We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

84.8% Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/11/2014)

"I value cleanliness and a quiet nights sleep over a party atmosphere at times, and that's exactly why I chose palmers lodge again. Location is not in central London, but it is close to Camden, which is great for…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
96.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
34.49 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.23 USD

Hostel 68.5% 683 reviews
The Bell House
24.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Phoenix Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 94.9% 3239 reviews
Access Paddington
46.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
20.45 USD

Hostel 78.2% 1851 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 717 of 1001 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Rolfe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

31 August 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing, wonderful atmosphere, excellent facilities and even though we was in a mixed dorm of 24, we didnt hear anyone else and the beds are so comfortable, the breakfast was yummy and the staff was so helpful and friendly.I reccomend this to everyone and i will be definitely coming back....

Disliked: Nothing I can think off

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located - 5 minutes to Swiss Cottage and Finchley station (which is just next to O2 plenty to do!) - great atmosphere if you are after a "calm" night perhaps due to a lot of traveling and needing a good night's rest, this place is perfect. There's a comfortable big lounge where people just watch TV or use their laptops. Free wifi was great! I took the 21-bed room at the attic - it was interesting and modest but clean and comfortable no less! I like the idea of the having curtains, lamp and plug extensions to each bed!

Disliked: May need to think of a more effective system to allocate beds for the 21-bedder as the bed number i was given was taken by someone else, whose bed was taken by someone else (and the list goes on). Then the girl who was given my bed arrived middle of the night and was completely lost. But we managed to find her a spare bed in the end, so ended well!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Great place for people traveling alone to meet other people. I ended up doing all my sighseeing with people I met there.

Disliked: Overbooked the beds. I got back to my room late night to discover someone in my bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to stay for the money it cost. There were a lot of bathrooms and someone was always cleaning them. Also, I like how there are curtains on every bed, which creates more privacy.

Disliked: Out of the 3 staff members I dealt with, only one of them was nice. The other 2 needed an attitude check and were not very welcoming.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

angelo wellens

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

25 August 2010 angelo would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: lot of noise from the bar

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

julien lefaucheux

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 julien would recommend this property

Liked: Les rencontres , le cadre , le bar.

Disliked: Le petit déjeuner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tzu-Wen Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Tzu-Wen would recommend this property

Liked: good place!

Disliked: Tzu-Wen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marius Popescu

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

11 August 2010 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: It's so easy to get to so it might seem you are not there

Disliked: some of the staff could be more friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location , clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I slept in a 14-bed female dorm and especially liked the curtains at each bed that provided some privacy. There also was a bright lamp at the head of each bed, and the wooden box underneath the bottom bed was big enough to store clothing and valuables. Necessary items like padlock or adapter could be bought for a reasonable price. Breakfast was simple but plenty; good coffee! Staff was very friendly. Tip: bring a flash light for the dorm.

Disliked: The dorm was in the basement and had only one window. It was quite warm inside the room, although the window was open. I didn't like the small bathroom: the 2 toilets were tiny, and it had only 2 sinks, which were sometimes crowded. I especially disliked that the bathroom had to be shared with males: one had to towel and dress in the small, humid showerstall, and it feels weird to clean up in this semi-privacy. Tip: bring shower sandals!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is right next to National Express drop off point and Underground station. Free Internet access, both computer access and WIFI, was a plus

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay, close to subway and bus station.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inês Simões

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2010 Inês would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing property, the building is very nice, comfortable and welcoming, the atmosphere is incredible and the people friendly and chatty. I was not sure about a hostel over a hotel but it exceeded my expectations. I think I'll go for hostels from now on if they're all this welcoming.

Disliked: Could say the showeres should be merrier or wider, but being shared it's completely understandable and logical that they are the way they are. I don't recall disliking anything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colleen clappas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 colleen would recommend this property

Liked: What a treat! I met tons of people in this gorgeous historical building. Complimentary use of computers, great bar/lounge area and the staff was super helpful. Also, the curtains on the beds gives you your own personal little cubby space. Lovely!

Disliked: colleen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe neighborhood, short walk to tube station, great staff, clean & safe, good restaurant and bar- An awesome place to stay overall!!! Definitely recommend!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katja Kukkasjärvi

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, nice building, nice location.

Disliked: Showers were a bit iffy, and it would be nice to have washbasins in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was beautiful and open with clean rooms and curtains around the beds.

Disliked: One shower was shared by the entire floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Cleland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

28 July 2010

Liked: CHARACRTER AND LOCATION.....

Disliked: I WAS MISTAKENLY BOOKED INTO A 'MALE ONLY' DORM AND THERE WAS LITERALLY ONE BED AVAIABLE ELSEWHERE IN THE HOSTEL!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent - clean, friendly, good facilities. Would recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Wildie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good peopleClean roomsGreat breakfastNice suburb to look around in, close to shops, vodafone.Brilliant fun at night

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful hostel, friendly not too nosy but still social

Disliked: bathrooms are quite far from the bedrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice hostel, friendly and helpful staff, clean and secure, a nice place to meet people tooshowers and toilets for ladies only are also providedthey also sell stuff such as locks and toothbrush at a reasonable price breakfast is very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katarzyna Krawczyk

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 July 2010 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: the bank beds with curtains and lapms are a good idea, when others need to pack in the middle of the night it doesn't bother you so much. useful lockers, nice bar in the basement, showers could be more modern but they're not bad, at least never happened to be crowded when I needed them. very close to the tube station which is just a few stops from major attractions and 4 stops from oxford street if you are a shopoholic. about 3-4 min walk to 2 great supermarkets. I liked it and do recommend. stayed in plenty of hostels around the world this one is a bit old but it makes you feel well.

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very good located, very easy to find, about 5 minutes walk from the underground station. Is very clean and the staff members are all very nice and available to give any help you need! The breakfast is very good and the hostel bar is a very nice place to relax at night and meet new people!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice, and the staff are quite helpful.

Disliked: The "lockers" in the rooms are not really practical. And they are somewhat old.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels