We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

88.9% Overall Rating

1019 out of 1072 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2015)

Gavin Turner thinks…

"The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Swiss cottage underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.73
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
82.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
23.13 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
14.95 USD

Hostel 68.6% 694 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
14.95 USD

Hostel 88.7% 3343 reviews
Access Paddington
36.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
14.13 USD

Hostel 84.5% 1864 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
57.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
47.85 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

1019 out of 1072 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 728 of 1025 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Turner

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Swiss cottage underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were groups socialising who if I'd been in a better state, could've easily joined the party with. The beds have little curtains which makes sleeping really private. To be honest, I slept amazingly deeply and comfortably in a little safe cocoon. Bit like at a festival when you crawl into your tent and feel safe and less stifled away from the crowds. Was bloody larvely after a 3.5 hour doom gig at shepherd's bush O2 Empire. Not sure how well I could've slept without the curtain, and this is something I'll always look for at future hostel experiences.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. I read up on hostel etiquette before journeying, and observe that everyone used the facilities with said etiquette. The only thing, my booking confirmation email said to take a copy of the email to the reception on arrival, however reception wanted ID, which I was not carrying. More my mistake than there's though, as I guess it's just a done thing for travellers, but as my stay in London was so brief I didn't think it would be necessary. The lockers require your own padlock, you can buy one in reception if needs be. My locker was quite shallow and would've struggled to fit my pretty bulging satchel in it, but obviously valuables can be put in to the locker separately and satchel can hang on bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: English breakfast missing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay at Palmers Lodge. It was great to have free tea and coffee available the whole day and the stuff was very competent concerning tips for sightseeing. Oh - and the breakfast was worth the 4,50£! Delicious. :)

Disliked: The Wifi wasn't the best, but fair enough. The bathrooms were clean although male and female aren't seperated. My blanket smelled really bad...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in so far! I love the house, the rooms are nice and big enough. Even if you're staying in a room with many people you have still privacy and nobody can watch you sleep - I like that for sure! The bathrooms are always clean and the staff was nice and helpfull. I've been there twice not and gonna stay there again when I'm in London for sure!

Disliked: Only thing I've missed there: a socket on each bed. There were plenty of them (which isn't something I take for granted), but if you wanna charge your phone/tablet/whatever and you wanna set an alarm clock, I don't wanna get out of bed to turn it off. But this is really just a small thing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with good space, nice lounge and bar areas with strong wifi and tea/coffee. Dorms are warm and comfortable and the hostel is very close to the Underground. Good showers, helpful staff.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Gastaldi

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I know...a bit expensive but definitely worth it! Very clean, wifi works everywhere, curtains around ech bed for privacy, a reading lamp and plugs, just great!

Disliked: They charge for breakfast

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HYERYOUNG KOO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 HYERYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely charming building, friendly stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free banana and filtered water

Disliked: bed-cleaning, no towels

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

barbara barone

Alone

City break

26 January 2015 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities of the lounge

Disliked: breakfast is no more included in the roomrate

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrícia Teles

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Patrícia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good.

Disliked: Without breakfast... I need to pay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old house and great beds with good privacy.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I value cleanliness and a quiet nights sleep over a party atmosphere at times, and that's exactly why I chose palmers lodge again. Location is not in central London, but it is close to Camden, which is great for visiting the markets on weekends, and for the pub crawl...

Disliked: I stayed here two years ago as well, and was a bit shocked that the free breakfasts are no longer on offer, particularly as the price per night has significantly increased. Also, the staff at the front desk were a lot friendlier and more helpful last time round. This time, the only guy who smiled was the spanish guy. When asking the Australian guy on night shift whether there's 24hour reception, he replied with a stone cold "I'm here all night." Pretty sure it would have cracked his face if he smiled! When I checked in, the lady did not offer advice or information about the area or attractions in London, which I don't think is too unusual to expect from a hostel. There's not really a party atmosphere in the place either, but that could work out in your favour in regards to waking up refreshed....

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: noisy road

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like in the description. Top

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clara Schilizzi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2014 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good to get into London and no hassle going to and from airports. The place was nice and clean and staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Perhaps an option to choose what bunk to sleep in if we have any back of knee problems as it was hard getting to the top bunk with a bad knee. Just a friendly reminder on your site perhaps?

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

luke walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 luke would recommend this property

Liked: Cool building, good dorms

Disliked: Swiss cottage had the potential to be great, but during my four days at the hostel there was no wifi, cold showers everyday, and no atmosphere - in neither the common room or the bar. Not the greatest choice for the solo traveller.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice old house

Disliked: A bit expensive

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buena ubicacion, tenes Supermercado abierto 24hs, y estaciones de metro a pocas cuadras staff masculino predispuesto a ayudar en cualquier momento el desayuno tiene buen horario variedad y calidad.. dentro de lo

Disliked: staff femenino de recepcion "poco amigable".. te responden lo mejor posible a lo q preguntes, pero no mas q eso.. los flacos le ponen mas ganas las camas son algo chicas, sobretodo en el largo, mido 1,77 y no quedaba mucho margen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Marie Stephenson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Laura Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The building is gorgeous and has so much history and character. The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and there's plenty of toilet and shower facilities so you'll never struggle to find one! The new bar looks great too but I didn't get a chance to go down there this time.

Disliked: Whilst most of the staff are lovely there are some that come across as quite rude and dismissive, I don't know if some of it is because of language barriers but a bit more consistency in terms of quality of service would be good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Mizar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room - large, friendly, and can be either quiet or social. I appreciate that it´s separate from the bar, unlike other hostels which combine the two. I met some really great people in the common room and during breakfast, whom I ended up traveling with during my trip. Curtains on the beds offer more privacy than other hostels. Large luggage lockers in the room.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Clean toilets

Disliked: They kept changing our rooms during our stay and this was extremely annoying. Price paid compared to other hostels for this kind of service is unacceptable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a very convinient location only a few stops on the tube to all major attractions and a pleasant walk to Regent park or Camden Town. The staff was helpful and the lounge area was a nice spot to unwind with big couches. The beds were also pretty comfortable.

Disliked: The bar downstairs was convinient but did not have a great atmosphere. The food wasn't that great either although we always appreciated the complimentary breakfast. The bottom room with 18 bed is right beside the common room so just be prepared with a pair of earplugs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LUCY SWEE

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2014 LUCY would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedsheet and toilet

Disliked: No table in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsty Forsdike

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 May 2014 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, good location close to Camden where we went for the day. Well organised, smooth trip with helpful staff!

Disliked: Quite noisy in the morning due to a large group of other travellers.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels