HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.37USD
  • Towel 2.12USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 221-135 of 135 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had free breakfast, the building had a lot of character

Disliked: No private bathrooms, person sleeping on bottom bunk bed can't sit up all the way, too many people in a room and it was cramped sometimes

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the available parking for your car

Disliked: stuffy smelly room which was quite cramped as in the basement and the fact that it was so dark in the sleeping area all day, i didnt like the fact that I mihgt have to climb into bed if it was the top bunk of three beds.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: - Great atmosphere - Cool beds (loved the curtains over the bed)- Not a bad location, not exactly central but not hard to get to - Awesome to meet people- Free breakfast

Disliked: - Bathroom and toilets were really strange and not convenient at all, there were not enough bathrooms/showers and there were too many people sharing them. The showers themselves had no place to put clothes/towel etc. In essence a really uncomfortable experience.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked the dorm and that you met cool people while you stayed with us. We have taken note of your suggestion for the showers and you will be glad to learn that we will be implementing them in the next month.

The Palmers Lodge Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The mansion is historical and beautiful! The staff is always cleaning and it is spotless! New showers were installed last year and they are so wonderful......nice hot showers! There is a nice big comfy great room with several computers to use for free! There is always hot water for tea or instant coffee. Snacks are also available in a vending machine. Great, lovely location. The metro and bus is very close. Local food vendors are at a little open market on Wednesday's. Staff sent me my lost phone!!!

Disliked: I stayed in a female dorm. There were 4 bunk beds, that were three up. The ladder to go up seemed a bit difficult to manage. After the first night on the middle level, I asked to be moved to the bottom. The staff was great and did move me to a bottom bunk. Be aware that there are large groups of high school and college kids on tour busses that stay at the hostel. Don't leave ANYTHING out. One girl got her cell phone stolen and another man his laptop. The front door is open and anyone can walk into the great room. It would be better if you needed your room key to enter the front door. Lovely, safe neighborhood!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I love everything about Palmer's Lodge - Swiss Cottage. The beautiful architecture, the free internet, the secure nature of the bunks (wood panels to keep people who sleepwalk/sleep restlessly like myself from falling out), the comfortable lounge....I could go on and on. I feel safe when I stay here, and the staff is wonderful, particularly Hedia, who remembered me from my previous stays and has always been so kind to me. As someone who travels alone, it means a lot. I will definitely be back, and soon!

Disliked: Honestly can't think of anything. Maybe the lack of street lights in the walk from the tube station, but that's obviously outside of the control of the hostel itself.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: how old and vintage it feels. the curtains around the beds are a great touch of privacy!!

Disliked: the staff were not amazingly helpful or friendly but they were good. If your room was on the 3rd floor you have to walk through the shower room to get up there which was kind of weird.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice architecture, design, friendly front of house staff, safe location. Curtains on bed

Disliked: • The constant 24/7 door slamming and banging of the main doors and doors to the dorms. All of which are fire doors. These doors slam and bang ferociously loud - very, very, very loud - unbearable. Every single person does it and it wakes everybody up. Staff do not set any rules to guests, there are no notice posters up to say not to slam doors, and to hold them shut quietly. Guests must be told this, and it must be a rule, as well as being considerate to others regarding manners and noise (the noise is beyond ridiculous - it is actual torture trying to sleep at night - literally torture). There needs to a silence after midnight rule, and a rule that states that guests must be quite and considerate at all times. Even through earplugs I got woken up, and I could never sleep because of the door being left to slam, people using the hairdryer at 5am, half-naked males wondering in the room to have 'friendly time' with each other. Where are all the rules and notices being handed out on arrival, and notices on doors - all doors, in dorm rooms? These rules need and must be enforced immediately! The doors need to be altered so they do not aggressively slam - it sounds like a gunshot each time!! Foam, rubber lining and oil (for the creaky ness), will help, or completely changed with new and efficient quite doors. Sleep is the all-time no.1 important element - it's the top priority, and you have to cater to the light sleepers too. If one could afford a private room, one would. Nobody wants to really stay in a hostel, people do it because it is more affordable - but sleep should never be ignored, and this needs to addressed asap! This hostel has not addressed this. Also the floorboards are incredibly noisy, creaky, and every sound is heightened. The doors under the bed when pulled out are stiff, creaky (very), and make a high pitched sound when pulling them out.•Rooms very freezing and damp at night time (single glazed) but no heating, very poor quilt covers/duvets - too thin to keep oneself even remotely warm.• Mattress' too thin and too hard, especially when one is lying on solid wood beneath. Very small, single beds. Creaky beds too. Not stable enough. Bed side light is too bright at night - why is there not a dimmer switch??? • People rudely take up all of your luggage space, and storage draws. I arrive, and they are all taken (I have stayed a few times, and this happens every time - and to other people) - there needs to be notices in the dorms saying not to do this.• Mixed - unisex toilets - stinks of urine, stale urine, and urine all over the floor, and urine dripping, toilet seats left up - females have to use these toilets! Naked and half naked males leaving the shower door open, walking back to rooms like this. Males urinating with the door open, with their genitals exposed. There are no female only showers or toilets. • No Wi-Fi???!!!! What??!!! This is unacceptable and shocking in the 21st century! It is a poor excuse for the manager to say "this is because it is more social this way". NO. This does not work. It is cruel not to have Wi-Fi in rooms - people need quite time, in their rooms to study, write essays, do emails, work related assignments, business work, or just private time to use the internet in a private and have personal space, or to even watch a film in bed to help them relax and sleep before bed. There is no freedom, privacy, independence or space in this hostel. It's not fair. Just put WI-FI in the rooms! You make enough money! Every single guest I spoke to is so angry about this - we all want internet in the dorms/rooms! Customers come first, so please listen to us.• •Where are any recreational facilities: Ping Pong, Pool, dvd room...= there are none! •Insomnia, insomnia, insomnia! Managers, enforce rules, put rules all over the rooms, have noise rules and enforce them, sort the fire doors out (rubber and oil the doors). Tell people to HOLD them shut and NOT to let them slam - they should face penalties if not. They should put fans in the room - the block out all the noise, and circulate the air.There must be a female only toilet and bathroom.Rooms are not warm enough, drafts and damp. A lot of spiders, large spiders, ants, and beetles about. Bed bugs I think too. I and another girl had mysterious bites.You need thicker bedding and duvets - and a thicker, softer mattress', Dimmer switches on lamps and lightsSleep is impossible in this hostel - the management needs to change this now (and it is easily done) Tell all guests to brink ear plugs, eye mask, and small torch/headlight torch

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: I think the atmosphere is really nice. It is really good how there are a few different areas that you can hang out and do your own thing. I really like the location of this property as well and you feel pretty safe with the surroundings

Disliked: The room I was in was a little smaller than I would of liked, but in terms of needing a bed to sleep it was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms are a pretty good size for such a big city and smaller hostel. The place has a lot of character did fun people, definitely go to the bar for a good time and good prices.

Disliked: It was very outdated, shared bathrooms, and the towels were outrageously expensive for a rental.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easily access to Central London by tube and buss, beautiful building, clean, helpful and welcoming staff, free breakfast, free internet, good quality.

Disliked: NOTHING!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability