We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

85.9% Overall Rating

3417 out of 3998 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

Giulia Bizzarri thinks…

"I definitely loved the location and it surely was good value for money. The breakfast included makes things a lot easier I you've got a busy day ahead and it was also quite good. The staff are very…"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
74.24 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
84.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Clink261
30.09 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
Keystone Hostel
47.16 USD

Hostel 85.3% 37 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
29.26 USD

Hostel 68.7% 645 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
54.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Stay In Holborn Guest House
48.25 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Fairway Hotel
51.63 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

3416 out of 3997 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 2364 of 3413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 94 | 95   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan McGovern

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Its central location and great breakfast

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Does what it says on the tin: Central, friendly, reasonably cheap

Disliked: Snorers...obviously not the hostels fault

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maarit Helin

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2014 Maarit would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very small and breakfast is horrible! BUT this hostel is for sleeping and place where you can keep your belongings.

Disliked: Breakfast was very bad, cause there was so small selection foods. Rooms were just meant for sleeping, not place where hang out!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe & secure, people were friendly it was not cramped

Disliked: there could have been more toilet facilities

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great atmosphere, considerate room sharers, excellent value

Disliked: Ground floor shower room could use painting/ventilation, other shower rooms seemed OK.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alessandro Marra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: toilets - not cleaned often enough breakfast - only cereal and bread

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Reyna Burruel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Reyna would recommend this property

Liked: The location, easy check-in and fast chevk-out

Disliked: The internet usage depended on having a Facebook account and linking. The leadder to get on the top bunk bed. I am over 40 and the narrow small wood joles were difficult climbing. I would have be able to climb better and safer with a tradition ladder design. Steps ftom the floor. I have short legs and either fell, stepped on the person on the lower bed, or had to ask for help

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Esther Ting

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2014

Liked: The location is very good and it is quite close to King Cross station. It is an interesting building as it was formerly a court house. Breakfast was ok with the usual bread, cereal, tea/coffee.

Disliked: Toilets were quite small and not very clean. Felt that there were too many people staying in the building and on the floor and so there was constant noise and activity going on and keep bumping into people. Very crowded during breakfast times and difficult to get a place to sit. Not much space in the rooms

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like its originality - being set up in a courthouse. Also, very convenient for traveller's with massive packs as the location is an okay walk from the station.

Disliked: It was exceptionally warm in the showers - would love a fan in there. And also more hooks/bench to put your stuff. I liked the conscious effort to save water with use of timed taps! Nice work!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a nice size (stayed in an 8 bed dorm), staff were very friendly and happy to help, very clean, the bar in the basement was a lot of fun to hang out in and have a dance, the property had a lot of good things to offer and great location

Disliked: Would have been nice to have a power socket closer to my bed and the light above me didn't work but it was a great hostel to stay at

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers were nice for that added peace of mind, but i felt fine leaving my less valuable stuff in my 14-person all-female dorm. Luggage rooms were available to us both before we checked in and after we checked out, which was really nice. The court room converted to a lounge was very cool. Girl only dorms were also nice.

Disliked: Wifi slow at night when everyone's using it. The girl-only room I was in was kind of hot and stuffy and having the windows open helped but it was kind of loud outside at night.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice common areas, especially the bar, great bar and easy to meet new people! Great looking building. Good breakfast. Nightlight and small locker for every bed. Rooms a bit small. Showers were warm but the water went everywhere except for down on your body. Wifi free but unstable and slow. Located 10 min from kings cross station. The travel shop can give good advice about things to do

Disliked: The girl who did our check-in was OK, but cold. On Saturday, one of the staff members told us all about the options for nightlife, which was cool, but unfortunately seemed not true when we arrived at the club (it was much more expensive than he told us). I called the hostel to ask what was going good on, and the same gire who checked us in answered. She was a complete bitch!!!! She refused to help and even said she was gonna hang up the phone.I was absolutely flabbergasted by this. Fortunately, someone from a pub crawl at the club went above and beyond to help us and we ended up getting in for free!! But at that point my party mood was ruined. I still rated staff "average", but that's only because the rest of the staff (especially the bar staff) was really nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Hall

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel with a buzzy atmosphere. If u are in London for a good time then stay here. The staff are very friendly and gave good tops on the best places in town.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: horrible ventilation for the dorms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bonnie Braun

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, comfy and clean rooms, super friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location. Can't get any better!

Disliked: Bonnie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. Staff was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Never stayed at a hostel before so I can't compare or judge really, but I would not stay in a place like that for more than 1 night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome and the bar downstairs was fantastic! Cheap drinks and great music! Everyone was havingiso much fun!!!!!! The travel shop there gives you discounts on a lot of tours etc.

Disliked: I disliked that I didn't spend longer there. It was sooo good!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to public transportation, cleanliness, and god breakfast. The hostel travel shop was also very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms staff and general feel of the hostel

Disliked: Nothing to dislike one of the best hostels in London Ive stayed in

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremy Moseley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. A bar on site makes it easy to mingle with fellow backpackers.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit underwhelming (toast and rice crispies), and I felt the bar was over priced.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Fong

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Can socialise with people from all over the world, the beds are comfy, showers and toilets are clean, everyone was very nice.

Disliked: I heard from my friends who lived in the 16 bed dorm room that it was very smelly and noisy.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arun Benny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Arun would recommend this property

Liked: Cool

Disliked: The 6 bed room that we got was bit crammed.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zu'An Chong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Zu'An would recommend this property

Liked: The service provided and condition of the hostel largely exceeded the price for a night's stay, good job!

Disliked: I've encountered 2 problems during my one night stay in a 16 bed room in Clink78: 1) There wasn't a power socket for each bed. I understand that it is impossible to provide a power socket for everyone from the main power line. A cheap and simple solution would be to provide an extension socket, which should be screwed into the wall to prevent people from stealing/moving the extension socket. 2) Snoring from a certain traveler was a huge problem for me (and the rest of the travelers who were in the same room as me)! We came to Clink78 to have a good night's rest, and would really appreciate it if we were not woken up every few hours with intense snoring. A solution to this is to sell/provide anti snoring devices (there are many varieties available). It may be embarrassing for that one traveler, but you will be benefiting the other 15 of us.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jessica Westell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cool bar downstairs, free breakfast

Disliked: The showers- they're on auto timer for literally 4 seconds, and you have to keep pushing the button to restart the shower. No wifi in rooms, only main lobby and kitchen area.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajesh Parmar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Rajesh would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place in average budget. Nest and clean place

Disliked: NA

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels