We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

83.9% Overall Rating

991 out of 1043 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"Buena ubicacion, tenes Supermercado abierto 24hs, y estaciones de metro a pocas cuadras staff masculino predispuesto a ayudar en cualquier momento el desayuno tiene buen horario variedad y calidad.. dentro de lo"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.38
  • Towel USD 2.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
97.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
30.74 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.38 USD

Hostel 70.6% 681 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
22.95 USD

Hostel 65.4% 640 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
18.04 USD

Hostel 88.8% 3217 reviews
Access Paddington
45.09 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
25.82 USD

Hostel 74.9% 1845 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
36.48 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

991 out of 1043 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 712 of 996 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pei Han Toh

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013 Pei Han would recommend this property

Liked: All is good!! :) Particularly like the curtains around the bed.

Disliked: I know its for the sake of not wasting water..but showering can be a tad annoying because you have to press on the valve every 3-5 seconds...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryony Dundas

Alone

Events / festivals

13 January 2013 Bryony would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay the hostel is amazing !!

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalie Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice proper beds. Even though it was a 28 bed dorm, the room was very big and the curtains basically meant you weren't really aware of the sheer number of people in the room. Bathroom was alright and security was high.

Disliked: The shower. Having to push the button repeatedly when washing hair is annoying. Also, the staff was not helpful. When I checked in they did not inform me where anything was.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danilo arena

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 January 2013 danilo would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and very clean

Disliked: 1 pound charge for payments with cards

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Palmers Lodge is a great hostle, the room was big and clean, the staff was friendly and explained everything you wanted to know and the breakfast was much better than in other hostles. Furthermore it is great that you can use free internet.

Disliked: nothing... everyting was fine ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Geh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Ols school feel of the place is nice. Plus bunk beds have curtains.

Disliked: Rooms are a lil dark though, and wifi doesn't reach the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Great community room!

Disliked: The large accomodation rooms are in the attic!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly, free internet, even PCs and a large lounge. Very clean!

Disliked: It's very expensive for a 21 bed dorm!!! There are big TV screens in the lounge and breakfast room which seems to be typical for England but it creates not such a nice atmosphere! The two really bad things were two nights without sleep in this hostel! The first night I stayed in a room next to the bar which was - exceptionally - open until 4 am! It was enormously loud! When I complained to the staff they were sorry about it and told me that it was just this night. The second night I stayed next to a German school class and they were just annoyingly loud all night. The next day they had to leave the building because a lot more people had complained about them! So, this ruined my stay as I desperately needed sleep! Besides that, the hostel is good, just make sure not to sleep next to the bar!!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very clean and staff were friendly

Disliked: Slightly overpriced for what it was

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were really lovely and helpful, whether we wanted access to the female-only bathrooms, wanted recommendations on day tours to go to, or needed help getting a taxi to Heathrow early in the morning. Breakfast is simple, but provided! And the location, although not exactly in the center of the city, is easy to get to via the Tube and not far from the main sites at all. Free tea (!!!), multiple computers in the TV lounge, and movies + tons of people hanging out every night make for a very social environment.

Disliked: Staying in the 28-person room was OK, but not the most comfortable. A malodorous foot smell pervaded the room for a day or so, and there is usually some noise from people waking up, snoring, or going about their business at all times of day (get noise-canceling headphones or an ability to sleep through anything). Also, bring your own locks. The lockers were big enough to store backpacks in.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YU CHI LIN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2012 YU CHI would recommend this property

Liked: They offered good and friendly services for their guests and the rooms r very good!!!Althought they r bunk beds ,really stable and private with curtains!!!Although there r 20s beds in the room ,everyone was very quiet and chat at the public area!!!I really recommend people to stay here if u come to London !!!Btw..free Wifi and breakfast r excellent!!!!^^

Disliked: YU CHI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MIchael Kostian

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

13 December 2012 MIchael would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere. Friendliness.

Disliked: MIchael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Raney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in hostels during a trip to the UK in 2006, and it wasn't until I stayed at Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage that I realized the hostels I'd previously stayed in were pretty much "dumps"! (as we'd say in America.) Plus those other hostels were a lot more expensive to stay in! I really enjoyed the decor and feeling of this hostel. I stayed in a 14-bed female dorm. I am not great at sleeping, so sharing a room with so many other people worried me, but I really think the curtain on each bed made a big difference for me! I was fortunate to have reasonably considerate dorm-mates, who weren't too loud either late at night or early in the morning. My bed was at an end of the room that didn't have an electrical outlet, but there was a power strip with several outlets available in near the front of the room. Since I felt okay about my dorm-mates, I didn't feel uncomfortable about leaving my mobile phone plugged in overnight without having it within eye shot. The free breakfast provided was comprised of coffee, juice, toast/nondescript croissants, and cereal. Pretty basic, but I didn't mind since it was helpful to not have to spend extra money for breakfast each day. I liked the dining area. It was bright and had a lot of seats (compared to other places where I've stayed.) A full kitchen for those staying at the hostel would have been nice, but that also could potentially be problematic because it'd be one more area in the hostel that would be difficult to keep clean. There is a fridge and microwave right in the dining area, but somehow I didn't see it for the first few days I was there! Oh, speaking of the dining area, there was an overflow/patio area, and it was very charming. The lounge area was nice, I thought. It was always full of people using the hostel's desktop computers/their own laptops with wi-fi. I didn't really mind that the internet only really worked in the lobby and lounge. I was just grateful to have access to it! I was surprised by the range of ages/demographics staying in the hostel. It ranged from the usual youth backpacker types, to middle-aged couples with small children. I liked that. One reason I booked Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage was because I read some reviews that said "if you want a party spot, don't stay here." Those reviewers might have meant that to be a negative aspect, but I was not interested in a place to party - just a place to get some sleep so I'd have energy to explore the city each day! The toilet/shower areas were also just fine. I know for a fact that they were cleaned on a very regular basis a couple of times a day (I saw it happening everyday, like clockwork.) I never got REALLY hot water in my shower,but I was generally showering at times of day when a lot of others were probably using hot water as well.

Disliked: Not too much to dislike. The shower was a bit weird - you press the faucet and the water comes on for just a few seconds. You have to keep pushing it down over and over. I assume it's water conservation measure - like sinks with a similar type of faucet. And it would have been cool to have maybe one little shelf to put clothes/room key on while showering so they wouldn't get wet from a little overspray from the shower. But none of these factors were that bothersome.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked they cleaned the toilets and the showers every day, and also the corridors were clean. I liked the breakfast and the courtains in the beds.

Disliked: That if you share a room with boys, probably you won't sleep because of the snoring.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateus Jeronimo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Mateus would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, very nice people!!! Many computers with internet for free at disposal. Great breakfast.

Disliked: No access to internet wifi in the rooms, but great signal in the loby. Small place to keep the logage but still very secure.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the set up of the beds in my dorm (21 bed female). Individual non-bunk beds with curtains all the way around and a fixed wooden partition on one side. Reading light and powerpoint for every bed. Showers and toilets were cleaned regularly. Free breakfast. Great areas to sit. Pretty damn good!

Disliked: Only some of the other guests...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. It's only a three minutes walk to the subway station and from there you can catch the Jubilee line right to the centre. The showers were really clean and the staff was always nice.

Disliked: We have been there in December and it was a little bit cold in the rooms at night. Furthermore, you have very limited space for your stuff and the doors are really loud. Even if you try to close them smoothly, they still make a lot of noise.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihai Lomora

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Mihai would recommend this property

Liked: Even though I had to stay in a room with 29 beds, each bed had a courtain which gave me the feeling of privacy. The hostel provides large rooms, comfortable beds and even a locker, under your bed, to keep your belongings save. I really liked that the staff from the reception was very friendly and helped me a lot with the information needed to have a truly amazing experience in London. The showers are clean, and hot waters is at your discretion. Fast internet connection, TV and computers! The hostel has a good position, since I was able to reach the city centre and other parts from London, quite easily. I would definitely come back, on my next trip there.

Disliked: There were some guys snoring during the night, but what can I ask in a 29-shared bedroom!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, rooms quite spacious and comfortable with curtains around the beds for privacy. Facilities quite new and they provide extra services such as computers, affordable towel hire and fridge.

Disliked: Not on a main train lines so not the most convenient but still very reasonable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara-Jane Brocklehurst

Alone

Business / conference

26 November 2012 Sara-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the curtains around the beds - all hostels should do that - it is so simple and yet solves so many issues that can arise in dorms

Disliked: Not the fault of the hostel, but heavy duty snorers should have their own room!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building, The Bar and the Lounge!

Disliked: Small and smelly rooms, disgusting breakfast

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Daniel Young

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 November 2012

Liked: Characterful and clean

Disliked: The room was incredibly noisy positioned next to the toilets and showers (see above).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

11 November 2012

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: For the price, one should be able to list more positives than just cleanliness.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jocelyn Pritchard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Jocelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very secure with electronic keys into bedrooms and bathrooms. Cleaned hourly, bar is very cute, breakfast is simple but plentiful and included, beds are comfey and have good black put curtains. Good location, you need a train pass (daily is £7) but its just a 5min walk to the jubilee line. Secure luggage storage before and after stay free.

Disliked: Restaurant/bar was cold but not a major issue!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Vaughan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy feel

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels