We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

88.2% Overall Rating

1030 out of 1084 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

Timothy Lee thinks…

"Everything about it as described and shown on hostelbookers was delivered. It was clean, safe, comfortable and most of all looked great as well. Value for money and great for those on a budget."

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.97
  • Towel USD 2.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
85.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
23.95 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
18.56 USD

Hostel 69.4% 695 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
13.93 USD

Hostel 85.4% 3365 reviews
Access Paddington
37.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
20.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1871 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
59.98 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
45.67 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

1030 out of 1084 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 737 of 1037 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timothy Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about it as described and shown on hostelbookers was delivered. It was clean, safe, comfortable and most of all looked great as well. Value for money and great for those on a budget.

Disliked: Hope to have directions clearly demarcated to the toilets. My friend gave me feedback that when he wanted to use it urgently once, and the one nearest our corridor was undergoing cleaning, he found it difficult to find the other toilets available.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Robert Chlumsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2015

Liked: Hostel itself is neat and has a pleasant interior; the lounge room with free coffee and tea is a plus. The breakfast is worth the cost.

Disliked: No outlet at the bed, lamp at bed did not work, location is not good, not enough showers / sinks to accommodate peak usage. The breakfast is good but could be cheaper, and bar is not cheap either, would expect lower prices for a hostel. Could be because it is one of the only bars in its location.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Santus-Woodall

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 May 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Security, friendly staff, very clean

Disliked: Location alright but not amazing, their hostel in Swiss Cottage is better located

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Greenaway

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 May 2015 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access and straightforward booking procedure. Quiet room and friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

Disliked: Was all OK

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is easily connected to the West end, it is rather clean, compared to other hostels and safe.

Disliked: It is not clean as I used to remember from previous visits and the shared rooms, dorms, are seriously small. I was in a 12 bed female dorm and it was difficult to find some space just to leave my luggage (hand luggage)

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Salazar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2015 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the aesthic of the entire building. The hostel was beautiful, spacious and had it's own charm. The lounge, bar, and restraunt were all awesome touches as well. They kept the bathroom rountinely cleaned throughout the day, with a scheule posted on the door.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorenzo Crociani

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2015 Lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever been to...the building was a beautiful Victorian style palace located five minutes walk from Finchley road's tube station (zone 2)...the room was big and very clean such as bathrooms(which were usually small and dirty in my own past experiences)...the price for a four night stay was right for what you get... It was a fantastic place to stay in the most beautiful city in the world...

Disliked: Nothing...everything was ok...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Pigatto

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It is well located and value for money. However, read my comments about what I dislike about it before booking a room with them. I still recommend Palmers Lodge, but you must be aware of some details that might disturb you.

Disliked: As this is second time I stayed at Palmers Lodge, I was expecting the same service I had in December/January. However, there was no power socket available in our beds, not even a common one in the room. It was bad because we had to ask the reception to solve the problem, which firstly told us that we should use the power sockets available in the public area of the room, but after finding out that there was no power sockets at that room they arranged an extension for us. I suppose nowadays having at least one power socket available for every bed is mandatory! In addition, my mattress and pillow were not comfortable. One more thing: the Internet coverage is still poor. It does not work well (I have got an Android phone and my friend has got an iPhone - both had problems to remain connected).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tracy Leeflang

Alone

Events / festivals

28 April 2015 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building with everything you could wish for in an hostel. large lounge, decent grub, friendly and helpful staff, and adequate security. And plenty of plugs to recharge your electronics!

Disliked: I was in room 003, At that end of the building, the toilet facilities are minimal, with one of two toilets actually *in* a shower. Not very handy. Also, I had bed Z1 on the top floor, and I have to say the carpeting up there smelled as if it needed a good cleaning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Turner

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Swiss cottage underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were groups socialising who if I'd been in a better state, could've easily joined the party with. The beds have little curtains which makes sleeping really private. To be honest, I slept amazingly deeply and comfortably in a little safe cocoon. Bit like at a festival when you crawl into your tent and feel safe and less stifled away from the crowds. Was bloody larvely after a 3.5 hour doom gig at shepherd's bush O2 Empire. Not sure how well I could've slept without the curtain, and this is something I'll always look for at future hostel experiences.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. I read up on hostel etiquette before journeying, and observe that everyone used the facilities with said etiquette. The only thing, my booking confirmation email said to take a copy of the email to the reception on arrival, however reception wanted ID, which I was not carrying. More my mistake than there's though, as I guess it's just a done thing for travellers, but as my stay in London was so brief I didn't think it would be necessary. The lockers require your own padlock, you can buy one in reception if needs be. My locker was quite shallow and would've struggled to fit my pretty bulging satchel in it, but obviously valuables can be put in to the locker separately and satchel can hang on bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: English breakfast missing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay at Palmers Lodge. It was great to have free tea and coffee available the whole day and the stuff was very competent concerning tips for sightseeing. Oh - and the breakfast was worth the 4,50£! Delicious. :)

Disliked: The Wifi wasn't the best, but fair enough. The bathrooms were clean although male and female aren't seperated. My blanket smelled really bad...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in so far! I love the house, the rooms are nice and big enough. Even if you're staying in a room with many people you have still privacy and nobody can watch you sleep - I like that for sure! The bathrooms are always clean and the staff was nice and helpfull. I've been there twice not and gonna stay there again when I'm in London for sure!

Disliked: Only thing I've missed there: a socket on each bed. There were plenty of them (which isn't something I take for granted), but if you wanna charge your phone/tablet/whatever and you wanna set an alarm clock, I don't wanna get out of bed to turn it off. But this is really just a small thing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with good space, nice lounge and bar areas with strong wifi and tea/coffee. Dorms are warm and comfortable and the hostel is very close to the Underground. Good showers, helpful staff.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Gastaldi

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I know...a bit expensive but definitely worth it! Very clean, wifi works everywhere, curtains around ech bed for privacy, a reading lamp and plugs, just great!

Disliked: They charge for breakfast

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HYERYOUNG KOO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 HYERYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely charming building, friendly stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free banana and filtered water

Disliked: bed-cleaning, no towels

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

barbara barone

Alone

City break

26 January 2015 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities of the lounge

Disliked: breakfast is no more included in the roomrate

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrícia Teles

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Patrícia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good.

Disliked: Without breakfast... I need to pay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old house and great beds with good privacy.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I value cleanliness and a quiet nights sleep over a party atmosphere at times, and that's exactly why I chose palmers lodge again. Location is not in central London, but it is close to Camden, which is great for visiting the markets on weekends, and for the pub crawl...

Disliked: I stayed here two years ago as well, and was a bit shocked that the free breakfasts are no longer on offer, particularly as the price per night has significantly increased. Also, the staff at the front desk were a lot friendlier and more helpful last time round. This time, the only guy who smiled was the spanish guy. When asking the Australian guy on night shift whether there's 24hour reception, he replied with a stone cold "I'm here all night." Pretty sure it would have cracked his face if he smiled! When I checked in, the lady did not offer advice or information about the area or attractions in London, which I don't think is too unusual to expect from a hostel. There's not really a party atmosphere in the place either, but that could work out in your favour in regards to waking up refreshed....

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: noisy road

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like in the description. Top

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clara Schilizzi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2014 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good to get into London and no hassle going to and from airports. The place was nice and clean and staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Perhaps an option to choose what bunk to sleep in if we have any back of knee problems as it was hard getting to the top bunk with a bad knee. Just a friendly reminder on your site perhaps?


See all London hostels
See all London hotels