We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

84.8% Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/11/2014)

"I value cleanliness and a quiet nights sleep over a party atmosphere at times, and that's exactly why I chose palmers lodge again. Location is not in central London, but it is close to Camden, which is great for…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
96.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
34.49 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.23 USD

Hostel 68.5% 683 reviews
The Bell House
24.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Phoenix Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 94.9% 3239 reviews
Access Paddington
46.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
25.40 USD

Hostel 77.5% 1850 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 717 of 1001 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moa Ranum

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2012 Moa would recommend this property

Liked: It was very easy to find from the description online. Friendly staff. Clean and practical. Free Internet. I didn't hang out much at the hostel, mostly slept there so I can't really say anything about the bar. Breakfast was nice.

Disliked: The mattress was not very comfortable and the curtain in front of my bed was not working so good. There was a lot of noice in the night, both coming from outside, rooms nearby and people in my room but such is hostel life I guess. Bring earplugs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean dorms Staff Facilities

Disliked: Location wann't ideal for bars, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filipe Adam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2012 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and nice peoople!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucas Paganini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Near Abbey Road! ;)

Disliked: Too many people in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Quoyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 July 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The location was not too far away from everything in London. The laid back atmosphere was great for someone who has been partying hard for a few weeks. Great for a detox. The bar staff were very friendly as well as the reception staff. There was always a good vibe about the place.

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds have privacy curtains and reading lights. There is a reasonable amount of storage for all of your luggage. The bathrooms are cleaned MULTIPLE times each day and I never had a problem with the cleanliness (and I can't say the same about the others). Okay location (between Swiss Cottage and Finchley Road on Jubilee line).

Disliked: The 28 bed is just way to big. Between people coming in late from evening entertainment and people getting up super early to catch trains/flights/etc you only get a few hours of sleep each night. Most of the lockers are under the bed and rolling them out on the hardwood floor adds to the nightly noise. Also the room is not well enough lit for the size of the room. No kitchen facilities. Ended up leaving this hostel for a hostel with a more open and welcoming atmosphere and I was travelling alone and despite the hostel being very big (which it is!), I found it hard to meet people. Lots of school groups and others seems to keep to themselves.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY clean. They clean the bathrooms multiple times each day. The lounge area at the back of the hostel off the pub and restaurant is nice. There are safety deposit boxes that can be rented each day to store passports etc (and also lockers in each room). I was in the 9 bed shared on the second and it was good. More of a community atmosphere in this room as compared to the whole hostel. Also had female only facilities on this floor. Staff were friendly. Luggage storage before/after check in and out.

Disliked: While it's a beautiful place, there isn't a real friendly feel. Although I was there for many nights, it was difficult to meet people. There were also MANY school groups which was very annoying. The food at the on-site restaurant is mediocre. Very limited kitchen facilities so it can expensive to buy meals each day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pleasant, largely spacious hostel. nice lounge

Disliked: middle beds are a little low - should be big enough to sit up in

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the privacy curtains and found that even the 18 bed dorm felt spacious!

Disliked: It was hard to find free electrical outlets in the dorms themselves, however, there are plenty of outlets in the common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELZBIETA SZYMANSKA

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 June 2012 ELZBIETA would recommend this property

Liked: the internet for free, friendly atmosphere, breakfast included

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dante Popalisky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Dante would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are generally friendly and nice. Location is ok but it would probably be cooler to stay right in the center of town.

Disliked: Dante left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are hard work too keep clean all the time.The location also good for stay.Quiet place in the night.

Disliked: They don't really have kitchen for guest cooking.Just have microwave kettle sandwich machine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good bar on site, restaurant as well, but we ddin't eat there. free breakfast. privacy curtain on bunk.

Disliked: The hostel is not really in walking distance to anything, so yo need to tube or bus to everything, even bars and restaurants- there is a little cafe around the corner where we had a god lunch. They have no kitchen, but they have a pulic fridge and microwave which was cool.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Furqan Nanji

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Furqan would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great

Disliked: The internet connection and general system for logging in is awful. It disconnects every few minutes. They should just have a regular wifi with a password

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Venla Heikura

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Venla would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place to stay. The staff was nice and helpful, location was OK and the building itself was very unique and beautiful.

Disliked: It was way too hot inside the dormitory.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle BEDOUET

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: J"ai apprécié le très bon accueil, la gentillesse du perssonnel, la propreté des locaux et la situation de l'Etablissement par rapport aux centres d'intérêt de Londres (métro direct tout proche)

Disliked: Rien

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eventhough i shared a room with 30 people, i had privacy due to the curtains provide in our bunk.

Disliked: I have seen better bathrooms and toliets.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Bruce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was nice and clean. A huge locker was provided under each bed and there is ample space for relaxing. Breakfast is included which is great - cereal, toast croissants, coffee etc. The basics but good. Bathrooms were also really well maintained and clean although the showers turn off every 10 seconds or so

Disliked: Strange atmosphere among the guests here. If I hadn't met 2 awesome people literally as i arrived, I would have hardly talked to anyone. Despite the large common and breakfast rooms everyone keeps to themselves and doesn't socialise. It's a nice hostel but the atmosphere was peculiar

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: no wifi in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Deepak Venkatesan

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Deepak would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great - 2 mins walk from the Swiss cottage tube station - Exit 2. The rooms are very cosy and nice - with screens for privacy. Free breakfast is included - crossiants, toast, cereals and juice - was very helpful. Not much noise - which is good. Arranged a tour to Stonehenge as well for us - at the last minute.

Disliked: Free wifi does not reach the rooms. So, will need to use it in the lobby and reception only. No kitchen facilities to cook a meal - though they server paid dinner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel provides a nice atmosphere for travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Atlas

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, staff is quite friendly and helpful and there's a nice bar downstairs / common area.

Disliked: It was a little slow when I was there... not too many people in the bar before going out, some groups of younger and older people, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hoffmeister

Alone

Business / conference

25 May 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I wanted to stay at a quiet hostel since I was attending a seminar and I needed to sleep well. This hostel really was great for me, beds were good, nice and quiet at night (even at the 14 bed dorm) and the showers and toilets were really clean.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012

Liked: The building had alot of character and it was very clean.

Disliked: They had builders in but they never warned us and also the shower was not working properly and overflowed on to my clothes.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels