We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

76.2% Overall Rating

3511 out of 4110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
73.44 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews
Keystone Hostel
31.14 USD

Hostel 75.9% 59 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
32.68 USD

Hostel 80.6% 674 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
57.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Fairway Hotel
56.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 5 reviews
Smart Russell Square Hostel
21.78 USD

Hostel 79.8% 1766 reviews
Generator London
29.59 USD

Hostel 89.8% 4195 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

3511 out of 4110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 2428 of 3530 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 97 | 98   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place was great.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly atmosphere!

Disliked: I disliked the first night next to the bar, the basedrum didn't let me close an eye and my heart bumpt in the rhythm of the loud music, but the stuff helped us to get a better room!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good price for London, and the free breakfast was a bonus! An excellent atmosphere if you want to meet other travellers.

Disliked: There were only two female showers on my floor, which made things a little difficult. Also, an extremely rowdy group of school children were racing along the corridor for a few hours, which I know will obviously not happen all the time, but it was frustrating that they were there in the first place.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014

Liked: It's clean and relatively cheap for London accommodations

Disliked: There are maybe 100 people under the age of 18 here (maybe even under 16) and this made me feel extraordinarily uncomfortable. It may be a school group but as a result it was very uncomfortable

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KATARINA DROBNA

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 KATARINA would recommend this property

Liked: clean room and good atmosphere

Disliked: room was really smal :) for 3 people like 2x3m with bathroom

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmospher,cleanliness and good facilities.

Disliked: Some youngseres were noisy at night.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Callum Swansborough

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Not too far from King's Cross station, but the walk after a long day can take forever.

Disliked: Too warm, at least our triple room was. Far too stuffy and the window only opened a tiny little bit. The showers were a bit of a let down, and the toilets weren't too great - no hand driers or towels. The dining room gets very crowded in the mornings - get up early if you want a semi-relaxed breakfast, or even a seat!!

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014

Liked: Clean enough, nice staff.

Disliked: We were tricked in to paying for towels, and 12 people were shoved in a very small room. I also would have liked a bigger locker that would have fit all of my belongings instead of the overhead locker on my bead.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My first hostel experience at Clink 78 was a positive one. Overall it had a great feel to it, there was lots of space in the 6 bed female dorm and the free line, pillow and breakfast (included in room price) was awesome! It was easy to find from kings cross station and it was only a short walk! There are lots of bathrooms which is really handy and hot showers! If I come back to the area I will be staying with these guys again!

Disliked: I did feel as if there was a lot of younger people that stayed at this hostel..

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaspreet Kandola

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Jaspreet would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the modern layout; lovely dining area and bar. I stayed in both a 12 girl delux room and a 4 person girl room; the delux room was good but would have been better if there had been hooks etc. The cleanliness was great; never been to such a clean hostel. Loads of toilets and shower areas too. Would definately stay again, I was alone this time- think I would make use of the bar had I been travelling with others!

Disliked: The rooms were small but this is to be expected as it is an old building.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to transport and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: When I stayed there were a lot of groups staying over, and were very noisy and loud and had small parties everywhere.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Balazs Santa

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Balazs would recommend this property

Liked: All together cool. TV courtroom. Prison cells and great breakfast. Nice staff.

Disliked: None.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and the beds were well-designed. The bar had a good atmosphere and decent prices.

Disliked: The toilets are very small. Your legs are pressed against the feminine hygiene bin when you're seated.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diabe Diabira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Diabe would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast ,it was very clean!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

03 April 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms, cleanliness, prices

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shana king

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Shana would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and close location to kings cross meant we were central to everything. Breakfast hall was really cool as well, as was self service so thereforeall you can eat. The ability to book private rooms was amazing, as gave me a sense of security and privacy that I have never found in any other hostel.

Disliked: On the second night our key cards had to be reactivated at reception. In a triple room there was only mugs for 2.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location indeed.

Disliked: Poor wifi.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and always up for a chat! They were also knowledgable about trains and location of nearby facilities. The bar is great, cheap drinks and awesome cocktails with nightly specials and games/entertainment etc. Tv room and other social areas are great. Free wifi to!

Disliked: Showers (in the birdsnest dorms at least) are lacking severely. If you're a fan of a nice warm, consistant, relatively clean shower they're not for you. I can't speak for other floors or rooms though.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

TRISH HILL

As a family with children

Business / conference

11 March 2014 TRISH would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, diversity and friendly staff.

Disliked: not enough secure locker storage, lights above bed not working, important that they do in a shared dorm, otherwise people tend to leave the main light on all night, makes it difficult for others to sleep

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very lively late at night, on -1 level so away from a lot of the rooms

Disliked: crazy pod beds in the room

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, central

Disliked: Rooms looked a little tired but no real complaints

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carla Van Der Staay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: The Clink had a great internet/computer room, the bar downstairs was fun and the drinks were cheap! It was clean, had a great atmosphere and the location is pretty central, very close to Kings Cross station so getting everywhere is easy if you want to use the tube.

Disliked: The rooms were tiny so there isn't a huge amount of room for your backpacks/suitcases, the bunk beds were pushed together so even though there was a slight wall connected to each bed it felt like you were sleeping next to someone.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the character of the place as it was a jail house type setting and the staff were really helpful.

Disliked: It was not very clean and quite messy, especially in mixed dorms and it was very hot with no air con.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cathrine sæther

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Cathrine would recommend this property

Liked: Cool prisson themed hostel. We lived in the cells, which was kinda fun. The hostel has a lot of comunal areas and a bar/club in the basement. Overall a good hostel, but probably a better fit for the younger crowd (25 and down).

Disliked: Nothing I can think of. Maybe a bit expensive, but what isn't in London..

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAHAE BARK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 DAHAE would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and quiet. Despite of the bar, the room was very quiet. And staff of clink78 is very very kind. I think it was lucky to stay here.

Disliked: The room was cold at night.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels