HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London

Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.11USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people.

A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ?

Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room.

We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 72%

Showing 31-40 of 358 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I stayed in a room with only 3 other people with an ensuite, which was a nice change from bigger hostel rooms. It was fairly quiet.

Disliked: It felt really institutional. This isn't so much a bad thing about the hostel, it just wasn't for me. I'd stay here again if I wanted to be near this area, but I'd rather stay elsewhere. It really did feel like I was in a prison. Long empty hallways, beds with barriers/blinders on them, giant breakfast hall with cereal dispensers...it was quite private and fine, but it just felt really sterile to me. But that could be what some people want - it was entirely suitable and useful, just not really for me.Oh - it would be nice if the room I was in had some shades or curtains. It never really gets dark in London - but especially in summer, it's actually still bright until 11pm, and it's bright again at 4am, so it's hard to sleep.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here however we are really proud of all the British heritage that comes with our beautiful 250 year old building. We try to keep our guest experience as authentic as possible and we try to promote the history as well by keeping the old prison cells for guest to rent and using the two main courtrooms as common areas.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jacqui

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friedlich staff. Biker rental (Santander) directly in front of the door

Disliked: Quite noisy place (Inside and from Outside (Main street). No socket at each bed. No place for luggage storage in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so glad that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the convenience of having the bike rentals right outside the door. I am sorry you found it noisy however we do have free earplugs at reception, feel free to pop down at any time to get some as we are open 24 hours.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Our room was on the ground floor with the window being about 3ft off the ground of the alley outside. Our window was broken so the security was nonexistent. The room and the weather were so hot but we had to close the window for safety. It was an uncomfortable and uneasy night.


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us review.

I am so sorry that you had an uncomfortable night however if you had come to reception to ask us we would have told you that the area outside your window is actually our private backyard that we only use in the day and is only accessible to staff members. There was no need for you to feel unsafe.

We wish you many more happy travels,
Jacqui

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very fun environment

Disliked: Very expensive for not too great amenities

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for leaving a review for us, we appreciate your feedback!

We are so glad you enjoyed the fun environment and atmosphere that we have and I am sorry that you found it expensive however during Summer the prices do increase.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice hostel, definately will lodge again. breakfasts were very nice, and there's big flat block between each beds. Staffs were very friendly also.

Disliked: there was a very smelly man right next to my bed but it's not hostel's fault.....oh and the elevater was temporaily stoped so me and my family had to bring our luguges by ourselves from top floor(4 or 5 I guess) which was pretty hard from morning.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast and the location is pretty good

Disliked: The rooms are super crowded and the bathrooms and showers were a little bad


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review :)

We are so glad that you enjoyed the free breakfast and made use of our excellent location and unfortunately in summer we are very busy so the rooms are almost always full however if you are ever unhappy with your room please pop down to reception and have a chat with us, we can move you to a different room or upgrade you if we have the space.

We wish you many more happy travels.
Jacqui

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor service when asked for help finding things or recommendations. In the bar there were people who were obviously beyond drunk and should not have been served.


The property's response is

Hi there :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

We are so glad that you made full use of our great location! I am so sorry that you received poor service with regards to recommendations, do you remember anything about the person that you asked? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

We wish you many happy travels,
Jacqui

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and the great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing to complain, just that the lift was broken in the last day of stay and we had to use the stairs to reach our room in the third floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello traveller :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and had time to make the most of the breakfast. We are sorry about any inconvenience the lift caused you and we hope to see you again!

Happy travels!
Jacqui

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Helpful and super friendly staffGreat locationGood breakfast

Disliked: No locked lockers in shared dorms. £3 pounds per day for save little locker outside the rooms. Showers smelled like urine. Too few toilets and people urinate there?4 person shared room was in the basement with one small window. No light from window and dark brown walls made the room the most depressive and expensive hostel room I have ever stayed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are super happy to hear that you have enjoyed our free breakfast and found the staff friendly. Sorry that the room you were staying in didn't meet your expectations, we have receptions staff ready to help 24/7. Please note that £3 is the price you pay for a big locker where you can fit large suitcase, smaller lockers are cheaper, there are also medium sized free lockers around the building - just pop your own padlock on. Safe trips! Indra

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Interesting building, central, friendly staff, luggage room, etc.

Disliked: The showers are a pain.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your feedback and great rating! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78. Have amazing future trips :) Indra

Check Availability