HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

87.3% Overall Rating

959 out of 1008 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Curtains on dorm beds and individual lights. Computers for internet use. Nice building"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
78.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.48 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
The Black Lion
83.93 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.79 USD

Hostel 78.5% 640 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
16.79 USD

Hostel 76.8% 564 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
18.47 USD

Hostel 92.0% 3040 reviews
Somerset Hotel
60.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 57.1% 4 reviews
Access Paddington
46.16 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

959 out of 1008 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 701 of 963 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was beautiful and open with clean rooms and curtains around the beds.

Disliked: One shower was shared by the entire floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Cleland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

28 July 2010

Liked: CHARACRTER AND LOCATION.....

Disliked: I WAS MISTAKENLY BOOKED INTO A 'MALE ONLY' DORM AND THERE WAS LITERALLY ONE BED AVAIABLE ELSEWHERE IN THE HOSTEL!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent - clean, friendly, good facilities. Would recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Wildie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good peopleClean roomsGreat breakfastNice suburb to look around in, close to shops, vodafone.Brilliant fun at night

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful hostel, friendly not too nosy but still social

Disliked: bathrooms are quite far from the bedrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice hostel, friendly and helpful staff, clean and secure, a nice place to meet people tooshowers and toilets for ladies only are also providedthey also sell stuff such as locks and toothbrush at a reasonable price breakfast is very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katarzyna Krawczyk

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 July 2010 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: the bank beds with curtains and lapms are a good idea, when others need to pack in the middle of the night it doesn't bother you so much. useful lockers, nice bar in the basement, showers could be more modern but they're not bad, at least never happened to be crowded when I needed them. very close to the tube station which is just a few stops from major attractions and 4 stops from oxford street if you are a shopoholic. about 3-4 min walk to 2 great supermarkets. I liked it and do recommend. stayed in plenty of hostels around the world this one is a bit old but it makes you feel well.

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very good located, very easy to find, about 5 minutes walk from the underground station. Is very clean and the staff members are all very nice and available to give any help you need! The breakfast is very good and the hostel bar is a very nice place to relax at night and meet new people!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice, and the staff are quite helpful.

Disliked: The "lockers" in the rooms are not really practical. And they are somewhat old.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raechel Wong

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 July 2010 Raechel would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great and the character of the hostel was fun. Nice and clean as well. Def one of the best in London.

Disliked: A bit far from the city centre, but close to the tube stop so not really too much of a problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good conection with the center, restaurant and pub included in the premises, free internet connection, good organization...

Disliked: The lamp on my bunk bed did not work, there was not hot water in the shower, both shower and toilets were really small...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Browning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2010 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: compfortable rooms.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to a tube state and in a safe part of town.

Disliked: The showers are a bit small and there really is not a place to put your shampoo and stuff when showering.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Field

27 June 2010 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: This is an outstanding way to stay in London for 20 pounds a night. I slept over Saturday evening on my way to points south, and was so pleased with the quiet and cleanliness, even Saturday evening in the 28-man dorm room. My sheets and quilt were clean and comfortable, I had to discuss matters with four different staff, and all were courteous and patient. There is a good laptop safe, a luggage "garage" out front, and good wireless service. Swiss Cottage is a bit out of the way, but worth the journey. Hampstead is a very posh neighborhood -- I spent a wonderful Saturday afternoon wandering up Fitzjohn's Avenue up into the Heath, which is a beautiful 800 acre park.

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talia Hosking

26 June 2010 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: the curtains on the bed are a massive plus and the staff are awesome

Disliked: Talia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed in 28 people male dorm, which saves me a lot, but people packing things at night/morning may disturb your sleep; the are lockers below the lower bunk bed, but others sometimes block the space to pull the lockers out; toilets and shower places are outside, and do not restrict male/ female use, sometimes the toilets are dirty; breakfast is nice, got bread, jam, milk, corn flakes, apples and oranges, etc; free wifi to use, but the sitting room is always crowded, not enough electrical plugs for you to use; the hostel is near metro stations Finchley road and swiss cottage, but the stupid London metro closes usually on saturday or sunday, we spent almost an hour from Victoria Station, by taking metro to get to the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I got there, my reservation hadn't gone through in their system so no bed was reserved for me and the hostel was all booked up. Considering it was 10 o'clock at night and I was in a strange city, I should have been worried, but the staff was so friendly and helpful that I never felt frightened that they would turn me away. Finally, after much searching, they gave me my own private apartment for the fee I had paid for one bed in a multi-bed dorm room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yonatan Moskowitz

18 June 2010 Yonatan would recommend this property

Liked: the place was, as adverstided, one big mansion with all amenities accessibe and close. it had a nice old, london feel to it, but in the way a traveler would want, to take in the culture. staff was super-great and answered every qustion i had with a smile, as the free breakfast was quite impressive, compared to what it could have been,

Disliked: Yonatan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the 12-bed couples room. The room was very dark and it was very hard to get into the bed. It kind of felt like a dungeon! Also, the showers had no ventilation and were not that clean. However, the location was excellent. So close to the tube stop which allowed us to get into London very easily. And compared to a lot of other hostels we found online, this was awesome value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve LaChance

15 June 2010 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talia Hosking

15 June 2010 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very helpful and the location is great.

Disliked: Talia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was an amazing place to stay. But I wish they had a kitchen for travelers to use.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sacha McDade

14 June 2010 Sacha would recommend this property

Liked: We are two 19 year old girls traveling from Canada. This is the first hostel we've stayed in, and it was AMAZING. If you can book this hostel BOOK IT! its cheap and its lovely. Great location, beautiful house, lovely dorms, nice pub, great staff and lots of people to meet oh and 24hr CHEAP deli right around the corner (very useful). We have no complaints about this great hostel and we fear we won't find any others that compare to it in the future. Can't say enough about this place, its the bomb. WE LOVE U PALMERS LODGEEEE WE WILL BE BACK!Much love,Sacha & Cat from Montreal = )

Disliked: Sacha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find and nice to stay!what else forza ITALIA!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels