HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 73%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note:
●Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
●If the name on your booking is different to the name on the card used to the confirm the booking, the hostel may request a copy of your ID or card for legal reasons.
● Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room from 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for guest use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
● Note that all dorms are mixed unless a girls’ dorm is booked.
● Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
● Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
● When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, the hostel cannot guarantee that guests travelling together will be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms or whole dorms if guests want to ensure they're together.
● For stag/hen parties, please contact us directly. Clink reserves the right to deny entry to anyone who has booked online and is part of such a group.
● If you wish to cancel or amend your reservation to receive a full refund you will need to notify us by email
– For the fully flexible rates: 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 48 hours before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– For the semi flexible rates: 14 days in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 14 days before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– Non-refundable rates: If cancelled, modified, or in case of a no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
– If you arrive a day or more late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.

● In the event of Force Majeure (governmental action; fire; flood; insurrection; earthquake; power failure; riot; explosion; embargo, transportation interruption of any kind; terrorist attack; acts of God…) affecting your booking, the company reserves the right to receive any outstanding payments in connection to your confirmed booking.
● A great-value buffet breakfast is available for £2.

Groups (+15 people)
● We accept groups from age 12+.
● You will be asked to pay a 20% non-refundable deposit a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival.
● One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
● If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
● If you do not inform us by email when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 73%

Showing 51-60 of 973 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very fun environment

Disliked: Very expensive for not too great amenities

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for leaving a review for us, we appreciate your feedback!

We are so glad you enjoyed the fun environment and atmosphere that we have and I am sorry that you found it expensive however during Summer the prices do increase.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice hostel, definately will lodge again. breakfasts were very nice, and there's big flat block between each beds. Staffs were very friendly also.

Disliked: there was a very smelly man right next to my bed but it's not hostel's fault.....oh and the elevater was temporaily stoped so me and my family had to bring our luguges by ourselves from top floor(4 or 5 I guess) which was pretty hard from morning.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast and the location is pretty good

Disliked: The rooms are super crowded and the bathrooms and showers were a little bad


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review :)

We are so glad that you enjoyed the free breakfast and made use of our excellent location and unfortunately in summer we are very busy so the rooms are almost always full however if you are ever unhappy with your room please pop down to reception and have a chat with us, we can move you to a different room or upgrade you if we have the space.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor service when asked for help finding things or recommendations. In the bar there were people who were obviously beyond drunk and should not have been served.


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

We are so glad that you made full use of our great location! I am so sorry that you received poor service with regards to recommendations, do you remember anything about the person that you asked? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

We wish you many happy travels,
Jacqui

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and the great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing to complain, just that the lift was broken in the last day of stay and we had to use the stairs to reach our room in the third floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello traveller :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and had time to make the most of the breakfast. We are sorry about any inconvenience the lift caused you and we hope to see you again!

Happy travels!
Jacqui

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Helpful and super friendly staffGreat locationGood breakfast

Disliked: No locked lockers in shared dorms. £3 pounds per day for save little locker outside the rooms. Showers smelled like urine. Too few toilets and people urinate there?4 person shared room was in the basement with one small window. No light from window and dark brown walls made the room the most depressive and expensive hostel room I have ever stayed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are super happy to hear that you have enjoyed our free breakfast and found the staff friendly. Sorry that the room you were staying in didn't meet your expectations, we have receptions staff ready to help 24/7. Please note that £3 is the price you pay for a big locker where you can fit large suitcase, smaller lockers are cheaper, there are also medium sized free lockers around the building - just pop your own padlock on. Safe trips! Indra

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Interesting building, central, friendly staff, luggage room, etc.

Disliked: The showers are a pain.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your feedback and great rating! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78. Have amazing future trips :) Indra

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The bed was so comfortable - best night's sleep in a long time.

Disliked: Reception staff seem a bit fed up with us non-Londoners.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review

We are so glad that you found the beds comfortable and I am sorry that you got that impression from reception as most of our staff are from all over the world. If you could give me some more details about the staff member that you were dealing with it would be greatly appreciated.

Happy travels,
Jacqui

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good atmosphere for meeting people, the theatre and movie showings is pretty cool. Overall pretty sweet hostel and is close to King's Cross which is very useful for inter-city trains, especially to store luggage for the day after check out.

Disliked: There was no personal bag lock or locker in the rooms, only thing I would have liked.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us add you are right, our location makes it very easy to get around London. There are small lockers at the head of the bed, it can fit small valuables etc. Just so you know for next time :)

Happy Travels,
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location - great and helpful staff - dorm bunk beds were not separated but instead like two levels of beds with little walls separating you - small just a heads up. Great atmosphere - the bar and dining area were great for meeting other travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability