HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.81USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm

A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ?

Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room.

We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 78%

Showing 31-40 of 264 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The ambience is really nice and feels like a youth cafe atleast in common areas.As long you are social you will meet interesting people from all parts of the world.Good complimentary breakfast menu to get you started for the day.

Disliked: Rooms are slightly cramped up.My plug for charging wasnt working and the response of the reception guy was "we can get someone but only after you leave tommorow" yeah rite.Couple of shady guys too old to be in a youth hostel trying too hard in the bar to get touchy feely with the females.But as long as you avoid them you will be fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a private room and it was clean & spacious with bedding and towels included. The staff were very friendly and made an effort to connect with you. The breakfast was nice with a choice of cereal or toast along with tea, coffee, hot chocolate or orange juice.

Disliked: The pillows were too thin.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello!

We are very glad for your review and we hope to see you again soon at our Hostels!

Best regards,

Jorge
(Night Receptionist)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has all the essentials, if you're a party traveler this is your place cuz it has its own disco.

Disliked: As this place has its now disco/bar there's a lot of noise in between 22h-2h it was hard to sleep early.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & that we had everything you needed. I am sorry you had trouble sleeping, reception is open 24 hours and you can pop up and see us at anytime with any problems, we have free ear plugs or if we have the availability we can move you to a quitter room.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jax

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: facilities, restaurant

Disliked: wi-fi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient :) You will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of installing free WiFi in all the rooms so soon it won't just be in the common areas.

We hope to see you again,
Jax

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello :)

Thank you so much for leaving such an awesomely positive wonderful review :)

We hope to see you again soon!
Jax

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are keen and friendly. Plenty of options available.

Disliked: The rooms are a wee bit small but then they did used to be cells, also a cooker for self catering would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We love hearing back from our guests.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff happy and friendly! We have a fully equipped kitchen downstairs for all our guests to use, it's also where we have the free breakfast every morning :)

Happy travels,
Jax

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet.

Disliked: It felt really institutional. This isn't so much a bad thing about the hostel, it just wasn't for me. I'd stay here again if I wanted to be near this area, but I'd rather stay elsewhere. It really did feel like I was in a prison. Long empty hallways, beds with barriers/blinders on them, giant breakfast hall with cereal dispensers...it was quite private and fine, but it just felt really sterile to me. But that could be what some people want - it was entirely suitable and useful, just not really for me.Oh - it would be nice if the room I was in had some shades or curtains. It never really gets dark in London - but especially in summer, it's actually still bright until 11pm, and it's bright again at 4am, so it's hard to sleep.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here however we are really proud of all the British heritage that comes with our beautiful 250 year old building. We try to keep our guest experience as authentic as possible and we try to promote the history as well by keeping the old prison cells for guest to rent and using the two main courtrooms as common areas.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jacqui

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friedlich staff. Biker rental (Santander) directly in front of the door

Disliked: Quite noisy place (Inside and from Outside (Main street). No socket at each bed. No place for luggage storage in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so glad that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the convenience of having the bike rentals right outside the door. I am sorry you found it noisy however we do have free earplugs at reception, feel free to pop down at any time to get some as we are open 24 hours.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Our room was on the ground floor with the window being about 3ft off the ground of the alley outside. Our window was broken so the security was nonexistent. The room and the weather were so hot but we had to close the window for safety. It was an uncomfortable and uneasy night.


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us review.

I am so sorry that you had an uncomfortable night however if you had come to reception to ask us we would have told you that the area outside your window is actually our private backyard that we only use in the day and is only accessible to staff members. There was no need for you to feel unsafe.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jacqui

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very fun environment

Disliked: Very expensive for not too great amenities

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for leaving a review for us, we appreciate your feedback!

We are so glad you enjoyed the fun environment and atmosphere that we have and I am sorry that you found it expensive however during Summer the prices do increase.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

Check Availability