We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

76.3% Overall Rating

3512 out of 4111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
73.64 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
20.30 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews
Keystone Hostel
32.01 USD

Hostel 75.9% 59 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
23.41 USD

Hostel 80.6% 674 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
46.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Fairway Hotel
56.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
Smart Russell Square Hostel
20.28 USD

Hostel 80.3% 1768 reviews
Generator London
35.92 USD

Hostel 91.7% 4197 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

3512 out of 4111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 2428 of 3531 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 97 | 98   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice common areas, especially the bar, great bar and easy to meet new people! Great looking building. Good breakfast. Nightlight and small locker for every bed. Rooms a bit small. Showers were warm but the water went everywhere except for down on your body. Wifi free but unstable and slow. Located 10 min from kings cross station. The travel shop can give good advice about things to do

Disliked: The girl who did our check-in was OK, but cold. On Saturday, one of the staff members told us all about the options for nightlife, which was cool, but unfortunately seemed not true when we arrived at the club (it was much more expensive than he told us). I called the hostel to ask what was going good on, and the same gire who checked us in answered. She was a complete bitch!!!! She refused to help and even said she was gonna hang up the phone.I was absolutely flabbergasted by this. Fortunately, someone from a pub crawl at the club went above and beyond to help us and we ended up getting in for free!! But at that point my party mood was ruined. I still rated staff "average", but that's only because the rest of the staff (especially the bar staff) was really nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Hall

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel with a buzzy atmosphere. If u are in London for a good time then stay here. The staff are very friendly and gave good tops on the best places in town.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: horrible ventilation for the dorms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bonnie Braun

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, comfy and clean rooms, super friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location. Can't get any better!

Disliked: Bonnie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. Staff was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Never stayed at a hostel before so I can't compare or judge really, but I would not stay in a place like that for more than 1 night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome and the bar downstairs was fantastic! Cheap drinks and great music! Everyone was havingiso much fun!!!!!! The travel shop there gives you discounts on a lot of tours etc.

Disliked: I disliked that I didn't spend longer there. It was sooo good!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to public transportation, cleanliness, and god breakfast. The hostel travel shop was also very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms staff and general feel of the hostel

Disliked: Nothing to dislike one of the best hostels in London Ive stayed in

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremy Moseley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. A bar on site makes it easy to mingle with fellow backpackers.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit underwhelming (toast and rice crispies), and I felt the bar was over priced.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Fong

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Can socialise with people from all over the world, the beds are comfy, showers and toilets are clean, everyone was very nice.

Disliked: I heard from my friends who lived in the 16 bed dorm room that it was very smelly and noisy.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arun Benny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Arun would recommend this property

Liked: Cool

Disliked: The 6 bed room that we got was bit crammed.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zu'An Chong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Zu'An would recommend this property

Liked: The service provided and condition of the hostel largely exceeded the price for a night's stay, good job!

Disliked: I've encountered 2 problems during my one night stay in a 16 bed room in Clink78: 1) There wasn't a power socket for each bed. I understand that it is impossible to provide a power socket for everyone from the main power line. A cheap and simple solution would be to provide an extension socket, which should be screwed into the wall to prevent people from stealing/moving the extension socket. 2) Snoring from a certain traveler was a huge problem for me (and the rest of the travelers who were in the same room as me)! We came to Clink78 to have a good night's rest, and would really appreciate it if we were not woken up every few hours with intense snoring. A solution to this is to sell/provide anti snoring devices (there are many varieties available). It may be embarrassing for that one traveler, but you will be benefiting the other 15 of us.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jessica Westell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cool bar downstairs, free breakfast

Disliked: The showers- they're on auto timer for literally 4 seconds, and you have to keep pushing the button to restart the shower. No wifi in rooms, only main lobby and kitchen area.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajesh Parmar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Rajesh would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place in average budget. Nest and clean place

Disliked: NA

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lisa Kenny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, as well as being secure at night having to use your swipe cards to get in.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. Had good fun..

Disliked: Very small locker. No seating in room or elsewhere. Breakfast included should be more than white bread ad cornflakes..

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Atmosphere and it's characters that make it "funny" to staying here

Disliked: The main problem is lighting in the room. Room is very dark and non accessible to some facilities, need to using torch for looking something in the dark also the safety box was small and in the wrong place. Accessible was very hard

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: The location was very good.

Disliked: There were no lockers or anything to put your stuff in in the room. You just had to leave it and hope no one took anything. The room also smelled like feet. It was fine because I wasn't in the room much but overall wasn't one of my favorite hostels I've ever stayed in.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Roy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: It is near KIng's Cross Station and St. Pancras International Station. The hostel is clean. I came to this hostel after leaving another hostel early because of bedbugs.

Disliked: They don't let guests check in until 2:30 in the afternoon.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful for students, not but for adults

Disliked: common room needs more desks & chairs

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tobias Katzenberger

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, good kitchen

Disliked: you can not open the windows completely, so there is a very bad air in the room ( 12 beds )

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place and the staff is amazing

Disliked: The bed was very noisy and they charge more money for more towels

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Russhaun Roach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Russhaun would recommend this property

Liked: The people who stay here are awsome

Disliked: It's always booked renewing is hard

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the opportunity of having a fridge and a kitchen to cook for ourselves! This is a very big plus! And the hostel had big showers and nice leisure rooms.

Disliked: The toilets are a bit too small and some were dirty.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

INGRID MELONI

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 INGRID would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels