HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 73%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note:
●Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
●If the name on your booking is different to the name on the card used to the confirm the booking, the hostel may request a copy of your ID or card for legal reasons.
● Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room from 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for guest use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
● Note that all dorms are mixed unless a girls’ dorm is booked.
● Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
● Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
● When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, the hostel cannot guarantee that guests travelling together will be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms or whole dorms if guests want to ensure they're together.
● For stag/hen parties, please contact us directly. Clink reserves the right to deny entry to anyone who has booked online and is part of such a group.
● If you wish to cancel or amend your reservation to receive a full refund you will need to notify us by email
– For the fully flexible rates: 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 48 hours before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– For the semi flexible rates: 14 days in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 14 days before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– Non-refundable rates: If cancelled, modified, or in case of a no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
– If you arrive a day or more late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.

● In the event of Force Majeure (governmental action; fire; flood; insurrection; earthquake; power failure; riot; explosion; embargo, transportation interruption of any kind; terrorist attack; acts of God…) affecting your booking, the company reserves the right to receive any outstanding payments in connection to your confirmed booking.
● A great-value buffet breakfast is available for £2.

Groups (+15 people)
● We accept groups from age 12+.
● You will be asked to pay a 20% non-refundable deposit a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival.
● One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
● If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
● If you do not inform us by email when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 73%

Showing 41-50 of 973 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: It was very clean and the beds comfy.

Disliked: It was a little bit of a maze but this wasn't really an issue as its so well sign-posted

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The ambience is really nice and feels like a youth cafe atleast in common areas.As long you are social you will meet interesting people from all parts of the world.Good complimentary breakfast menu to get you started for the day.

Disliked: Rooms are slightly cramped up.My plug for charging wasnt working and the response of the reception guy was "we can get someone but only after you leave tommorow" yeah rite.Couple of shady guys too old to be in a youth hostel trying too hard in the bar to get touchy feely with the females.But as long as you avoid them you will be fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a private room and it was clean & spacious with bedding and towels included. The staff were very friendly and made an effort to connect with you. The breakfast was nice with a choice of cereal or toast along with tea, coffee, hot chocolate or orange juice.

Disliked: The pillows were too thin.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello!

We are very glad for your review and we hope to see you again soon at our Hostels!

Best regards,

Jorge
(Night Receptionist)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has all the essentials, if you're a party traveler this is your place cuz it has its own disco.

Disliked: As this place has its now disco/bar there's a lot of noise in between 22h-2h it was hard to sleep early.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & that we had everything you needed. I am sorry you had trouble sleeping, reception is open 24 hours and you can pop up and see us at anytime with any problems, we have free ear plugs or if we have the availability we can move you to a quitter room.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jax

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: facilities, restaurant

Disliked: wi-fi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient :) You will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of installing free WiFi in all the rooms so soon it won't just be in the common areas.

We hope to see you again,
Jax

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello :)

Thank you so much for leaving such an awesomely positive wonderful review :)

We hope to see you again soon!
Jax

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are keen and friendly. Plenty of options available.

Disliked: The rooms are a wee bit small but then they did used to be cells, also a cooker for self catering would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We love hearing back from our guests.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff happy and friendly! We have a fully equipped kitchen downstairs for all our guests to use, it's also where we have the free breakfast every morning :)

Happy travels,
Jax

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet.

Disliked: It felt really institutional. This isn't so much a bad thing about the hostel, it just wasn't for me. I'd stay here again if I wanted to be near this area, but I'd rather stay elsewhere. It really did feel like I was in a prison. Long empty hallways, beds with barriers/blinders on them, giant breakfast hall with cereal dispensers...it was quite private and fine, but it just felt really sterile to me. But that could be what some people want - it was entirely suitable and useful, just not really for me.Oh - it would be nice if the room I was in had some shades or curtains. It never really gets dark in London - but especially in summer, it's actually still bright until 11pm, and it's bright again at 4am, so it's hard to sleep.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here however we are really proud of all the British heritage that comes with our beautiful 250 year old building. We try to keep our guest experience as authentic as possible and we try to promote the history as well by keeping the old prison cells for guest to rent and using the two main courtrooms as common areas.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jacqui

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friedlich staff. Biker rental (Santander) directly in front of the door

Disliked: Quite noisy place (Inside and from Outside (Main street). No socket at each bed. No place for luggage storage in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so glad that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the convenience of having the bike rentals right outside the door. I am sorry you found it noisy however we do have free earplugs at reception, feel free to pop down at any time to get some as we are open 24 hours.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Our room was on the ground floor with the window being about 3ft off the ground of the alley outside. Our window was broken so the security was nonexistent. The room and the weather were so hot but we had to close the window for safety. It was an uncomfortable and uneasy night.


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us review.

I am so sorry that you had an uncomfortable night however if you had come to reception to ask us we would have told you that the area outside your window is actually our private backyard that we only use in the day and is only accessible to staff members. There was no need for you to feel unsafe.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jacqui

Check Availability