We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink78

Hostel | 78 King's Cross Rd, London, England WC1X 9QG

85.8% Overall Rating

3484 out of 4075 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2015)

Devyn Gee thinks…

"Great place to stay and interact, and although the capita per room is quite high the bed designs are great to maximise privateness"

Read all Clink78 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card is required upon check-in.? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people. A free luggage storage room is available for guests to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl’s dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children, who are under 16 years of age, must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 16 unless they are accompanied by an adult who is over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking more than 1 bed in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that all of the guests will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if guests do not want to risk being split. ? If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? Please note that for groups (more than 15 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on the credit card used to make the booking. If guests cancel within the 48 hours the balance will be refunded. ? We do not accept groups of under 16 years of age. ? Groups will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit 25%, a week after the booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If the group is arriving by coach, they must make sure to contact the reservations team for information on where to stop and park. ? If they do not inform us by email, or when booking, we cannot guarantee that the group will be in the same rooms and depending on availability the booking might be cancelled All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dinwiddy House
71.61 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink261
19.74 USD

Hostel 84.9% 962 reviews
Keystone Hostel
25.05 USD

Hostel 80.5% 52 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
18.21 USD

Hostel 76.3% 662 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
48.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Fairway Hotel
43.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.67 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1747 reviews
Generator London
25.81 USD

Hostel 90.6% 4175 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

3484 out of 4075 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink78'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 2407 of 3495 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 96 | 97   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is young and fun. The best part was exploring the old courthouse. The washer and dryer was a great help too.

Disliked: The cost of the washer and dryer(£6). Also the noise after the bar closes until 4 am is pretty loud on the ground floor.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Heather mcgushin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, and it is in a central location.

Disliked: There were a lot of long term guests, which was not a problem. But it means the vibe is different to other hostels, although not a bad vibe.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Ogbourne

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 January 2015 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast - still better than any other hostel we have stayed in, lots of choice

Disliked: not being allowed to drink our own alcohol - which we adhered to, returned after midnight on New Years Eve and the bar was shut.. gutted. the breakfast room was oppressively hot.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice despite being small, the staff friendly and helpful, and the bar right downstairs is a bonus.

Disliked: Be prepared to be really cozy with other travelers, space is pretty limited.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronwyn Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Bronwyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and helpful! We had a wonderful time in London and were able to see a lot in a short time.

Disliked: The wifi didn't work in the dorms but it wasn't that annoying, if anything it's more practical and encourages people to be more social.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Justin White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2014 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good! I party in soho and walked back drunk and no one cared!

Disliked: That the beds are beside one another and the bathroom was too small! But I'm 6'3 so can't really complain about that! Other than that. I enjoyed my time here!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Some of the staff may have been overworked, but the ones at reception didn't seem all that friendly, a little bit of contempt.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Anna Lorré

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014

Liked: The atmosphere was really good! A lot of very friendly staff. The breakfast was basic but good

Disliked: We slept in a dorm of 12 people. This was fully booked. The room was really small and the window didn't open, it was stuck. So the room was very smelly and hot. It was not clean at all. The staff took a look at it but couldn't fix it and they didn't have a spare room to give us...

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms and poor lighting.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for a week whilst working in London. Was very comfortable and facilities were great. Was able to get a decent nights sleep, showers were hot and breakfast was free. Great location and staff are really friendly.

Disliked: The only downside was the security was a little too relaxed - and there were no lockers in the rooms. Other than this I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping

02 December 2014 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Great design and fun atmosphere. The fact this this hostel is an old courthouse with cells adds to the character. The staff were very welcoming and clear on the house rules upon checking in. The hostel has everything you could want with onsite bar, lockers and storage facilities, comfortable beds and clean rooms. There is wifi in the community areas, quiet computer room and a cinema. The drinks at the bar were very reasonable prices for London, where you would expect to pay far more for a beer elsewhere! The location was great, only 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross station and easy to find. I would definitely recommend this hostel and will be back.

Disliked: The only thing that was a little awkward was the communal showers (for cell block users). There wasn't a place to put our dry clothes before stepping into the shower as it was a small cubical so I found I had to hang my towels and clothes over the door and hope they didn't get too much splash. When trying to dry myself afterwards, I found that I was getting sprayed with water from the person in the next cubical. This just meant I couldn't dry my legs, however it wasn't too much of a convenience as I just pulled my trousers up to my knees, dried the rest of myself and ran to my call in bare feet =) I recommend all hostel goers to bring along flip flops.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenna Cain

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2014 Brenna would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there once before and it was the same: a great place to stay

Disliked: The only thing I dislike about the place is the showers! But I found one that doesn't require a bunch of pushes on a button to get hot water and that was good!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, secure hostel, free breakfasts

Disliked: Wifi was limited to downstairs

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Giulio Tani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2014

Liked: quite nice the bar with karaoke, billiard and stuff

Disliked: noisy and overcrowded

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station, which was what I wanted.

Disliked: It was quite large, so it had a faceless quality to it. It could also be cleaner, but I'm not saying that it was dirty.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was basic. Check-in was available at late night.

Disliked: Internet was only accessible at reception area. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm and there was only 1 working light in the room. There was a small lamp on each bed but not working. It was late night when me and other 2 arrived, and there was already someone sleeping. We didn't want to turn on the only light on the ceiling so we were arranging our bed and stuffs in the dark, with little light from our cellphone.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Frost

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 September 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, atmosphere, helpfilness of staff on duty

Disliked: Low lighting in my room, window wouldn't shut

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the big dorm rooms, the beds were really comfortable and clean.the staff was always friendly and ready to help you. It was a great stay here, I would come back anytime!

Disliked: Only thing I didn't like, is, that there are no chargers on every bed! Its really annoying to leave your phone or whatever somewhere in the room.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giulia Bizzarri

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely loved the location and it surely was good value for money. The breakfast included makes things a lot easier I you've got a busy day ahead and it was also quite good. The staff are very friendly and happy to help which for me is fundamental for the place to feel a bit more homely, let's say. Very good experience overall!

Disliked: The dorm was alright, just it felt quite small once all the beds had been occupied. Got me wondering where I should leave my bags every once in a while, but that's about it. About the cleanliness, I know it's not easy to keep such a busy and central hostel clean all the time so I wasn't really bothered. And it wasn't anything too bad anyway.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facility was clean, the location was perfect, and the staff were extremely nice and helpful! The hostel has a good, internationally diverse character.

Disliked: Crowded and rather loud. There were too few showers and toilets in comparison to the amount of guests at the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Harrison-Melville

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 September 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It wasn't just 'good' it was excellent. My friend booked in too and she is happy for her daughter to use it in future. The staff go the extra mile to be helpful.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Pittas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was cool, but the best part was definitelhy the kitchen!

Disliked: No outsiders could come into the bar, even as hostel guests' guests. Pool cue was broken.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rhiannon Holmes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Terrible staff service, no privacy, no security. Was rudely woken at 12:45am By a male employee grabbing my ankle asking who I was.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was overall good. Good shower facilities, breakfast etc. You get what you pay for. The staff are nice and friendly.

Disliked: The room we were allocated was not cleaned out properly, with sheets from the previous occupant...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really incredible staff. one girl (who was new) went above and beyond sign helping me find my room when I couldn't, giving me information on different things to do in London and tried her hardest to find this one little attraction I was desperate to find. bar staff was amazing too, especially at just making you feel welcome. facilities are great, kitchen was a big thumbs up as well as the common areas. definitely one of the most social hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: not a lot of room to place your bag in your room (I was a late check in and everyone had already scattered themselves by the time I arrived)

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels