HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.70EUR
  • Towel 1.90EUR

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 134 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


27 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Original Victorian features, wood panelling. Considerateness of other travellers, v.helpful/friendly staff. Whole place well organised but in relaxed sort of way. I would happily bring my 12yr old here. Brilliantly simple/ effective showers. Even dormitories suitable for all age groups(as long as happy to sleep in bunk beds. Comfortable beds. Solid, non-sqeaky bunkbeds. 24hr staffed reception desk. Staff happily changed my top to a bottom bunk as soon as one available(I am 54 and not athletic type!).

Disliked: Everyone so considerate in dorm that everything had to be done in the dark! Had to use a torch to get dressed. It's probably worth checking your self-catering fridge more often-loads of out of date stuff when I looked. Could only see 2 tiny saucepans too. Apart from that I'm struggling to find anything to say here!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: What I liked the most was in fact the place and the atmosphere. All the people were pretty quiet and polite and the building is so beautiful, also the music they play is so cool!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location was excellent, coffee was free.

Disliked: My hang was broken on my bed so I couldn't hang my jacket, very little space in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The staff is really nice and helpful, We stayed in female dorms and apart from 2 surprinsingly inconsiderate spanish girls who were talking whole night, the room was really clean, fresh air, quietness,... The lounge is very spacious and the vibe is also cool.

Disliked: Kitchen is just sooooo small and not equipt well for as that many guests as are staying in the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Beautiful and interesting

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating


17 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The beds were made of wood and had curtains them. I also very much loved the good showers and toilets.

Disliked:

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Lovely building, well taken care of . Easy to find. Privacy curtains on beds are a great idea.

Disliked: Didn't see any curtains or doors on the shower stalls- don't think I would take a shower here.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Location and helpfullness of staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: nice

Disliked: no too much space in the room

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The beds have curtains which enable privacy and darkness when the lights go on. There are different bathrooms to visit and I got my laundry done. Pleasant areas to sit in and eat. Helpful and friendly staff and interesting guests!

Disliked: Very limited cooking facilities - just one microwave but at least one could warm something up and keep a bit of food refrigerated.The music was fine in the bar area, but the music was a bit disturbing piped into the living room which is usually a quiet area. That said, when it was soothing, rather than heavy metal, I didn't mind it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability