We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

76.2% Overall Rating

3511 out of 4110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
73.44 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews
Keystone Hostel
31.14 USD

Hostel 75.9% 59 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
32.68 USD

Hostel 80.6% 674 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
57.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Fairway Hotel
56.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 5 reviews
Smart Russell Square Hostel
21.78 USD

Hostel 79.8% 1766 reviews
Generator London
29.59 USD

Hostel 89.8% 4195 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

3511 out of 4110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 2428 of 3530 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 97 | 98   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was big and had everything you needed. Close to main stations too

Disliked: The bedroom was too hot and no way of cooling it down. My light switch did not work for my bed.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very practical to get around (especially easy to/from airport). They offer breakfast.

Disliked: *) Room: My 6-bed room was very (!) small and it was difficult to get fresh air in there. It's nice that there's a bar/disco in the basement of the venue, but maybe people should know that before selecting the floor in which their room is on ;) *) Summer outside: It was not possible to "legally" sit outside. There were stairs, but it was not allowed by the hostel to sit on them. Not even if you were the only person sitting there. I understand that, under the given circumstances of laws/requirements like "clear fire exit" or "problems with volume for the neighbours", but maybe if the security would allow a reasonable number of people to sit on the stairs - or only intervene if necessary? It's tricky. I know. Especially with drunk travellers ;) It was just really uncomfortable that there was no fully approved/legal way of, even quietly, sitting outside with friends near the hostel. Staying inside just ain't the same. *) Smoking: Smokers might know in advance, that there is no way of having a cigarette *and* drink at the same time. It's either-or. But that's more a problem of English laws then the hostel. I'm not blaming the hostel, I just think it'd be in their interest of finding a way for making that more comfortable for their guests. Maybe a smoker's room (with reasonable size!) where you can take your drink with you? *) Internet: I tried on 2 different devices, and the Internet was hardly usable for me. I also found it very questionable that the default way of using the Internet was promoting Facebook so prominently. At least you didn't require a Facebook-account for it to work, though.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: Kindness of the staff. Quality of breakfast.

Disliked: Too much bed for limited area. check out is too early

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennina Lahti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Jennina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, close to the station and also easy to find. The atmosphere is great and staff very friendly. Kitchen facilities are superb and the breakfast awesome. Special thanks for Dylan of being such a friendly and happy fellow.

Disliked: The tables and floors were sticky. One of our group members had dirty linen. The showers go on and off, which is quite disturbing. It was very hot everywhere, especially in the rooms. The hostel says it has security lockers, well there were security lockers in the room, not all of them had a lid though. So you can't really put anything in them. The upper beds don't have any power sockets and there are only two extras in the room, which makes it challenging to charge anything.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

christian galen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 christian would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the whole look and atmosphere about this place, particularly that the majority of the travelers here were like myself backpacking or on vacation from all different countries and not just passing through on business. I also liked that it was almost entirely young people, maybe 25 or younger. The bar/club in the basement is a nice touch along with all the tables they have down there. As stated they offer a little breakfast which i never seemed to make on time! I did feel fairly safe here as there is 24/7 security, locked front door, locked door leading to room and locked room doors they also have tiny lockers in the rooms overtop of the beds just big enough for valuables like passport wallet etc. No curfew which is important to me and very close to St. Pancras station and a walkable distance to the sites, if not there is a bus stop directly out front. They also have an elevator which seemed to work the entire time if your on an upper level. All in all i really liked it here and if im ever in london again i wouldn't think twice about going back or to refer this hostel to a friend.

Disliked: My two biggest complaints would be that i had to pay for a towel, it wasn't much but still it should be included in the price. Also, The bathrooms were not particularly well kept HOWEVER i think this was due to the sheer number of people using them and dirtying them up - this place gets busy! Wifi does not reach the room but you can fight for a seat in the common room and use it there. For some reason my key card here kept failing to work i had to have it re-set 3 diff times but no one else had that problem maybe i just got a bad one.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly

Disliked: There is no locker to rent in this hostel.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decor Cheap Friendly

Disliked: Too hot

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yuda prasatiya

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 yuda would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location of the property the atmosphere it has and the staff is very very nice and helpful

Disliked: The room is to hot!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1) the location 2) The hall ast the entrance.

Disliked: I do not remember being highlighted on the website that the rooms were originally prison cells, and still bear this character. In the case of the current private rooms, it is ok (we took a 3 person cell with a double bed + a single above it). But in t he case of the 10 person shared room - even only 3-5 people slept that night in it - it was a bit disappointing (me being not very fearful)

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tanja Hain

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014

Liked: Some of the staff members were really nice, helpful and communicative. The style/ atmosphere of the old building turned into a modern place was also pleasant.

Disliked: - tiny rooms with no storage room, just beds and a sink, nothimg else - uni- sex showers with no storage room within or outside the showers, so you had to walk along the hall already in your towel - some of our group locked thelmselves undeliberately up in the girls' toilet, the lock didn't work

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, helpful, and efficient. The place has a good atmosphere for socialising and having fun. The location is good, especially for access to the Underground, but it is quite a long walk if you don't want to take the train.

Disliked: The showers and some bathrooms get dirty quickly. In such a big hostel, it is easy to meet guests and roommates who are rude, messy, noisy, and inconsiderate.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the liveliness of the hostel, and amount of toilets/shower rooms!

Disliked: like a maze, took ages to find the right way sometimes

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The size of hostel and location, which made it easily accessible from the underground stations and the main bus terminal in London.

Disliked: The lack of security in room, would have been nice to have a safe for personal belongings especially in the large dorm rooms as we were sharing in a room of 10 people.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good structure and staff.

Disliked: The room could be better lighted. Bathrooms could have more hooks and a ventilation system.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan McGovern

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Its central location and great breakfast

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Does what it says on the tin: Central, friendly, reasonably cheap

Disliked: Snorers...obviously not the hostels fault

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maarit Helin

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2014 Maarit would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very small and breakfast is horrible! BUT this hostel is for sleeping and place where you can keep your belongings.

Disliked: Breakfast was very bad, cause there was so small selection foods. Rooms were just meant for sleeping, not place where hang out!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe & secure, people were friendly it was not cramped

Disliked: there could have been more toilet facilities

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great atmosphere, considerate room sharers, excellent value

Disliked: Ground floor shower room could use painting/ventilation, other shower rooms seemed OK.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alessandro Marra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: toilets - not cleaned often enough breakfast - only cereal and bread

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Reyna Burruel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Reyna would recommend this property

Liked: The location, easy check-in and fast chevk-out

Disliked: The internet usage depended on having a Facebook account and linking. The leadder to get on the top bunk bed. I am over 40 and the narrow small wood joles were difficult climbing. I would have be able to climb better and safer with a tradition ladder design. Steps ftom the floor. I have short legs and either fell, stepped on the person on the lower bed, or had to ask for help

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Esther Ting

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2014

Liked: The location is very good and it is quite close to King Cross station. It is an interesting building as it was formerly a court house. Breakfast was ok with the usual bread, cereal, tea/coffee.

Disliked: Toilets were quite small and not very clean. Felt that there were too many people staying in the building and on the floor and so there was constant noise and activity going on and keep bumping into people. Very crowded during breakfast times and difficult to get a place to sit. Not much space in the rooms

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like its originality - being set up in a courthouse. Also, very convenient for traveller's with massive packs as the location is an okay walk from the station.

Disliked: It was exceptionally warm in the showers - would love a fan in there. And also more hooks/bench to put your stuff. I liked the conscious effort to save water with use of timed taps! Nice work!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a nice size (stayed in an 8 bed dorm), staff were very friendly and happy to help, very clean, the bar in the basement was a lot of fun to hang out in and have a dance, the property had a lot of good things to offer and great location

Disliked: Would have been nice to have a power socket closer to my bed and the light above me didn't work but it was a great hostel to stay at

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers were nice for that added peace of mind, but i felt fine leaving my less valuable stuff in my 14-person all-female dorm. Luggage rooms were available to us both before we checked in and after we checked out, which was really nice. The court room converted to a lounge was very cool. Girl only dorms were also nice.

Disliked: Wifi slow at night when everyone's using it. The girl-only room I was in was kind of hot and stuffy and having the windows open helped but it was kind of loud outside at night.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels