We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

84.6% Overall Rating

991 out of 1042 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"Buena ubicacion, tenes Supermercado abierto 24hs, y estaciones de metro a pocas cuadras staff masculino predispuesto a ayudar en cualquier momento el desayuno tiene buen horario variedad y calidad.. dentro de lo"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.31
  • Towel USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
96.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
30.45 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.23 USD

Hostel 70.7% 680 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
22.74 USD

Hostel 65.8% 638 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
22.74 USD

Hostel 84.7% 3212 reviews
Access Paddington
44.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
25.58 USD

Hostel 74.9% 1845 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
46.69 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

991 out of 1042 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 711 of 994 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The little bar is very nice, you should go there to meet people from all over the world.It`s just 4 stops of the tube to the center of London.The rooms were so nice. I couldn`t imagine how to sleep in a 14 bed dorm, but it`s no problem there with the little lights at each bed and so on...definitely stay there again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TOP

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Linda Hallberg

16 November 2009 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, with a very good cleanliness. Great value for the money. Though I would recommend this hostel for those who are only there for doing the tourist stuff. Great security and quite quick to get to.

Disliked: Linda left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariya Tysyachnuk

12 November 2009 Mariya would recommend this property

Liked: curtains around my bed, light

Disliked: Mariya left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find, love the beds with little curtains around them, several layers of security which was good, love the staff--all so fun and welcoming, great location near the Tube station--Highly Recommend!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Wish I had stayed longer. Rooms are excellent with each bed having curtains around it and own bedside lamp and own power point and locker. Staff very helpful. Big common area, FREE internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Newman

08 November 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Free computers w/ internet available, extremely friendly and helpful staff, close to train station, spacious beds/rooms, cozy common area, lots of planned events, in-house bar and kitchen with full meals available.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Thompson

26 October 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very fun place to stay! Double dorm was awesome :D

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Turner

22 October 2009 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent. I was treated really rudely by one of the Kitchen staff but I don't think this would happen regularly and didn't detract from the hostel. Beds are quite comfy, bathroom facilities are acceptable, the water pressure isnt great but it's fine.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Töyrylä

21 October 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of the hostel was nice, sweet and very helpful. The breakfast consisted of quite basic stuff: fruits, bread, juice etc. and it was good. You could get an English breakfast for £4 which was definitely worth its money, it was tasty and satisfied your need for food for hours. The rooms were rather big and while I am usually not a big fan of that, this had been solved out excellently at the hostel. Everyone had curtains around their bed which gave you privacy (a minus comes from the upper bed though, it can be difficult to sleep when the light is on in the room because you can see it there so well) and underneath the beds are spacey lockers. You don't necessarily need to bring a lock with you there, you can rent one from the reservation (I don't know if it costs money?), but from my own experience, there weren't any burglars around. The showers were a small minus though but nothing major. Palmer's Lodge resided on a good area too, there is many restaurants nearby (mainly Thai) and two underground stations and the lines that go through there both take you right to the centrum.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Turner

21 October 2009 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bar/outdoor area as it was great for hanging out and meeting new people as well as having pizza! The double dorm beds were okay, beds are comfortable and reasonably private. I didn't like that the hostel allows young children to sleep with their parents in double beds. Obviously these dorms are for adult couples and it seems a bit tasteless for the children involved. There are two tubes within 2 minutes walk, a supermarket and good buses. The showers and toilets were being mopped or had just been mopped everytime I used them, fantastic. I probably will come back here in the future and will definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

18 October 2009

Liked: free internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I chose it because of the Hostelbooker rating of 89%. It was excelllent - friendly, welcoming, clean - and I liked the curtained bunk beds - excellent idea. Only a couple of hundered yards from the Underground. Free coffee and internet - and excellent breakfast. If you go in for a shower take in a bag to put ya stuff - you don;t seem to be able to have pressure on low and get hot water - but a minor point - would give it 10/10

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Suvi Luukkonen

13 October 2009 Suvi would recommend this property

Liked: NICEEEE breakfest!! definitely going to book this hostel again when I'm coming to London! Go for it!

Disliked: Suvi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice interior, friendly staff, close to two subway stations, clean rooms, good atmosphere. I would definetely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renee Versteegen

12 October 2009 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Busy and bustling hostel. Lots of different activities that you can do here if you're into that. Because of maintenance work on the Jubilee line the hostel is difficult to reach by tube in weekends until well into 2010. Bus services are a good enough alternative though but will take a lot longer to get from one place to another. Stayed in a room with 12 double beds. Bed was comfortable and the curtains around it were much appreciated. My bed didn't have a lot of headroom, I could only just sit up straight, banged my head against the beams of the bed above me many times. The hostel had more than enough toilets and showers, even though it was busy I never had to wait for one :) I enjoyed my stay here and can recommend the hostel to others.

Disliked: Renee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

linda Erliz

03 October 2009 linda would recommend this property

Liked: Loveley place, very good food and happy hour beers, what more do you need? Very good value, nice staff, just go and have a look.

Disliked: linda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the friendliness, the atmosphere... everything was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I ever stayed! It has everything what you need, nothing more nothing less. Good value for money, simple but good breakfast, clean bathrooms, nice bar, some privacy in dorms with curtains aside beds, easy access from Swiss Cottage tube station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben rudyk

28 September 2009 ben would recommend this property

Liked: good pricequieter than last hostel & better showers

Disliked: ben left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good things : Style of the property. The attic. Good breakfast.Bad things : Very noisy well into the early hours, even from the 3rd floor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the property had a lively atmosphere and free wi-fi which helps tremendously when trying to keep in touch with friends and family.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable, clean & the staff was full of answers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels