HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

83.2% Overall Rating

3420 out of 4001 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"I really liked the big dorm rooms, the beds were really comfortable and clean.the staff was always friendly and ready to help you. It was a great stay here, I would come back anytime!"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
76.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
84.23 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
36.51 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
Keystone Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 85.3% 37 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
29.20 USD

Hostel 65.7% 646 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
51.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Fairway Hotel
60.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
14.61 USD

Hostel 74.3% 1725 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

3420 out of 4001 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 2367 of 3421 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 94 | 95   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zu'An Chong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Zu'An would recommend this property

Liked: The service provided and condition of the hostel largely exceeded the price for a night's stay, good job!

Disliked: I've encountered 2 problems during my one night stay in a 16 bed room in Clink78: 1) There wasn't a power socket for each bed. I understand that it is impossible to provide a power socket for everyone from the main power line. A cheap and simple solution would be to provide an extension socket, which should be screwed into the wall to prevent people from stealing/moving the extension socket. 2) Snoring from a certain traveler was a huge problem for me (and the rest of the travelers who were in the same room as me)! We came to Clink78 to have a good night's rest, and would really appreciate it if we were not woken up every few hours with intense snoring. A solution to this is to sell/provide anti snoring devices (there are many varieties available). It may be embarrassing for that one traveler, but you will be benefiting the other 15 of us.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jessica Westell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cool bar downstairs, free breakfast

Disliked: The showers- they're on auto timer for literally 4 seconds, and you have to keep pushing the button to restart the shower. No wifi in rooms, only main lobby and kitchen area.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajesh Parmar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Rajesh would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place in average budget. Nest and clean place

Disliked: NA

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lisa Kenny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, as well as being secure at night having to use your swipe cards to get in.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. Had good fun..

Disliked: Very small locker. No seating in room or elsewhere. Breakfast included should be more than white bread ad cornflakes..

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Atmosphere and it's characters that make it "funny" to staying here

Disliked: The main problem is lighting in the room. Room is very dark and non accessible to some facilities, need to using torch for looking something in the dark also the safety box was small and in the wrong place. Accessible was very hard

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: The location was very good.

Disliked: There were no lockers or anything to put your stuff in in the room. You just had to leave it and hope no one took anything. The room also smelled like feet. It was fine because I wasn't in the room much but overall wasn't one of my favorite hostels I've ever stayed in.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Roy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: It is near KIng's Cross Station and St. Pancras International Station. The hostel is clean. I came to this hostel after leaving another hostel early because of bedbugs.

Disliked: They don't let guests check in until 2:30 in the afternoon.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful for students, not but for adults

Disliked: common room needs more desks & chairs

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tobias Katzenberger

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, good kitchen

Disliked: you can not open the windows completely, so there is a very bad air in the room ( 12 beds )

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place and the staff is amazing

Disliked: The bed was very noisy and they charge more money for more towels

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Russhaun Roach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Russhaun would recommend this property

Liked: The people who stay here are awsome

Disliked: It's always booked renewing is hard

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the opportunity of having a fridge and a kitchen to cook for ourselves! This is a very big plus! And the hostel had big showers and nice leisure rooms.

Disliked: The toilets are a bit too small and some were dirty.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

INGRID MELONI

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 INGRID would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place was great.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly atmosphere!

Disliked: I disliked the first night next to the bar, the basedrum didn't let me close an eye and my heart bumpt in the rhythm of the loud music, but the stuff helped us to get a better room!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good price for London, and the free breakfast was a bonus! An excellent atmosphere if you want to meet other travellers.

Disliked: There were only two female showers on my floor, which made things a little difficult. Also, an extremely rowdy group of school children were racing along the corridor for a few hours, which I know will obviously not happen all the time, but it was frustrating that they were there in the first place.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014

Liked: It's clean and relatively cheap for London accommodations

Disliked: There are maybe 100 people under the age of 18 here (maybe even under 16) and this made me feel extraordinarily uncomfortable. It may be a school group but as a result it was very uncomfortable

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KATARINA DROBNA

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 KATARINA would recommend this property

Liked: clean room and good atmosphere

Disliked: room was really smal :) for 3 people like 2x3m with bathroom

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmospher,cleanliness and good facilities.

Disliked: Some youngseres were noisy at night.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Callum Swansborough

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Not too far from King's Cross station, but the walk after a long day can take forever.

Disliked: Too warm, at least our triple room was. Far too stuffy and the window only opened a tiny little bit. The showers were a bit of a let down, and the toilets weren't too great - no hand driers or towels. The dining room gets very crowded in the mornings - get up early if you want a semi-relaxed breakfast, or even a seat!!

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014

Liked: Clean enough, nice staff.

Disliked: We were tricked in to paying for towels, and 12 people were shoved in a very small room. I also would have liked a bigger locker that would have fit all of my belongings instead of the overhead locker on my bead.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My first hostel experience at Clink 78 was a positive one. Overall it had a great feel to it, there was lots of space in the 6 bed female dorm and the free line, pillow and breakfast (included in room price) was awesome! It was easy to find from kings cross station and it was only a short walk! There are lots of bathrooms which is really handy and hot showers! If I come back to the area I will be staying with these guys again!

Disliked: I did feel as if there was a lot of younger people that stayed at this hostel..

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaspreet Kandola

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Jaspreet would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the modern layout; lovely dining area and bar. I stayed in both a 12 girl delux room and a 4 person girl room; the delux room was good but would have been better if there had been hooks etc. The cleanliness was great; never been to such a clean hostel. Loads of toilets and shower areas too. Would definately stay again, I was alone this time- think I would make use of the bar had I been travelling with others!

Disliked: The rooms were small but this is to be expected as it is an old building.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to transport and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: When I stayed there were a lot of groups staying over, and were very noisy and loud and had small parties everywhere.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels