HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 86%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.13USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people.

A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ?

Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room.

We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 86%

Value 74%

Showing 41-50 of 294 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and the great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing to complain, just that the lift was broken in the last day of stay and we had to use the stairs to reach our room in the third floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello traveller :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and had time to make the most of the breakfast. We are sorry about any inconvenience the lift caused you and we hope to see you again!

Happy travels!
Jacqui

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Helpful and super friendly staffGreat locationGood breakfast

Disliked: No locked lockers in shared dorms. £3 pounds per day for save little locker outside the rooms. Showers smelled like urine. Too few toilets and people urinate there?4 person shared room was in the basement with one small window. No light from window and dark brown walls made the room the most depressive and expensive hostel room I have ever stayed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are super happy to hear that you have enjoyed our free breakfast and found the staff friendly. Sorry that the room you were staying in didn't meet your expectations, we have receptions staff ready to help 24/7. Please note that £3 is the price you pay for a big locker where you can fit large suitcase, smaller lockers are cheaper, there are also medium sized free lockers around the building - just pop your own padlock on. Safe trips! Indra

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Interesting building, central, friendly staff, luggage room, etc.

Disliked: The showers are a pain.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your feedback and great rating! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78. Have amazing future trips :) Indra

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The bed was so comfortable - best night's sleep in a long time.

Disliked: Reception staff seem a bit fed up with us non-Londoners.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review

We are so glad that you found the beds comfortable and I am sorry that you got that impression from reception as most of our staff are from all over the world. If you could give me some more details about the staff member that you were dealing with it would be greatly appreciated.

Happy travels,
Jacqui

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good atmosphere for meeting people, the theatre and movie showings is pretty cool. Overall pretty sweet hostel and is close to King's Cross which is very useful for inter-city trains, especially to store luggage for the day after check out.

Disliked: There was no personal bag lock or locker in the rooms, only thing I would have liked.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us add you are right, our location makes it very easy to get around London. There are small lockers at the head of the bed, it can fit small valuables etc. Just so you know for next time :)

Happy Travels,
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location - great and helpful staff - dorm bunk beds were not separated but instead like two levels of beds with little walls separating you - small just a heads up. Great atmosphere - the bar and dining area were great for meeting other travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location, and the vibe around the place made it an entertaining prospect, especially with the bar attracting many like-minded travellers.

Disliked: Tiny nature of the rooms, fit as many beds into as small a space as possible.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: During one stay I stayed in a girls-only dorm on the 3rd floor which was lovely and quiet. My most recent stay was in a mixed 12-bed dorm on the top floor which faced out to the city so was pretty loud all night. However the beds are comfortable, the sheets and rooms are clean, and the partitions between the beds are fantastic. The staff is very helpful and efficient, the court TV room is hilarious (you MUST go in if you're staying there!), the bar is pretty good, and the inclusion of a basic free breakfast is great.

Disliked: Because of the partitions, more beds are crammed into the rooms than there would be otherwise. However it's not actually as bad as it sounds. The bathroom facilities are minimal for the number of people but are at least clean and functional. Try and get a bottom bunk - the ladders on the beds are a pain in the backside...or rather a pain in the feet. And most importantly, the 'lockers' over the beds are TINY and unlikely to hold anything you actually want to store. There are some lockers downstairs but you have to bring your own padlock, and all lockers were full when I stayed there.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: EVERYTHING!

Disliked: NOTHING.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was great and it was convenient location to saddlers wells theatre.

Disliked: Wifi was not connected in rooms, only in common areas

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability