HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

85.7% Overall Rating

979 out of 1029 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Laura Marie Stephenson thinks…

"The building is gorgeous and has so much history and character. The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and there's plenty of toilet and shower facilities so you'll never struggle to find one! The new bar…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.67
  • Towel USD 2.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
101.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.97 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
20.45 USD

Hostel 76.5% 666 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
23.87 USD

Hostel 68.2% 613 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
23.87 USD

Hostel 88.6% 3155 reviews
Access Paddington
46.90 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
32.23 USD

Hostel 76.7% 1836 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
44.76 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

979 out of 1029 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 709 of 984 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Marie Stephenson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Laura Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The building is gorgeous and has so much history and character. The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and there's plenty of toilet and shower facilities so you'll never struggle to find one! The new bar looks great too but I didn't get a chance to go down there this time.

Disliked: Whilst most of the staff are lovely there are some that come across as quite rude and dismissive, I don't know if some of it is because of language barriers but a bit more consistency in terms of quality of service would be good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Mizar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room - large, friendly, and can be either quiet or social. I appreciate that it´s separate from the bar, unlike other hostels which combine the two. I met some really great people in the common room and during breakfast, whom I ended up traveling with during my trip. Curtains on the beds offer more privacy than other hostels. Large luggage lockers in the room.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Clean toilets

Disliked: They kept changing our rooms during our stay and this was extremely annoying. Price paid compared to other hostels for this kind of service is unacceptable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a very convinient location only a few stops on the tube to all major attractions and a pleasant walk to Regent park or Camden Town. The staff was helpful and the lounge area was a nice spot to unwind with big couches. The beds were also pretty comfortable.

Disliked: The bar downstairs was convinient but did not have a great atmosphere. The food wasn't that great either although we always appreciated the complimentary breakfast. The bottom room with 18 bed is right beside the common room so just be prepared with a pair of earplugs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LUCY SWEE

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2014 LUCY would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedsheet and toilet

Disliked: No table in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsty Forsdike

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 May 2014 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, good location close to Camden where we went for the day. Well organised, smooth trip with helpful staff!

Disliked: Quite noisy in the morning due to a large group of other travellers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for London, complimentary breakfast, bed curtains

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: No self-service kitchen. Location of lockers (under the bed) isn't that great, same showers with men, which means have to dress up before going to shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Curtains on dorm beds and individual lights. Computers for internet use. Nice building

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms/ showers. Have to pay for towel. Expensive for a dorm room.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Annamaria Gastaldi

Alone

City break
Shopping

25 March 2014 Annamaria would recommend this property

Liked: Thee location is excellent especially if you're coming from Stanstead, the airport bus stops nearby. Two jubilee line stops can also be found very close by. The place itself is very clean, beds are comfortable and they each have a curtain for privacy and a reading light. There are plugs everywhere to recharge devices and the wifi works really well . Staff are friendly and helpful, the lounge/common room is spacious and ideal to relax. The breakfast room is also large and there's a good choice of food!

Disliked: It's a bit on the expensive side for a hostel but it's definitely worth it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff and super clean bathrooms

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The rooms are echo-ey, so whenever somebody moves, you'll hear it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the property inside. The bunk beds and curtain surrounds with individual bed lights creates a very private secure condition.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seemed like a cool building and was nice that the beds were all enclosed

Disliked: Wasn't the cleanest hostel I've stayed in and was a bit cold in the common areas

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I totally loved the Hostel, its people and the location. Everyone was so friendly and we had everything we wanted and needed.

Disliked: Maybe it was a little too far from London, but the neighbourhood itself was wonderful too.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Krull

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014

Liked: It was a cool building. That was about it.

Disliked: The staff was rude. I got moved around to different rooms each night of my stay with no sympathy from the staff. Not much going on around the area the hostel was in; however, the station into town was relatively close. Limited larger lockers in the room (large ones for upper bunks, small underbed ones for bottom bunks. If you have a large bag, request a top bunk as the bags won't fit).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and loation. Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: the fish and chips tasted like a microwave meal

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well organized, quiet despite large number of beds in each dorm

Disliked: toilets are few

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Downes

Alone

Partying / nightlife

30 January 2014 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay and would so go back

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location - close to a metro station, easy to find. Linens included plus a lockable trunk is great. Also 24h access is REALLY good to have.

Disliked: No comments.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, relaxed atmosphere. The beds were excellent and the curtains on each bed gave you an extra sense of privacy - even in an 18-bed dorm.

Disliked: Not a big complaint, but would be great if additional kitchen facilities were made available so you could cook meals.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roosa Jolkkonen

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 January 2014 Roosa would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy and cute, good service! Will go again!

Disliked: Roosa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really does have a great atmosphere. The wifi is fast and you can check in at any time of night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: It was a bit far from everything, but I think it was worth it.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 January 2014

Liked: Very little! The free breakfast was decent.

Disliked: I am aware that I am not going to be the winner of the prize draw with this review but I have to be honest and hope a hostelbookers.com representative does something about this place you are advertising. Firstly I have never come across ruder more un-helpfull staff in my life. Everything seemed as if you were really causing a problem by even just asking a question. The girl on the front desk when I checked in had the WORST manners I have ever come across. For a shared dorm, that looked so cosy on the pictures on hostel bookers, was in fact cold, draughty with a bright and glaring light making the room the most depressing and uninviting place I have ever been in. It was not exactly cheap to share this room either. All night the windows rattled and were loose in their frame with wind howling in. The curtain that goes across the bunk bed was held on with a tiny bit of old electrical tape and just fell down every time you touched it. I booked this hostel as it stated there was free wifi throughout. There is no point at all to that wifi as it did not work. You were on it for 2 minutes before it would dispaear and the connection was so weak it took 2 minutes for an email to open. The room I was in was on the 1st floor closest to reception and stairs so they can not say it was because it was far away from the main area of the building. I had to do all of my work in an internet cafe. A total joke. There was no where to get drinking water from after the kitchen shut. The bathroom tap was only hot so you had to brush your teeth with warm water. However, the worst and most rediculous thing was that all but one plug socket in the room was european. I went and asked at reception if they had a charger. As an English person in England staying at an english hostel I presumed there would be UK plugs. So had not bought an adapter. She just looked at me and said "No, most people are international. There is nothing I can do" Well this simply isn't true based on the fact all 6 people in the dorm had to time share over the one British plug socket. No one could have fully charged phones it was a joke.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location, the pub in the house

Disliked: the friendliness of the staff was okay....


See all London hostels
See all London hotels