HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London

Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.98USD
  • Towel 2.33USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 201-171 of 171 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked they cleaned the toilets and the showers every day, and also the corridors were clean. I liked the breakfast and the courtains in the beds.

Disliked: That if you share a room with boys, probably you won't sleep because of the snoring.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: For the price, one should be able to list more positives than just cleanliness.


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to learn that you found a very good standard of cleanness throughout the hostel. Our prices reflect the higher quality of facilities compared to the majority of Youth Hostels in the capital (unlike others, we don't charge for the usual extras such as breakfast or internet access). The good news is that you can get ridiculously low rates when you reserve in advance.

The Palmers Lodge Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in hostels during a trip to the UK in 2006, and it wasn't until I stayed at Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage that I realized the hostels I'd previously stayed in were pretty much "dumps"! (as we'd say in America.) Plus those other hostels were a lot more expensive to stay in! I really enjoyed the decor and feeling of this hostel. I stayed in a 14-bed female dorm. I am not great at sleeping, so sharing a room with so many other people worried me, but I really think the curtain on each bed made a big difference for me! I was fortunate to have reasonably considerate dorm-mates, who weren't too loud either late at night or early in the morning. My bed was at an end of the room that didn't have an electrical outlet, but there was a power strip with several outlets available in near the front of the room. Since I felt okay about my dorm-mates, I didn't feel uncomfortable about leaving my mobile phone plugged in overnight without having it within eye shot. The free breakfast provided was comprised of coffee, juice, toast/nondescript croissants, and cereal. Pretty basic, but I didn't mind since it was helpful to not have to spend extra money for breakfast each day. I liked the dining area. It was bright and had a lot of seats (compared to other places where I've stayed.) A full kitchen for those staying at the hostel would have been nice, but that also could potentially be problematic because it'd be one more area in the hostel that would be difficult to keep clean. There is a fridge and microwave right in the dining area, but somehow I didn't see it for the first few days I was there! Oh, speaking of the dining area, there was an overflow/patio area, and it was very charming. The lounge area was nice, I thought. It was always full of people using the hostel's desktop computers/their own laptops with wi-fi. I didn't really mind that the internet only really worked in the lobby and lounge. I was just grateful to have access to it! I was surprised by the range of ages/demographics staying in the hostel. It ranged from the usual youth backpacker types, to middle-aged couples with small children. I liked that. One reason I booked Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage was because I read some reviews that said "if you want a party spot, don't stay here." Those reviewers might have meant that to be a negative aspect, but I was not interested in a place to party - just a place to get some sleep so I'd have energy to explore the city each day!The toilet/shower areas were also just fine. I know for a fact that they were cleaned on a very regular basis a couple of times a day (I saw it happening everyday, like clockwork.) I never got REALLY hot water in my shower,but I was generally showering at times of day when a lot of others were probably using hot water as well.

Disliked: Not too much to dislike. The shower was a bit weird - you press the faucet and the water comes on for just a few seconds. You have to keep pushing it down over and over. I assume it's water conservation measure - like sinks with a similar type of faucet. And it would have been cool to have maybe one little shelf to put clothes/room key on while showering so they wouldn't get wet from a little overspray from the shower. But none of these factors were that bothersome.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn that liked our hostel, it's good to know that we must be doing some things right. Apologies the issue with our shower timers, it is indeed a water saving setting that was a requirement when the property was converted into a hostel (we have tried to adjust the setting to allow for more time but it goes back to the manufacturer's setting) at least our guests are doing their bit for the environment ;)

The Palmers Lodge Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very cozy feel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, very secure with electronic keys into bedrooms and bathrooms. Cleaned hourly, bar is very cute, breakfast is simple but plentiful and included, beds are comfey and have good black put curtains. Good location, you need a train pass (daily is £7) but its just a 5min walk to the jubilee line. Secure luggage storage before and after stay free.

Disliked: Restaurant/bar was cold but not a major issue!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great place to stay when in London, I would recommend it to everyone. Great location, great atmosphere and helpful staff.

Disliked: I thought that 'continental' (whatever that may mean) breakfast would be much better. Some cheese or ham or fruit wouldn't be bad.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Mario

Thank you for your positive review. We are very pleased to learn that you like the facilities and the staff. We serve a classic continental breakfast and we are introducing more items (such as fruit) but unfortunately it will remain be a little bit basic in order to keep it free, which is what the huge majority of our guests requested in our most recent Guest Satisfaction Survey.

The Palmers Lodge Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location, very nice hostel, quiet, good beds, Good value.

Disliked: Need a kitchen so people can cook their own food...not just a microwave and dishes. Bathrooms / toilets are designed for tiny people. Storage lockers in rooms are very small.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It is an amazing building in a very good location, very accessible with many local amenities. Exceptional value for money in London

Disliked: Some of the other guest were a little inconsiderate - bound to happen in a dorm with 28 beds.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The very relaxed atmosphere and the cleanliness.

Disliked: I kept bumping my head on the beam when I got off my bed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A good and friendly place to stay several days.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability