We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

86.3% Overall Rating

1039 out of 1094 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2015)

"We stayed in the 18 bed dorm and it was very nice. All the people in the dorm were very nice and it was quiet in the evenings. Each bunk had a plug socket and reading lamp along with a locker, just remember to bring a…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.03
  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
85.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
28.54 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
18.72 USD

Hostel 73.7% 705 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
14.05 USD

Hostel 80.6% 3374 reviews
Access Paddington
38.07 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
23.78 USD

Hostel 84.7% 1881 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
60.51 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
51.53 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1039 out of 1094 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 1047 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

hooi ling lim

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 hooi ling would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Smelly in the room most probably due to bad air ventilation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here as I had an interview in the morning. I absolutely loved the posh curtains that went around each individual bed, it felt so safe, warm and cosy. I barely realised I was in a room with 12 other girls! I'm really excited to have discovered this hostel and can't wait to go back.

Disliked: I disliked nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yun-Ting Lee

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 September 2013 Yun-Ting would recommend this property

Liked: The bed didn't wobble like those in other hostels, so I had a really good sleep. It's the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed.

Disliked: The clean towel cost £1.5.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toshiaki Hidekuma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Toshiaki would recommend this property

Liked: This cottage is very clean and comfortable!

Disliked: Toshiaki left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building which is a old Fashion style. Clean and comfortable. I will stay here again when I come to london.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull stuff, very clean, close to subway

Disliked: very slow wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Berggren

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The ambiance was great, staff was incredibly helpful, they had matched us up very well in our room, which was neat and clean and very calm. No disturbances from the hallway either when ppl passed. VERY clean and fresh facilities, and I have seen a lot!! Have already recommended this hostel to my friends, and it will be my Nr 1 choice next time I go to London!!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a beautifully renovated building with huge high celings and really friendly staff - i would totally recommend it. The valuefor money is great and the location close to the tube makes getting around london easy and convenient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JINO AN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 JINO would recommend this property

Liked: 만족합니다.

Disliked: 이동시간이 조금 걸리지만, 그것을 제외하고는 다 만족합니다.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jordan forbes

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 August 2013 jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The place was buzzing. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and teh guests were great fun. A good all round atmosphere

Disliked: I bought a voucher for extra food at breakfast, but did not receieve as kitchen staff were too busy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aida Garcia Vega

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 July 2013 Aida would recommend this property

Liked: The building is beautiful, the breakfast is great and the room we stayed was clean and comfy beds. Though it was an attic, so standing up was tricky.

Disliked: I don't like the fact that the luggage room is outside the building. The check-in is at 14:00 and we got there pretty early having to leave our suitcase and backpack in a small cabin outside, which key was given to anyone asking for it. They didn't even asked our name to check if we were really staying there, just gave us the key. Bring a locker with you so you can secure the bags to a metal cords they have in the luggage room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. Very grateful for the free wifi. For a first time hostel visitor, this was a great introduction. I would highly recommend to anyone else.

Disliked: n/a

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the interiors, they are wooden and they tried to keep the old feeling of the structure.

Disliked: Expensive for an hostel, no personal plugs on bad, the breakfast was nothing special, the staff was average.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

barbara barone

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: cleaness of the bathrooms and toilets, self-service breaksfast

Disliked: the location of some bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very clean, very Helpful staff, Good facilities and warm atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and good vibe

Disliked: location

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Poor shower facilities, breakfast very average, very noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan McGeever

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: The on-site bar was a great feature, and made it easy to meet new people. Also, the bed curtains were wonderful and the beds themselves were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I felt very secure in this hostel.

Disliked: You can occasionally be hard pressed to find a power outlet if the common room is busy. Also, the hostel is far enough from central London that if you need to take a taxi back after tube hours, it can be expensive.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Duncan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff. Beds very comfy and excellent value for money. Considering staying when u do London Marathon next year.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lounge comfortable and breakfeasts provided excellent

Disliked: No dislikes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fantastically clean and functional bathrooms!! Our entire 9 person family booked out one room, it was just a perfect way to have an affordable stay in London. The tube was an easy walk from the hostel and in 15-20 minutes we could be in central London. Everything was super.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the helpfulness of the staff and the security measures in place, such as card entry to floors and bedrooms. The property also had architectural character.

Disliked: The room I stayed in was a converted attic, so the ceiling was low and slanted, which prevented people on the top bunk sitting up in bed. Also, in the room I stayed was a structural beam that fairly blocked entry to the door. One could walk around it, but at night in the dark, a person could easily walk into it and get hurt.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joan Martin

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

13 June 2013 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: We only needed a clean and comfortable bed to crash in, as we're UK base and drove in for the night. Free parking near London center a big bonus and there was plenty of space! Everything worked for me! Very friendly staff and helpful. We stayed in a 6-bunk mix room. The bed was comfortable. Room quiet. Shared toilet plentiful and clean. Bar quirky. Lounge airy and comfortable. I liked it that there were residents of all ages and not just the young backpackers as residents. I would be back should I need a place to crash.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fiona Sibbett

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 June 2013 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice and quiet hostel. I was inbetween houses and went to stay here because of the reviews and it lived up to my expectations. I had a comfortable stay and the curtain beds rock! Privacy and darkness = for a dorm room.

Disliked: Smelly beer halls

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad.

Disliked: Low celling ; cracked head!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels