HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London

Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.00USD
  • Towel 2.33USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 51-60 of 173 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the facilities of the lounge

Disliked: breakfast is no more included in the roomrate

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I value cleanliness and a quiet nights sleep over a party atmosphere at times, and that's exactly why I chose palmers lodge again. Location is not in central London, but it is close to Camden, which is great for visiting the markets on weekends, and for the pub crawl...

Disliked: I stayed here two years ago as well, and was a bit shocked that the free breakfasts are no longer on offer, particularly as the price per night has significantly increased. Also, the staff at the front desk were a lot friendlier and more helpful last time round. This time, the only guy who smiled was the spanish guy. When asking the Australian guy on night shift whether there's 24hour reception, he replied with a stone cold "I'm here all night." Pretty sure it would have cracked his face if he smiled! When I checked in, the lady did not offer advice or information about the area or attractions in London, which I don't think is too unusual to expect from a hostel. There's not really a party atmosphere in the place either, but that could work out in your favour in regards to waking up refreshed....

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there and thank you for your review,

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. There have been lots of changes in our hostel and when you have new staff members, sometimes things not always go as planned. The night guy you mentioned is no longer working for us. Same with other staff members. As most of them were on trial it's possible that we might have failed to offer the best customer service. But now it's our primary objective as we hired a HR person specially for that.
Cheers!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: noisy road

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Like in the description. Top

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good to get into London and no hassle going to and from airports. The place was nice and clean and staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Perhaps an option to choose what bunk to sleep in if we have any back of knee problems as it was hard getting to the top bunk with a bad knee. Just a friendly reminder on your site perhaps?

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cool building, good dorms

Disliked: Swiss cottage had the potential to be great, but during my four days at the hostel there was no wifi, cold showers everyday, and no atmosphere - in neither the common room or the bar. Not the greatest choice for the solo traveller.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice old house

Disliked: A bit expensive

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: In my experience most hostels are dives and serve only as a place to crash out and to store clothes you hope people wont steal. However this place was like a palace, the beds were comfortable and solidly built (unlike the cheap prison bunks in some hostels), they had shelves for your phone with power points, a lamp & curtains to close you off from the rest of the room. Every bunk had a solid wooden chest to lock your stuff away in (own padlock required) and the bathrooms on each floor were in a clean and well maintained state.It was alsso a good £100 or more chaper than the cheapest hotel chain in the area at the time of my stay.

Disliked: The location was a little out but not so far you couldnt get to the city centre on the tube in 20 mins. Sadly there was a lack of takeout places in the vicinity which bummed me out after comming back from a roaring night in Camden.Breakfast was a bit limited with only one piece of pasrty per gust & no hot food, but you did get all you can eat cerial & coffee.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Buena ubicacion, tenes Supermercado abierto 24hs, y estaciones de metro a pocas cuadras staff masculino predispuesto a ayudar en cualquier momento el desayuno tiene buen horario variedad y calidad.. dentro de lo

Disliked: staff femenino de recepcion "poco amigable".. te responden lo mejor posible a lo q preguntes, pero no mas q eso.. los flacos le ponen mas ganas las camas son algo chicas, sobretodo en el largo, mido 1,77 y no quedaba mucho margen

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building is gorgeous and has so much history and character. The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and there's plenty of toilet and shower facilities so you'll never struggle to find one! The new bar looks great too but I didn't get a chance to go down there this time.

Disliked: Whilst most of the staff are lovely there are some that come across as quite rude and dismissive, I don't know if some of it is because of language barriers but a bit more consistency in terms of quality of service would be good.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability