HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.65USD
  • Towel 1.88USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

Showing 41-50 of 100 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: very clean esp the bathroom!! and liked the restaurant. and location was good for me. cuz it was pretty close to primrosehill which is the most beautiful place in London.

Disliked: someone kept stealing my food from fridge. but there was nothing staff can do. well.. I know its a hostel which hundreds people stay.. and duvet was a bit smelly. not like dry properly. but was not big deal.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hot showers, but that's a given with hostels these days. Nice lounge with comfy chairs and free tea. Curtains on the bed were a good idea.

Disliked: Inconsiderate male staff blasting club music whenever they work the desk, including at night near midnight. I walked by the desk during the day when women were at the desk and the music was much at a much more appropriate level. Expected music from the bar below the room but why is it necessary for the front desk? When you can hear and FEEL the music through 2 closed doors and a hallway, it's ridiculous. Even with ear plugs you can hear the bass. Irritating beyond belief. The curtains, at least on my bed, were unwashed and had a stain of God knows what on them, really put me off. The kitchen was small but functional, though no stove or oven. Wouldn't recommend putting too much food in their fridge though as ours was stolen.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Wonderful old building, decent location, no curfew and everything seemed shipshape.

Disliked: I only stayed one night, but other than a roommate snoring, I have nothing to complain about.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Hostel itself is neat and has a pleasant interior; the lounge room with free coffee and tea is a plus. The breakfast is worth the cost.

Disliked: No outlet at the bed, lamp at bed did not work, location is not good, not enough showers / sinks to accommodate peak usage. The breakfast is good but could be cheaper, and bar is not cheap either, would expect lower prices for a hostel. Could be because it is one of the only bars in its location.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Easy access and straightforward booking procedure.Quiet room and friendly and helpful staff.Very good breakfast.

Disliked: Was all OK

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything about it as described and shown on hostelbookers was delivered. It was clean, safe, comfortable and most of all looked great as well. Value for money and great for those on a budget.

Disliked: Hope to have directions clearly demarcated to the toilets. My friend gave me feedback that when he wanted to use it urgently once, and the one nearest our corridor was undergoing cleaning, he found it difficult to find the other toilets available.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Security, friendly staff, very clean

Disliked: Location alright but not amazing, their hostel in Swiss Cottage is better located

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The best hostel I've ever been to...the building was a beautiful Victorian style palace located five minutes walk from Finchley road's tube station (zone 2)...the room was big and very clean such as bathrooms(which were usually small and dirty in my own past experiences)...the price for a four night stay was right for what you get...It was a fantastic place to stay in the most beautiful city in the world...

Disliked: Nothing...everything was ok...

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is easily connected to the West end, it is rather clean, compared to other hostels and safe.

Disliked: It is not clean as I used to remember from previous visits and the shared rooms, dorms, are seriously small. I was in a 12 bed female dorm and it was difficult to find some space just to leave my luggage (hand luggage)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry that the hostel did not appear as clean as a previous visit. Our housekeepers are always working to keep standards high and I hope this was an isolated case. Next time you book then I advice looking at one of the larger dorms which have more space and can even be quieter, for example the dorm on the 3rd floor. Thanks again, Tom

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is well located and value for money. However, read my comments about what I dislike about it before booking a room with them. I still recommend Palmers Lodge, but you must be aware of some details that might disturb you.

Disliked: As this is second time I stayed at Palmers Lodge, I was expecting the same service I had in December/January. However, there was no power socket available in our beds, not even a common one in the room. It was bad because we had to ask the reception to solve the problem, which firstly told us that we should use the power sockets available in the public area of the room, but after finding out that there was no power sockets at that room they arranged an extension for us. I suppose nowadays having at least one power socket available for every bed is mandatory! In addition, my mattress and pillow were not comfortable.One more thing: the Internet coverage is still poor. It does not work well (I have got an Android phone and my friend has got an iPhone - both had problems to remain connected).

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability