HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.01USD
  • Towel 2.34USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 81-90 of 152 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very convenient location - close to a metro station, easy to find. Linens included plus a lockable trunk is great. Also 24h access is REALLY good to have.

Disliked: No comments.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Cleanliness, relaxed atmosphere. The beds were excellent and the curtains on each bed gave you an extra sense of privacy - even in an 18-bed dorm.

Disliked: Not a big complaint, but would be great if additional kitchen facilities were made available so you could cook meals.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Cosy and cute, good service! Will go again!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It really does have a great atmosphere. The wifi is fast and you can check in at any time of night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: It was a bit far from everything, but I think it was worth it.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very little! The free breakfast was decent.

Disliked: I am aware that I am not going to be the winner of the prize draw with this review but I have to be honest and hope a hostelbookers.com representative does something about this place you are advertising. Firstly I have never come across ruder more un-helpfull staff in my life. Everything seemed as if you were really causing a problem by even just asking a question. The girl on the front desk when I checked in had the WORST manners I have ever come across. For a shared dorm, that looked so cosy on the pictures on hostel bookers, was in fact cold, draughty with a bright and glaring light making the room the most depressing and uninviting place I have ever been in. It was not exactly cheap to share this room either. All night the windows rattled and were loose in their frame with wind howling in. The curtain that goes across the bunk bed was held on with a tiny bit of old electrical tape and just fell down every time you touched it. I booked this hostel as it stated there was free wifi throughout. There is no point at all to that wifi as it did not work. You were on it for 2 minutes before it would dispaear and the connection was so weak it took 2 minutes for an email to open. The room I was in was on the 1st floor closest to reception and stairs so they can not say it was because it was far away from the main area of the building. I had to do all of my work in an internet cafe. A total joke. There was no where to get drinking water from after the kitchen shut. The bathroom tap was only hot so you had to brush your teeth with warm water. However, the worst and most rediculous thing was that all but one plug socket in the room was european. I went and asked at reception if they had a charger. As an English person in England staying at an english hostel I presumed there would be UK plugs. So had not bought an adapter. She just looked at me and said "No, most people are international. There is nothing I can do" Well this simply isn't true based on the fact all 6 people in the dorm had to time share over the one British plug socket. No one could have fully charged phones it was a joke.


The property's response is

Hello
I'm afraid you have some facts mixed up.
Every bed has at least 2 sockets, all have the UK 3 pin socket, we suspect someone had simply left their travel adapter in which you didn't notice sadly.
Every room does have wi-fi and is checked daily as part of the management walk around.
The curtains in your room are secured by 12mm steel rods so we're unsure what you were looking at, we also check this daily.
We have a drinking water which is accessible 24hrs just outside the kitchen

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a cool building. That was about it.

Disliked: The staff was rude. I got moved around to different rooms each night of my stay with no sympathy from the staff. Not much going on around the area the hostel was in; however, the station into town was relatively close. Limited larger lockers in the room (large ones for upper bunks, small underbed ones for bottom bunks. If you have a large bag, request a top bunk as the bags won't fit).


The property's response is

Hi there and thank you for your review,

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience in our hostel. We rarely need to move people around so we need to apologise for giving you two different rooms and hope we can bring you a better service the next time you visit us.

Kind regards

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: atmosphere, location, the pub in the house

Disliked: the friendliness of the staff was okay....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and very safe. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Lockers ought to have more storage space. A 50L backpack couldn't fit.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: excellent atmosphere and character

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really lived up to its reputation as a luxury hostel. The rooms were very clean and exquisitely furnished. Each bed has curtains for additional privacy and the layout means you are never really aware of staying in a room with such a large number of guests. There is also generous storage available in trunks under the beds which can be padlocked for security. The staff were available 24 hours and were consistently exceedingly helpful and friendly. Superb location in a pleasant area of London, close to a Tube station, plenty shops and a cinema.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability