We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

89.8% Overall Rating

1054 out of 1109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2015)

Jenna Howard thinks…

"The reason i am writing my first review EVER is because we were given such amazing care and accommodations from Kevin. He helped us to figure out where to go that would fit our interests and travel…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.92
  • Towel USD 2.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
84.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
28.13 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
15.39 USD

Hostel 75.4% 709 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
12.31 USD

Hostel 79.2% 3380 reviews
Access Paddington
37.51 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
25.85 USD

Hostel 83.9% 1886 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
59.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 3 reviews
The Nayland Hotel
43.85 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

1054 out of 1109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 749 of 1062 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lena Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: Georgous building, located in Camden bourogh, comfortable cubby beds with privacy curtains, helpful staff and they sell power converters! the one i had was a dud so i was very pleased about this.

Disliked: Tried to charge me an extra fee of some sort but quickly fixed it when presented with my printed hostelbookers reservation....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Raciunas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: I love everything about Palmer's Lodge - Swiss Cottage. The beautiful architecture, the free internet, the secure nature of the bunks (wood panels to keep people who sleepwalk/sleep restlessly like myself from falling out), the comfortable lounge....I could go on and on. I feel safe when I stay here, and the staff is wonderful, particularly Hedia, who remembered me from my previous stays and has always been so kind to me. As someone who travels alone, it means a lot. I will definitely be back, and soon!

Disliked: Honestly can't think of anything. Maybe the lack of street lights in the walk from the tube station, but that's obviously outside of the control of the hostel itself.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are a pretty good size for such a big city and smaller hostel. The place has a lot of character did fun people, definitely go to the bar for a good time and good prices.

Disliked: It was very outdated, shared bathrooms, and the towels were outrageously expensive for a rental.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabella Swaren

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

26 September 2012 Izabella would recommend this property

Liked: how old and vintage it feels. the curtains around the beds are a great touch of privacy!!

Disliked: the staff were not amazingly helpful or friendly but they were good. If your room was on the 3rd floor you have to walk through the shower room to get up there which was kind of weird.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Olivia Tilsed

Alone

Business / conference

22 September 2012

Liked: Nice architecture, design, friendly front of house staff, safe location. Curtains on bed

Disliked: • The constant 24/7 door slamming and banging of the main doors and doors to the dorms. All of which are fire doors. These doors slam and bang ferociously loud - very, very, very loud - unbearable. Every single person does it and it wakes everybody up. Staff do not set any rules to guests, there are no notice posters up to say not to slam doors, and to hold them shut quietly. Guests must be told this, and it must be a rule, as well as being considerate to others regarding manners and noise (the noise is beyond ridiculous - it is actual torture trying to sleep at night - literally torture). There needs to a silence after midnight rule, and a rule that states that guests must be quite and considerate at all times. Even through earplugs I got woken up, and I could never sleep because of the door being left to slam, people using the hairdryer at 5am, half-naked males wondering in the room to have 'friendly time' with each other. Where are all the rules and notices being handed out on arrival, and notices on doors - all doors, in dorm rooms? These rules need and must be enforced immediately! The doors need to be altered so they do not aggressively slam - it sounds like a gunshot each time!! Foam, rubber lining and oil (for the creaky ness), will help, or completely changed with new and efficient quite doors. Sleep is the all-time no.1 important element - it's the top priority, and you have to cater to the light sleepers too. If one could afford a private room, one would. Nobody wants to really stay in a hostel, people do it because it is more affordable - but sleep should never be ignored, and this needs to addressed asap! This hostel has not addressed this. Also the floorboards are incredibly noisy, creaky, and every sound is heightened. The doors under the bed when pulled out are stiff, creaky (very), and make a high pitched sound when pulling them out. •Rooms very freezing and damp at night time (single glazed) but no heating, very poor quilt covers/duvets - too thin to keep oneself even remotely warm. • Mattress' too thin and too hard, especially when one is lying on solid wood beneath. Very small, single beds. Creaky beds too. Not stable enough. Bed side light is too bright at night - why is there not a dimmer switch??? • People rudely take up all of your luggage space, and storage draws. I arrive, and they are all taken (I have stayed a few times, and this happens every time - and to other people) - there needs to be notices in the dorms saying not to do this. • Mixed - unisex toilets - stinks of urine, stale urine, and urine all over the floor, and urine dripping, toilet seats left up - females have to use these toilets! Naked and half naked males leaving the shower door open, walking back to rooms like this. Males urinating with the door open, with their genitals exposed. There are no female only showers or toilets. • No Wi-Fi???!!!! What??!!! This is unacceptable and shocking in the 21st century! It is a poor excuse for the manager to say "this is because it is more social this way". NO. This does not work. It is cruel not to have Wi-Fi in rooms - people need quite time, in their rooms to study, write essays, do emails, work related assignments, business work, or just private time to use the internet in a private and have personal space, or to even watch a film in bed to help them relax and sleep before bed. There is no freedom, privacy, independence or space in this hostel. It's not fair. Just put WI-FI in the rooms! You make enough money! Every single guest I spoke to is so angry about this - we all want internet in the dorms/rooms! Customers come first, so please listen to us. • •Where are any recreational facilities: Ping Pong, Pool, dvd room...= there are none! •Insomnia, insomnia, insomnia! Managers, enforce rules, put rules all over the rooms, have noise rules and enforce them, sort the fire doors out (rubber and oil the doors). Tell people to HOLD them shut and NOT to let them slam - they should face penalties if not. They should put fans in the room - the block out all the noise, and circulate the air. There must be a female only toilet and bathroom. Rooms are not warm enough, drafts and damp. A lot of spiders, large spiders, ants, and beetles about. Bed bugs I think too. I and another girl had mysterious bites. You need thicker bedding and duvets - and a thicker, softer mattress', Dimmer switches on lamps and lights Sleep is impossible in this hostel - the management needs to change this now (and it is easily done) Tell all guests to brink ear plugs, eye mask, and small torch/headlight torch

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily access to Central London by tube and buss, beautiful building, clean, helpful and welcoming staff, free breakfast, free internet, good quality.

Disliked: NOTHING!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think the atmosphere is really nice. It is really good how there are a few different areas that you can hang out and do your own thing. I really like the location of this property as well and you feel pretty safe with the surroundings

Disliked: The room I was in was a little smaller than I would of liked, but in terms of needing a bed to sleep it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neat and clean toilets and shower area.

Disliked: honestly, Nothing for the price I paid

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miriam Acuna

Alone

Business / conference

16 September 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything! It was clean, secure, nice, the buildning was much nice.

Disliked: Inernet was not good enough. And there is no kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tyson Hollitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Tyson would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm and inviting. The location wasn't super close to the city but was in a nice area. Even though the rooms had 18 people in them I could pull curtains all the way around to give myself full privacy. the common room was like a large living room.

Disliked: A lack of power points to access with the internet within reach and the bunks were a little hard to get in. I also visited during September and it was surprisingly hot for the last 3 days which meant my room that had no air con and that was facing the sun all day was very hot and very dry.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, and the bathroom is big. Everyone has his own socket and lamp, and there are curtains for each bed.

Disliked: The wall is not clean enough. Wi-Fi cannot be used in the room, only in common areas.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cathryn O'Flaherty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Cathryn would recommend this property

Liked: central to train station and shops. Comfortable seating in lounge areas. Good privacy curtains around bunks, and individual reading lamps. :-) pity there is no protection on top bunks to prevent light shining directly into your eyes.

Disliked: underwhelming breakfast and an amazing lack of friendliness in staff and the ppl who stayed there. Just a well appointed barn to sleep in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe and curtains on beds

Disliked: lockers were small and bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as stated. Loved the curtains around each bed, it gave a sense of privacy and limited disturbance of people coming in and out of the room. Overall a great experience. Beautiful building and very friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Can be quite hot in summer and windows unable to open very far

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madeline Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Madeline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The common room area is nice and spacious and the free wifi works quite well. Its situated in a great spot, right near the tube station and within walking distance to grocery stores and cafes.

Disliked: Madeline left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: not that much really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Irvine

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds, closed off bed gave privacy. even though we were both in large dorms of 21 and 28 people, during the olympics, there were no issues with noise.

Disliked: plastic bags should be banned in hostels- shame to be woken up by them when everything else was perfect - obviously this was the guests not the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Paluzzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and approachable staff, not to mention that the hostel is really nice! You feel like you're staying in some castle when you walk up to it. Love that there breakfast was included, and the bar and restaurants downstairs were great for meeting people.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite hostels anywhere. This was my second time there. I love the curtains on the beds which give you privacy. The staff (especially the brunette girl) are very nice, and she upgraded me after a confusion which made me wait a while to check in (and after I said I didn't mind waiting).

Disliked: The breakfast room is very crowded and I need to keep logging on to the wifi repeatedly, but that's it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the Westminster station and was around the corner from a Superdrugs! The staff were helpful when I needed directions. Computers were always available for use if you didn't have a laptop or iPad. Breakfast offered more drink options than any other hostel I have been to. (coffee, tea, cappuccino, apple juice, orange juice etc.)

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor and although I had a rucksack it was pretty hard for people who had suitcases to get all their stuff up there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karin Otzen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: Very robust beds built entirely in wood with curtains around each bed for privacy, each bed had a reading light and 2 outlets. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. Location was good just between two stations on the Jubilee line makes it easy to get all over London. For me this is the perfect hostel.

Disliked: The only downside to this hostel is that some of the rooms get quite warm and could do with a little more space for storing suitcases.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

alex jaja

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 alex would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place, you will enjoy it!

Disliked: Not much really

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JIYOUNG KIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 JIYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: there is private locker for each person, and curtain around the bed. shower both was enough.

Disliked: it was a little bit far from the city center. and there is no lift in the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice shared dorms with curtains around the beds for privacy. Amazing bar, TV room and outdoor seating.

Disliked: The private bathroom in our dorm was made up of 2 bathrooms and 3 showers, however a light was out in one of the bathrooms and one of the showers, and the other two shower had doors that wouldnt close. Shared bathrooms were better but the showers had no place to put dry clothes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly people, always willing to help us with lockers, luggage etc. very patient altough our English was not the best one. nice living room for all guests where we could watch TV or Dvd. Free Internet with the help of four PCs. Beautiful old-fashioned desgign, very british, house was a kind of victorian villa I think. Amazing atmosphere. Pub downstairs. Possibility for drinks and little snacks in the living room. City map for London available. Quiet armosphere in the sleeping room, have been there with 21 women tough. Cards which were used as keys. High security level. Very very clean! (Loving it) I'll come back!

Disliked: Breakfast was ok. Positive: Included. Orange juice, water, orange + apple+ toast. Cornflakes e.g. have were available too. croissant was a bit pasty and not very nice. only jam and butter. no cheese or ham etc. missed that. sugar available but no salt.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels