HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.64USD
  • Towel 1.88USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

Showing 251-260 of 454 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice shared dorms with curtains around the beds for privacy. Amazing bar, TV room and outdoor seating.

Disliked: The private bathroom in our dorm was made up of 2 bathrooms and 3 showers, however a light was out in one of the bathrooms and one of the showers, and the other two shower had doors that wouldnt close. Shared bathrooms were better but the showers had no place to put dry clothes.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very close to the Westminster station and was around the corner from a Superdrugs! The staff were helpful when I needed directions. Computers were always available for use if you didn't have a laptop or iPad. Breakfast offered more drink options than any other hostel I have been to. (coffee, tea, cappuccino, apple juice, orange juice etc.)

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor and although I had a rucksack it was pretty hard for people who had suitcases to get all their stuff up there.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very friendly people, always willing to help us with lockers, luggage etc. very patient altough our English was not the best one. nice living room for all guests where we could watch TV or Dvd. Free Internet with the help of four PCs. Beautiful old-fashioned desgign, very british, house was a kind of victorian villa I think. Amazing atmosphere. Pub downstairs. Possibility for drinks and little snacks in the living room. City map for London available. Quiet armosphere in the sleeping room, have been there with 21 women tough. Cards which were used as keys. High security level. Very very clean! (Loving it) I'll come back!

Disliked: Breakfast was ok. Positive: Included. Orange juice, water, orange + apple+ toast. Cornflakes e.g. have were available too. croissant was a bit pasty and not very nice. only jam and butter. no cheese or ham etc. missed that. sugar available but no salt.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: safe and curtains on beds

Disliked: lockers were small and bad

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly and approachable staff, not to mention that the hostel is really nice! You feel like you're staying in some castle when you walk up to it. Love that there breakfast was included, and the bar and restaurants downstairs were great for meeting people.

Disliked: Not much.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very robust beds built entirely in wood with curtains around each bed for privacy, each bed had a reading light and 2 outlets.Bathrooms were clean and spacious.Location was good just between two stations on the Jubilee line makes it easy to get all over London.For me this is the perfect hostel.

Disliked: The only downside to this hostel is that some of the rooms get quite warm and could do with a little more space for storing suitcases.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This Hostel was amazing, it was my first experience in a hostel and it was more than great, the staff is so lovely and helpful, they are always willing to help and whit a big smile on there faces, breakfast is included and is really nice, they have a little bar where you can hag and chat. I stayed at a 12 bed room and the beds have little curtains so you can actually have privacy, everything is clean and tidy, so nice, loved it! And the underground station is really close, there are close restaurants and sotres al around and is seemed safe for a lone traveler.

Disliked: Nothing, its amazing!

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the property was very beautiful and had alot of character

Disliked: I did not like the dorm rooms, the room that I was in split in 2 levels and the celings were very low

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location, close to London Underground, decent English breakfast, gorgeous building, small grocery store down the street for good food on the cheap

Disliked: The cleaning staff start shutting down bathrooms during the morning rush for cleaning. It would make more sense to clean the bathrooms mid day when people are no longer in the building

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Free breakfast was very appreciated, and it was good, too. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful; I was having an awful time in London for reasons unrelated to London and the hostel, and they helped me when I screwed up repeatedly.

Disliked: The "privacy screens" aren't as private as advertised.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability