HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.85USD
  • Towel 1.95USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 251-121 of 121 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very robust beds built entirely in wood with curtains around each bed for privacy, each bed had a reading light and 2 outlets.Bathrooms were clean and spacious.Location was good just between two stations on the Jubilee line makes it easy to get all over London.For me this is the perfect hostel.

Disliked: The only downside to this hostel is that some of the rooms get quite warm and could do with a little more space for storing suitcases.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This Hostel was amazing, it was my first experience in a hostel and it was more than great, the staff is so lovely and helpful, they are always willing to help and whit a big smile on there faces, breakfast is included and is really nice, they have a little bar where you can hag and chat. I stayed at a 12 bed room and the beds have little curtains so you can actually have privacy, everything is clean and tidy, so nice, loved it! And the underground station is really close, there are close restaurants and sotres al around and is seemed safe for a lone traveler.

Disliked: Nothing, its amazing!

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the property was very beautiful and had alot of character

Disliked: I did not like the dorm rooms, the room that I was in split in 2 levels and the celings were very low

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location, close to London Underground, decent English breakfast, gorgeous building, small grocery store down the street for good food on the cheap

Disliked: The cleaning staff start shutting down bathrooms during the morning rush for cleaning. It would make more sense to clean the bathrooms mid day when people are no longer in the building

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Free breakfast was very appreciated, and it was good, too. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful; I was having an awful time in London for reasons unrelated to London and the hostel, and they helped me when I screwed up repeatedly.

Disliked: The "privacy screens" aren't as private as advertised.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was a friendly place to stay. i stayed in a room for 12. the washrooms are really clean!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Beautiful old house and great beds with good privacy.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was very easy to find from the description online. Friendly staff. Clean and practical. Free Internet. I didn't hang out much at the hostel, mostly slept there so I can't really say anything about the bar. Breakfast was nice.

Disliked: The mattress was not very comfortable and the curtain in front of my bed was not working so good. There was a lot of noice in the night, both coming from outside, rooms nearby and people in my room but such is hostel life I guess. Bring earplugs!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location was not too far away from everything in London. The laid back atmosphere was great for someone who has been partying hard for a few weeks. Great for a detox. The bar staff were very friendly as well as the reception staff. There was always a good vibe about the place.

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good breakfast. Near Abbey Road! ;)

Disliked: Too many people in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability