HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 83%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.62USD
  • Towel 1.87USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 83%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

Showing 221-230 of 453 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It is an amazing building in a very good location, very accessible with many local amenities. Exceptional value for money in London

Disliked: Some of the other guest were a little inconsiderate - bound to happen in a dorm with 28 beds.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The very relaxed atmosphere and the cleanliness.

Disliked: I kept bumping my head on the beam when I got off my bed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A good and friendly place to stay several days.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked almost everything. The building is old but it has been refurbished very well. You use card to access the room. Each bed has its own light and curtains around, and a locker under. Rooms, corridors and showers are clean, there are several mirrors and red carpet in the female dorm. Also there is a free breakfast which consists of cereals, milk, warm croissants, toasts, jam and butter, and you can take tea, coffee or juice (or everything together, ha-ha). I will definitely stay here again and will recommend this hostel to all my friends.

Disliked: One lock was broken in a female shower in the room b002, and the sinks there are a little bit small. but everything else was ok.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Anna

Many thanks for your positive review. We are glad to learn that you found pretty much everything to your satisfaction. Our maintenance team has now fixed the lock on B002 now (thanks for the heads up!).

We hope to see you back soon

The Palmers Lodge Team

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff really were excellent and friendly. Very good location and a perfect place for young people traveling in a relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing bothered me to be honest

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Tube station was just down the street, you were in Central London in no time. There was a common room where you could watch TV every night or use the computers/internet for free. Every bed had curtains so it felt like you had our own private room.

Disliked: Mattress was quite hard, but except for that perfect accomodation!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: very clean

Disliked: Would prefer ensuite room but I do not have any dislikes

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had free breakfast, the building had a lot of character

Disliked: No private bathrooms, person sleeping on bottom bunk bed can't sit up all the way, too many people in a room and it was cramped sometimes

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the available parking for your car

Disliked: stuffy smelly room which was quite cramped as in the basement and the fact that it was so dark in the sleeping area all day, i didnt like the fact that I mihgt have to climb into bed if it was the top bunk of three beds.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: - Great atmosphere - Cool beds (loved the curtains over the bed)- Not a bad location, not exactly central but not hard to get to - Awesome to meet people- Free breakfast

Disliked: - Bathroom and toilets were really strange and not convenient at all, there were not enough bathrooms/showers and there were too many people sharing them. The showers themselves had no place to put clothes/towel etc. In essence a really uncomfortable experience.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked the dorm and that you met cool people while you stayed with us. We have taken note of your suggestion for the showers and you will be glad to learn that we will be implementing them in the next month.

The Palmers Lodge Team

Check Availability