HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink78 London Hostel

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 73%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note:
●Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
●If the name on your booking is different to the name on the card used to the confirm the booking, the hostel may request a copy of your ID or card for legal reasons.
● Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room from 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for guest use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
● Note that all dorms are mixed unless a girls’ dorm is booked.
● Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
● Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
● When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, the hostel cannot guarantee that guests travelling together will be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms or whole dorms if guests want to ensure they're together.
● For stag/hen parties, please contact us directly. Clink reserves the right to deny entry to anyone who has booked online and is part of such a group.
● If you wish to cancel or amend your reservation to receive a full refund you will need to notify us by email
– For the fully flexible rates: 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 48 hours before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– For the semi flexible rates: 14 days in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 14 days before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– Non-refundable rates: If cancelled, modified, or in case of a no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
– If you arrive a day or more late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.

● In the event of Force Majeure (governmental action; fire; flood; insurrection; earthquake; power failure; riot; explosion; embargo, transportation interruption of any kind; terrorist attack; acts of God…) affecting your booking, the company reserves the right to receive any outstanding payments in connection to your confirmed booking.
● A great-value buffet breakfast is available for £2.

Groups (+15 people)
● We accept groups from age 12+.
● You will be asked to pay a 20% non-refundable deposit a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival.
● One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
● If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
● If you do not inform us by email when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 73%

Showing 11-20 of 973 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Decent value for money and 5 minutes from Kings Cross.

Disliked: Roommates drinking alcohol in room and woke me up at 4am when they came back in loudly.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Clink78 has a fantastic location, price is really good and staff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: It's not hostel's fault but some guests were too loud in the middle of the night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating


24 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: facility is very clean and well organized, and enough toilets and showrooms.

Disliked: wifi works at only lobby and kitchen very well, not in bed room.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Clean rooms, free breakfast.

Disliked: Very big hostel, not very atmospheric. Very plain, no little details that make a hostel feel warming.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Character of the building and common rooms

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The availability to support was good from the staff, nevertheless I think the hostel is too big and there is to many people to have it undercontrol.

Disliked: The availability to support was good from the staff, nevertheless I think the hostel is too big and there is to many people to have it under control. My laptop was stolen at the luggage room (everyone (staff and guests have unlimited and uncontrolled access to this room) and I ended in the police station during my visit to london.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: I love hostels, I travel a lot, but this was the smallest room I have ever slept in. I booked a private double room. I could not enter the room simultaneously with my luggage. It was supposed to keep my luggage under the bed, but the bed was so low that it was impossible. Two people cannot stand in the room at one and the same time. One must be out or maybe lying on the bed. There was not a single hanger in the "room" and we had no place for our coats /jackets. There was condense water on the window and it was wet in the room. The pipe exploaded and it was freezingly cold. The staff just said "I'm sorry, there's nothing we can do. Drinking of alcohol that is not bought from their bar is prohibited. The lockers are in common areas and you have to pay for them. There was no internet in the room and there were people all over the hallways sitting on the floor. The breakfast was too basic. I prefer paying instead of only having bread, jam and cornflakes for free. The coffee sucked, it was an extracted coffee, but I guess this is what you could expect for "free". It was my worst experience in a hostel ever. I've slept in great hostels in London for less money. I choose Clink for the location and would never return again.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at Clink 78. Rooms sizes vary due to the shape and alcohol can't be brought in due to the licensed bar. There are also free lockers throughout the building and wifi does not but will be operating all over the building soon. Brekky option is basic but we thank you for the feedback and will be brought in to improve in the future. Please email reception.supervisor@clinkhostels.co.uk to investigate further.thanks

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Liked: Location

Disliked: No smoking area

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location very usefulInteresting place full of historyStaff REALLY nice

Disliked: Maybe the heat during the night

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability