HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

83.0% Overall Rating

3314 out of 3886 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Callum Swansborough thinks…

"Great atmosphere! Not too far from King's Cross station, but the walk after a long day can take forever."

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
76.68 USD

Hostel 65.7% 3 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
87.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
18.48 USD

Hostel 81.6% 934 reviews
Keystone Hostel
27.72 USD

Hostel 82.5% 25 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
25.18 USD

Hostel 71.9% 611 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
50.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.84 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Fairway Hotel
43.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

3314 out of 3886 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 2300 of 3306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 91 | 92   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Robert-Gaudette

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff, clean rooms and nice dorms, computers available, kitchen open for the guests! I would recommenc this hostel to anyone, anytime!

Disliked: Wifi is not free of charge but I think 3£/ stay is very reasonnable

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bom pequeno almoço, staff simpático

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claudia Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location of the hostel and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The other travellers weren´t friendly and the atmosphere wasn´t the best. The locker is too small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Vaz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

28 November 2013 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: good rooms, very good spirit at a good price.

Disliked: nothing at all.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

trista campbell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 trista would recommend this property

Liked: Funky vibe, bar downstairs plays amazing tunes! Bar staff are extremely friendly and make an effort to get to know you ;) beds are comfy, toilets and showers all close by!

Disliked: No where to put ur clothes out of shower. Not enough washing machines for the whole hostel, some of the night time reception crew are quite grumpy and unapproachable, whilst others shine!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kaia Sand

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Kaia would recommend this property

Liked: Clink78 was an easy walk away from the King's Cross and St. Pancras Stations--maybe 10 to 15 minutes--which made it very convenient for our schedule. It was also a very good price (12 pounds/person for a one night's stay on a Sunday night) for what we received.

Disliked: As I made my bed, the I noticed the mattress felt a little gritty on top. I brushed it off the best I could and then figured it wasn't a big deal because I was putting a sheet on top of it anyway.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Richard Hammond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and a central location

Disliked: Wi-fi isnt free.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best Hostel in London I've stayed in!!!! Staff is great; clean, nice, good location, they really know what backpackers need and want and offer it (kitchen, bar, good breakfast, clean, cool design, good access to main subway lines, travel shop which offers all kinds of tickes, tours, things you mights need like shampoo, adapter, at a very reasonable price). Staff is taking care of everything (which can be annoying), but they ensure that everything is clean all the time (collecting used mugs, ect), that there is no violence (security was there seconds after two people were fighting at the bar) I really liked it!!! Kitchen closes at midnight or 1 am! Bar closes at 1-2 am

Disliked: very little space in the rooms (you really can't leave your luggage open at any time! there is NO SPACE !! (mixed dorm, 6 persons), Security could be an issure - the place is very big, very crowded, anybody could go in there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are highly motivated, friendly and very helpful. I liked the sleeping arrangements in the dormitories and the way they have managed to secure some privacy in your bed by the way they have designed the accommodation.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joshua Caudwell

Alone

Business / conference

23 November 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, and a really big kitchen!!

Disliked: Some of the showers were a little cold at times.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Léa Le Loët

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Léa would recommend this property

Liked: it's big but you can still feel a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Léa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Megan Evans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good location and the features of the building were fantastic

Disliked: Showers could have a dry place to dress after showers

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kristin Cavicchiolo

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2013 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: A good spot easily accessed by major roads, walkable into the "centre" of London and also to Kings Cross station with multiple rail lines. The breakfast provided is ample, consisting of cereals (rice bubbles, cornflakes, coco pops, museli) and toast, juice and hot tea, coffee, chocolate.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi is extremely unreliable, knocking you off the server sometimes as regularly as every few minutes. Large groups of tours/students frequently stay here and as such it can get quite noisy in common areas and congested in the reception at all hours.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: old victorian

Disliked: nothing, was only for a snooze as I was jetlagging, then a good nights sleep before I took off.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building, the staff, the facilities, everyhting!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, in a convenient place and gave me somewhere to store luggage the next day

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Guedia

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: Everything :)

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, no stress for a quick night away

Disliked: Lack of secure baggage areas in rooms ie lockers

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the facilities and the friendly staff a lot.

Disliked: The room I stayed in had one little window which isn't obvious when booking. If you then add the very small (and no, it's not "cosy" ;) ) rooms, I think the rooms are overprized.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool character to the place, and the location was really close to King's Cross.

Disliked: Didn't like that the WiFi wasn't free.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gilbert kelly

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 gilbert would recommend this property

Liked: character and ambiance

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013

Liked: The common area was nice. Also the computer room and the reception had some atmosphere.

Disliked: First of all, the room cleaner cleaned my bed 3 nights in a row. I was staying in the same bed for 6 nights and they kept cleaning my bed everyday so I had to put sheet on the bed everyday. Also I left my pj on the bed but that was also thrown away and never found it. It was happening to other people in my room too. Some girl left laptop, headphone and chargers on her bed and the bed was cleaned and these items were put randomly on other beds. Also the beds are not like usual bunk beds. It is just separated with some board and the next person can easily reach you. The guy sleeping next to me actually tried to search my bag to steal stuff in the middle of the night and I had to tell him not to. (such scary experience) I never felt safe at this hostel. Even though there is a guard at entrance, anyone could just enter randomly. Some guy even lost towel and another guy an iphone. What is wrong? The guys at the reception were quite friendly and helpful but thoese problem need to be solved.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are ok, showers and toilets were always clean and there was plenty to use. Not as noisy as reported in previous comments, but I'd recommend bringing your earplugs if you want to have a good night sleep anyway (noise from the street etc)...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels