HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

83.2% Overall Rating

3420 out of 4001 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"I really liked the big dorm rooms, the beds were really comfortable and clean.the staff was always friendly and ready to help you. It was a great stay here, I would come back anytime!"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
76.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
84.23 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
36.51 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
Keystone Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 85.3% 37 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
29.20 USD

Hostel 65.7% 646 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
51.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Fairway Hotel
60.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
14.61 USD

Hostel 74.3% 1725 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

3420 out of 4001 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 2367 of 3421 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 94 | 95   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Amy Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013

Liked: Staff were helpful

Disliked: Our room was tiny, there was definitely not space even for two in our four person room. Ventilation was incredibly poor, windows would not open and hence the room was disgustingly humid, leading to my clothes and bedsheets becoming damp. Showers were gross and unisex, which I felt uncomfortable with. Wifi was outrageously slow. Hostel was obviously overcrowded, and we were woken up numerous times by rowdy travellers, despite being promised quiet after 11pm. Overall, a disappointing experience for my friend and I, who were looking for a safe, clean, nice place to stay.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: nothing really apart from the bar not opening till night

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Richard Scagell

Alone

Business / conference

24 December 2013

Liked: Good location near public transport

Disliked: constant noise late at night

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, travel information readily on hand.

Disliked: Rooms a bit small, hot and stuffy.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fairly good, reasonably close to the King's Cross underground station. The free breakfast was simple (cereal, toast) but fine, though the kitchen is too small for the amount of people there if you want to cook. The atmosphere was cool and I liked the court room. Dorm room felt safe but no lockers. Good place to meet people, and my room was far enough from the basement bar to not be kept up by music which was good.

Disliked: Directly outside my room was a bright street light, but it was bearable. Both nights it was quite noisy outside on the street - a man shouting really loudly for ages, and then the next night there were strong winds and the window rattled loudly all night. There wasn't toilet paper one morning, there weren't enough showers and I didn't get wifi in my room, but all in all these things aren't bad in comparison to a lot of places I've stayed in.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's unique design and character.

Disliked: Wifi is only available in the reception and common room.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very organized and beautiful atmosphere. I really enjoyed it and it was one of the best hostels I have visited.

Disliked: The reception confused the days and somebody got my friend's bed. At the end my friend had to move in a new room. Perhaps they should be more careful about that...

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, very beautiful common rooms. There are also a few nice pubs/bars around and everything else is in close proximity to King's Cross Station.

Disliked: The toilets/bathrooms were not very clean and looked rather dilapidated, although they were cleaned daily.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: A bit cramped and small

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

pollyanna smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 pollyanna would recommend this property

Liked: It could have been cleaner however the atmosphere was really good and the people were lovely

Disliked: No wifi in rooms . Rooms were hot and a little small

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -> really nice and friendly staff with good ideas for having a great time. -> Toilets and Showers okay for a hostel with this size. -> Breakfast is simple, but totally okay (Toast, jam, honey, every second day cheese or nutella, different cereals, coffee, tea, milk, water, orange juice) -> clean beds and bed linen -> 24h reception

Disliked: You really have to do something with you windows...it´s very hard to open them and so they get mouldy. Not nice to sleep next to this clammy glass...

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013

Liked: The bar was good and cheap and the breakfast was on a good standard for a hostel.

Disliked: The bedroom was small, dark, dirty, noisy. No mirror or basin. No space for luggage

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, working hours of the reception is awesome. There is always someone around to help you.

Disliked: The showers have problem with hot water. Some times I had to shower with ice cold water. There is a security problem with the luggage room. Basicaly anyone can come and get the keycard for the luggage room and steal something.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: Room is so damp and smells

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. Had a nice feel to it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 December 2013

Liked: location is good, 15 min walking distance from tude station; breakfast is ok, good enough for a 'free' style.

Disliked: we stay in a private room for 2, which has a private bathroom. well, the bathroom is leaking after shower, the whole area of the bathroom is full of water, which you can find no place to put your foot in. and the room is a bit cold, with no chair or table, we can only sit on the ground which is super cold in such season. in view of its price charged for a private room, it is not recommended at all.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and relaxd atmosphers, a comfortable bed and the location

Disliked: It's a bit of a hike from the tube, but it was quite easy to find, so it's not a big "dislike"

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Robert-Gaudette

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff, clean rooms and nice dorms, computers available, kitchen open for the guests! I would recommenc this hostel to anyone, anytime!

Disliked: Wifi is not free of charge but I think 3£/ stay is very reasonnable

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bom pequeno almoço, staff simpático

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claudia Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location of the hostel and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The other travellers weren´t friendly and the atmosphere wasn´t the best. The locker is too small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Vaz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

28 November 2013 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: good rooms, very good spirit at a good price.

Disliked: nothing at all.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

trista campbell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 trista would recommend this property

Liked: Funky vibe, bar downstairs plays amazing tunes! Bar staff are extremely friendly and make an effort to get to know you ;) beds are comfy, toilets and showers all close by!

Disliked: No where to put ur clothes out of shower. Not enough washing machines for the whole hostel, some of the night time reception crew are quite grumpy and unapproachable, whilst others shine!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kaia Sand

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Kaia would recommend this property

Liked: Clink78 was an easy walk away from the King's Cross and St. Pancras Stations--maybe 10 to 15 minutes--which made it very convenient for our schedule. It was also a very good price (12 pounds/person for a one night's stay on a Sunday night) for what we received.

Disliked: As I made my bed, the I noticed the mattress felt a little gritty on top. I brushed it off the best I could and then figured it wasn't a big deal because I was putting a sheet on top of it anyway.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Richard Hammond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and a central location

Disliked: Wi-fi isnt free.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best Hostel in London I've stayed in!!!! Staff is great; clean, nice, good location, they really know what backpackers need and want and offer it (kitchen, bar, good breakfast, clean, cool design, good access to main subway lines, travel shop which offers all kinds of tickes, tours, things you mights need like shampoo, adapter, at a very reasonable price). Staff is taking care of everything (which can be annoying), but they ensure that everything is clean all the time (collecting used mugs, ect), that there is no violence (security was there seconds after two people were fighting at the bar) I really liked it!!! Kitchen closes at midnight or 1 am! Bar closes at 1-2 am

Disliked: very little space in the rooms (you really can't leave your luggage open at any time! there is NO SPACE !! (mixed dorm, 6 persons), Security could be an issure - the place is very big, very crowded, anybody could go in there.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels