HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.48USD
  • Towel 1.83USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

Showing 51-60 of 453 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is easily connected to the West end, it is rather clean, compared to other hostels and safe.

Disliked: It is not clean as I used to remember from previous visits and the shared rooms, dorms, are seriously small. I was in a 12 bed female dorm and it was difficult to find some space just to leave my luggage (hand luggage)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry that the hostel did not appear as clean as a previous visit. Our housekeepers are always working to keep standards high and I hope this was an isolated case. Next time you book then I advice looking at one of the larger dorms which have more space and can even be quieter, for example the dorm on the 3rd floor. Thanks again, Tom

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is well located and value for money. However, read my comments about what I dislike about it before booking a room with them. I still recommend Palmers Lodge, but you must be aware of some details that might disturb you.

Disliked: As this is second time I stayed at Palmers Lodge, I was expecting the same service I had in December/January. However, there was no power socket available in our beds, not even a common one in the room. It was bad because we had to ask the reception to solve the problem, which firstly told us that we should use the power sockets available in the public area of the room, but after finding out that there was no power sockets at that room they arranged an extension for us. I suppose nowadays having at least one power socket available for every bed is mandatory! In addition, my mattress and pillow were not comfortable.One more thing: the Internet coverage is still poor. It does not work well (I have got an Android phone and my friend has got an iPhone - both had problems to remain connected).

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really like the aesthic of the entire building. The hostel was beautiful, spacious and had it's own charm. The lounge, bar, and restraunt were all awesome touches as well. They kept the bathroom rountinely cleaned throughout the day, with a scheule posted on the door.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thanks for the nice comments. Its good to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you liked the hostel. Regards, Tom

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Lovely old building with everything you could wish for in an hostel. large lounge, decent grub, friendly and helpful staff, and adequate security. And plenty of plugs to recharge your electronics!

Disliked: I was in room 003, At that end of the building, the toilet facilities are minimal, with one of two toilets actually *in* a shower. Not very handy. Also, I had bed Z1 on the top floor, and I have to say the carpeting up there smelled as if it needed a good cleaning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Swiss cottage underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were groups socialising who if I'd been in a better state, could've easily joined the party with. The beds have little curtains which makes sleeping really private. To be honest, I slept amazingly deeply and comfortably in a little safe cocoon. Bit like at a festival when you crawl into your tent and feel safe and less stifled away from the crowds. Was bloody larvely after a 3.5 hour doom gig at shepherd's bush O2 Empire. Not sure how well I could've slept without the curtain, and this is something I'll always look for at future hostel experiences.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. I read up on hostel etiquette before journeying, and observe that everyone used the facilities with said etiquette. The only thing, my booking confirmation email said to take a copy of the email to the reception on arrival, however reception wanted ID, which I was not carrying. More my mistake than there's though, as I guess it's just a done thing for travellers, but as my stay in London was so brief I didn't think it would be necessary. The lockers require your own padlock, you can buy one in reception if needs be. My locker was quite shallow and would've struggled to fit my pretty bulging satchel in it, but obviously valuables can be put in to the locker separately and satchel can hang on bed.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location

Disliked: English breakfast missing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay at Palmers Lodge. It was great to have free tea and coffee available the whole day and the stuff was very competent concerning tips for sightseeing. Oh - and the breakfast was worth the 4,50£! Delicious. :)

Disliked: The Wifi wasn't the best, but fair enough. The bathrooms were clean although male and female aren't seperated. My blanket smelled really bad...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in so far! I love the house, the rooms are nice and big enough. Even if you're staying in a room with many people you have still privacy and nobody can watch you sleep - I like that for sure! The bathrooms are always clean and the staff was nice and helpfull. I've been there twice not and gonna stay there again when I'm in London for sure!

Disliked: Only thing I've missed there: a socket on each bed. There were plenty of them (which isn't something I take for granted), but if you wanna charge your phone/tablet/whatever and you wanna set an alarm clock, I don't wanna get out of bed to turn it off. But this is really just a small thing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoy your stay, and that you will be back. Actually most of the beds in the hostel do have a plug socket, however not all. As we update the beds over time then we are adding this as the standard. Thanks again for the positive feedback. See you next time. Tom

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean with good space, nice lounge and bar areas with strong wifi and tea/coffee. Dorms are warm and comfortable and the hostel is very close to the Underground. Good showers, helpful staff.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best hostel I know...a bit expensive but definitely worth it! Very clean, wifi works everywhere, curtains around ech bed for privacy, a reading lamp and plugs, just great!

Disliked: They charge for breakfast

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for leaving us some feedback. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again. Tom

Check Availability