HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.05USD
  • Towel 2.35USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 231-159 of 159 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Almost everything! It was clean, secure, nice, the buildning was much nice.

Disliked: Inernet was not good enough. And there is no kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very warm and inviting. The location wasn't super close to the city but was in a nice area. Even though the rooms had 18 people in them I could pull curtains all the way around to give myself full privacy. the common room was like a large living room.

Disliked: A lack of power points to access with the internet within reach and the bunks were a little hard to get in. I also visited during September and it was surprisingly hot for the last 3 days which meant my room that had no air con and that was facing the sun all day was very hot and very dry.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is good, and the bathroom is big. Everyone has his own socket and lamp, and there are curtains for each bed.

Disliked: The wall is not clean enough. Wi-Fi cannot be used in the room, only in common areas.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: central to train station and shops. Comfortable seating in lounge areas. Good privacy curtains around bunks, and individual reading lamps. :-) pity there is no protection on top bunks to prevent light shining directly into your eyes.

Disliked: underwhelming breakfast and an amazing lack of friendliness in staff and the ppl who stayed there. Just a well appointed barn to sleep in.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Georgous building, located in Camden bourogh, comfortable cubby beds with privacy curtains, helpful staff and they sell power converters! the one i had was a dud so i was very pleased about this.

Disliked: Tried to charge me an extra fee of some sort but quickly fixed it when presented with my printed hostelbookers reservation....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Exactly as stated. Loved the curtains around each bed, it gave a sense of privacy and limited disturbance of people coming in and out of the room. Overall a great experience. Beautiful building and very friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Can be quite hot in summer and windows unable to open very far

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The common room area is nice and spacious and the free wifi works quite well. Its situated in a great spot, right near the tube station and within walking distance to grocery stores and cafes.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: One of my favorite hostels anywhere. This was my second time there. I love the curtains on the beds which give you privacy. The staff (especially the brunette girl) are very nice, and she upgraded me after a confusion which made me wait a while to check in (and after I said I didn't mind waiting).

Disliked: The breakfast room is very crowded and I need to keep logging on to the wifi repeatedly, but that's it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: comfortable beds, closed off bed gave privacy. even though we were both in large dorms of 21 and 28 people, during the olympics, there were no issues with noise.

Disliked: plastic bags should be banned in hostels- shame to be woken up by them when everything else was perfect - obviously this was the guests not the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a nice place, you will enjoy it!

Disliked: Not much really

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability