HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.74USD
  • Towel 1.91USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

Showing 201-98 of 98 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Atmosphere. Friendliness.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice place, very nice people!!! Many computers with internet for free at disposal. Great breakfast.

Disliked: No access to internet wifi in the rooms, but great signal in the loby. Small place to keep the logage but still very secure.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage. We offer free storage facilities for large suitcases in addition to the large drawer under each bed and you will be glad to know that are currently looking to offer Wi-Fi in the rooms.

The Palmers lodge Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved the set up of the beds in my dorm (21 bed female). Individual non-bunk beds with curtains all the way around and a fixed wooden partition on one side. Reading light and powerpoint for every bed. Showers and toilets were cleaned regularly. Free breakfast. Great areas to sit. Pretty damn good!

Disliked: Only some of the other guests...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to read that you liked our 21 bed dorm :) Sorry about the room-mates, next time let us know, perhaps we could have moved you to another dorm, we can do that when the hostel is not super busy.


The Palmers Lodge Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is really good. It's only a three minutes walk to the subway station and from there you can catch the Jubilee line right to the centre. The showers were really clean and the staff was always nice.

Disliked: We have been there in December and it was a little bit cold in the rooms at night. Furthermore, you have very limited space for your stuff and the doors are really loud. Even if you try to close them smoothly, they still make a lot of noise.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you liked the location as well as the facilities and our customer service. We are sorry to learn that you didn't find the temperature just right, unfortunately it can be a challenge to keep everyone happy in the dorm happy warm-wise. As for the dorms shutting; we have tried to adjust them to reduce the sound they make but unfortunately the fail to close properly so we prefer to keep the access to our dorms as secure as possible.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Even though I had to stay in a room with 29 beds, each bed had a courtain which gave me the feeling of privacy. The hostel provides large rooms, comfortable beds and even a locker, under your bed, to keep your belongings save. I really liked that the staff from the reception was very friendly and helped me a lot with the information needed to have a truly amazing experience in London. The showers are clean, and hot waters is at your discretion. Fast internet connection, TV and computers! The hostel has a good position, since I was able to reach the city centre and other parts from London, quite easily. I would definitely come back, on my next trip there.

Disliked: There were some guys snoring during the night, but what can I ask in a 29-shared bedroom!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff, rooms quite spacious and comfortable with curtains around the beds for privacy. Facilities quite new and they provide extra services such as computers, affordable towel hire and fridge.

Disliked: Not on a main train lines so not the most convenient but still very reasonable.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked the victorian athmosphere and the rambling labyrinthine construction of the house. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the free Wifi.

Disliked: The room had a funny smell, but I didn't care very much.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I absolutely loved the curtains around the beds - all hostels should do that - it is so simple and yet solves so many issues that can arise in dorms

Disliked: Not the fault of the hostel, but heavy duty snorers should have their own room!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you liked our clever curtain trick ;)

We'll definitely put your "dorms for snorers only" suggestion on the list to the next refurbishment. Although, we suspect that most of them will on denial!


The Palmers Lodge Team

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building, The Bar and the Lounge!

Disliked: Small and smelly rooms, disgusting breakfast

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback review. We are glad that liked the property and our facilities. We are sorry to learn that you didn't like your dorm, we could have tried to give you an upgrade if you had let us know. Our continental breakfast is quite basic and we are always trying to introduce more items throughout the year, but we strive to keep it free of charge as most of our guests would rather not to budget to breakfast on top of their accommodation.

The Palmers Lodge Team

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Characterful and clean

Disliked: The room was incredibly noisy positioned next to the toilets and showers (see above).

Check Availability