HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

86.5% Overall Rating

960 out of 1009 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Curtains on dorm beds and individual lights. Computers for internet use. Nice building"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
78.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.51 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
The Black Lion
84.02 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.80 USD

Hostel 76.9% 643 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
20.16 USD

Hostel 75.3% 565 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
18.48 USD

Hostel 92.1% 3049 reviews
Somerset Hotel
55.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 57.1% 4 reviews
Access Paddington
46.21 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

960 out of 1009 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 702 of 964 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YU CHI LIN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2012 YU CHI would recommend this property

Liked: They offered good and friendly services for their guests and the rooms r very good!!!Althought they r bunk beds ,really stable and private with curtains!!!Although there r 20s beds in the room ,everyone was very quiet and chat at the public area!!!I really recommend people to stay here if u come to London !!!Btw..free Wifi and breakfast r excellent!!!!^^

Disliked: YU CHI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MIchael Kostian

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

13 December 2012 MIchael would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere. Friendliness.

Disliked: MIchael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Raney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in hostels during a trip to the UK in 2006, and it wasn't until I stayed at Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage that I realized the hostels I'd previously stayed in were pretty much "dumps"! (as we'd say in America.) Plus those other hostels were a lot more expensive to stay in! I really enjoyed the decor and feeling of this hostel. I stayed in a 14-bed female dorm. I am not great at sleeping, so sharing a room with so many other people worried me, but I really think the curtain on each bed made a big difference for me! I was fortunate to have reasonably considerate dorm-mates, who weren't too loud either late at night or early in the morning. My bed was at an end of the room that didn't have an electrical outlet, but there was a power strip with several outlets available in near the front of the room. Since I felt okay about my dorm-mates, I didn't feel uncomfortable about leaving my mobile phone plugged in overnight without having it within eye shot. The free breakfast provided was comprised of coffee, juice, toast/nondescript croissants, and cereal. Pretty basic, but I didn't mind since it was helpful to not have to spend extra money for breakfast each day. I liked the dining area. It was bright and had a lot of seats (compared to other places where I've stayed.) A full kitchen for those staying at the hostel would have been nice, but that also could potentially be problematic because it'd be one more area in the hostel that would be difficult to keep clean. There is a fridge and microwave right in the dining area, but somehow I didn't see it for the first few days I was there! Oh, speaking of the dining area, there was an overflow/patio area, and it was very charming. The lounge area was nice, I thought. It was always full of people using the hostel's desktop computers/their own laptops with wi-fi. I didn't really mind that the internet only really worked in the lobby and lounge. I was just grateful to have access to it! I was surprised by the range of ages/demographics staying in the hostel. It ranged from the usual youth backpacker types, to middle-aged couples with small children. I liked that. One reason I booked Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage was because I read some reviews that said "if you want a party spot, don't stay here." Those reviewers might have meant that to be a negative aspect, but I was not interested in a place to party - just a place to get some sleep so I'd have energy to explore the city each day! The toilet/shower areas were also just fine. I know for a fact that they were cleaned on a very regular basis a couple of times a day (I saw it happening everyday, like clockwork.) I never got REALLY hot water in my shower,but I was generally showering at times of day when a lot of others were probably using hot water as well.

Disliked: Not too much to dislike. The shower was a bit weird - you press the faucet and the water comes on for just a few seconds. You have to keep pushing it down over and over. I assume it's water conservation measure - like sinks with a similar type of faucet. And it would have been cool to have maybe one little shelf to put clothes/room key on while showering so they wouldn't get wet from a little overspray from the shower. But none of these factors were that bothersome.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked they cleaned the toilets and the showers every day, and also the corridors were clean. I liked the breakfast and the courtains in the beds.

Disliked: That if you share a room with boys, probably you won't sleep because of the snoring.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateus Jeronimo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Mateus would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, very nice people!!! Many computers with internet for free at disposal. Great breakfast.

Disliked: No access to internet wifi in the rooms, but great signal in the loby. Small place to keep the logage but still very secure.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the set up of the beds in my dorm (21 bed female). Individual non-bunk beds with curtains all the way around and a fixed wooden partition on one side. Reading light and powerpoint for every bed. Showers and toilets were cleaned regularly. Free breakfast. Great areas to sit. Pretty damn good!

Disliked: Only some of the other guests...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. It's only a three minutes walk to the subway station and from there you can catch the Jubilee line right to the centre. The showers were really clean and the staff was always nice.

Disliked: We have been there in December and it was a little bit cold in the rooms at night. Furthermore, you have very limited space for your stuff and the doors are really loud. Even if you try to close them smoothly, they still make a lot of noise.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihai Lomora

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Mihai would recommend this property

Liked: Even though I had to stay in a room with 29 beds, each bed had a courtain which gave me the feeling of privacy. The hostel provides large rooms, comfortable beds and even a locker, under your bed, to keep your belongings save. I really liked that the staff from the reception was very friendly and helped me a lot with the information needed to have a truly amazing experience in London. The showers are clean, and hot waters is at your discretion. Fast internet connection, TV and computers! The hostel has a good position, since I was able to reach the city centre and other parts from London, quite easily. I would definitely come back, on my next trip there.

Disliked: There were some guys snoring during the night, but what can I ask in a 29-shared bedroom!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, rooms quite spacious and comfortable with curtains around the beds for privacy. Facilities quite new and they provide extra services such as computers, affordable towel hire and fridge.

Disliked: Not on a main train lines so not the most convenient but still very reasonable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara-Jane Brocklehurst

Alone

Business / conference

26 November 2012 Sara-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the curtains around the beds - all hostels should do that - it is so simple and yet solves so many issues that can arise in dorms

Disliked: Not the fault of the hostel, but heavy duty snorers should have their own room!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building, The Bar and the Lounge!

Disliked: Small and smelly rooms, disgusting breakfast

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Daniel Young

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 November 2012

Liked: Characterful and clean

Disliked: The room was incredibly noisy positioned next to the toilets and showers (see above).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

11 November 2012

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: For the price, one should be able to list more positives than just cleanliness.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jocelyn Pritchard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Jocelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very secure with electronic keys into bedrooms and bathrooms. Cleaned hourly, bar is very cute, breakfast is simple but plentiful and included, beds are comfey and have good black put curtains. Good location, you need a train pass (daily is £7) but its just a 5min walk to the jubilee line. Secure luggage storage before and after stay free.

Disliked: Restaurant/bar was cold but not a major issue!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Vaughan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy feel

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Tomasovic

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay when in London, I would recommend it to everyone. Great location, great atmosphere and helpful staff.

Disliked: I thought that 'continental' (whatever that may mean) breakfast would be much better. Some cheese or ham or fruit wouldn't be bad.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice hostel, quiet, good beds, Good value.

Disliked: Need a kitchen so people can cook their own food...not just a microwave and dishes. Bathrooms / toilets are designed for tiny people. Storage lockers in rooms are very small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kay Cameron

Alone

City break

24 October 2012 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: The very relaxed atmosphere and the cleanliness.

Disliked: I kept bumping my head on the beam when I got off my bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is an amazing building in a very good location, very accessible with many local amenities. Exceptional value for money in London

Disliked: Some of the other guest were a little inconsiderate - bound to happen in a dorm with 28 beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lana Duncan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Lana would recommend this property

Liked: The mansion is historical and beautiful! The staff is always cleaning and it is spotless! New showers were installed last year and they are so wonderful......nice hot showers! There is a nice big comfy great room with several computers to use for free! There is always hot water for tea or instant coffee. Snacks are also available in a vending machine. Great, lovely location. The metro and bus is very close. Local food vendors are at a little open market on Wednesday's. Staff sent me my lost phone!!!

Disliked: I stayed in a female dorm. There were 4 bunk beds, that were three up. The ladder to go up seemed a bit difficult to manage. After the first night on the middle level, I asked to be moved to the bottom. The staff was great and did move me to a bottom bunk. Be aware that there are large groups of high school and college kids on tour busses that stay at the hostel. Don't leave ANYTHING out. One girl got her cell phone stolen and another man his laptop. The front door is open and anyone can walk into the great room. It would be better if you needed your room key to enter the front door. Lovely, safe neighborhood!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanspeter Liechti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2012 Hanspeter would recommend this property

Liked: A good and friendly place to stay several days.

Disliked: Hanspeter left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had free breakfast, the building had a lot of character

Disliked: No private bathrooms, person sleeping on bottom bunk bed can't sit up all the way, too many people in a room and it was cramped sometimes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Bentley

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 October 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really were excellent and friendly. Very good location and a perfect place for young people traveling in a relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing bothered me to be honest

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Franzen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Tube station was just down the street, you were in Central London in no time. There was a common room where you could watch TV every night or use the computers/internet for free. Every bed had curtains so it felt like you had our own private room.

Disliked: Mattress was quite hard, but except for that perfect accomodation!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Great atmosphere - Cool beds (loved the curtains over the bed) - Not a bad location, not exactly central but not hard to get to - Awesome to meet people - Free breakfast

Disliked: - Bathroom and toilets were really strange and not convenient at all, there were not enough bathrooms/showers and there were too many people sharing them. The showers themselves had no place to put clothes/towel etc. In essence a really uncomfortable experience.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels