HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London

Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.00USD
  • Towel 2.33USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 231-172 of 172 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Exactly as stated. Loved the curtains around each bed, it gave a sense of privacy and limited disturbance of people coming in and out of the room. Overall a great experience. Beautiful building and very friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Can be quite hot in summer and windows unable to open very far

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The common room area is nice and spacious and the free wifi works quite well. Its situated in a great spot, right near the tube station and within walking distance to grocery stores and cafes.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: One of my favorite hostels anywhere. This was my second time there. I love the curtains on the beds which give you privacy. The staff (especially the brunette girl) are very nice, and she upgraded me after a confusion which made me wait a while to check in (and after I said I didn't mind waiting).

Disliked: The breakfast room is very crowded and I need to keep logging on to the wifi repeatedly, but that's it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: comfortable beds, closed off bed gave privacy. even though we were both in large dorms of 21 and 28 people, during the olympics, there were no issues with noise.

Disliked: plastic bags should be banned in hostels- shame to be woken up by them when everything else was perfect - obviously this was the guests not the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a nice place, you will enjoy it!

Disliked: Not much really

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: not that much really

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice shared dorms with curtains around the beds for privacy. Amazing bar, TV room and outdoor seating.

Disliked: The private bathroom in our dorm was made up of 2 bathrooms and 3 showers, however a light was out in one of the bathrooms and one of the showers, and the other two shower had doors that wouldnt close. Shared bathrooms were better but the showers had no place to put dry clothes.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very close to the Westminster station and was around the corner from a Superdrugs! The staff were helpful when I needed directions. Computers were always available for use if you didn't have a laptop or iPad. Breakfast offered more drink options than any other hostel I have been to. (coffee, tea, cappuccino, apple juice, orange juice etc.)

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor and although I had a rucksack it was pretty hard for people who had suitcases to get all their stuff up there.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very friendly people, always willing to help us with lockers, luggage etc. very patient altough our English was not the best one. nice living room for all guests where we could watch TV or Dvd. Free Internet with the help of four PCs. Beautiful old-fashioned desgign, very british, house was a kind of victorian villa I think. Amazing atmosphere. Pub downstairs. Possibility for drinks and little snacks in the living room. City map for London available. Quiet armosphere in the sleeping room, have been there with 21 women tough. Cards which were used as keys. High security level. Very very clean! (Loving it) I'll come back!

Disliked: Breakfast was ok. Positive: Included. Orange juice, water, orange + apple+ toast. Cornflakes e.g. have were available too. croissant was a bit pasty and not very nice. only jam and butter. no cheese or ham etc. missed that. sugar available but no salt.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: safe and curtains on beds

Disliked: lockers were small and bad

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability