free.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gilbert kelly

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 gilbert would recommend this property

Liked: character and ambiance

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013

Liked: The common area was nice. Also the computer room and the reception had some atmosphere.

Disliked: First of all, the room cleaner cleaned my bed 3 nights in a row. I was staying in the same bed for 6 nights and they kept cleaning my bed everyday so I had to put sheet on the bed everyday. Also I left my pj on the bed but that was also thrown away and never found it. It was happening to other people in my room too. Some girl left laptop, headphone and chargers on her bed and the bed was cleaned and these items were put randomly on other beds. Also the beds are not like usual bunk beds. It is just separated with some board and the next person can easily reach you. The guy sleeping next to me actually tried to search my bag to steal stuff in the middle of the night and I had to tell him not to. (such scary experience) I never felt safe at this hostel. Even though there is a guard at entrance, anyone could just enter randomly. Some guy even lost towel and another guy an iphone. What is wrong? The guys at the reception were quite friendly and helpful but thoese problem need to be solved.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are ok, showers and toilets were always clean and there was plenty to use. Not as noisy as reported in previous comments, but I'd recommend bringing your earplugs if you want to have a good night sleep anyway (noise from the street etc)...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KU-WEN LEE

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 October 2013 KU-WEN would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: KU-WEN left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas and kitchen were great.

Disliked: Internet was £3 and still slow with limited coverage.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Franzen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Big and colorful hostel in the center of London. Staff was friendly and helpful, they let me change beds as my bed didn't have a power socket nearby. The beds were seperated by "walls", so you had your own private space. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: Some of the rooms need a little renovation (paint coming off the walls etc). There were no power sockets in the shower room, so you had to use your hairdryer in your room or in the hallway (thereby waking up people who were still asleep)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Grubb

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Beds too close together

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2013

Liked: Staffs are very helpfull but it's not enough for this horrible hostel.

Disliked: There is nothing good about this hostel. If we talk about value and quality, absolutely disappointment. Beds, rooms, bathrooms, rules etc. all. I am not recommended to any traveller.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Prohibition of smoking and alcohol in the rooms. I like no booking fee.

Disliked: Rooms are rather too small, in some cases too cold.It does not appear the bath was clean very often.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013

Liked: Great if you want to spend your time in London drinking inside of a hostel. The staff was very helpful and courteous.

Disliked: Horrible if you want to try and sleep any more than a couple hours per night. The "Clashbar" is very loud, and made falling asleep quite difficult. Additionally, although the prices are cheap, they tend to charge you small fees for this and that. 3 pounds for the "free" wifi, several pounds per hour to use an automatic locker, 2 pounds for a towel, etc.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very cool hostel.the atmosphere was amazing,the staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and big enough.the area had a lot of restaurants and it seemed pretty safe.

Disliked: It's not THAT close to King's Ross(about 10-15 minutes by foot).that's not a very big problem since anyways it's pretty close,but not when you have a lot of lugggages as in my case.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Paul

Alone

City break

13 October 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Met a ton of really cool people, everyone was friendly, and the breakfast was really good!

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013

Liked: Enjoyable time at the bar, okay location by kings cross and cool building inside and out.

Disliked: Do not stay here if you want sleep unless you're in a cell. Hostel is noisy as hell and I didn't sleep more than 2 hours both nights. Despite notices being posted about being courteous past 11 and having a security guard, nothing was ever done about people talking outside. Room window faced the road and was not soundproof at all even closed, terrible noise. Heard multiple stories of things being stolen or broken while there. Some of it may be due to travelers not being careful (someone left their laptop in the open in my room) but it still shouldn't happen that often. Lockers are essentially nonexistent in rooms, you get a small one above your bed but it won't hold anything but small valuables. Paid lockers in the common room which is not only annoying (already paying £30 a night and they want £3 a day for a locker that's not even near my room) but terribly inconvenient. Also wifi has a £3 "connection charge" which isn't mentioned until you're there, and the wifi only in common rooms only makes the stay more annoying if you want to work on your own. Lastly I was on a top bunk and as far as I could tell there was one outlet in the room I could use next to the door. Do not plan on staying again. Better off getting a good place to stay and going on a pub crawl anyway.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Parties

Disliked: Shared rooms

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniela Say

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs is pretty cool and is always busy.

Disliked: This is a hugee hostel and hence staff dont have too much time for you, although theyre very helpful if you need anything. Unfortunately you need to pay for internet and wifi here. In addition the hostel takes huge tour and school groups too so this makes things a bit hard to meet people. The rooms are also very full and there isnt much space to store your big bags.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: so dirty

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels