We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

87.5% Overall Rating

1035 out of 1090 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2015)

Victoria Wong thinks…

"Hot showers, but that's a given with hostels these days. Nice lounge with comfy chairs and free tea. Curtains on the bed were a good idea."

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.02
  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
85.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
27.06 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
32.76 USD

Hostel 73.7% 705 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
26.53 USD

Hostel 80.9% 3373 reviews
Access Paddington
38.05 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
29.49 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1880 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
60.47 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
65.54 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

1035 out of 1090 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 741 of 1043 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good conection with the center, restaurant and pub included in the premises, free internet connection, good organization...

Disliked: The lamp on my bunk bed did not work, there was not hot water in the shower, both shower and toilets were really small...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Browning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2010 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: compfortable rooms.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to a tube state and in a safe part of town.

Disliked: The showers are a bit small and there really is not a place to put your shampoo and stuff when showering.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Field

27 June 2010 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: This is an outstanding way to stay in London for 20 pounds a night. I slept over Saturday evening on my way to points south, and was so pleased with the quiet and cleanliness, even Saturday evening in the 28-man dorm room. My sheets and quilt were clean and comfortable, I had to discuss matters with four different staff, and all were courteous and patient. There is a good laptop safe, a luggage "garage" out front, and good wireless service. Swiss Cottage is a bit out of the way, but worth the journey. Hampstead is a very posh neighborhood -- I spent a wonderful Saturday afternoon wandering up Fitzjohn's Avenue up into the Heath, which is a beautiful 800 acre park.

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talia Hosking

26 June 2010 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: the curtains on the bed are a massive plus and the staff are awesome

Disliked: Talia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed in 28 people male dorm, which saves me a lot, but people packing things at night/morning may disturb your sleep; the are lockers below the lower bunk bed, but others sometimes block the space to pull the lockers out; toilets and shower places are outside, and do not restrict male/ female use, sometimes the toilets are dirty; breakfast is nice, got bread, jam, milk, corn flakes, apples and oranges, etc; free wifi to use, but the sitting room is always crowded, not enough electrical plugs for you to use; the hostel is near metro stations Finchley road and swiss cottage, but the stupid London metro closes usually on saturday or sunday, we spent almost an hour from Victoria Station, by taking metro to get to the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I got there, my reservation hadn't gone through in their system so no bed was reserved for me and the hostel was all booked up. Considering it was 10 o'clock at night and I was in a strange city, I should have been worried, but the staff was so friendly and helpful that I never felt frightened that they would turn me away. Finally, after much searching, they gave me my own private apartment for the fee I had paid for one bed in a multi-bed dorm room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yonatan Moskowitz

18 June 2010 Yonatan would recommend this property

Liked: the place was, as adverstided, one big mansion with all amenities accessibe and close. it had a nice old, london feel to it, but in the way a traveler would want, to take in the culture. staff was super-great and answered every qustion i had with a smile, as the free breakfast was quite impressive, compared to what it could have been,

Disliked: Yonatan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the 12-bed couples room. The room was very dark and it was very hard to get into the bed. It kind of felt like a dungeon! Also, the showers had no ventilation and were not that clean. However, the location was excellent. So close to the tube stop which allowed us to get into London very easily. And compared to a lot of other hostels we found online, this was awesome value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve LaChance

15 June 2010 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talia Hosking

15 June 2010 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very helpful and the location is great.

Disliked: Talia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was an amazing place to stay. But I wish they had a kitchen for travelers to use.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sacha McDade

14 June 2010 Sacha would recommend this property

Liked: We are two 19 year old girls traveling from Canada. This is the first hostel we've stayed in, and it was AMAZING. If you can book this hostel BOOK IT! its cheap and its lovely. Great location, beautiful house, lovely dorms, nice pub, great staff and lots of people to meet oh and 24hr CHEAP deli right around the corner (very useful). We have no complaints about this great hostel and we fear we won't find any others that compare to it in the future. Can't say enough about this place, its the bomb. WE LOVE U PALMERS LODGEEEE WE WILL BE BACK!Much love,Sacha & Cat from Montreal = )

Disliked: Sacha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find and nice to stay!what else forza ITALIA!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MaryNella Mclaughlin

09 June 2010 MaryNella would recommend this property

Liked: Great customer service, free internet, privacy curtains in bunk beds, extremely clean, great kitchen/bar and patio area. Ambience of the Palmer Mansion is brillant

Disliked: MaryNella left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They do a great job of trying to make people feel welcome and offer quite a few social activities. The staff is very helpful. The beds are comfortable and private with curtains. I would definitely stay here again, in fact I extended my stay 2 nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Or even the best.Charming flair of an old furniture. Thus there were over 20 beths in the room, the curtains provided enough privacy.Reasonable breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Banton

17 May 2010 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms wer clean and comfortable. The breakfast was indeed excellant especially as it was in cluded in the price. The staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were very good. The character and ambience of the building

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicia Behm

15 May 2010 Felicia would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at! The staff are very friendly, and we even had a couple drinks with the bartender when business was slow. Bring your own padlock, because the lockers are great and fit everything but locks cost 3 pounds. An excellent hostel, and if I come back to London I will definitely stay here again. Thank you!

Disliked: Felicia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome building and interior, friendly stuff, great atmosphere, excellent connection to airports. Thumbs up !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Allison Bartlett

25 April 2010 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: I went alone and it was very nice and the staff was very friendly. It was close to a tube station so that made it easy to get around London. They had very nice computers with fast internet. I nice lounge with couches and a tv. I didn't spend too much time in the hostel but I enjoyed the time that I was there and I would recommend it.

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has good character and good facilities. A merely slight distance from the metro makes for easy access to most of London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great place to make new friends. There isn't a lot of privacy but there is always something fun to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Hawthorne

22 March 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: the spacious rooms, cleanliness and free internet

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels