We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

84.8% Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/11/2014)

"I value cleanliness and a quiet nights sleep over a party atmosphere at times, and that's exactly why I chose palmers lodge again. Location is not in central London, but it is close to Camden, which is great for…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
96.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
34.49 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
14.44 USD

Hostel 68.5% 683 reviews
The Bell House
24.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Phoenix Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 93.5% 3241 reviews
Access Paddington
46.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
16.20 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1852 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
36.51 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 717 of 1001 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the facility and decoration! like Paradise

Disliked: there is no elevator to the attic room. if you have luggage, that is a difficult to move it up toward there

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013

Liked: Fairly clean

Disliked: This is a massive hostel. Very cramped. The dorm rooms are incredibly uncomfortable. Hundreds of people stay in this hostel at once. On my second morning, there were 200+ children scrambling about the hostel. The staff do not care about any of the patrons. There is an attitude of rudeness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Smith

Alone

Business / conference

17 May 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Worthy of its high rating from what I could see. Just a quick o/n but more than served its purpose. Lounge is comfy & relaxed, WiFi worked fine, and building has so much more character than hotel chain. A good nights sleep

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, good atmosphere. cleaningladies are working really hard to keep the place clean ( toilets and showers are cleaned several times a day / I was really satisfied with the hygiene!) Subways less then 5 min walk. Curtain on your bunk for privacy . I was happy to find a calm public in the hostel, its not a party-hotel/ I hope it stays this way! 3nights-stay without problems.

Disliked: I had to take a semi- cold shower ones: but it was rush-houre, it think the boiler couldn't follow. But it happened only ones!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good facilities

Disliked: they close the bathrooms for cleaning at 10am everyday, it's kind of annoying when you are still trying to get ready

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Lobato Defensor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place, good bed, good shower and offer a good dinner with a good price

Disliked: th breakfast is weak

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Naomi Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: Showers/Bathrooms kept very very clean. Staff made beds (if you don't have your stuff all over your bed). Safety was very important and monitored, I never felt unsafe. I liked the people staying in the room with us. Room was pretty spacious. STayed on third floor. Wifi was pretty spotty up there, though. Continental breakfast was good, loved the croissants. The building is gorgeous. In a great area and close to the tube. Easy to get around.

Disliked: First night I checked in, my assigned bed was occupied by someone else. So I just chose a bed closer to the person I was travelling with. Next day, there was a note on my bed, asking me to speak with reception, which I did immediately. Spoke with the gentleman at the desk and I was informed that I wasn't in my assigned bed. I was aware and said that someone was in my assigned bed so I took what I could find. He said that was okay, that he would reflect this change in the computer and I shouldn't face any other issues. That very night, some girl checked in at 3 am and apparently was assigned the bed I was sleeping in. The guy working reception woke me up by shining a flashlight in my face, asking to see my card. They give a card at check in with room/bed assignments written on it. Anyway, he talked to me like I was an idiot, asking me if I realized what bed I was in. I explained the mix up from earlier in the day, he didn't seem to know that was going on. The next morning, I was AGAIN bothered by the housekeeper making beds because according to her knowledge, I wasn't supposed to be in that bed. She had to call down and be informed by reception what was going on. Staff should really pass on unusual occurences to the oncoming shifts. It was a huge hassle. Mainly, I was really annoyed at being woken up in the middle of the night like that and bothered about it by staff more than once. Kitchen staff was INCREDIBLY unfriendly and unhelpful. No clear instructions on how to deal with the restaurant. We sat at the table while the waiter/cook/? walked by us numerous times ignoring us. We seemed clearly confused as to the set up but not one person offered a greeting or what the place was about. When we finally got his attention, he explained that you order in the bar and bring him a ticket, it'd be nice to have a sign stating this, would've saved us the confusion! What we ordered was pretty gross, but I guess you get what you pay for. Staff was all in all quite unfriendly. Only the housekeepers had personality and warmth. Everyone else came off as bored and unwelcoming. I try not to complain and if I'm usually left to my own devices, I don't mind a place. If I have questions, I expect to be treated with some respect and have a positive attitude from staff, it just didn't feel that way here. :( You're made to feel like you're inconveniencing them. They couldn't even be bothered to smile. It made me dread dealing with them. I loved London, and definitely intend to return in the near future but probably will opt for a different place to stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naomi Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: Safety. Didn't let people in who didn't need to be there. I liked that. Had staff that came in the room and tidied. Showers/bathrooms were kept very clean.

Disliked: Room I stayed in was cramped. Very small strip of floor. Messy people in the room, left their stuff all over the room. Loud, came in at all hours and didn't talk quietly. Very rude but that's what happens when you share rooms with people you don't know, remember to bring ear plugs/headphones to block out nuisances. Last night I was staying, a huge group of children were out in the hallway at 1 AM screaming and yelling. No attempt was made to quiet them. Staff was pretty unfriendly towards me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIEGO ALEJANDRO LOPEZ ARANGO

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 May 2013 DIEGO ALEJANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: clean, near undergound, breakfast included

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - location is close to the underground for easy access to the rest of the city

Disliked: - hard to find because it's hidden behind a commercial district - wifi is intermittent, hard to access on phone or tablet. Better to just use the computers in the lounge, however there are usually line-ups for the computers in the evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Baptiste

Alone

Business / conference

04 May 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: lovely and clean, breakfast for school kids could start at different time to other guests

Disliked: Was very hot in the dorm,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and very comfy beds!

Disliked: You need to buy lockers if you want to be totaly sure it's not accessible to others.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irmela Gomez Alvarez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Irmela would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the victorian athmosphere and the rambling labyrinthine construction of the house. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the free Wifi.

Disliked: The room had a funny smell, but I didn't care very much.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sean oheany

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 sean would recommend this property

Liked: Nice historic place, good staff, nice breakfast, good beds. I like the place.

Disliked: location is just a little out for walking into town, but the tube is right there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Dr. A would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and character of the hostel, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff members, facilities and services, and the safety and security at the hostel.

Disliked: Darkness (no light) in the MOST part of the bedroom, unfriendly and unwelcoming attitude of the chef (with spectacles) in the restaurant and the black male at the reception of the hostel, and the average level of cleanliness in the bedroom and other parts of the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katie Buchan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and cheap food!

Disliked: Please turn on the heat, we were in a basement room where the inside was colder than the outside, only drawback but a major one!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Walther

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 April 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Literally really impressed with this hostel! All of the above ie Atmos, friendliness of staff, location, cleanliness were top notch!

Disliked: My hangover!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Castor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Charming building, good bunks, clean and good showers & toilets.

Disliked: Some of the showers didn't work as supposed to.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is clean and has useful facilities. you can use the kitchen. free hot drinks in lounge and is has a beautiful atmosphere. 10mins to Camden town by bus and 25mins to central by tube via jubilee line(silver). it is a secure place. f

Disliked: 1pound extra for credit cards. although the tube line is good, it is a little far from central. (zone 2)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage is incredibly clean and I had iece of mind that my belongings were safe. Guests were respectful of one another when coming in and leaving at various hours of the night and morning. The staff were polite and helpful.

Disliked: The hostel itself was good. One long term resident guest made a lot of girls staying in the hostel quite uncomfortable with his unrelenting attentions. Not the most outgoing guests on the most part; some older travellers and school groups.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clearn. Nice architecture. Carpet in the room. Close to the tube. Individuar light on the bed.

Disliked: Little bit far from the city.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location great for Swiss Cottage and the venue we needed to attend.

Disliked: good accomodation but one the the people asaring a little strange but as we were 2 together did not mind too much. but a solo person may have been slighlty nervous..........

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nandini Bapat

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2013 Nandini would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very economical! It has free wifi that reached to my room, a very clean and cmfortable bed, decent storage space (though not big enough for a large suitcase, but we found place near our beds for those), and a free breakfast! The showers and toilets are also clean.

Disliked: There was a mixup with the beds, as someone took my bed by accident, but the staff were very helpful and got us sorted out. The hostel is not that close to the center of London, being in zone 2, but a short Tube ride takes care of that.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Cowen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Character, bar, location, beds with lights and curtains

Disliked: Nothing - apart from the occassional ignorant asshole 'guest' crashing in late jabbering and making a noise.... but you get those assholes everywhere


See all London hostels
See all London hotels