HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London

Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.09USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people.

A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ?

Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room.

We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 72%

Showing 51-60 of 353 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great place to stay and interact, and although the capita per room is quite high the bed designs are great to maximise privateness

Disliked: Nothing that could have been helped but we were in beds next to the Main Street which proved quite loud but that's the only thing I can say in a negative light

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and just so you know for next time we do have free ear plugs at reception :)

Happy travels,
Jacqui

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The common area was nice with a spacious and clean kitchen. The free breakfast is really well organized. The dorm was really small but I found the bed very comfy, large and it gave you some sense of privacy. Staff was nice and really accomodating when I asked them a favour because of a problem I had.

Disliked: The dorm scared me at first because there was no space for luggage or for hanging clothes so everyone's stuff were all over the place. This also made the floor kind of dirty because there were many empty bottles, food wraps and other trash lying down. Also I did a laundry, it cost me 6£ and my clothes were still very smelly and stained afterwards! The lift seems to have been out of service for ages so if you stay on the 5th you might feel tired walking up and down the stairs!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our common areas & the breakfast. I am glad you found reception willing to help make your stay more pleasant. I am sorry about your dorm being messy, if you pop down to reception we can get housekeeping to give the room a clean sweep. With regards to the washing machines, unfortunately sometimes they feel like having an off day, so if you let us know we can refund you & get it fixed. Happy travels:) Jax

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, safe, good staff and facilities.

Disliked: Nothing in particular would have been useful to have ovens in the kitchen or at least for it to be more clear that they didnt before arival.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jess

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review

We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and I am sorry that you were surprised with there not being any ovens, we have not had many complaints about this but it is something we can look into.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jacqui

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The whole atmosphere of the hostel is great, lots of young people hanging around. The staff was really friendly, especially the guy that checked me in. The location was great as I was able to walk from Westminster to it after I was finished sightseeing. The bathrooms and rooms were clean and neat, nice linen as well. I liked the huge kitchen were you could prepare food, the dock with computer access and the free city tour pick - up in the lobby.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit small, there's not really room for luggage. The lift was broken and I was on the top floor. I don't really mind stairs but the first day with the luggage was quite tough. The wifi doesn't work in the top rooms so I had to go down to use it. The breakfast can also be a bit more substantial, maybe with yoghurt or cheese- anything proteiny for your bread or cereal.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Sone, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere while you were here as well at the common areas and the free walking tour. We are currently in the process of installing wifi into all the rooms and I am sorry about the broken lift. If you ask at reception we are more than happy to carry your bags up for you. We hope to see you again :)

Happy travels,
Jacqui

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice and comfortable, near to the City, bus stop direct in front oft the hostel, 5 minutes walk to underground station

Disliked: Nothing negative to mention, please have in mind you're not at the Waldorf !

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Safe travels,
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: We got upgraded to a private room, that was great!The staff working in the breakfast room were so attentive and fast, there was never a lack of anything and every spill was cleaned up instantly, so even with the place full it was nice!

Disliked: It would be nice to have hooks and a chair in the private room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We do random upgrades for our guests so I am pleased that you were one of the few who got lucky. Our maintenance team is currently in the process of repainting and redecorating all our rooms so in the future there will be better facilities in the rooms :)

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Jacqui

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: King's Cross is a good place to start and you find basic needs just from there. It is nicely middle thinking about train and underground moving.

Disliked: Very noisy, glad I was so tired... Reception is so noisy that you can't hear what people are saying. Breakfast --- They could offer better maybe like a pound or two? There were no First aid package. My bed was upper bed and my things dropped between wall and bed to underbed. There were lights on, because people had a light in their bed, but those did not worked. Showers were terrible, water everywhere and no place to put your things.


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

I am sorry you didn't fully enjoy your time with us, we are currently in the process of renovating our showers as well as our rooms to make our guests stay more pleasant. We have a First Aid Kit at reception as it is required by law for us to have one.

We hope you have better travel experiences in the future,
Jacqui

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: localisation was good

Disliked: sharing room with other people, you never know else is staying in your room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our excellent location, it does make travelling around London easy. And I do hope that the other guests in your dorm were pleasant!

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Jacqui

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good value for money, really nice staff, good atmosphere. And free breakfast obviously always a plus!

Disliked: The showers were a bit funny and changed from hot to cold so that was frustrating.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so pleased that you had a good time during your stay here and you will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of renovating our showers!

We hope to see you again in the near future,
Jacqui

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to Kings Cross. Bar downstairs was vibing

Disliked: Beds are very close together but that's any hostel for you really

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to check out our bar downstairs.

We hope to see you again soon,
Jacqui

Check Availability