We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

88.2% Overall Rating

1030 out of 1084 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

Timothy Lee thinks…

"Everything about it as described and shown on hostelbookers was delivered. It was clean, safe, comfortable and most of all looked great as well. Value for money and great for those on a budget."

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.97
  • Towel USD 2.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
85.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
23.95 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
18.56 USD

Hostel 69.4% 695 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
15.48 USD

Hostel 84.3% 3366 reviews
Access Paddington
37.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
20.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1871 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
59.98 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
45.67 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

1030 out of 1084 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 737 of 1037 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe and curtains on beds

Disliked: lockers were small and bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as stated. Loved the curtains around each bed, it gave a sense of privacy and limited disturbance of people coming in and out of the room. Overall a great experience. Beautiful building and very friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Can be quite hot in summer and windows unable to open very far

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madeline Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Madeline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The common room area is nice and spacious and the free wifi works quite well. Its situated in a great spot, right near the tube station and within walking distance to grocery stores and cafes.

Disliked: Madeline left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: not that much really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Irvine

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds, closed off bed gave privacy. even though we were both in large dorms of 21 and 28 people, during the olympics, there were no issues with noise.

Disliked: plastic bags should be banned in hostels- shame to be woken up by them when everything else was perfect - obviously this was the guests not the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Paluzzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and approachable staff, not to mention that the hostel is really nice! You feel like you're staying in some castle when you walk up to it. Love that there breakfast was included, and the bar and restaurants downstairs were great for meeting people.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite hostels anywhere. This was my second time there. I love the curtains on the beds which give you privacy. The staff (especially the brunette girl) are very nice, and she upgraded me after a confusion which made me wait a while to check in (and after I said I didn't mind waiting).

Disliked: The breakfast room is very crowded and I need to keep logging on to the wifi repeatedly, but that's it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the Westminster station and was around the corner from a Superdrugs! The staff were helpful when I needed directions. Computers were always available for use if you didn't have a laptop or iPad. Breakfast offered more drink options than any other hostel I have been to. (coffee, tea, cappuccino, apple juice, orange juice etc.)

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor and although I had a rucksack it was pretty hard for people who had suitcases to get all their stuff up there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karin Otzen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: Very robust beds built entirely in wood with curtains around each bed for privacy, each bed had a reading light and 2 outlets. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. Location was good just between two stations on the Jubilee line makes it easy to get all over London. For me this is the perfect hostel.

Disliked: The only downside to this hostel is that some of the rooms get quite warm and could do with a little more space for storing suitcases.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

alex jaja

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 alex would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place, you will enjoy it!

Disliked: Not much really

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JIYOUNG KIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 JIYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: there is private locker for each person, and curtain around the bed. shower both was enough.

Disliked: it was a little bit far from the city center. and there is no lift in the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice shared dorms with curtains around the beds for privacy. Amazing bar, TV room and outdoor seating.

Disliked: The private bathroom in our dorm was made up of 2 bathrooms and 3 showers, however a light was out in one of the bathrooms and one of the showers, and the other two shower had doors that wouldnt close. Shared bathrooms were better but the showers had no place to put dry clothes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly people, always willing to help us with lockers, luggage etc. very patient altough our English was not the best one. nice living room for all guests where we could watch TV or Dvd. Free Internet with the help of four PCs. Beautiful old-fashioned desgign, very british, house was a kind of victorian villa I think. Amazing atmosphere. Pub downstairs. Possibility for drinks and little snacks in the living room. City map for London available. Quiet armosphere in the sleeping room, have been there with 21 women tough. Cards which were used as keys. High security level. Very very clean! (Loving it) I'll come back!

Disliked: Breakfast was ok. Positive: Included. Orange juice, water, orange + apple+ toast. Cornflakes e.g. have were available too. croissant was a bit pasty and not very nice. only jam and butter. no cheese or ham etc. missed that. sugar available but no salt.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to London Underground, decent English breakfast, gorgeous building, small grocery store down the street for good food on the cheap

Disliked: The cleaning staff start shutting down bathrooms during the morning rush for cleaning. It would make more sense to clean the bathrooms mid day when people are no longer in the building

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was very appreciated, and it was good, too. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful; I was having an awful time in London for reasons unrelated to London and the hostel, and they helped me when I screwed up repeatedly.

Disliked: The "privacy screens" aren't as private as advertised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela de la Paz Gomez Romo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2012 Gabriela de la Paz would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was amazing, it was my first experience in a hostel and it was more than great, the staff is so lovely and helpful, they are always willing to help and whit a big smile on there faces, breakfast is included and is really nice, they have a little bar where you can hag and chat. I stayed at a 12 bed room and the beds have little curtains so you can actually have privacy, everything is clean and tidy, so nice, loved it! And the underground station is really close, there are close restaurants and sotres al around and is seemed safe for a lone traveler.

Disliked: Nothing, its amazing!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

ebony atkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012

Liked: the property was very beautiful and had alot of character

Disliked: I did not like the dorm rooms, the room that I was in split in 2 levels and the celings were very low

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Alex

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Staff memeber Hedi was excellent. She would go out of the way to please customers. Requested bed was available and given Central location Good & Cheap Restaurant Excellent breakfast Toilets/Showers get cleaned twice daily Water fontain (newly installed - 1st week in July 2012)

Disliked: Not enough powerpoints in the room Top showers dont have enough pressure (Reception level) Kitchen hours are poor; opens only at 1330 for lunch!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jenny Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: it was a friendly place to stay. i stayed in a room for 12. the washrooms are really clean!

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first we got scared with the number of beds in the dorm we chose: 28. But it was really nice, we felt comfortable and had no problem at all! The hostel has many facilities, such as the kitchen, is located at zone 2, well connected by subway, has many showers/computers and a big commum area and luggage.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moa Ranum

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2012 Moa would recommend this property

Liked: It was very easy to find from the description online. Friendly staff. Clean and practical. Free Internet. I didn't hang out much at the hostel, mostly slept there so I can't really say anything about the bar. Breakfast was nice.

Disliked: The mattress was not very comfortable and the curtain in front of my bed was not working so good. There was a lot of noice in the night, both coming from outside, rooms nearby and people in my room but such is hostel life I guess. Bring earplugs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean dorms Staff Facilities

Disliked: Location wann't ideal for bars, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filipe Adam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2012 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and nice peoople!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucas Paganini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Near Abbey Road! ;)

Disliked: Too many people in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Quoyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 July 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The location was not too far away from everything in London. The laid back atmosphere was great for someone who has been partying hard for a few weeks. Great for a detox. The bar staff were very friendly as well as the reception staff. There was always a good vibe about the place.

Disliked: Nothing really.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels